Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can haz general discussion?

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭ash xxx

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I ****ing hate football. Raises your spirits and then kicks you in the crotch so bad you're left with an inverted micky for weeks. Feel's even worse cause I laid my team and won a 100 euro :(

Didnt think maths nerds even had mickeys :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Feck off the two of you. I'm going to bed

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭ash xxx

Feck off the two of you. I'm going to bed

You're just annoyed cause you know I'm right ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Essay is finished. I am happy for the next 12 hours until I start my translation assignment.

But keeping in with my current theme of having a complaint in every post, I am freeeezing and my back hurts thanks to 3 solid hours of nerding it up with this essay AND I drank so much red bull I dont think I'm going to sleep tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I hate when you're so tired you could fall asleep instantly, but are suspended in consciousness by red bull and or coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Why did I decide to watch Requiem for a Dream? Now I'm too upset to sleep *tear*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Ah nothing bad was said about boards, just like 'send thoughts/complaints to us instead of posting them anonymously on boards.ie' .

Strange though,as the Presidents Report was so good. Full of good news, great updates (This years SU seem to be carrying a fair work load/doing a lot) , I was like "guys goooooood" and then my beloved B.IE was mentioned.

I expected to come home and find a thread titled

"GOOGLE APPS NOW CUTBACKS WERS D PARKING BERTIE AHERN NO CANTEEN LECTURERS ON STRIKE MOODLE MADNESS CRISPS ARE 2DEAR IN THE BAR CANT FIND A BOOK IN THE LIBRARY FIANNA FAIL GRR THE SPOKE SACK THE SU"

But nope. Not a clue what they were on about, I don't think any whinging/negative stuff goes on here really to be honest?

There's actually like a mini-bus of us on here. I was half tempted to go "We could literally all get the same taxi home to be honest?"

LeixlipRed, while I know the Saints and Shels traditionally hate one another, Sporting Franchise are the most annoying group of wa*kers who don't play in Tallaght in the game.

I thought Pats and Shels would be playing one another again next year, but not in the Premier League! We got lucky.

Football, beautiful game, some painful moments.

also, Rob- did you not know it was on? shiiiii.

They were like "...and eh, a presentation by Robert but he's not here"

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

all nighter. 3 exams thursday and one friday and know nowt but i have had a good time not learning. at least i know i have to start but the real tradegy is benetiz said its all over... there will carnage on friday night

PrivateEye wrote: »
    also, Rob- did you not know it was on? shiiiii.

They were like "...and eh, a presentation by Robert but he's not here"

Emailed Returning Officer with the motion, never heard back. Am officially class rep now so shouldn't be a problem in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

But nope. Not a clue what they were on about, I don't think any whinging/negative stuff goes on here really to be honest?

There's actually like a mini-bus of us on here. I was half tempted to go "We could literally all get the same taxi home to be honest?"

there was quite a bit in the thread on the attacks. I encourage and support posters discussing the things that affect them in college (as does boards in general) and if that includes the SU then so be it. If the SU want to post to answer the questions (and everyone can behave like adults) then so much the better.

however, dont mistake a discussion on boards for an actual action. its just a chat, like over a pint in the pub ("lets go raid the castle!"). Once you have the discussion finished and you feel that your point has been clarified through talk, then you should present it to the SU. They cant fix something if they dotn know its broken and the SU dont consider boards.ie as their primary outlet/inlet for information and opinions (yet. soon boards.ie shall rule you all!).

Also, dont waste the opportunity you have when an SU member actually responds here. It is possible to be argumentative without being abusive and it is considered polite to give the opposition time to formulate a response. - not a criticism of anyone here, just something to bear in mind in the future.

Incidentally, in case people don't who know who to contact for things like the attacks (I wouldn't have known, they don't make it obvious anywhere online) email vpcommunications@nuimsu.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

VP welfare, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheDrog

I ****ing hate football. Raises your spirits and then kicks you in the crotch so bad you're left with an inverted micky for weeks. Feel's even worse cause I laid my team and won a 100 euro :(

I'd agree with you, except that we won our playoff :D

:( I fell in the mud at 2.30am and I wasn't even intoxicated.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Need somewhere good to go out tonight in Dublin. Somewhere with good music, dance floor and is cheap in. Preferably not the 21's style places. HELP!!

PrivateEye you go cool places, any ideas?

*don't ban me roz for not asking in the Dublin forum, I trust these guys more...*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Day off Tuesday 24th November :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,965 ✭✭✭mp3guy

cian1500ww wrote: »

To be honest that's an incredible pain in the arse, since lecturers are now going to want to cram the missed lectures/labs into the following weeks.

