Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mini Budget effecting child benefit!!!?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

And while I'm on the subject, my sister in law was up from Mayo for our daughter's communion 2 weeks ago and was ranting about the proposed cuts in the childcare supplement and possibly the monthly chilcare benefit payment as well.

She has 8 kids ranging from 12 down to 2 and gets approx €2,000 a month in benefit payments alone. She is a stay at home mother, her husband has a well paid job as an engineer, they don't have a mortgage, they have 3 other houses rented out and some land as well so they are hardly on the breadline. However, she was fuming at the thought that the government might means test the monthly benefit payment as that would definitely affect her payment when her husband's income, their lack of mortgage, and investment property/land were taken into account.

Now while I actually like the woman, I thought it was a bit rich (excuse the pun) of her to be complaining like that as she is very well off compared to most others who are just managing to cling on these days. Jeez, we are down to one salary with a sky high mortgage, 4 kids, no social life whatsoever but we just get on with it like 99% of the rest of the people in this country. Oh and in case you are thinking "but the poor woman has 8 kids to mind", 4 of them are in school from 9 - 3pm. 3 others go to a creche from 9 - 2 and that leaves her with a baby of 2 years of age. However she has a woman who comes in to do her cleaning, ironing and makes the dinner 5 days a week (she pays her out of the childcare benefit). She also minds the baby when the sister in law goes to get her hair done each week. Hardly has it tough eh??? Perhaps means testing to direct childcare benefit towards those who actually need it as opposed to a blanket payment to everyone (incl the well off who hardly need it except to pay for luxuries) might not be such a bad idea after all.

I couldn't agree more with you. You have parents in this country driving 09 BMW getting child benefit. They are doing nothing wrong, the state is. It dosen't make sense. Some people have a real need for the money, others don't.

"Prosperous" Dave - no pun intended!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Demonique

My heart bleeds for your sister in law, Prosperous Dave

If she's that worried about a dip in income she should get off her entitled arse and see if she can get a part-time job

I hope the means-tested benefit comes in and she's affected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

e2000 per month- I don't earn that in my job, even with Children's Allowance added!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Yeah, we are just keeping our heads above water with the childrens allowance payment each month. Without it, we would be trying to buy food, pay bills, petrol etc on €190 a week for a family of 6 (soon to be 7). My sis in law says she banks most of her childcare benefit for her kids future college education (nothing wrong with that if you can afford it I suppose) and uses the rest to pay for her "maid".

I guess I'm a bit miffed that even the fairly well off (like herself) get the full whack of childcare benefit regardless of their wealth, whereas (not so) Prosperous Dave thanks the heavens for Lidl and Aldi for the weekly shopping and the savings to be had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Ive had heard that it is unconstitutional to means test child benefit which means EVERYONE will get it slashed.

Now, if the middle classes and the prosperous didnt get it at all, then they couldnt put it aside for private school, which is what many of them do with it, which means that there will be less kids in private school up the road, which means also over crowded public schools, higher teacher student ratios, etc etc and everyone will suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cashew

I can see why that might annoy you Prosperous Dave, but the problem is, if they means test it they will target "middle income" families, rather than just the rich. We would be classed as a "middle income" family, but we cannot afford to lose any child benefit - we are just about struggling to manage with our mortgage repayments, childcare costs, and other bills! We have not been silly with our money either, it is just that since we took out our mortage, our income has dropped significantly and other costs have risen! I have two children, one who was eligible for the early childcare supplement, but won't be eligible for the free preschool place for another few years - by which time it probably won't exist! I am just sick of the government taking from us all the time - we don't have any more to give!
    Please join the protest at www.childbenefit.info so that all our kids have a chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Rev Hellfire

Ive had heard that it is unconstitutional to means test child benefit which means EVERYONE will get it slashed.
    A fair and equitable solution, if you put money into the pot you should be allowed to take money out of the pot.
    Now, if the middle classes and the prosperous didnt get it at all, then they couldnt put it aside for private school, which is what many of them do with it, which means that there will be less kids in private school up the road, which means also over crowded public schools, higher teacher student ratios, etc etc and everyone will suffer.
    I for one would love to know who these 'middle' class families with money to burn are. Any of the 'middle' class I know are struggling to keep their heads above water, but having to do so on their own with any bailouts or freebies from the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

We would be classed as "middle class" as well, i.e. we work for a living, pay our taxes, pay for doctors/medical bills (no medical card for us), have no family income supplement or any other handout from Social Welfare and basically have to run like hell to stand still in this blessed country of ours. The so called middle class are the real poor of this country as we don't have the resources (investment houses let out, land rented out, etc etc) to be considered well off but we earn just enough that we don't qualify for state handouts. In other words, we are the gobsh1tes of Ireland who run themselves into the ground and have very little to show for it.

BTW, my sister in law was on the phone last night to my wife bemoaning the fact that the value of their investment property has fallen dramatically and that their tenants are looking for downward rent reviews- the cheek of them I thought. Don't they realise that my sister in law might not be able to get the weekly hair do done if her rental income drops :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

What do you all think of Brian lenihan announcing this morning that the government are planning to means test/ tax child benefit

he was on newstalk this morning at 7.40 (im sorry I am no good posting links to podcast)

I was also listening to Pat Kenny and most of their guest were against touching child benefit and they made some excellent points as to why the government shouldn't.

