Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shamrock Rovers FC Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

dfx- wrote: »

Different players...how far off was that from the strongest possible side? Not including players in isolation by choice of Del Neri. I can't think of too many others.

Buffon,Giovinco,Camoranesi and Trezeguet didn't feature either through exclusion or injury. Juventus 2010/2011 atm is a mid-table side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

baz2009 wrote: »
    VS

:rolleyes: Yeah they would behave like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Tickets for Modena in hand! Cant wait now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

So why is the game in Modena and not Turin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

AIR-AUSSIE wrote: »
    So why is the game in Modena and not Turin?

Juve fan?

U2 are playing in Juve's stadium that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Legend

Juventus captain Alessandro del Piero hailed the passion of Shamrock Rovers fans after their Europa League first-leg win in Dublin.

The Bianconeri won 2-0 in Dublin for the first leg of the qualifying round on Thursday thanks to an Amauri brace.

“It went exactly like we wanted it to go. The win in the first round against the Shamrock Rovers makes it easier to advance to the next round, we just need to remain focused also in the second leg,” he wrote on alessandrodelpiero.com.

“It was nice to play in a stadium like the one in Dublin, very small, less than five thousand people crowded it completely...

“But I can assure you that they made us feel their presence, oh yes, they did. During the whole match they were cheering their team, despite the result.

“Pure passion, really nice ambience, the experience of times gone by! I was happy to be there.

“I’m grateful to the Irish fans for a standing ovation they reserved for me when I entered the fray. I also thanked them after the game through the local journalists that interviewed me.”

http://www.alessandrodelpiero.com/en/news/11820

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Shows why he was deserving of the reception he got.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Angling for a move from Juventus already... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭carlop

stovelid wrote: »
    Legend

Juventus captain Alessandro del Piero hailed the passion of Shamrock Rovers fans after their Europa League first-leg win in Dublin.

The Bianconeri won 2-0 in Dublin for the first leg of the qualifying round on Thursday thanks to an Amauri brace.

“It went exactly like we wanted it to go. The win in the first round against the Shamrock Rovers makes it easier to advance to the next round, we just need to remain focused also in the second leg,” he wrote on alessandrodelpiero.com.

“It was nice to play in a stadium like the one in Dublin, very small, less than five thousand people crowded it completely...

“But I can assure you that they made us feel their presence, oh yes, they did. During the whole match they were cheering their team, despite the result.

“Pure passion, really nice ambience, the experience of times gone by! I was happy to be there.

“I’m grateful to the Irish fans for a standing ovation they reserved for me when I entered the fray. I also thanked them after the game through the local journalists that interviewed me.”

http://www.alessandrodelpiero.com/en/news/11820

He was probably just relieved to be playing in front of fans that weren't actively setting fire to their own stadium!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/hoops-swoop-in-attempt-to-lure-fenn-out-of-retirement-2281018.html

Signing hasbeens and dragging them out of retirement? :pac:
    "If that person is Fenn, and Neale Fenn is a free agent, then it has nothing to do with us. He is a free agent and that's the bottom line. If the player is a free agent, then he is eligible to sign for us by our understanding of the rules. I don't think we are exploiting anybody.

"That's between the player and his previous club. The morality does not exist on our part. But we have not committed to doing any business with the player."

Rovers believe they can go ahead and sign the player, although there have been difficulties in the past with respect to registering a player outside the transfer window who had parted company with another club before it closed.

Dundalk signed Keith Dunne as a free agent in February of 2006, after he'd terminated his contract with St Patrick's Athletic, but couldn't play him until July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Neale Fenn is still a quality player, he'd create tonnes of chances for your front 2, but I wouldn't be surprised if he was asking for €20,000 a week and a free sunbed.

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Shows why he was deserving of the reception he got.

Agreed. He came across as a great bloke for the entire time he was here.
    frantic190 wrote: »
    Neale Fenn is still a quality player, he'd create tonnes of chances for your front 2, but I wouldn't be surprised if he was asking for €20,000 a week and a free sunbed.

This playing benefit is all well and good, but the more important question is: how much will it annoy Foster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Agreed. He came across as a great bloke for the entire time he was here.

This playing benefit is all well and good, but the more important question is: how much will it annoy Foster?

No offense, Stovelid. But why have you got that quote as your sig?? It's completely patronising. I know he meant it in good spirit, but it sounds like Juve calling up the little Irish slut from around the corner and the little Irish slut happy to oblige, bringing her own KY Jelly and condoms!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

monkey9 wrote: »
    No offense, Stovelid. But why have you got that quote as your sig?? It's completely patronising. I know he meant it in good spirit, but it sounds like Juve calling up the little Irish slut from around the corner and the little Irish slut happy to oblige, bringing her own KY Jelly and condoms!

Eh, not really.

monkey9 wrote: »
    I know he meant it in good spirit, but it sounds like Juve calling up the little Irish slut from around the corner and the little Irish slut happy to oblige, bringing her own KY Jelly and condoms!

I can see where you're coming from, but I just interpreted it as honest praise of our support, no matter the size of Juve. Juve didn't get an easy ride from the crowd overall. Down the years, ADP has always come across as a football man: somebody who would be on the terraces himself if he wasn't on the field. I for one won't stop believing we can do it on Thursday until the final whistle, and liking the quote isn't being starstruck or respectful at all. I'd have liked the quote, whoever said it.

:p

Hoops sign Neale Fenn

Tuesday, 03 August 2010 16:34

Shamrock Rovers boss, Michael O’Neill has further strengthened his squad for final stages of the 2010 season, by capturing the signature of striker, Neale Fenn.

