Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

** Police officer shot dead in Armagh

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Can'tseeme

It's not going to happen in one moment. It will be a gradual process were it works out better for everybody. The British government will not want to continue pumping the billions in every year for little back in return. It's up to our local politicans and the people on the island to make it an easy transition.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Can'tseeme wrote: »
    It's not going to happen in one moment. It will be a gradual process were it works out better for everybody. The British government will not want to continue pumping the billions in every year for little back in return. It's up to our local politicans and the people on the island to make it an easy transition.
    i dont think any british goverment or british tax payer is going to give money to help a people who would say we no longer want to be part of you-would you ?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

TomRooney wrote: »
    An ICM poll conduced by The Guardian in 2001 revealed that only 26% of Britons supported Northern Ireland remaining a part of the UK, while 41% supported a united Ireland.[23] The British Social Attitudes Survey in 2006 found 34% supported Northern Ireland remaining part of the UK, and 39% supported a united Ireland.[24]

it is obvious the majority or irish people and british people believe a united Ireland is preferential over a partitioned Ireland…
    Maths is not your friend.
    a small minority is holding us all to ransom, stamping there feet like children untill they get what they want. but it is common sense that partition can not last, it is an artificial boundry, and it goes against the will of the irish and british people.
    I’m curious; how long did it take you to construct that little world that you live in?

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Can'tseeme

getz wrote: »
    i dont think any british goverment or british tax payer is going to give money to help a people who would say we no longer want to be part of you-would you ?

Agreed.

In the bigger picture, Ireland would serve itself better without partion. Britian would be better off without us 'spongers'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Diogenes

i have read it,

that thread is only about 6 countys out of the 32 countys of Ireland, even if only half (big exageration) of the people from nationalist communitys in the 6 countys wanted a united Ireland, the majority on the island as a whole would still favour re-unification.

also the majority of people in britain favour irish re-unification over partition.

a small minority is holding us all to ransom, stamping there feet like children untill they get what they want. but it is common sense that partition can not last, it is an artificial boundry, and it goes against the will of the irish and british people.

Thats nice, did the opinion poll ask the next questions?

"What steps would you be happy to take to ensure a united Ireland?"

If you polled people with the question "Would you like 2 months paid leave a year"? I'm sure the majority of people polled would answer "yes". However if you then told them that in order to get these 2 months paid leave, the working week would now be 6 days a week and a minimum 70 hr work.

How many people would still say "yes" to this proposal?

Britain subsidies NI to the tune of 6billion a year;
    * Northern Ireland productivity levels are 84% of the rest of UK, lowest of all regions¹

* Public sector accounts for 30% of total NI employment, highest of all regions²

* Economic inactivity rate 27% in NI, highest of all regions (UK average 21%)³

* Subvention is £5-6 billion per year, c. 20-25% NI GDP*

Source

In order to get your precious United Ireland, we'd need to absorb a massive Public Sector (the largest single employer in the state) And spend about 7-9 billion euro in state support, every year.

We're currently about to have a emergency budget to cover a 3.5 billion shortfall, this year alone. You're asking us to absorb an extra 7 billion, because of some romantic flight of fancy.

Yes like everyone I'd like to see a United Ireland, but anyone with one foot in reality who understands the pragmatics of the situation, the cost is simply too dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Diogenes wrote: »

If you polled people with the question "Would you like 2 months paid leave a year"? I'm sure the majority of people polled would answer "yes". However if you then told them that in order to get these 2 months paid leave, the working week would now be 6 days a week and a minimum 70 hr work.

Source

In order to get your precious United Ireland, we'd need to absorb a massive Public Sector (the largest single employer in the state) And spend about 7-9 billion euro in state support, every year.

We're currently about to have a emergency budget to cover a 3.5 billion shortfall, this year alone. You're asking us to absorb an extra 7 billion, because of some romantic flight of fancy.

