Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool vs. Madrid Redux

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Yesss 2-0 that's us in the next round :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Goal, still 2 is about what Liverpool deserve from the play.

Oooh Real did something there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Blatant Pen.

shouldve gone to spec savers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

think ramos needs to give zidane a call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I'm off to watch Juve v Chelsea as this ones over.

Juve are one up lads so its game on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

shocking decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

That is absolutely madness. Game over, but what the feck were the officials playing at?

Whatever about the first goal, which is debatable (by non-partisan followers of the game anyway:rolleyes:), that penalty call brings the game into disrepute.

Liverpool have started very brightly, but they must feel like they're in dreamland to be two goals up inside the first half an hour, both of which could have not been given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Madrid are one of the worst teams I've seen in this stage of the CL in a long, long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

so thats 2 undeserved goals yeah??

although they do deserve to win from there play so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

I wish Babel wasn't so one-footed. Are we sure he's Dutch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

kryogen wrote: »
    please say your being sarcastic?

Nope check out the movement of Heinze's shoulder joint.

Good effort by Scheider -good save from Pepe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

RAWK has exploded or do I mean cum?! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Very fortunate Penalty, the linesman gave it i think, was clearly off his shoulder. The first goal was never a foul on pepe though if anything it might be karma for his constant kicking of Torres over the two legs.

On the balance of play though they are well worth the two goals, tearing Madrid all over the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

very disapointed in madrid, they have looked terrible in the middle of the park and in defence right from the off

but fair play to liverpool, they have been really positive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Start resting players for the weekend. This is a feckin great performance.

Anyone see Cannavaro effort at a tackle there? Should have been at least a yellow imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

anyone got a tvu channel for the chelsea game?

this ones over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

There was nothing wrong with the first goal in my opinion, pepe went down like Gerrard would have up the other end ;)

obviously the 2nd wasn't a penalty, poor from the linesman.

But Liverpool deserve to be 2-0 up, they have made Casillias make numerous top quality saves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Robbery at Anfield.

The first goal, I like to see the game played like that but every game I have seen for the last couple of years that is a foul by Torres.

The penalty was a ridiculous decision.

Anyways Liverpool have been by far the better team. Gago is terrible. Casillas is fantastic, the best player on the pitch imo, closely followed by a surprisingly industrious Torres.

Its all over now as any hope Real had went with that penalty but I don't think they were going to do it anyways especially with Gago playing the way he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Henzie naughty boy

Nope check out the movement of Heinze's shoulder joint.

Good effort by Scheider -good save from Pepe

dear God :eek:

have you tried watching it without the red tinted specs on?

give it a go! and for the record, if your already admitting it hit his shoulder, you cannot say it was a penalty :)

Robben been a bit quiet, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

As a United fan I can only hope Ronaldo is watching this and forgets about playing for a club that look like they might struggle in the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Lads I am watching the game here in Madrid and the commentators said both goals should not have been, surprise surprise. No penalty they said and Nando fouled Pepe they are barking.

mike65 wrote: »
    RAWK has exploded or do I mean cum?! :p

output.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

eagle eye wrote: »
    Robbery at Anfield.

The first goal, I like to see the game played like that but every game I have seen for the last couple of years that is a foul by Torres.

The penalty was a ridiculous decision.

Anyways Liverpool have been by far the better team. Gago is terrible. Casillas is fantastic, the best player on the pitch imo, closely followed by a surprisingly industrious Torres.

Its all over now as any hope Real had went with that penalty but I don't think they were going to do it anyways especially with Gago playing the way he is.

Never a foul for the first goal Pepe feel over after feeling the slightest touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

nuxxx wrote: »
    anyone got a tvu channel for the chelsea game?

this ones over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,047 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

If Torres and Pepe had been reversed and Pepe had gone on to clear the ball would people still say it was no foul or would you be calling for a penalty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Just switched on. Liverpool seem to be playing sexual at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

9 time outta 10 that nando's goal wouldnt stand in the prem. i fully expected a free out. but heinze is a silly silly man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Robben been a bit quiet, no?

is he even playing? dont think he's touched it!
    ShooterSF wrote: »
    As a United fan I can only hope Ronaldo is watching this and forgets about playing for a club that look like they might struggle in the championship.

they are terrible arent they? i cant believe they are 2nd in the league:eek:

evil_seed wrote: »
    9 time outta 10 that nando's goal wouldnt stand in the prem. i fully expected a free out. but heinze is a silly silly man

Nothing wrong with the first one, 9 out of 10 it would have been a goal for me.

Why is Heinze a silly silly man?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Can't wait to hear what Dunphy makes of Real at half-time.....something to the effect of "They're a nothing team Bill...useless" :D

This one was over after 10 mins, switching over to Chelsea game, that could go the distance

Well, in response to Redout, i have to say Liverpool deserve to be winning, God that hurt...... but the penalty was beyond harsh imo, very bad decision, then again, its anfield so.....the first goal i wouldnt have much problem with, i have seen them give free outs for the contact by Torres on Pepe but i dont think he interefered with Pepe's ability to play the ball.... Pepe just made a mess of it

Regardless, Liverpool are definately good value for their lead

now to wash my mouth out with soap!

Really feel so sorry for Iker,hes never had a good defense in front of him.

must be very frustrating

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

This thread is like a sneak preview of the rte panel at half time. No credit at all for battering the hell out of them at all.

Headshot wrote: »
    Really feel so sorry for Iker,hes never had a good defense in front of him.

must be very frustrating

He's La Ligas Shay Given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Argh, bad decision by Kuyt.

However, that he got into that situation was as a result of some great passing. We've probably been as crisp as ever moving the ball tonight. Great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Real Madrid are absolutely hopeless, if it wasn't for Casillas, they'd be 4 or 5 down.

Cannavaro is the new Roque Junior. He might have a World Cup medal in the bag, but he's consistently terrible in defence for Real.

Sergio Ramos keeps giving the ball away and getting caught out of possession. Can't pass, can't tackle; all he does is charge up and down the flank.

Diarra is clearly out of his depth. I can't believe that Portsmouth got £15-odd million for him :eek:

Higuain has no pace, no skill, no control, no nothing! He's a pub-team footballer.

Have to say I feel sorry for Raul having to play with all these useless mercenaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Best performance by us in a loooong time. Quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,944 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

lol stupid booking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

joe123 wrote: »
    Best performance by us in a loooong time. Quality.

Don't you mean worst opposition to play in Anfield for a long time?

masch out for the next leg :pac:

as if

****ing idiot of a ref

Ref is having a 'mare!

ShaneU wrote: »
    lol stupid booking

To be fair i think it was for belting the ball away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

5starpool wrote: »
    This thread is like a sneak preview of the rte panel at half time. No credit at all for battering the hell out of them at all.

You've had United fans saying Liverpool have been great value for the score and are great to watch. What more do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Handball there. We were robbed.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Xavi6 wrote: »

You've had United fans saying Liverpool have been great value for the score and are great to watch. What more do you want?

Ssh even in victory some people like to be the victim.

Xavi6 wrote: »

Gareth Barry i think

whats the story with the masch yellow card

if it stands,he'll be out for the next round