Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shamrock Rovers FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Treat people like animals and they'll start acting like animals.

Explain how they were treated like animals.

Nice to see rovers fans finally admit that some of their fans act like animals though! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

doncarlos wrote: »
    Explain how they were treated like animals.

Nice to see rovers fans finally admit that some of their fans act like animals though! ;)

Dundalk are getting away very lightly in the moral panic here.

- they started throwing bottles from the stand when it got heated
    - Rovers fans had been in the area around the dugout all game. The Gardaí moved in when a Dundalk fan confronted them and moved the Rovers fans back up the terrace.
    - Dundalk players (as they did v Bohs) celebrated in front of the Rovers fans

Thats not to defend the scenes, but it isn't as simple as the media are portraying it.

Des wrote: »
    Hang on, what did you expect here?

It's always "someone else's" fault.

I posted this before, but it's applicable here too

ali-1.jpg?t=1273096921

Rubbish. No-one is denying anything - simply saying its not the atrocity that some are making out and there was naughtiness from the Dundalk fans too.

Dundalk are getting away very lightly in the moral panic here.

- they started throwing bottles from the stand when it got heated
    Where did they throw the bottles? Any photographs or videos of this.
    - Rovers fans had been in the area around the dugout all game. The Gardaí moved in when a Dundalk fan confronted them and moved the Rovers fans back up the terrace.
    Really?? So how did they get past the fence. Have watched the video since and no rovers fans where there until they kicked the fence down. The Dundalk "fan" that "confronted" them was the doorman from the lillywhite lounge who was trying to stop them getting into the Dundalk fans.
    - Dundalk players (as they did v Bohs) celebrated in front of the Rovers fans
    Boo fricking hoo. Didn't twigg do the same against Bohs? If the Bohs fans did the same crap would you come on here and blame Twigg?
    Doyle celebrated scoring a last minute winner in front of our fans last week. Did we kick off?? How many players did Dundalk have sent off last year including the manager. How many times did we kick off after it?
    Thats not to defend the scenes, but it isn't as simple as the media are portraying it.

The problem is you are trying to defend the scenes and yes it is as simple as the media are portraying it. There was 30/40 lads down that were looking for any excuse to cause trouble.

From the stand. Posters on foot.ie and politics.ie from Dundalk admit this happened.
    Really?? So how did they get past the fence. Have watched the video since and no rovers fans where there until they kicked the fence down. The Dundalk "fan" that "confronted" them was the doorman from the lillywhite lounge who was trying to stop them getting into the Dundalk fans.

Rovers were there all game. Its when this 'doorman' got stuck in that some fans on the terrace reacted and moved down the terrace and the Gardaí moved in. Look at the footage, its clear that most of the naughty Rovers fans are pointing at someone in particular.
    Boo fricking hoo. Didn't twigg do the same against Bohs? If the Bohs fans did the same crap would you come on here and blame Twigg?
    Doyle celebrated scoring a last minute winner in front of our fans last week. Did we kick off?? How many players did Dundalk have sent off last year including the manager. How many times did we kick off after it?

I'm saying its a factor, and one picked up on by the press. Twigg ran past the B*hs fans, the Dundalk players ran up to the away fans specifically. Its different and raises the heat unneccesarily.

The problem is you are trying to defend the scenes and yes it is as simple as the media are portraying it. There was 30/40 lads down that were looking for any excuse to cause trouble.

Its not. There was some distinct naughtiness from the Dundalk fans that you are getting away with scott free. I'm not defending anything, merely saying there is a lot more to this than the holier than thou Dundalk fans are claiming and that when all is said and done this was not a major incident.

As for Minister Ahearne, he was very quick to wade in. Where was he when a Dundalk fan ran acrosee the pitch to have a pop at the Drogs? When a Galway fan got battered in Oriel? Thats just this season. Must have missed his indignation when Maxi got a job at Dundalk FC.... Clean your own house Minister....

