Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

things that used to be in waterford ya can remember

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭doctordon

Www.wordpress.com

Have a look around that site...you can set one up for free. You'll love it.
    OK, many thanks. I can't promise anything - but I'll give it a go.;)

doctordon wrote: »
    OK, many thanks. I can't promise anything - but I'll give it a go.;)
    OK.....It's done. Would anybody object to my posting the link here?:D

Have you ever thought about writing a blog doctor?
    OK.....It's done. Would anybody object to my posting the link here?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

Cup of tea anyone?:p

http://youtu.be/XgoNSCgP6TA

If they made an ad like that nowadays the political correct would be up in arms.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    Cup of tea anyone?:p

http://youtu.be/XgoNSCgP6TA

If they made an ad like that nowadays the political correct would be up in arms.
    Yup! I'm sure it wasn't meant to be racist though - simply depicting the "exotic" appeal of Lyons. "It doesn't come from Ireland" sorta thing. :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

OK.....It's done. Would anybody object to my posting the link here?

Of course not! Post away!

Thank you very much!.......Enjoy.

http://irishchildhoodmemories.wordpress.com/

Let's see some posts ppl. I sincerely hope I haven't stepped on anybody's toes. Mea Culpa!

I love this site!! Since I joined, I have been made soooo welcome! Thank you everybody. Although I no longer live in Waterford - I still love the place! Many Thanks!
    E.G., Trying to sell Irish Leprechauns to American Tourists, which, apparently, lived in the French Church. We were 14, and it ALMOST worked! Trainee Con Merchants! HaHaHa!
    Now we're respectable.........but we enjoyed it.

Jaysus...I need a crusty Blaa, spread with Country butter!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I love this site!! Since I joined, I have been made soooo welcome! Thank you everybody. Although I no longer live in Waterford - I still love the place! Many Thanks!
    E.G., Trying to sell Irish Leprechauns to American Tourists, which, apparently, lived in the French Church. We were 14, and it ALMOST worked! Trainee Con Merchants! HaHaHa!
    Now we're respectable.........but we enjoyed it.

Where do you actually live now?

Bangkok

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Anyone remember Ahearne's shop at the end of Patrick st. The street narrowed to accommodate this shop making the entrance to Patrick St from Broad St very narrow. Hearne's furniture factory at the back of the Savoy. There are many Church's that still have the seating that was made by this company. Harpur's hardware on the quay, Gaule's electrical shop which was near Harpur's. Vereker's which was down in Broad St now called Red square. Sloan's and The L&N, Boyces and Cantwell's music store all on Michael's street. The town centre really hasn't changed that much but the names of shops have changed drastically over the year's

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Anyone remember Ahearne's shop at the end of Patrick st. The street narrowed to accommodate this shop making the entrance to Patrick St from Broad St very narrow. Hearne's furniture factory at the back of the Savoy. There are many Church's that still have the seating that was made by this company. Harpur's hardware on the quay, Gaule's electrical shop which was near Harpur's. Vereker's which was down in Broad St now called Red square. Sloan's and The L&N, Boyces and Cantwell's music store all on Michael's street. The town centre really hasn't changed that much but the names of shops have changed drastically over the year's
    Hearne's Furniture factory became a waste-ground. Then some bright spark decided to build a car park on it - which was a nightmare to get into from Patrick Street! Genius! What a waste.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Bangkok

Thats one place I want to visit next on my travels. I have been to Phuket & Krabi but didn't get a change to hit the hustle & bustle of Bakgkok. If I ever get there I'll bring a few tayto for you (the blas would probably be hard as rocks if I brought them) :)

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭chainsawman

OMG! I REMEMBER BRIDGIE'S WELL! We used to slide our hands between the window ledge and the window (there was a gap) Gawd only knew what you would you would pull out of the "display"! Do you remember the little sweet shop on the corner of Convent Hill and Barrack Street? Whatever the fad was, they had it - itching powder, sneezing powder, clackers, stink bombs, gally banders, pea shooters etc. Yep - you're right - the country has run amok!