Yes like everyone I'd like to see a United Ireland, but anyone with one foot in reality who understands the pragmatics of the situation, the cost is simply too dear.
    well part of the answer is how could we get the british goverment to keep paying into the north ? i suppose we can keep on trying the old way by bombing them-or be a lot more anglo/friendly rejoin the commonwealth and let the lads in the north still feel a connection with britain-this latter way is now being mooted by both goverments

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭TomRooney

ilkhanid wrote: »
    "a small minority is holding us all to ransom"

Who is this 'us all',? Not me, or anybody I know.Don't attempt to pass your intransigence onto me or the rest of the Irish people.
    Most of the people here want a united ireland when the time is right, when it will cause no trouble, when it won't cost us more and when everybody agrees to it. Not before then.

if you bothered to read the previous threads you could have saved yourself from looking ....un-focused, around 80 percent of the people in the 26 countys want to see a united Ireland, the majority of british people favour Irish unification over partition. that is the be all and end all of it. you are only 1 person.
    who elected you to speak on behalf of all irish people..?

get down from your sugar pedestol kid.

djpbarry wrote: »
    Maths is not your friend.
    I’m curious; how long did it take you to construct that little world that you live in?

i am afraid it is you that has shown you have little more than a primary level of mathmatic comprehension, 41% of british people favour irish unification but only 36% favour the 6 countys remaining part of britian, you cant be that simple are you...?

Source

alot of what you posted is rubbish, the 6 countys have the lowest unemployment rate in the "UK", they have the fastest growing economy also.
    as for subsidies, most of the spending done by the british is on security, ie mi5, 5000 brit army and 15,000 ruc/psni, in the event of a United Ireland the psni could be downsized and the 6 countys would not need anywhere near 5000 irish troops in an area of that size. plus there is a well educated and hard working labour force to be utilised in the 6 countys.

a united Ireland would be a benefit no a hinderence.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

...the majority of british people favour Irish unification over partition.
    ...41% of british people favour irish unification...
    You do know what a majority is, don't you?
    alot of what you posted is rubbish, the 6 countys have the lowest unemployment rate in the "UK"...
    Do they? Based on this graphic, unemployment in NI seems fairly typical of the wider UK. And don't forget that a huge chunk of the working population is paid by the state.
    ...they have the fastest growing economy also.
    NI's economy is growing? You sure about that?
    as for subsidies, most of the spending done by the british is on security...
    Source?

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

"you are only 1 person. who elected you to speak on behalf of all irish people..?"

There are people who actually are elected to speak on behalf of the Irish people. They don't seem interested in pursuing this fruitless objective.
    Have you tried talking to the 'Irish People'? Have you opened a newspaper, or listened to a radio or TV? How did the last person who went up for election demanding an united Ireland "now" fare, eh? :rolleyes:

Sugar 'pedestal' Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭junder

alot of what you posted is rubbish, the 6 countys have the lowest unemployment rate in the "UK", they have the fastest growing economy also.
    as for subsidies, most of the spending done by the british is on security, ie mi5, 5000 brit army and 15,000 ruc/psni, in the event of a United Ireland the psni could be downsized and the 6 countys would not need anywhere near 5000 irish troops in an area of that size. plus there is a well educated and hard working labour force to be utilised in the 6 countys.

you really have no idea what you are talking about do you

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Exile 1798 wrote: »
    Moving the posts I see, just like Ahern saying a majority isnt good enough.

And why not, if you've already accepted the veto of the Unionist minority, what's the harm in creating another minority population that needs to be obeyed?

"There are 150 000 West Brits that don't what unity, we must respect the wishes of the West Brit community!"

Ah, nice use of the ould reliable West Brit term. It's the Godwin equivalent in a NI thread.

PS. It would actually be 900,000 Unionists plus around 2/300,000 Catholics at a minimum in NI Alone.

A referendum in the South would concentrate on the economics of it, not some fuzzy romantic ideal.
    Source

The voluntary/community sector is massive too, with hughe Govt. funding.