I'm not trying to talk this down, there has to be sanctions. But lets not go all Joe Duffy here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I didn't see it but I was also told the same by people I have no reason to disbelieve. Plus there was a lot of taunting from the stand (and even from what looked like the jacks window :)) when it was kicking off. Dundalk have a bad as element as us: face facts.

Not that it condones the incidents in the slightest, but as ever, despite most Rovers supporters here condemning it, there seems to be a need almost for flagellation or blood or something. And the moral outrage currently in the media is completely OTT. Even Fitzgibbon Street's finest are having their say: a case of thugs condemning thugs if ever I saw one.

On Melligan celebrating in front of the crowd; Twigg did the same at the Bohs end in Tallaght twice (and got spat at and boxed last time) so I can't really condemn it.

However in light of that happening, Hancock should have cooled things down. Again, that's not an excuse for what went on, but lets sort everything out: Fuck the scrotes out of Rovers; Fuck the scrotes out of ALL the clubs AND police and officiate needle matches with a modicum of sense and professionalism.

From the stand. Posters on foot.ie and politics.ie from Dundalk admit this happened.

There was Rovers fans in the stand too. Was the bottle thrown at the section that the rovers fans invaded or at the normal rovers fans on the away section?
    If it did come from the Dundalk section then I hope there is an investigation and a lifetime ban handed out.

Rovers were there all game. Its when this 'doorman' got stuck in that some fans on the terrace reacted and moved down the terrace and the Gardaí moved in. Look at the footage, its clear that most of the naughty Rovers fans are pointing at someone in particular.
    Really as it didnt look like that on the telly. Are you really saying that there was rovers fans behind the fence and the others kicked it down to rescue their comrades after being attacked?
    This goes against what I seen live and video footage of and every report in the media or post I've seen on a forum
    I'm saying its a factor, and one picked up on by the press. Twigg ran past the B*hs fans, the Dundalk players ran up to the away fans specifically. Its different and raises the heat unneccesarily.
    Football is about passion and heat. This happens all the time. Fans of other clubs don't react the way some of your lot did.

Its not. There was some distinct naughtiness from the Dundalk fans that you are getting away with scott free. I'm not defending anything, merely saying there is a lot more to this than the holier than thou Dundalk fans are claiming and that when all is said and done this was not a major incident.
    If there was bottles thrown from Dundalk fans I will go on record now and say they are scum and that they should be banned from all LOI grounds. Will you do the same about the rovers fans that caused trouble or will you try and make more excuses.
    As for Minister Ahearne, he was very quick to wade in. Where was he when a Dundalk fan ran acrosee the pitch to have a pop at the Drogs?
    That lad was up before the court the following week. Unfortunately he only got a suspended sentence as it was his first offence.
    When a Galway fan got battered in Oriel?
    It happened in Galway outside the ground.
    Thats just this season.
    Both were last season
    Must have missed his indignation when Maxi got a job at Dundalk FC.... Clean your own house Minister....
    Maxi was a former steward. He has held no role at Dundalk FC since his infamous incident. However he should have been banned from the ground in my opinion.
    I'm not trying to talk this down, there has to be sanctions. But lets not go all Joe Duffy here.

I have been following Dundalk for almost 20 years and I have seen many many worse incidents in Oriel. Times have changed though. This behaviour isn't ignored the way it used to be. Plus it was on live TV. I really can't understand why people make excuses for these scumbags as they have embarresed your club, the league and will hurt you both financially and actually hurt you on the pitch as the hold up in play actually helped Dundalk as Rovers where completely on top when it all kicked off.

stovelid wrote: »
    I didn't see it but I was also told the same by people I have no reason to disbelieve. Plus there was a lot of taunting from the stand (and even from what looked like the jacks window :)) when it was kicking off. Dundalk have a bad as element as us: face facts.

Well if there was bottles thrown I hope Rovers make a complaint to Dundalk FC and an investigation takes place.

"Taunting"!?? :rolleyes::p

It's football ffs there was over a thousand of us taunting you from the shed too! :D

As for our element yes we have a few scumbags who are quite happy to cause trouble if they are given the oppertunity. Difference is on our forum we don't make excuses for them or try and play down incidents.