Fenn today put pen to paper on a deal that will see him join the Hoops for the rest of the season. O’Neill said he is delighted to have a player of Fenn’s experience and ability available to him for the rest of the season. “I am delighted to have Neale on board. He is a very good player who has proven himself in this league, and won titles.” Fenn has previously played in the Premier Division with Cork City, Bohemians and Dundalk.

http://shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1507-hoops-sign-neale-fenn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Thats a bit of a joke the way Fenn "retired" and just signs for Shamrock.

Although, he's brutal anyway...

Graham Barrett's probably as useful? :P

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Disgraceful from Fenn really, pity, I had liked him otherwise.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Fenn is past it tbh

Given his type of game, it could be a good move as he's the type of player we're crying out for, even if he's off his peak. Can't hurt given the length of the contract.

I agree it's all a bit hard on Dundalk, but we were not the only club in for him. Nothing illegal about it.

O Neill winning more hearts and minds :D

dreamers75 wrote: »
    O Neill winning more hearts and minds :D

I rubbed out the superfluous words for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I think Fenn is a good support player for a striker. He worked well with O'Flynn when he was at City and might be good with someone like Twigg.

However he always gets caught for pace.

I think it could get to Sligo levels:eek:

I don't know if Fenn will get in ahead of Stewart and Twigg

I think it could get to Sligo levels:eek:

I don't know if Fenn will get in ahead of Stewart and Twigg

He might be a better fit for Twigg though. It's obvious nobody is complimenting him like Dessie did. Good dilemma to have though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I think Fenn is a good support player for a striker. He worked well with O'Flynn when he was at City and might be good with someone like Twigg.

However he always gets caught for pace.

Except against Rovers in Tallaght earlier this season. Definitely past it tho, wonder is MON regretting letting Amond go at this stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭aliveandkicking

bohsman wrote: »
    Except against Rovers in Tallaght earlier this season. Definitely past it tho, wonder is MON regretting letting Amond go at this stage?

O'Neill offered Amond a new contract but couldn't guarantee him a place in the starting 11. Amond chose to leave and join Sligo. I would say MON is regretting not doing more to keep him though.

bohsman wrote: »
    wonder is MON regretting letting Amond go at this stage?

Amond wanted more football and scored about 9 or 10 goals the season before. Would you have dropped Baker or Twigg for him last season? Personally I think a move out was good for him too.

The goals are spread out a bit more now with Chambers and Stewart, and Dessie has hardly played.

I like Padraig and would have liked him to stay but so far, but it looks like being a league where no striker has really banged them like Twigg or Byrne last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Honestly think Fenn could be the signing that may nick us the league. Might sound like I'm overstating things, but we've missed Dessie Baker up alongside Twigg so much this season, creating space and chances for him. Fenn will be able to play the same role and is great at holding up the ball and bringing others into play, really chuffed with the signing.

The fact that it might piss off the Dundaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawkies, is a nice bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

True, but between Baker and Amond its got to be Amond with age on his side I think. I can see why Fenns been brought in but he didnt exactly do what you're hoping for sitting in behind Crowe/Byrne at Bohs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Bit of neck from Fenn. Thought I read he'd retired for family reasons and that he wouldn't miss the game! Capricious or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Think he's a Sagitarius actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Bit of neck from Fenn. Thought I read he'd retired for family reasons and that he wouldn't miss the game! Capricious or what!

I thought he was retiring because he gets awful back pains after matches? I dunno though.

Probably the reason he opted for part-time football when the offer came, he's probably on a 1,000 a week too as well.

Whatever goes on between Fenn and Dundalk is between them. If Fenn suddenly makes himself available, and number of clubs are alerted to his availability, it's not their fault.

Some of the whining from certain clubs about fair play and playing by the rules beggars belief and is mind-boggling hypocrisy.

Ah, now...it's the LOI afterall, we specialise in such things :)

Whatever goes on between Fenn and Dundalk is between them. If Fenn suddenly makes himself available, and number of clubs are alerted to his availability, it's not their fault.

The 3 parties didnt rub themselves in glory on this, fenn thought the could get his tax back before the end of the year, Dundalk let him go and rovers morally signed him :D

O Neill had better win the league tbh otherwise his constant tapping up of players will be for nought. How are his negoiations with Conor Kennas father going?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Dundalk let him go and rovers morally signed him :D

If the player is a free agent, why not? No wrong-doing that I can see although I can see how people might think Fenn is a out of line. Only way it would be is if Rovers influenced the decision to retire which is clearly not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Anybody watching the match? Surely it has to be abandoned :confused:

hopefully :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Awful conditions. If it was to be called off I'd feel terrible for the 1,000 fans over there.

On a side note, the RTÉ quality of coverage is deplorable.

Voltwad wrote: »
    Awful conditions. If it was to be called off I'd feel terrible for the 1,000 fans over there.
    i would be shocked if any of them knew what day it is let alone that its raining.

39261_453754596514_679866514_6184933_2291592_n.jpg

MON likes to sign players who do well against us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

39261_453754596514_679866514_6184933_2291592_n.jpg

MON likes to sign players who do well against us...

Has he retired yet? :)

What is the Italian for "Retire and we'll offer you a contract"?

Dunno if I'm ashamed or pleased about the U2 part... :)

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1515-thank-u2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Just back. Brilliant craic in the ground. Got lost this morning in Modena (****ing IMPOSSIBLE to get on the autostrada), ended up doing 160kph all the way to France to catch my flight, I think Im banned from driving in Italy now by default.

Bring on the Bohs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

SRFC90 wrote: »

Haha look at the bald fella in the navy to the left of Chambers.:D

Well then...that was nice.

Biggest win in 16 years :cool:

Well then...that was nice.

Biggest win in 16 years :cool:

Unbelievable, what a win, incredible week to be a hoop. Boez really were muck and Fenlon's cracking up, happy days.