Ah, we'd have to put the 5,000 of our own army and 15,000 of our Gardai in there! Do you realise that the loyalists aren't just going to welcome Dublin Govt. with open arms?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭RiverWilde

My god there are some deluded, divorced from reality, dreamers on this site.

The separation of the 26 counties from the UK led to a mass wave of atrocities from all types of lunatic in Northern Ireland and we finally, have a peaceful way forward through democratic means.

When will these lunatics realise that Northern Ireland does not want to join the Republic?

Frankly, given the current state of politics here I don't blame them. We have an inept govt. which lurches from mini budget to mini budget. A govt. that is repeatedly caught with it's hand in the cookie jar and by some sleight of hand evades responsibility for such actions.

I can't wait for the 7th of April when Biffo and his cronies launch their latest attack on the populace - hike up taxes - cut services and all the while protecting their own interests.

Why oh why do we put up with this shower of self-serving crooks?

Riv

alot of what you posted is rubbish, the 6 countys have the lowest unemployment rate in the "UK",

Source.
    they have the fastest growing economy also.

I think you'll find it's just the slowest decreasing economy, and that is due to massive state investiment.
    as for subsidies, most of the spending done by the british is on security, ie mi5, 5000 brit army and 15,000 ruc/psni,

A) You can provide statistics to support this assertion?

B) the UK armed forces are close to 137,000 personal. With a budget of 36 billion. Are you really telling me a 1/6th of the entire UK military budget is being spent in NI, and on less than a sixth of it's forces.

in the event of a United Ireland the psni could be downsized and the 6 countys would not need anywhere near 5000 irish troops in an area of that size.

Oh yes, because militant unionists are going to embrace a united Ireland with open arms. There will be terrorism, there will be murder. And it will be Irish troops and Garda on the streets trying to maintain order.
    plus there is a well educated and hard working labour force to be utilised in the 6 countys.

Are they as well educated as you? Because it's spelt counties.

2ndly are you just go to ignore the whole 30% of the population are employed by the state bit? Our civil service is incredibly bloated and it's nothing compared to this. Add to several other state perks that citizens in NI receive (perks not received by citizens in say England such as free prescription medicine) Do you think this perk should be spread to the entire Island of Ireland (and increase massively the Social Welfare and Health Services costs) or should it be stripped from citizens of Northern Ireland?

You mean from inheriting a massive bloated civil service. we have the need of an increased security bill, and the potential of Irish Soldiers and Gardai dying at the hands of Unionists terrorists, oh and the massive subsidies we'd have to pay.

Lets look at the advantages. Well free travel between the south and north? No wait we already have the most lax border controls in Europe. Well we could have a united sports team? No wait already have that as well. Well all our county teams could play our national sport in the same leagues. Oh wait we already get that. Aside from a unified currency (a currency exchange rate that favours Irish consumers at the moment).

Yeah, it's just win bloody win.

Source.

In recent years Northern Ireland has experienced stronger Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth than the UK average[29] and GDP per capita is now higher than Wales and North East England. As of 2004, the GDP per capita of the Republic of Ireland is €30,414 (141% of the EU-27 average) while in Northern Ireland it is €21,292 (99% of the EU-27 average).[30] A simple calculation using 2004 GDP and population estimates gives a GDP per capita of €27,790 for the whole of Ireland (9% less than that that of the Republic of Ireland). The structural costs of unification are difficult to quantify but are likely to be proportionately less than that of German reunification due to the greater degree of economic integration that exists between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Ireland

A) You can provide statistics to support this assertion?

B) the UK armed forces are close to 137,000 personal. With a budget of 36 billion. Are you really telling me a 1/6th of the entire UK military budget is being spent in NI, and on less than a sixth of it's forces.

the running cost of the PSNI this year alone will be about 945 million euro link below.

http://www.psni.police.uk/annual_budget_plan_0809.pdf

this is the cost of the PSNI alone, add to this the running costs of Mi5, other specialist security, and then the british army and there barracks and equipment helis etc etc.

i think your getting the picture.
    [/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

Oh yes, because militant unionists are going to embrace a united Ireland with open arms. There will be terrorism, there will be murder. And it will be Irish troops and Garda on the streets trying to maintain order.
    not neseccerily, i believe the Unionists once faced with the reality of reunification, will see sense and embrace it once there given assurances there will be no sectarianism and so on.

Are they as well educated as you? Because it's spelt counties.

2ndly are you just go to ignore the whole 30% of the population are employed by the state bit? Our civil service is incredibly bloated and it's nothing compared to this. Add to several other state perks that citizens in NI receive (perks not received by citizens in say England such as free prescription medicine) Do you think this perk should be spread to the entire Island of Ireland (and increase massively the Social Welfare and Health Services costs) or should it be stripped from citizens of Northern Ireland?

if you want to be a grammer NAZI i suggest you dont type in text speak.
    look do you realy think the matter of free medicine is going to prevent a united Ireland...? if people can not afford medicine the 26 county state give medical cards this is sufficient for anyone who needs them.
    You mean from inheriting a massive bloated civil service. we have the need of an increased security bill, and the potential of Irish Soldiers and Gardai dying at the hands of Unionists terrorists, oh and the massive subsidies we'd have to pay.

Lets look at the advantages. Well free travel between the south and north? No wait we already have the most lax border controls in Europe. Well we could have a united sports team? No wait already have that as well. Well all our county teams could play our national sport in the same leagues. Oh wait we already get that. Aside from a unified currency (a currency exchange rate that favours Irish consumers at the moment).

Yeah, it's just win bloody win.

In a single all-Ireland state fiorms would benefit from economies of scale. These are the reductions in costs which result from producing for a large market. If the island of Ireland was a single market, then firms could benefit from production for 6 million people (instead of 1.7m) in the same way that the free market of the European Union has benefited member countries. This bigger market for Northern Ireland firms would also lead to greater competition with firms from the Republic. This would bring all the benefits of greater competition, especially greater efficiency and lower prices for consumers.
    Again, unity would attract more investment to the North. Throughout the Troubles many firms in America, Europe, Japan etc were deterred from investing in the province by the violence (some businessmen were captured and a few killed, factories were blown up). On the other hand, the peace, stability and skills available in the Republic attracted this investment and the Republic’s economy grew faster than any other in Europe. Google recently set up its first headquarters outside USA in Dublin. Peace and integration would lead to businesses flooding in to the North as well. Of course, another incentive for investment is the 12.5% rate of corporation tax, compared to 30% in the UK. Irish unity would also facilitate the integration of the island’s infrastructure. Indeed, instead of having two policies on health, education, energy, transport, and other infrastructure matters, there could be one co-ordinated policy for the whole island and this would greatlyimprove efficiency and the quality of life. The economic arguments for unity are compelling and unanswerable, not only for the citizen of the present Northern Ireland but also for the rest of the country. Initially, there would be a cost in terms of the subvention already mentioned. The Republic would have to fill the gap left by the UK to the tune of about € 6bn, which would necessitate an unpopular increase in taxation. However, the economic advantages in terms of economies of scale and so on would soon override this cost. The politics and society of Northern Ireland is in a shambles. Its people are currently enslaved to a bigoted Puritan party on the one hand and a Catholic fascist party on the other. They desperately need a third way and a third party which is beyond Orange and Green, which in fact unites the people through their common humanity. Over the border lies a richer, more vibrant, stable society in the South. It is no longer a priest-ridden theocracy but a liberal, cosmopolitan state which has transcended the narrow, closed ethnic nationalism of the past. Indeed, in a united Ireland the state could not favour any religious group and would therefore be closer to being a truly secular society than the UK. Protestants are assertive enough as it is, so why should they fear a bogeyman who no longer exists? The people of Northern Ireland need to stop fighting shadows and ask themselves how they can kick-start the mechanism by which they become an integral part of that better 32-county Irish society. The four existing parties cannot hope to achieve this transition, being composed of leaders and programmes representing the troubled and destructive past. Northern Ireland is crying out for a genuine republican party, untainted by the crimes and errors of its historical forebears, which will not only truly represent Protestant, Catholic and Dissenter but also seek to replace them with the common name of Irishman. nireland.humanists.net/docs/article35.doc

In recent years Northern Ireland has experienced stronger Gross Domestic Product (GDP) growth than the UK average[29] and GDP per capita is now higher than Wales and North East England. As of 2004, the GDP per capita of the Republic of Ireland is €30,414 (141% of the EU-27 average) while in Northern Ireland it is €21,292 (99% of the EU-27 average).[30] A simple calculation using 2004 GDP and population estimates gives a GDP per capita of €27,790 for the whole of Ireland (9% less than that that of the Republic of Ireland). The structural costs of unification are difficult to quantify but are likely to be proportionately less than that of German reunification due to the greater degree of economic integration that exists between the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland

Huh? Are you seriously pointing to Property Bubble economics as basis for an United Ireland.

Ignore any economic growth since 01 and we can start with realistic figures.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

the running cost of the PSNI this year alone will be about 945 million euro link below.

http://www.psni.police.uk/annual_budget_plan_0809.pdffavicon.ico

this is the cost of the PSNI alone, add to this the running costs of Mi5, other specialist security, and then the british army and there barracks and equipment helis etc etc.

not neseccerily, i believe the Unionists once faced with the reality of reunification, will see sense and embrace it once there given assurances there will be no sectarianism and so on.

Hardline Loyalists will not lie down.

Have you learned anything from Irish history?

K-9 wrote: »
    Hardline Loyalists will not lie down.

Have you learned anything from Irish history?

as much as Republicans are in the minority, the "hardline" loyalists are even smaller and more ostracised than the "hardline" Republicans, they would simply cease to operate without state backing, which they had for the last 30-40 years.

even unionists hate loyalists, so that is an empty point just scare mongering.

also unionism in Ireland is nowere near as entrenched in the psychy as Republicanism is, and realisticly it doesnt have the same level of political ideology behind it as the Republican perspective does, therefore even less grounds to think any kind of sustainable loyalist campaign would ensue.

as much as Republicans are in the minority, the "hardline" loyalists are even smaller and more ostracised than the "hardline" Republicans, they would simply cease to operate without state backing, which they had for the last 30-40 years.

Like the RIRA or CIRA?

Nationalists hate Republicans, so.............

We are more alike than different and the more I read up and hear more, the more I'm convinced of such.

That means not alone do we share the positives, we share the negatives, as in we'll both have hard liners prepared to bomb and kill if they see fit.
    TomRooney wrote:
    also unionism in Ireland is nowere near as entrenched in the psychy as Republicanism is, and realisticly it doesnt have the same level of political ideology behind it as the Republican perspective does, therefore even less grounds to think any kind of sustainable loyalist campaign would ensue.

A hundred years of defiance is enough for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

TomRooney wrote:

Are you for real?

Have you ever walked around the loyalist parts of Belfast?

There would be mayhem, Police would not be able to enter the Shankill road and similar areas, the army would have to be called in.

Unionists are deeply proud of their culture, 12th of July is a huge event. Who cares if only hardline loyalists took part in a campaign, a United Ireland would turn many people into hardline "Ulster State Loyalists"

Then we'd see the Republican Volunteer Force/Irish Defence Association groups starting up.

Police/Soldiers would be bombed out of it, we'd probably have to upgrade our army and intelligence services.

It really would hit the entire economy and cost a fortune. Have a belief in a United Ireland for whatever reasons, but don't think for a second there wouldn't be huge reprecussions

The confused irish man nonscence again, sure just get rid of the border and we will embrace our irish culture :rolleyes:, jesus Tomroony you really know nothing about Northern Ireland do you, except whatever propoganda you have sucked up, i am guessing you one of those people thats easierly led. How many unionists do you actully know of have even met or even talked to.

You're using 2004 economic figures?

BAHAHHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

http://www.psni.police.uk/annual_budget_plan_0809.pdf

And Garda running costs are 1.61 billion euros

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1205/crime.html

With only a staff of 14,000.

Want to do some more maths?

Riiiiiight insane optimism and delusional of peaceful transitions.

if you want to be a grammer NAZI i suggest you dont type in text speak.

2ndly isn't text speak.
    look do you realy think the matter of free medicine is going to prevent a united Ireland...? if people can not afford medicine the 26 county state give medical cards this is sufficient for anyone who needs them.

And the magically money tree to afford all these medical cards?
    In a single all-Ireland state fiorms would benefit from economies of scale. These are the reductions in costs which result from producing for a large market. If the island of Ireland was a single market, then firms could benefit from production for 6 million people (instead of 1.7m)

I'm sorry what? Economies of scale, can you name one product that has to be modified because of the NI border?
    in the same way that the free market of the European Union has benefited member countries. This bigger market for Northern Ireland firms would also lead to greater competition with firms from the Republic. This would bring all the benefits of greater competition, especially greater efficiency and lower prices for consumers.

Examples?

[quite] Again, unity would attract more investment to the North. Throughout the Troubles many firms in America, Europe, Japan etc were deterred from investing in the province by the violence (some businessmen were captured and a few killed, factories were blown up). On the other hand, the peace, stability and skills available in the Republic attracted this investment and the Republic’s economy grew faster than any other in Europe. Google recently set up its first headquarters outside USA in Dublin. Peace and integration would lead to businesses flooding in to the North as well. Of course, another incentive for investment is the 12.5% rate of corporation tax, compared to 30% in the UK.

Have you opened a paper in the past six months. Even with our low corporation tax US companies are leaving Ireland in droves.

PS you keep avoiding the 27% unemployment and 30% of population employed by the civil service.

Any ideas on fixing these two?

K-9 wrote: »
    Like the RIRA or CIRA?

the IRA of any kind never had state backing or state funding or arming or training. the loyalists would never have existed if not for the british state backing them with arms, training, and inteligence.

A hundred years of defiance is enough for me.

this statement is a major exaggeration, partition came into being less than 90 years ago, and for about 60 of those years the unionists loyalists had no opposition to there gerrymandered state, so 30 years would be a more accurate time fror unionist/loyalist defiance against eqaul rights and recognition that they Live in a Land originaly inhabited by Irish people.

Are you for real?

Have you ever walked around the loyalist parts of Belfast?

There would be mayhem, Police would not be able to enter the Shankill road and similar areas, the army would have to be called in.

Unionists are deeply proud of their culture, 12th of July is a huge event. Who cares if only hardline loyalists took part in a campaign, a United Ireland would turn many people into hardline "Ulster State Loyalists"

Then we'd see the Republican Volunteer Force/Irish Defence Association groups starting up.

Police/Soldiers would be bombed out of it, we'd probably have to upgrade our army and intelligence services.

It really would hit the entire economy and cost a fortune. Have a belief in a United Ireland for whatever reasons, but don't think for a second there wouldn't be huge reprecussions

your entire post is nothing but Myth based speculation and scare mongering.

junder wrote: »
    The confused irish man nonscence again, sure just get rid of the border and we will embrace our irish culture :rolleyes:, jesus Tomroony you really know nothing about Northern Ireland do you, except whatever propoganda you have sucked up, i am guessing you one of those people thats easierly led. How many unionists do you actully know of have even met or even talked to.

i have talked to alot of unionists, i believe the only way a re-united Ireland would work is if it was set up as a federal Republic, with provincial governments, and local councils, that way the unionists would still have a certain level of autocrisy but whitin a United Ireland.
    Unionists have shown a lot of interest in this concept.

You're using 2004 economic figures?

BAHAHHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

And Garda running costs are 1.61 billion euros

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1205/crime.html

With only a staff of 14,000.

Want to do some more maths?

Riiiiiight insane optimism and delusional of peaceful transitions.

2ndly isn't text speak.

And the magically money tree to afford all these medical cards?