I think this will cripple hard working famlies.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

Baby75 wrote: »
    What do you all think of Brian lenihan announcing this morning that the government are planning to means test/ tax child benefit

he was on newstalk this morning at 7.40 (im sorry I am no good posting links to podcast)

I was also listening to Pat Kenny and most of their guest were against touching child benefit and they made some excellent points as to why the government shouldn't.

I think this will cripple hard working famlies.:o

I want to welcome Brian & Biffo to come to my house any day of the week. More than welcome to move in for a week & see what I spend my pennies on.
    last week alone.

Opticians: €380 - I waiting 9mths for her urgent appointment & her eyesight detioriated so badly I had to pay the specialist privately. What a difference glasses made for the poor little thing.
    School books : €240 - Sweet lord they are 6 & 7. Not one book purchase on the list.. " Use of readers" " Use of maths materials". Demanded by June 30th
    Uniforms: €358 - Made from gold they are !!!!!Had to order & pay now for collection in August. ( They go to whats classed as a socialy deprived school - classed by our own Government as that )
    Runners: Dunnes: €8
    Doctor: €55 - didnt pass the means test for a medical card. single mum 2
    kids. Why?
    Chemist: €57 - Had already been 2 weeks V sick so was a necessity
    Tesco: €38 Made everything from scratch Bread, soups, stews. I grow my own veg & buy nearly gone off fruit.
    ESB: €283 - Fault somewhere inside my garden so not ESB they say. I live in the dark.
    Childminder: €160 ( for the week) & thats cheap

Now Brian & Co.. you tell me where I can cut back. You tell the kids why ? & you provide the tent when I lose the roof over my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭jaffa20

jenzz wrote: »
    I want to welcome Brian & Biffo to come to my house any day of the week. More than welcome to move in for a week & see what I spend my pennies on.
    last week alone.

Opticians: €380 - I waiting 9mths for her urgent appointment & her eyesight detioriated so badly I had to pay the specialist privately. What a difference glasses made for the poor little thing.
    School books : €240 - Sweet lord they are 6 & 7. Not one book purchase on the list.. " Use of readers" " Use of maths materials". Demanded by June 30th
    Uniforms: €358 - Made from gold they are !!!!!Had to order & pay now for collection in August. ( They go to whats classed as a socialy deprived school - classed by our own Government as that )
    Runners: Dunnes: €8
    Doctor: €55 - didnt pass the means test for a medical card. single mum 2
    kids. Why?
    Chemist: €57 - Had already been 2 weeks V sick so was a necessity
    Tesco: €38 Made everything from scratch Bread, soups, stews. I grow my own veg & buy nearly gone off fruit.
    ESB: €283 - Fault somewhere inside my garden so not ESB they say. I live in the dark.
    Childminder: €160 ( for the week) & thats cheap

Now Brian & Co.. you tell me where I can cut back. You tell the kids why ? & you provide the tent when I lose the roof over my head.

Opticians: €380 - That much?:eek: I went private and it was 20 euro for a test and 60euro for a pair of glasses.

School books : €240 - Second hand book shop, ebay, parents who have the books from previous years?

Uniforms: €358 - Dunnes or Penneys! You cannot spend that much on uniform for 2 children. Where did you go.. Brown thomas?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

[quote=
    jaffa
    20;61053577]Opticians: €380 - That much?:eek: I went private and it was 20 euro for a test and 60euro for a pair of glasses. what
    optiation
    did you go to the cheapest frames I looked at were 60 euro and that was with out the lenses

School books : €240 - Second hand book shop,
    ebay
    , parents who have the books from previous years?

Uniforms: €358 -
    Dunnes
    or
    Penneys
    ! You cannot spend that much on uniform for 2 children. Where did you go.. Brown
    thomas
    ?[/quote]

I have to get my lads uniform from
    Shaws
    no were else does the tracksuit or jumpers. so I can get the shirts and t-shirts in
    Dunnes
    and
    pennys
    save a bit of money there thank fully but
    im
    still looking at 264 all in for two uniforms and shoes and runners not adding in the fact they will need new coats.

wow
    hadn't
    thought about how expensive it is for uniform!

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Opticians: €380 - That much?:eek: I went private and it was 20 euro for a test and 60euro for a pair of glasses.

2 Children: €75 each for 2 pairs of glasses each - buy 1 get 1 free. ( kids - small ones break glasses ) 2 kids . His eye test was 6 months over due but I did not have the money to get it done until now.Eye test: € 15 each Specialist fee: €200

School books : €240 - Second hand book shop, ebay, parents who have the books from previous years? Read OP school are charging us this for Use of books & materials not to actually buy anything. Blame Mr Batt not me. I have to pay it.

Uniforms: €358 - Dunnes or Penneys! You cannot spend that much on uniform for 2 children. Where did you go.. Brown thomas? Uniform shop - special school tracksuit that they must wear - no way around it & cannot be bought anywhere else. 2 each to last 5 days wear.