Michellenman, sorry I dont check this as much as i used to. I'm about as cool as a bbq, but I do like the look of:

Rotation down at The Good Bits. Trashed/Transmission/Antics DJs etc. rotating line up each week.
    Its done in the old Radio City.You can pick up the cheap entry flyers off most notice boards in Maynooth (I see somebody is really selling it on campus!)

That reminds me of a great idea I had today, that the next nuim boards pissup be IN TOWN on a Saturday night.

Day off Tuesday 24th November

IFUT and SIPTU out in NUIM, school right next door out (I presume INTO or ASTI). One picket between the two'd be nice, should get a few students onto it for support.

I think November 24th could be messy. Dad and the other blokes in the Fire Brigade were told they have to provide cover on the day, but they wont be getting paid. In other words, work for free. Bllocks to that, let the army get the Green Goddesses out for the day!

Maynooth has probably the most left-leaning academic staff in the country at the minute, I hear the ballots on campus were hugely in favour of action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Teabag!

I think November 24th could be messy. Dad and the other blokes in the Fire Brigade were told they have to provide cover on the day, but they wont be getting paid. In other words, work for free. Bllocks to that, let the army get the Green Goddesses out for the day!

Dude your my buddy/homie/companéro, but that comment is mad

1, The DF was the only gov branch that downsized during the boom, this had two effects (a) they became very cost effective, (b) the manpower of the DF was decreased so to take up other tasks will be incredibly difficult with its current strength as it does plenty of jobs day in day out Cash/Prisoner escorts, Portlaoise prison, Gaurd the mint/Gov buildings, Augment naas fire service, fisheries protection, Fly ministers about,

all these tasks should be done by other orgs Garda, Prison Service, Kildare Co Co, Caost gard/ Dept of the marine, Ryan air........ But alas the DF are seen as dogs bodies and expected to do so for much less pay than those who should be doin these jobs.

2, The DF doesnt have the ability/capacity to perform this task nationally the only part of the DF operating fire trucks are the Curragh fire station (who already assist kildare co co ) but seein as the rest of the country has a retain fire service we could rope in the CD to do it in dublin, as the DFB would clearly be opposed to letting the DF operate its equiptment in an emergency.

3, If the DF take up any of the slack in the services Gards/Fire/Ambo Binmen whatever, all they will get for it at the end of the day is stick, as scabs and so forth even though these lads are poorly paid (a soldier is paid for 168 hrs a week, and can legally have his/her free time curtailed at a whim,) and dont have the luxury of striking.

Sorry for my rant but i firmly believe the DF gets a raw deal all the time, as nobody really cares about it, and it is seen as a 'soft target' for downsizing even though it excercised its own downsizing to make it more functional and cost effective, unlike everyone else in the country who just bloated themselves during the boom years. as thus we should treat them with a little more respect.....

Yus!! YUSS!!!!!!

I got new boots! Non-cheap-ugg boots! :D:D:D:D

Ah Dermo, I know that. Sure they weren't even allowed march on the 24/7 Alliance demo. Its unfortunate that its the Godesses', but I don't think the state should expect the lads to work for free.

The positive development this time is the statement that was released earlier in the year saying how they did not want to be used as substitute labour for striking emergency services. I think with that being out there, the reaction will be a lot different to in 1988 (Where there was frequent run ins between the FB and the DF)

The DF are getting a woeful deal, i didn't mean "get them out" as a slight to them, but rather that the state can not seriously expect the FB to work for free.There's no division between the two jobs in terms of workers, but if one have stated publically that they do not *want* to provide substitute labour but have to, and one refuse to work, they wont be viewed as 'strike breakers' IMO.

Even knowing there could be Goddesses on the street, the FB gave a massive cheer on Wednesday when the DF were mentioned from the stage by their (FB) rep saying that there were another group of workers excluded from the march and that their families are taking a hit too.

Its going to be ugly, thats the only guarantee!

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭gra26

cian1500ww wrote: »

Are the tutors off too does anyone know?

If they're unionised.

Regardless, I presume they'll be out.
    Don't Cross The Pickets and all that.

Maynooths Arts Department in particular is probably the most unionised of its kind. The college will essentially shut down, I presume the unionised workers in the library will be out too.

Damn mammys. Cancelling chinese takeaway cos it was taking over an hour, then arguing with them and telling them to **** off. Going to have to order from the gross ones from now on!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

*Sends the cookies I just made in Roz's direction to push my impending ban for ranting too much a little bit further away* ;)

Nom, cookies!

I've resorted to steamed rice.

I know nothing of any strike action.

Can someone tell me WTF is going on?

banquo wrote: »
    I know nothing of any strike action.

Can someone tell me WTF is going on?