Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool vs. Madrid Redux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I didn't watch the second half after Gerard wrapped it up(if it wasn't already over) and switched over to Chelsea.

The first half performance from Liverpool was fantastic and by reading this thread now it seems it was the very same way in the second half. Great to see that from Liverpool. Long may it continue.
    On the other side of the ball, Real had a few weak players, I think Gago was horrendous and Heinze, Robben and Higuan were not far behind him. You have to wonder about Juande Ramos.
    I'm not taking away from Liverpool at all by saying the above but you just know that heads are gonna roll in Madrid after this.
    If Liverpool can play like that for the rest of the season then the Champions League is a real possibility and the EPL is not over. As I said earlier long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

kinaldo wrote: »
    3-0 to los blancos
    kida wrote: »
    please God football (i.e. Madrid) will be the winner, hopefully an early goal for them to kick start things

Good job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

joe123 wrote: »
    Ha apparently John Giles reckon Benitez had no tactics...**** sake. Give the man credit when its due would ya.
    Every player getting in the oppositions face isn't tactics. It's your starting point. They should be doing that every week as every top team does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Some result for Liverpool. Never in a million years did I see that coming! I'd say the head honchos at Madrid are putting together a humongous contract offer for Rafa as I type!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11669_4913767,00.html

Real Madrid midfielder Rafael van der Vaart believes that Liverpool will be scared when the two sides meet each other in the knockout stages of the UEFA Champions League.

The Spanish giants face Liverpool in a clash between two of the most successful club sides in football history.

However, the Holland international thinks that Madrid will have a psychological advantage even before the first-leg kicks-off.

"We're Real Madrid, which is why I think Liverpool are frightened of us. We have great players. It's going to be a great tie," he told Spanish newspaper Marca.

"The team is working hard to be in perfect shape. We're anxious to do well in Europe, and if we end up as champions I will be capable of anything. I will do anything to win the Champions League.

DIRK AND ROLL BABY

55f66x.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Congrats liverpool, tore them to shreds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Got a bit heated between Souness and Dunphy all right with Souness getting a touch racialist, and Dunphy almost about to pull the PC card but Billo calmed them down.

Good Punch and Judy stuff though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Great performance tonight against a pool Real side. First to the ball all the time, getting stuck in, great passing and movement from everybody. Well done lads.
    Mascherano played a stormer and fair play to him for not going OTT and getting a 2nd yello. MOTM in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

joe123 wrote: »
    Ha apparently John Giles reckon Benitez had no tactics...**** sake. Give the man credit when its due would ya.
    In fairness, he was urging the players to calm down and slow things when they were all over Real in the first half.

Pighead wrote: »
    Some result for Liverpool. Never in a million years did I see that coming! I'd say the head honchos at Madrid are putting together a humongous contract offer for Rafa as I type!

That's why I wanted a nil-nil bore draw :(

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

What a win, what a game, class, looks like we'll be in for another summer of Real trying to buy the world now though.:rolleyes:

Anyway, woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Got a bit heated between Souness and Dunphy all right with Souness getting a touch racialist, and Dunphy almost about to pull the PC card but Billo calmed them down.

see thats why RTE CL coverage is great tv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

excellent result and a fantastic performance from Liverpool, i tip my hat to ye

i feel so dirty, oh roll on saturday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Benitez is collecting some ammount of European scalps at Liverpool...all in five years.

Barcelona
    Real Madrid
    Chelsea x2
    Arsenal
    Juventus
    AC Milan
    Inter Milan

Dunphy dodging like crazy when Billo asks him if he could see Liverpool winning the CL. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

That's why I wanted a nil-nil bore draw :(
    That's why i wanted a 4-0 hammering :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Cracking performance to be honest. As much as it grates to say, Liverpool looked top class and very formidable opponents for anyone (in Europe). Pity this high will be spanked out of them on Saturday at noon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Tusky wrote: »
    Benitez is collecting some ammount of European scalps at Liverpool...all in five years.

Barcelona
    Real Madrid
    Chelsea x2
    Arsenal
    Juventus
    AC Milan
    Inter Milan

Exactly, and how many times after that do we hear 'Liverpool only won because Barca/Madrid/whoever, didn't show up.' Liverpool are the best in Europe at stopping others from playing their natural game and dictating the tempo, pace and style of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭podge018

Why does Giles always emphasise the 'no score draw' like it's something brilliant, near on a win? Baffling.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Exactly, and how many times after that do we hear 'Liverpool only won because Barca/Madrid/whoever, didn't show up.' Liverpool are the best in Europe at stopping others from playing their natural game and dictating the tempo, pace and style of the game.
    *echo*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Why do you moan after a great win like that? Why not just enjoy the afterglow and not worry about somebody talking nonsense. I'm sure all the headlines tomorrow will be about a magnificent Liverpool performance and not a bad Real Madrid performance. Well except in Madrid I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

besty wrote: »
    Cracking performance to be honest. As much as it grates to say, Liverpool looked top class and very formidable opponents for anyone (in Europe). Pity this high will be spanked out of them on Saturday at noon.