Difference is on our forum we don't make excuses for them or try and play down incidents.

Have you read our forum since that game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Things will have to improve at Oriel. Rovers fans "broke through" the same fence last season. It doesn't take rocket science to organise proper segregation and put a couple of stewards and one Garda at that fence. Three seasons ago, Rovers fans were bricked at the petrol station outside Oriel. The same happened again two seasons ago. This year, the Gardai had a proper plan in place and Rovers fans were safely escorted back to cars and buses. It shouldn't take three years to get things right. Hopefully, next time in Oriel, they will have the common sense to put in a proper buffer zone.
    Regarding the bottle from the main stand: that is a definite. It was a glass bottle ( some supporters say that there were two bottles thrown ). The person who threw it was seen by other Dundalk supporters. Hopefully he will be dealt with. Why was he allowed to bring a glass bottle out from the bar into the main stand?
    I've already dealt with my opinion of Rovers fans and the match itself in another post.

Thanks Hardworker, despite others protestations this incident isn't as simple as is being made out.

But to me an interesting side bar to this is the ministers intervention. His department scuppered the FAI plans for a database of banned fans to be shared. The irony is Rovers will ban the guys involved and they will be in Oriel Park later in the season. So if he was that upset by the scenes, perhaps he might do something to help stamp them out.

Things will have to improve at Oriel. Rovers fans "broke through" the same fence last season. It doesn't take rocket science to organise proper segregation and put a couple of stewards and one Garda at that fence. Three seasons ago, Rovers fans were bricked at the petrol station outside Oriel. The same happened again two seasons ago. This year, the Gardai had a proper plan in place and Rovers fans were safely escorted back to cars and buses. It shouldn't take three years to get things right. Hopefully, next time in Oriel, they will have the common sense to put in a proper buffer zone.
    Regarding the bottle from the main stand: that is a definite. It was a glass bottle ( some supporters say that there were two bottles thrown ). The person who threw it was seen by other Dundalk supporters. Hopefully he will be dealt with. Why was he allowed to bring a glass bottle out from the bar into the main stand?
    I've already dealt with my opinion of Rovers fans and the match itself in another post.

Good post. Would agree with it all apart from the buffer zone part. The buffer zone was the part that was behind the fence that the Rovers fans moved into. I'm sure that that a more permanent solution will be put in during our ground improvements as I can't see UEFA viewing the fence as adequate for proper segregation.
    But to me an interesting side bar to this is the ministers intervention. His department scuppered the FAI plans for a database of banned fans to be shared. The irony is Rovers will ban the guys involved and they will be in Oriel Park later in the season. So if he was that upset by the scenes, perhaps he might do something to help stamp them out.

I didnt know this. I'd like to see banning orders from the courts too. So if a banned supporter enters a ground then it is a criminal offence that they can be prosecuted for. Definitely something Ahearn needs to get his finger out about. He has seen what can happen and he has the power to do something about it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I pointed out the Dualk players clebrated in front of us aswell. It's not an excuse but it's a bit pathetic, celebrate with your own fans, it's what they're there for.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I didnt know this. I'd like to see banning orders from the courts too. So if a banned supporter enters a ground then it is a criminal offence that they can be prosecuted for. Definitely something Ahearn needs to get his finger out about. He has seen what can happen and he has the power to do something about it.

I think it was more a data privicy issue. Clubs have no legal right to even keep a list of banned fans details, let alone share with others.

But at the moment, even banning home fans is legally moody. If Rovers ban people from homes games for behaviour at an away venue, the banned party might win a case in court injuncting against it. Legislation is needed for a: a legal basis to ban fans from games, home and awan and b: a database of those who are banned.

Over to you minister.

:cool:

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1343-mannus-not-taking-up-n-ireland-call-up-

Alan Mannus not taking up place in Northern Ireland squad.

