Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Emmerdale [News, Spoilers and Discussion]

• Registered Users Posts: 21,936 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Don'''t condone violence but Laurel really needs a slap in the face, might be the only thing that makes her see sense.

Excellent scenes and acting from Alicia and Chrissie tonight.
    Fair play to Chrissie for doing the right thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

AT LAST!!!
    I was not expecting that ending.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

I dont know what to think is Lachlan just a perv or mentally unwell though ?

I'd say there is of element of 'be vigilant of what your teens are looking up on the Internet' to the whole thing. I worry for young people who read things on Urban Dictionary and believe it.

Lachlan was watching 'how-to's which normalised behaviour which is, in reality, assault. That's why he (apparently) doesn't believe he has done anything wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,781 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Go Chrissie that must have taken some balls and Robert still looks elsewhere :p

Doug should tell Marlon about Laurel's drinking

Why cant Paddy and Rhona's bank tell them it was Pearl who cashed the cheque?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Go Chrissie that must have taken some balls and Robert still looks elsewhere :p

Doug should tell Marlon about Laurel's drinking

This is what I've been thinking. Generally speaking a business owner like Paddy would have a good relationship with his bank manager and would be able to ring up and say hey could you check out something for me and it could be looked after fairly swiftly, particularly where €5,000 is concerned.
    Didn't he ring the bank the other day and get through to the bank manager? I didn't see what happened after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I'd say there is of element of 'be vigilant of what your teens are looking up on the Internet' to the whole thing. I worry for young people who read things on Urban Dictionary and believe it.

Lachlan was watching 'how-to's which normalised behaviour which is, in reality, assault. That's why he (apparently) doesn't believe he has done anything wrong.

Yeah, I believe the core of this storyline is how what teens see online can affect them, and I'm sure we'll see more of this as it progresses.

It's a good storyline and you see these sort of cases in the news more frequently nowadays. How easily it is to come by things on the internet these days is scary and even what content you can come by so easily is scary. Big difference now to what it was like even 10 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

Mam of 4 wrote: »
    Don'''t condone violence but Laurel really needs a slap in the face, might be the only thing that makes her see sense.

Excellent scenes and acting from Alicia and Chrissie tonight.
    Fair play to Chrissie for doing the right thing.

Chrissie does not deserve any "fair play" . The character has been hideous throughout this story and as I said before I cannot see any redeeming comeback from this . What she did had to be done and any normal minded person would ensure justice for an abused woman, let alone in the current situation where the victim is being accused as being the perpetrator. Family or not noone deserves to be applauded if they know the truth and reveal it, they should be obliged to. In fact what she done was going to benefit her son in some ways as he will now be able to see the error of his ways and get treatment. if she had left it and ignored the truth he would possibly continue his sexual crimes and end up in a worse situation. I know it may of been hard for her to admit how wrong she was but that doesnt excuse her ridiculously ignorand and downright DUMB attitude throughout.

I guess my rant is driven at the character! At least we know her and Slugden are made for eachother!

Its going to be irritating in a few months time when Alicia and herself end up best pals!

Well Pearl made it out to 'Cash', didn't she? Maybe they don't have on record who cashed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

Not sure. You'd think wouldn't you?

But I did send some cheques made out to me to my credit union one time for payment off my loan.

They were never lodged to my account - contacted the bank who said they could see they were cashed but not by who. Was very surprised by that!

First thought to your question was cos it's a soap and they make up how things work to make more drama, but then remembered my cheque thing so maybe not...

Yeah, I believe the core of this storyline is how what teens see online can affect them, and I'm sure we'll see more of this as it progresses.

It's a good storyline and you see these sort of cases in the news more frequently nowadays. How easily it is to come by things on the internet these days is scary and even what content you can come by so easily is scary. Big difference now to what it was like even 10 years ago.

Yep I agree. Think it simplifies it too much by just saying mentally unwell or perv, interesting to hear the crap he was coming out with tonight about getting girls to do what you want, it being a game, etc.

Fair play to Chrissie for doing the right thing, even if she's been completely blinded up until now. Given how blinded she's been with her 'My Lucky can do no wrong' attitude, I'd imagine it'd have been much easier for her in some way to not contact the police.

Zippie84 wrote: »
    Yep I agree. Think it simplifies it too much by just saying mentally unwell or perv, interesting to hear the crap he was coming out with tonight about getting girls to do what you want, it being a game, etc.

When he was saying that I immediately thought of the books by Neil Strauss, which are literally called The Game. A guy I knew used to read those books and tell us about them and we'd have a good laugh about how stupid it was. But it's easy to see how someone could take the contents The Game a bit too seriously and that's essentially what Lachlan is doing (albeit with video tutorials and porn rather than books)...

But I reckon, on top of that, Lachlan also stuggles with empathy or compassion or the type of person who'd torture insects or small animals just to see what happens. I don't think he's mentally unwell, he just sees the world a different way, which is what makes it more interesting a story.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Well Pearl made it out to 'Cash', didn't she? Maybe they don't have on record who cashed it.
    I'm pretty sure she made it out to 'Pearl Ladderbanks.' The bank would at the very least have a copy of the cheque on file and they would see that Pearl put her own name on it. Although the vets all seem to be pretty casual about the loss of five grand compared to how I imagine I'd react!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

Okay, I could be on my own with this one but I quite like Chrissie- she really stands up for her family, to protect them- even though she dobbed Lochlin to the police you could say she is looking out for him- trying to get him to see the error of his ways but also do the right thing by Alicia...

Also I must be on my own with this one but I think she's quite hot :rolleyes:

Alicia played a blinder as usual

Ah-Watch wrote: »
    Okay, I could be on my own with this one but I quite like Chrissie- she really stands up for her family, to protect them- even though she dobbed Lochlin to the police you could say she is looking out for him- trying to get him to see the error of his ways but also do the right thing by Alicia...

Also I must be on my own with this one but I think she's quite hot :rolleyes:

Alicia played a blinder as usual

oh no, definitely quite hot. Not as hot as either Alicia or Leila though, but all beautiful women.

And I see where you are coming from re protecting her family etc. I'm inclined to agree, but reserving judgement in a way, cos I didn't watch it when she first came into it, only got back into it recently.

Ah-Watch wrote: »

There is no problem with people standing up for their family but this is completely different! She chose to ignore an overwhelming amount of evidence against her son and then accuses a woman of paedophelia! Either she was incredibly brazen and choosing to avoid any evidence to face the truth or she is incredibly stupid! Noone knows their son better than their mother and the guy has previous history of sexual deviancy! If it was someone with a squeeky clean past, perhaps you could condone a parent for highly doubting it but a hormonal teenager who has his history you have to at least investigate it!

I can also half cope with her trying to protect her son but she surely, as a character, knew deep down the truth. She just took his word, never doubted it (or never wanted to) and started a hate campaign against Alicia.

Her characters actions over last fortnight have been horrid to watch, vile even. The below clip sums her up.

You don't just take a wierd teenage kid's word over that of a highly liked and respected young married woman on such an accusation and don't doubt it unless you are completely stupid or have witnessed the event.

I admire family loyalty over a lot of things but in this instance it cannot be admired at all.

But you are right..................... she is gorgeous to look at! And they are an intriguing family! But I could never like her after that as I love the character of Alicia!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Radio5

Posy wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure she made it out to 'Pearl Ladderbanks.' The bank would at the very least have a copy of the cheque on file and they would see that Pearl put her own name on it. Although the vets all seem to be pretty casual about the loss of five grand compared to how I imagine I'd react!

Yes she made the cheque payable to herself. Pretty weird that the Vets' bank can't trace who cashed it!!!

I wonder when Lachlan's dad will appear. As he is underage, he will need to have an adult with him when being questioned by the police and I doubt that Chrissy can do it now, as she's the one who reported him in the first place.

As regards taking her son's word for it, I know it's not the same thing but she has believed all of Robert's lies to cover his affair with Aaron.

Some of them have been very implausible but she has believed them all. So maybe that's how they are writing her character.

Laurel was horrible to Doug, and threatening him with not seeing the children was awful, a real sign that she knows she's in the wrong. I hope he confides the truth in Diane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Zippie84 wrote: »
    And I see where you are coming from re protecting her family etc. I'm inclined to agree, but reserving judgement in a way, cos I didn't watch it when she first came into it, only got back into it recently.

Exactly.
    Who knows what anyone would do, if faced with a situation where a family member has done wrong. One might face up to it unflinchingly, and report them, or one might seek, as in this instance Chrissie did, to throw the blame in every direction.

And I guess the good thing about the soap forum is, each one of us is entitled to our own opinion, and it's interesting to chat about the different points of view.

I still hate the storyline, but I think Alicia and David, in particular, have played their parts very convincingly.

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Exactly.
    Who knows what anyone would do, if faced with a situation where a family member has done wrong. One might face up to it unflinchingly, and report them, or one might seek, as in this instance Chrissie did, to throw the blame in every direction.

And I guess the good thing about the soap forum is, each one of us is entitled to our own opinion, and it's interesting to chat about the different points of view.

I still hate the storyline, but I think Alicia and David, in particular, have played their parts very convincingly.

Agree completely with all of that, and think the actress who plays Alicia has been amazing.

And I think when family do things or people close to us, no matter what we decide to do about it / how we decide to respond, I think there's likely a big part of us that desperately wants to believe that they didn't.

Radio5 wrote: »
    Yes she made the cheque payable to herself. Pretty weird that the Vets' bank can't trace who cashed it!!!

I wonder when Lachlan's dad will appear. As he is underage, he will need to have an adult with him when being questioned by the police and I doubt that Chrissy can do it now, as she's the one who reported him in the first place.

As regards taking her son's word for it, I know it's not the same thing but she has believed all of Robert's lies to cover his affair with Aaron.

Some of them have been very implausible but she has believed them all. So maybe that's how they are writing her character.

Laurel was horrible to Doug, and threatening him with not seeing the children was awful, a real sign that she knows she's in the wrong. I hope he confides the truth in Diane.

Well perhaps she is just a gullible simpleton!! It is amazing what money can do to you! Does she actually work or just parade around as Lady of the Manor?

Did she actually find evidence Thursday (I was playing soccer so missed it) or what led to her ephiphany? It just seemed to happen so swiftly, that is her change of attitude towards "the truth"?

I actually wish it was someone else who found the evidence and brought it to attention of police. Chrissie doesn't deserve this "go Chrissie" brigade, I think! Although the dynamic between her and Lachlan after this is going to be good to watch. he is a great little actor

On a side note, I actually think the story with Laurel is very interesting. The actress is actually very good, I had never noticed before!

There is no problem with people standing up for their family but this is completely different! She chose to ignore an overwhelming amount of evidence against her son and then accuses a woman of paedophelia! Either she was incredibly brazen and choosing to avoid any evidence to face the truth or she is incredibly stupid! Noone knows their son better than their mother and the guy has previous history of sexual deviancy! If it was someone with a squeeky clean past, perhaps you could condone a parent for highly doubting it but a hormonal teenager who has his history you have to at least investigate it!

I can also half cope with her trying to protect her son but she surely, as a character, knew deep down the truth. She just took his word, never doubted it (or never wanted to) and started a hate campaign against Alicia.

Her characters actions over last fortnight have been horrid to watch, vile even. The below clip sums her up.

You don't just take a wierd teenage kid's word over that of a highly liked and respected young married woman on such an accusation and don't doubt it unless you are completely stupid or have witnessed the event.

I admire family loyalty over a lot of things but in this instance it cannot be admired at all.

Do you think it's possible that as a parent , no matter what doubts Chrissie had about Lachlans previous behaviour/actions , that she might not have even wanted to let herself think that he could have been guilty?? Who as a parent, or sibling or family member would want to even halfway believe that their family member would be capable of sexual assault?? That's why I said last night fair play to her for doing the right thing by ringing the police.

Just my take on it :)

Do you think it's possible that as a parent , no matter what doubts Chrissie had about Lachlans previous behaviour/actions , that she might not have even wanted to let herself think that he could have been guilty?? Who as a parent, or sibling or family member would want to even halfway believe that their family member would be capable of sexual assault?? That's why I said last night fair play to her for doing the right thing by ringing the police.

Just my take on it :)

Oh, no I buy that concept. I really do.
    But this isn't shoplifting, taking drugs or thuggery, it is sexual assault. And from what i have gathered Chrissie is well aware that Lachlan has some mental issues, sexually. I even empathised with her when it first arose but she turned from protective mother to vile accuser without even considering the evidence against her boy. We all bury our heads in the sand a bit but personally I cannot accept, mother or not, you could take his story without even any consideration to the facts over a grown woman who \would, on all balance of probabilities have no interest in a sexual relationship with a kid.

It wasn't her trying to avoid the truth that got to me even, or trying to defend her son but it was her starting a vile campaign of accusations against Alicia.

You can't just shut your mind out like that without having any doubts to reality unless your brain isn't functioning to an extent.

So in essence what I am saying is if she didn't know, she is a very stupid woman!
    If she did know and wanted to protect her son by playing the victim card she is vile.
    And if she didn't even want to consider the thought of him being guilty, thats very ignorant not great parenting, is it, and equally very hard to forgive.

Regardless, they are an excellently written soap family! A lot of issues between the three of them (and then you have Robert!!) All 3 (4) have some horrible traits, Lawrence seems to think money is the solution to everything! The only one I feel sorry for is "Dog". I mean imagine calling your baby "Human"!!

Oh, no I buy that concept. I really do.
    But this isn't shoplifting, taking drugs or thuggery, it is sexual assault. And from what i have gathered Chrissie is well aware that Lachlan has some mental issues, sexually. I even empathised with her when it first arose but she turned from protective mother to vile accuser without even considering the evidence against her boy. We all bury our heads in the sand a bit but personally I cannot accept, mother or not, you could take his story without even any consideration to the facts over a grown woman who \would, on all balance of probabilities have no interest in a sexual relationship with a kid.

It wasn't her trying to avoid the truth that got to me even, or trying to defend her son but it was her starting a vile campaign of accusations against Alicia.

You can't just shut your mind out like that without having any doubts to reality unless your brain isn't functioning to an extent.

So in essence what I am saying is if she didn't know, she is a very stupid woman!
    If she did know and wanted to protect her son by playing the victim card she is vile.
    And if she didn't even want to consider the thought of him being guilty, thats very ignorant not great parenting, is it, and equally very hard to forgive.

Regardless, they are an excellently written soap family! A lot of issues between the three of them (and then you have Robert!!) All 3 (4) have some horrible traits, Lawrence seems to think money is the solution to everything! The only one I feel sorry for is "Dog". I mean imagine calling your baby "Human"!!

I honestly don't think we're going to come to an agreement or even playing field on each others points of view , but as I've said before we're all entitled to our own take on it but that doesn't mean everyone has to agree with our opinion .

Denial and/or not wanting to believe someone has done something so atrocious , does not , in my opinion only , mean that Chrissie has a brain that isn't working to it's full capacity or is diminished in anyway , on the contrary , I think her reaction and her accusing Alicia of being the guilty party would be something of a defence mechanism . Not saying it's right by any means , but just think it's a human , emotional , reaction that many people might have.

Anyhow, excellent acting by all involved and like Belles storyline , quite a heavy role for Lachlan to be playing and portraying so well.

I honestly don't think we're going to come to an agreement or even playing field on each others points of view , but as I've said before we're all entitled to our own take on it but that doesn't mean everyone has to agree with our opinion .

Denial and/or not wanting to believe someone has done something so atrocious , does not , in my opinion only , mean that Chrissie has a brain that isn't working to it's full capacity or is diminished in anyway , on the contrary , I think her reaction and her accusing Alicia of being the guilty party would be something of a defence mechanism . Not saying it's right by any means , but just think it's a human , emotional , reaction that many people might have.

Anyhow, excellent acting by all involved and like Belles storyline , quite a heavy role for Lachlan to be playing and portraying so well.

I never wanted to sway your take on it! I was just giving my take! Is that what you thought?
    There seems to develop a lot of bickering on these threads that gets somewhat personal but I am just debating the characters, not your opinion. I can see where you are coming from and if that scene in the street hadn't of occurred (The paedophile one) and the campaign against Alicia, I would most likely be on your wavelength.
    Its a fictitious show but I am just giving my opinion on the characters approach to it.

So please don't take this as me questioning your opinion!

I never wanted to sway your take on it! I was just giving my take! Is that what you thought?
    There seems to develop a lot of bickering on these threads that gets somewhat personal but I am just debating the characters, not your opinion. I can see where you are coming from and if that scene in the street hadn't of occurred (The paedophile one) and the campaign against Alicia, I would most likely be on your wavelength.
    Its a fictitious show but I am just giving my opinion on the characters approach to it.

So please don't take this as me questioning your opinion!

Ok , well thank you for clarifying that as to be honest , it did somewhat seem as if an opinion that did not concur with your own opinion , was a wrong one. I'm not saying that's what you intended but that's the way it came across , in my reading of it.

Now that that's all sorted , I still think these threads are great for getting other peoples perspectives/takes on things and like everyone on here , we all have our own opinions and it's good to share them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

I know that she is a gorgeous looking girl, but does anyone else find that there is something a bit masculine about Carly? Not sure if it's the accent or what it is.

ratmouse wrote: »
    I know that she is a gorgeous looking girl, but does anyone else find that there is something a bit masculine about Carly? Not sure if it's the accent or what it is.

I think it might just be because her character is a bit of a tomboy in Emmerdale, but I've never thought of Gemma Atkinson as masculine - if anyone remembers her from her days in Hollyoaks as Lisa Hunter she was one of the infamous Hollyoaks sex symbols back in the early 2000s. She's absoutely stunning.

Interestingly, Alex Carter who played Lee Hunter (Lisa's brother) in Hollyoaks went on to play Jamie Hope (Carly's brother) in Emmerdale and their Hollyoaks mother Sally Hunter was played by Katherine Dow Blyton who is now of course Harriet Finch in Emmerdale. Would be great to have Jamie come back at some point, so they're all in it at the same time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

I think it might just be because her character is a bit of a tomboy in Emmerdale, but I've never thought of Gemma Atkinson as masculine - if anyone remembers her from her days in Hollyoaks as Lisa Hunter she was one of the infamous Hollyoaks sex symbols back in the early 2000s. She's absoutely stunning.

Interestingly, Alex Carter who played Lee Hunter (Lisa's brother) in Hollyoaks went on to play Jamie Hope (Carly's brother) in Emmerdale and their Hollyoaks mother Sally Hunter was played by Katherine Dow Blyton who is now of course Harriet Finch in Emmerdale. Would be great to have Jamie come back at some point, so they're all in it at the same time.

Yeah maybe you're right, maybe it is her character. She is stunning looking but once she opens her mouth, her sex appeal drops for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I loved when Brenda (or Wendy as Carly subsequently referred to her) told her to behave towards Bob, or bog off :D

Posy wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure she made it out to 'Pearl Ladderbanks.'

Okay sorry, got that wrong so :-O