See.

I have to get my lads uniform from
    Shaws
    no were else does the tracksuit or jumpers. so I can get the shirts and t-shirts in
    Dunnes
    and
    pennys
    save a bit of money there thank fully but
    im
    still looking at 264 all in for two uniforms and shoes and runners not adding in the fact they will need new coats.

wow
    hadn't
    thought about how expensive it is for uniform!

& the gass thing is the schools are run by the Government, they make the rules, we must abide by them or face exclusion & it costs us an absolute mint !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Maby of the school boks are workbooks that the kids write and draw in and can both be bought second hand and that looks like the book cost and the 'fees' for the school ie for photocopying, insurance and art supplies.

We had to hand over 240 and 270 by the end of june as well for 4th class and 6th class.

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭jmbkay

child benefit is E166 per child and a bit extra for the third child. My eldest is 18 and i was getting E535, now its down to 332, thats a lot more than 166 taken off. I agree with means testing it in principle, but they do nothing right in this country. Regarding school books, it is difficult to get second hand because they can change from year to year and a lot of them are workbooks which have to be written in. There are also extra charges for photocopying etc. It is great if you can go to Dunnes or Penneys for uniforms, but some schools insist on "crested" items which can only be bought from certain shops.

Expensive time for us all!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

jenzz wrote: »
    & the gass thing is the schools are run by the Government

no they're not - they're run individually by their boards of management. the govt justs (under)funds them.

loyatemu wrote: »
    no they're not - they're run individually by their boards of management. the govt justs (under)funds them.

Sorry I take it back. The school book lists are decided by the individual school but they are devised from a list dictated to them by the department of Education ie our government.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Maby of the school boks are workbooks that the kids write and draw in and can both be bought second hand and that looks like the book cost and the 'fees' for the school ie for photocopying, insurance and art supplies.

We had to hand over 240 and 270 by the end of june as well for 4th class and 6th class.

Im dreading the 6th year book list at this rate. Just to add. We get a breakdown of whats required but we cannot buy ourselves ( well in this case there is nothing to buy its for the "use" of.) We have to pay the school not the local book store.

I did hear of a terrific book swap web site some years back. May be worth looking at for others. Unfortunately I cant remember the name of it... Sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭flynnc8

Okay,

For some reason I was under the impression that one must apply for childrens allowance upon the birth of their child so I think it is just plain greedy for those who do not need it to apply, Yes means testing may solve this issue but as mentioned before why should those who are just earning enough to pay their bills loose out. regardless of their overall income.

I am a single mother and live on benifits please do not attack me. My daughter attends play school and I pay 60euro per week for this part time place, which comes from my One Parent Family payment which is approximeditly 225.30. With very little left to pay utility bills and grocery shopping my Childrens allowance covers my rent each month. Which just incase you didn't hear has also been effected by the emergency budget. With the reduced rate in Rental Supplement which means I am paying even more then previously.

Now I know I will not be effected if it is means tested but I can totally relate to those who have big mortgages to pay and can see how much of a neccassity the CA is. raising children is expensive for anyone regardless of their income and if the state feel that investing in our childrens future and insuring they live a good standard of life is invalueable then it is most definitly time for a new government.

The state should put more effort into tracking down those who are ripping the system by claiming benifits while cohabiting, not residing in the country or working cash in hand. Not targeting those who are in genuine need of assistance. And obviously TAKE A PAY CUT THEMSELVES.

Furthermore I think that the introduction of a free childcare year is a reasonable decision it offers everyone an equal oppurtunity regardless of class. It may not be brilliant for those with younger children but that is where sacrifices must be made. Realistically the Early Childcare Supplement has been useless 41.50 per month doesn't even cover one week of a part time play school so to be honest I'd rather them just keep it and invest it in the lather. At least when they paid ECS quarterly you could go into town and sort your child out with clothing or footwear. As we all now how quick children grow out of or ruin clothing.

Next they'll be cutting One Parent family and bringing back the butter voucher to get the bare essentials..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jkds01

I was just wondering,

i am behind u 100% really depend on child allowance recently let go from my job only 1 income & need this extra few bob have 2 kids 3yr & 1yr, 3 yr old in montessori which alone is 70 euro a week childrens allowance for both children just covers it ............

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

I honestly believe that a subsidised childcare facility would solve all the countries problems! If you are on benefits and have children you can't afford to work. If your losing your benefit AND paying ridiculous rip off Ireland Childcare rates then you end up losing money. A single mother receiving opf and rent allowance will lose her rent allowance and some of her benefits if she wants to go back to work, and I know a few single mothers that would love to go back to work but just can't afford it. The cost of a subsidised (sp) childcare facility for anyone returning to work wouldn't be anywhere near the cost of all the benefits they will no longer have to pay out if people had not got massive childcare bills to fork out and could now AFFORD to work (sounds ridiculous but its true). The newly employed people will also be paying tax and contributing to the country.

All this would obviously depend on people actually being able to find work but thats a different story....