Yes because Liverpool have been "spanked" by all the top teams this season...including United at Anfield earlier in the season....oh wait!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Spanish press are leading with "Defeated, humiliated and whooped !"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

SWAR wrote: »
    Yes because Liverpool have been "spanked" by all the top teams this season...including United at Anfield earlier in the season....oh wait!!!!!

Nope but they have been by some crap teams. :pac:

Anyways really was a great win for the pool. *shudders* But credit where credit's due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

redout wrote: »

hows marca reacting

Certain few posters missing tonight form the Liverpool thread;)

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

redout wrote: »

Hehe delighted for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

By gad you're right. They're on Redcafe consoling each other then saying it means nothing on Saturday.

Which is true of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

KerranJast wrote: »
    Every player getting in the oppositions face isn't tactics. It's your starting point. They should be doing that every week as every top team does.

We nearly always do, it's how we use it against 10 men at the back that is the problem.

Yep, we don't fear any European sides. Knew we'd beat Real, predicted 2-2 on away goals, but I'll take 5-0.:pac:

Real came to win. This is were Rafa excels, he always gets it right in situations like that. Barca, Chelsea, Arsenal, Real, the list goes on.

It's when Stoke or Hull come happy with a 0-0 or 0-1 defeat that we struggle.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

ok, this is the second time i have seen that posted in this thread so i must ask, if you truly are the best in Europe for the last 5 years, why have you not won it each year? if you dont allow the other teams to play and dicate the play and pace and blah blah, how come you have been beaten by teams? you hardly controlled the games so much you beat yourselves cause it didnt feel like a challenege anymore or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Jesus lads anyone would think yas want the trolls to turn up.

Ifs yas keep insisting on in it I may just provide it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

that was a tasty performance, real were brutal. Burnley would have put up a better showing

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Certain few posters missing tonight form the Liverpool thread;)

as in who?

plenty of united fans have been on congradulating your lot and praising the performance, just put the bitterness aside for one night and enjoy your victory ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,402 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Souness was talking utter rubbish to be honest.
    Basically saying foreign players are lazy and dishonest and not up for it like the 'British' boys.
    And how many British players on the pitch tonight ? 2 .:rolleyes:
    Also I like how Billo was lamenting the decline in the Spanish league .
    They only have one team through to the last 8 and 2 more with good chances of going through.
    Do these apes watch any league bar the Premiership ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

kryogen wrote: »
    as in who?

plenty of united fans have been on congradulating your lot and praising the performance, just put the bitterness aside for one night and enjoy your victory ffs

We all know who they are talking about. Its a minority, just a loud minority.

I do agree that effectively calling them out is stupid though.

ok, this is the second time i have seen that posted in this thread so i must ask, if you truly are the best in Europe for over the last 5 years,

Winning a 5 in a row is expecting a lot, even out of Rafa.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Basically saying foreign players are lazy and dishonest and not up for it like the 'British' boys.
    And how many English players on the pitch tonight ? 2 .:rolleyes:

I think he meant British teams and not players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,654 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

My Gawd, Real were rubbish!! They hardly had a shot on goal!!?? Good win for the 'Pool. Now, if only we can beat the Manc's on Saturday afternoon....?

And how many English players on the pitch tonight ? 2 .:rolleyes:

i honestly think he was talking about the cultures but he just phrased it wrong, he tried to go back a bit by saying the fans here demand it and yada yada, but i dont think he meant foreigners are lazier, i think he just meant, the mentality of the english game is, well, better i guess, for want of a better word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Im fcuking delighted with the win:DHopefully the same happens this weekend!!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,654 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Real must really be c**p if Dossena can score against them!!? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

as in who?

ntlbell springs to mind, is boggles here? Neil1984?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mike65 wrote: »

Boggles has posted in this very thread and congratulated Liverpool.

Any chance you could refrain from shit stirring by naming names? If it continues I will lock the thread.

mike65 wrote: »

Think he said United fans in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Ramos has turned real into spurs it seems....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Madrid are one of the worst teams I've seen in this stage of the CL in a long, long time.

Surely Sporting have something to say about that?

OT but good research by setanta BTW, apparently Bayern winning 7-1 is the biggest home win in ever CL, I mean it has only been a year since Liverpool beat Besiktas 8-0. Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

ok, this is the second time i have seen that posted in this thread so i must ask, if you truly are the best in Europe for the last 5 years, why have you not won it each year? if you dont allow the other teams to play and dicate the play and pace and blah blah, how come you have been beaten by teams? you hardly controlled the games so much you beat yourselves cause it didnt feel like a challenege anymore or something?

Liverpool have the highest UEFA co - efficient of any team involved in European competition since 2004.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Ramos has turned real into spurs it seems....

Not in la liga,they are playing very good in that.

Stekelly wrote: »

OT but good research by setanta BTW, apparently Bayern winning 7-1 is the biggest home win in ever CL, I mean it has only been a year since Liverpool beat Besiktas 8-0. Well done lads.

Knockouts brother and they are wrong as United also beat Roma 7-1 in the Quarter-Finals in april 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Stekelly wrote: »

I haven't seen them play though, which is why I said Real ;)