Shamrock Rovers have contacted the Irish Football Association to confirm that Hoops goalkeeper, Alan Mannus will not travel with the Northern Ireland squad on their upcoming American tour.

After discussions between Mannus, Hoops boss, Michael O’Neill and Northern Ireland manager, Nigel Worthington, Mannus has decided not to take up his place in the squad.

Northern Ireland will take on Turkey in Connecticut on May 26, and then travel to Chile for a game on May 30. While the Hoops are due to face Bohemians in the Airtricity League on May 29, and Derry City in the EA Sports Cup on June 1.

O’Neill said: “I feel sympathy for Alan at having to miss this opportunity; however he did not want to miss any Rovers games, particularly at this stage of the season. He has been in fantastic form this season and I am sure he will be included in future Northern Ireland squads.”

Mannus added: “Although I am disappointed to miss out on the tour, my priority at this time is with my club. I look forward to being included in future Northern Ireland squads.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Thank fcuk for that, was shítting it that he'd miss the game against B*hs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

Fair play to him. Maybe those who took an instant dislike to him because he displaced St Barry may be persuaded to change their minds now. End of season tours are pointless anyway IMO.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

A game to live long in the memory..

http://vimeo.com/11705665

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Fookin hell, a couple of hairy moments in the second half! :eek:

Should be more of a game tonight. Whether that will be bad or good, I don't know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Ill just leave this here...

424932.jpg

bohsman wrote: »

424932.jpg

Must be hard for him being back in Tallaght, but not with the club he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Must be hard for him being back in Tallaght, but not with the club he wants.

Poor guy looks devastated alright.

He's probably just glad his sore wrist has cleared up.

It used to give him awful trouble, that wrist. Apparently the wind and rain was really bad for it.

I've seen him celebrate goal kicks for Rovers more enthusiastically...

Page 8... :eek:

5k fine for the Dundalk game with 3 suspended and similar for Dundalk..

Away to Bohs..I'm unusually quite looking forward to a game in Dalymount for the first time in 100 years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

424932.jpg

Would love to see his face after facing Fenlon last week.

What the hell has gone wrong with him? he was ****ing spiderman with Rovers now he looks like the fat kid you pick last in 27 a side ****ting it when the ball comes in the box :confused:

he was nearly our keeper, really glad we missed out on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

dfx- wrote: »
    I'm unusually quite looking forward to a game in Dalymount for the first time in 100 years..

Showing your age there.;)

dreamers75 wrote: »
    What the hell has gone wrong with him? he was ****ing spiderman with Rovers now he looks like the fat kid you pick last in 27 a side ****ting it when the ball comes in the box :confused:

he was nearly our keeper, really glad we missed out on him.

I think he hasn't been the same since his collision with Cretaro or Bermingham being brought off in an ambulance in a neck-brace at Tolka. He's been hesitant since then including last season.

Mind you Mark O'Brien was great with Rovers then left for Bohs, Tony Grant...Keddy..McGuinness...the list goes on..
    Showing your age there.;)

And still I haven't seen Rovers win in Cork.. :(

I'm unusually quite looking forward to a game in Dalymount for the first time in 100 years..

The last time the Connaught side resembled a functional terrace, no doubt.

Dalymount%20Park%204.jpg

Inticing prospect isn't it? All tickets sold...I wonder how many will get in the Jodi..

Twigg marriage might mean his absence according to the Ultras forum... :eek:

If there was any fixture that Twigg would get taken out, it's this, so maybe a blessing in disguise.

At least we're not in a position where a defeat would be disastrous. A draw would be OK. At least we have no injuries bar Sully. If Twigg doesn't play, a 4-5-1 with Ricer behind Turner/Bayly and Chambers will suffice with Stewart leading the line?

I'd also start Socky (or at least give him a half) on how he's played recently when he's come on although maybe he's better coming on against a tired defence.

My pick:

...................... Mannus............................
    ............Flynn Sives Murray Murphy.............
    ........................Ricer..............................
    ...Kavanagh Bayly/Turner Chambers SOC ......
    ......................Stewart............................