Remembered Bridgies so well, Used to live across the road from her, where the Greens family lives only few doors away from me, I remembered going behind the counter at Bridgies without buying any sweets, she would rite down what i took, and she would tell my parents , and they pay..lol.. A lovely lady, Bridgie . A Heart of gold.

Thats one place I want to visit next on my travels. I have been to Phuket & Krabi but didn't get a change to hit the hustle & bustle of Bakgkok. If I ever get there I'll bring a few tayto for you (the blas would probably be hard as rocks if I brought them) :)
    Phuket is getting dangerous - both the Thai and Russian mafias are running amok:
    http://phukettuktuks.com/

When you do get to Bkk look us up - Discounts for Waterfordians of course!
    http://www.airbnb.com/s?host_id=130299

I'm gonna try baking some Blaas today! :D

Phuket is getting dangerous - both the Thai and Russian mafias are running amok:

I do have a home in Pattaya but still living in Waterford for the sake of the children... How long do you live there ?

Remembered Bridgies so well, Used to live across the road from her, where the Greens family lives only few doors away from me, I remembered going behind the counter at Bridgies without buying any sweets, she would rite down what i took, and she would tell my parents , and they pay..lol.. A lovely lady, Bridgie . A Heart of gold.
    It was an Aladdin's Cave. A lovely lady - sadly missed.

I do have a home in Pattaya but still living in Waterford for the sake of the children... How long do you live there ?
    I've lived in Bkk for the past 7 years - but at MetroPark for the past 6. I hope your home in Pattaya is an apartment or condo - the Thai Government is clamping down on foreign ownership of land (houses).

A Condo , two in fact. Down at Pratumnak Hill where it is very quiet, will be up there for 6 weeks in september for holidays. Harney the Waterford booke who sold all his business to Ladbrokes is living up there.

Another Note about Waterford Past.... I remembered when i was small, The boys used to play handball in Mount sion ave corner where Bridgies shop is, And at Emmet Place where handball and poker is played (RIP to Denis Galibert who died 2 weeks ago). Those was a great times, And remembered the Lads playing flipping the coins every sunday at the back of andrew st off newport sq when the pubs closed after dinner, the lads used to tell me to feck off with a 2 pence... lol

A Condo , two in fact. Down at Pratumnak Hill where it is very quiet, will be up there for 6 weeks in september for holidays. Harney the Waterford booke who sold all his business to Ladbrokes is living up there.

Another Note about Waterford Past.... I remembered when i was small, The boys used to play handball in Mount sion ave corner where Bridgies shop is, And at Emmet Place where handball and poker is played (RIP to Denis Galibert who died 2 weeks ago). Those was a great times, And remembered the Lads playing flipping the coins every sunday at the back of andrew st off newport sq when the pubs closed after dinner, the lads used to tell me to feck off with a 2 pence... lol
    We used to play handball in the barracks and also in De La Salle College (I think) on Johns Hill. I was pretty good at "deadners". Happy days. :)

That's exactly the sort of thing I need for my blog!:eek:

http://irishchildhoodmemories.wordpress.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Wow its been 3 years since I was there. That's some scary sh1t going on there. Your website looks interesting. I will definitely check it out :)

http://irishchildhoodmemories.wordpress.com/[/QUOTE]

Thanks... Looking forward to see that link after work...

Wow its been 3 years since I was there. That's some scary sh1t going on there. Your website looks interesting. I will definitely check it out :)
    That's just a site I use for advertizing. This is my site:

http://www.bangkokvacation.weebly.com

You're welcome ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

We used to play handball on Hennessy's road at the end of Convent Hill against Sullivan's gable end until the Boy Murphy would come along on his bike and give us a good chase,anyone remember him. He was a tough but fair Guard if he caught you he would only give you a telling off. When you are only ten it was scary stuff. There was very little traffic around then , it always puzzled me what was the big crime in playing ball on the streets. Sure we used to have great crac boasting afterwards if we weren't caught, but if you were caught?

Taa Daa!!

Just baked my first batch of Blaas. Not bad for an amateur. Gawd Bless Wikipedia!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blaa

Ooooops! How do I insert a pic from my computer?