I'm sorry what? Economies of scale, can you name one product that has to be modified because of the NI border?

Have you opened a paper in the past six months. Even with our low corporation tax US companies are leaving Ireland in droves.

PS you keep avoiding the 27% unemployment and 30% of population employed by the civil service.

Any ideas on fixing these two?

i dont accept any of your arguments, most of which are based on simple scare mongering, not everything is about money, there is more to life.
    but even considering economics it is obvious a united Ireland would be a stronger nation than a partitioned Ireland.

the IRA of any kind never had state backing or state funding or arming or training. the loyalists would never have existed if not for the british state backing them with arms, training, and inteligence.

So one terrorist organisation existed just fine without state backing, funding, or training. The other couldn't exist without all of the above.

Does the cognitive dissoance give you alot of nose bleeds?
    i dont accept any of your arguments,

Well thats a fine impression of a Grecian Urn you make then.
    most of which are based on simple scare mongering, not everything is about money, there is more to life.

I'll think you'll find that if the asked the people of Ireland would they like re-unification if the cost was to bankrupt the state, they'd say "No".
    it is obvious a united Ireland would be a stronger nation than a partitioned Ireland.

No it isn't, your figures take economy growth in the republic from 5 years ago, ignore the massive investment by the UK into Ulster, and you avoid the bloated civil service we would inherit.

You also refuse to admit that there exists a hardline unionist opposition to the reunification, something mindboggling to anyone with an modicum of experience of Ulster knows as a simple fact.

I don't know what country you're talking about it's not Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

"this statement is a major exaggeration, partition came into being less than 90 years ago,..."

And the loyalists were preparing to resist it as far back as 1900.

"...and recognition that they Live in a Land originaly inhabited by Irish people."

Funny, I thought they were Irish too. If it happened 400 years ago, it does'nt matter any more.

"Unionists have shown a lot of interest in this concept. "

Which ones?

"So one terrorist organisation existed just fine without state backing, funding, or training. The other couldn't exist without all of the above."

You have to understand the thinking behind this. By "republican" reasoning, Loyalists/Unionists are bigoted,evil,cowardly weaklings. Not like the brave, stoic,ingenious and self-reliant nationalists. They are incapable of doing anything for themselves without the help of Perfidious Albion...except engage in acts of sectarian wickedness and treachery.

i have talked to alot of unionists, i believe the only way a re-united Ireland would work is if it was set up as a federal Republic, with provincial governments, and local councils, that way the unionists would still have a certain level of autocrisy but whitin a United Ireland.
    Unionists have shown a lot of interest in this concept.

Again, Bull****, i am a unionist and i can tell you that we have no interest in a united ireland ferderal or otherwise. You can thank people like yourself for that lack of interest. since you only prove our fears that we would not be respected in your united ireland. Your posts show an incredably immature view of northern ireland, (to much time listerning to romantic republican songs in bars me thinks). Going by what you have thus far posted its obvious that the actule unionists you have spoken to is 0. That border you like to bang on about is not just a line drawn on a map, its in most unionists hearts and minds.
    I can promise you this, force us into a united ireland you will galvinise almost entire unionst community into 1 single block (unlike the splintered a factured mess it is now) with 1 purpose in mind, and don't think its the UVF and UDA you would have to worry about, they are just a bunch of cowboys. Its the large body of miltary trained and combat experinced personel who have served or have served in the army that you need to worry about. If you want your united ireland your going to have to work very hard to pursade us that its good for us and our identy will be protected, that includes our orange traditions, that includes our marching band traditions, that includes our loyality to the united kingdom, as things stand you can't even stomach a vist from our head of state in the RoI at the moment, thats hardly an example of respect, we have your preisdent calling us nazis, thats hardly an example of respect now is it. Now i understand that this is not the viewpoint of the vast amount of people in the RoI, most like us in northern ireland just want to get on with our lives in peace, and that we are more interested in how we are going to keep our heads above water in this current economic crisis, its just ashame that there is still to many people with atiutudes like tomroony for us to properly move on