Chambers could even go in at right-full there to let Bayly and Turner on. This isn't a game for Bradser, even if MON's faith is becoming delusional at this stage.

Not to have a dig at Bohs, but I'm actually getting worried about the terrace. It's basically been condemned at this stage. We had the bones of 1500 on it last season. If the Fitzgibbon street police had any gumption whatsoever, we could have had the Des Kelly and a smaller part of the Connaught.

Not to have a dig at Bohs, but I'm actually getting worried about the terrace. It's basically been condemned at this stage.

Under FAI conditions Bohs are only able to open it for Rovers matches (and if any big European matces). It would have been closed like the Ballybough End in Tolka this season but for Rovers bringing a large support which the Des Kelly can't hold.

Not complaining about the extra tickets but the budget-propping (to the club) crowd that Rovers bring is causing problems - Sligo, Oriel and Bohs spring to mind. I thought the Des Kelly held 1000+? Pit us there and have a small overflow on the Connaught. A combo of police incompetence and a desire to squeeze bucks out of our away support is leading to potentially dangerous situations.

Definitely not a game for Bradley, but I wouldn't be surprised..MO'N went fo him in the first half against Fingal when he didn't chase back though. Also wouldn't be surprised to see Price squeeze back in..maybe even something like in Santry with all three centre-halves in the first eleven.

Mannus
    Flynn Price Murray Murphy
    Dennehy Turner Rice Chambers Cahill
    Stewart

Murphy and Cahill would be a good option going forward and Murphy is good enough at recovery..I'd give Dennehy his final chance before dropping him too.

Are Rovers more safety conscious when it comes to populating condemned stands? If it's not safe for 3 Mervue fans, it's not safe for over a thousand Rovers fans..

Somebody needs to tell Jason Byrne that there's no need to hit the deck that quickly unless there is a peno on?

For once, I don't mind him going down after the game..especially in those circumstances.. :cool: :pac:

http://vimeo.com/12187304

Airtricity League 101:

Tackle 1: A yellow card is sufficient for this tackle and play must be stopped regardless of any advantage to administer this yellow card.

Tackle 2: This tackle is fair and the opponent should be booked for kicking the tackler's leg and losing his balance deliberately in an attempt to cheat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

The refereeing in this league is depressing...

Heard from someone in college today that a new stand is to be built at the Square end of Tallaght. :eek:

Wouldn't want to be in that stand on a very rainy day - it should be the away section just for Bohs - they could have all the tickets they would ever need..

And talking of uncovered away sections, Longford (a) in the cup.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Just a question.......whats the deal with the seats??? Looks like they got carried away with the lego!!:pac:

Gridlock wrote: »
    Just a question.......whats the deal with the seats??? Looks like they got carried away with the lego!!:pac:

Not Shams stadium, it's the SDCC stadium and the colours are their logo.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Not Shams stadium, it's the SDCC stadium and the colours are their logo.

Ah right.....thats a shame!! Continuous green and white would have been far more appealing on the eye!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Gridlock wrote: »
    Ah right.....thats a shame!! Continuous green and white would have been far more appealing on the eye!

I disagree...

The colours are mank, has to be said.

Guess we just have to put up with stands that are not life-threatening, a lack of moss; decent food concessions, typhoid-free jacks; decent pitch, deadly shop and entertainment facilities.

Hard, but.

Re: stand. I would have thought the car-park end was logical to block the wind. Maybe it's a safety or access thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Would ye say it'd be difficult to get a ticket or two for the Europa League home game?

baz2009 wrote: »
    Would ye say it'd be difficult to get a ticket or two for the Europa League home game?

Wouldn't say they'd have many visiting fans and well they're hardly glamour ties to attract neutral fans.

More difficulty getting an away ticket I'd say :pac:

...reply 999....

baz2009 wrote: »

Nah, doubt it. Still think it'll be a decent crowd though. More so for the Israelis than the Armenians, I'd say.

Ticket got:cool: