Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Irish Accents EVER!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

latchyco wrote: »
    Some northern and central Ireland accents are very harsh ie ,Belfast and Leitrim .Brad Pitts knacker accent in that boxing film was like marbles rolling around in puke ,,yearrraghhhhhh

Greatest accent ever in any film.

D'ye like dags ??

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That guy with the ugly haircut in Spin the Bottle, Rats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

biko wrote: »
    That guy with the ugly haircut in Spin the Bottle, Rats

Never got that film.. was it supposed to be a comedy or what?? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

I think any actor that isnt irish trying to do a irish accent is laughable!! It just cant be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Never got that film.. was it supposed to be a comedy or what?? :confused:
    I'm not sure, couldn't understand what was being said.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Cavan & Dundalk

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

Has to be Gerard Butler for me too. TERRIBLE!! And what a terrible film!! Though I liked him in 300 as someone else said.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Eerie

Cameron Diaz in Gangs of New York - forgets that she's supposed to have one about halfway through the movie so by the end you're wondering did she really have one at all?????!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Breaktown

jenizzle wrote: »
    Yer wan that was in Heroes.... woeful accent.

I was so glad when they got rid of her. Her accent used to make me cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Gabrielle Anwar in the first two episodes of Burn Notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

• Registered Users Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Ok i have one. Did anyone ever see Shrooms - that horror set in Ireland?

Well the main 'irish' (i think) guy in that boggled my mind. He sounded English, but the film was set in Ireland with a load of American visiting young ones, so I think he was supposed to be irish but it was never really said. But why make a big deal out of it being an 'irish' film bord na scannan - if no-one in it is irish???

See - very confusing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Was he supposed to be Irish! Does anyone know???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

All the accents from any county except dublin,and possibly north wicklow.

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭yellowcurl

Breaktown wrote: »
    I was so glad when they got rid of her. Her accent used to make me cringe.

I'm just glad they cut out all of the Irish part of it. It was laughable how they thought people should act out irish parts. American people trying to do a rural cork accent will just not work!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭laurashambles

I concur with everyone about yer one from heroes. I'm not trying to be funny or anything, but I honestly thought she was supposed to be South African until someone mentioned she was Irish.

Whoppi Goldberg did one in this movie about leprechauns I saw on tv3 on Paddys day a few years back. She was playing a banshee. It was horrific.

Also, there is this:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Agreed on Julia Roberts.. That was ****ing terrible.

The accent on the woman who was head of the Irish Mafia in Death to Smoochy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qo33YplsJlo

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Kimia wrote: »
    Ok i have one. Did anyone ever see Shrooms - that horror set in Ireland?

Well the main 'irish' (i think) guy in that boggled my mind. He sounded English, but the film was set in Ireland with a load of American visiting young ones, so I think he was supposed to be irish but it was never really said. But why make a big deal out of it being an 'irish' film bord na scannan - if no-one in it is irish???

See - very confusing.

I think he mentions goign to school in England at some point. I half think they added that line in when they realised how bad he was at the accent.

Sean Bean in Patriot games is pretty awful

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

Gerard Butler in PS I Love You is definitely the worst. It honestly makes Cruise's seem decent. But to be fair, there is absolutely no reason why a Scot should be better a the Irish accent than anyone else.

Best accent is James McAvoy in Inside I'm Dancing. Couldn't fault it for a second.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭miss.lost

topper75 wrote: »
    Could he have been from Wexford then?:pac:

Oi!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭purple_hatstand

Leprachaun wrote: »
    All the accents from any county except dublin,and possibly north wicklow.

the ironies herein are just priceless!

poor-quality irish accents are often referred to as being "leprechaun irish" ('Darby O'Gill and The Little People', the da in 'Gone With The Wind' etc...)

leprechauns are often imagined as living in rural locations

note correct spelling of leprechaun

• Registered Users Posts: 368 ✭✭Atlantic1

Kevin Myers. Does anyone know what country he's actually from? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

once upon a time I used to watch Knots Landing of an afternoon. One episode this new fella turns up with some sort of speech impediment, which later turned out to be his accent.

His Irish accent.

:(

Any of them in the Simpsons the other day ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Anyone remember Brad Pitt in 'The Devil's Own?'

It's moy munny, Tom! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

yer man who played gywneth paltrows dad in shallow hal...shockin it was

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

Richard Gere in "The Jackal" - now that is bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭artielange

To be fair, Leonardo and Cameron were playing 19th century American New Yorkers :)

Donald Sutherland The Eagle has Landed

• Registered Users Posts: 8,410 ✭✭✭Riddle101

once upon a time I used to watch Knots Landing of an afternoon. One episode this new fella turns up with some sort of speech impediment, which later turned out to be his accent.

His Irish accent.

:(

Any of them in the Simpsons the other day ...

Yeah especially Colm Meaney's voice, and he dosen't even need to do a fake accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Yeah especially Colm Meaney's voice, and he dosen't even need to do a fake accent

Colm was in there?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

the ironies herein are just priceless!

poor-quality irish accents are often referred to as being "leprechaun irish" ('Darby O'Gill and The Little People', the da in 'Gone With The Wind' etc...)

leprechauns are often imagined as living in rural locations

note correct spelling of leprechaun

Hehe yeah,people have been telling me for years it's spelt miscorrectly. I only keep it this way out of sentiment. :p