Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Brooding Corner

• Registered Users Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

I feel like a right fool. How is it that whenever I trust someone it ends up biting me in the arse? I got chatting to a guy on Tinder over the last couple of days and after a bit of chatting, and a few pics (nothing too risque) he appears to have blocked me on it, and Facebook and Snapchat. Probably because I said I wanted to chat first, maybe meet in future and not just meet up for a quick shag. That isn't me. I'm never going to be a one night stand for someone. Honestly, no offence to anyone who's had one night stands but it's not my thing. I actually feel like crying. :(

Don't dare shed a tear over this asshole. His actions speak volumes of him. Only interested in one thing and didn't want to hang around. You're better off without that kind of person. You're so much better than that. Don't let this get you down xPPx. He's not worth it at the end of the day. Here have some hugs :) *Hugs for xPPx*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Mozzeltoff wrote: »
    Don't dare shed a tear over this asshole. His actions speak volumes of him. Only interested in one thing and didn't want to hang around. You're better off without that kind of person. You're so much better than that. Don't let this get you down xPPx. He's not worth it at the end of the day. Here have some hugs :) *Hugs for xPPx*

Well said there MT!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I know.. But it does hurt. One night stands just aren't my thing at all. He seemed really nice and I did actually find him really attractive as well. :(

It's been a year and a half since I broke up with my ex. 18 months since I even really, properly looked at anyone, let alone considered being with someone.

You're right though, I won't waste my tears. :)

Thanks Mozz :) x

I know.. But it does hurt. One night stands just aren't my thing at all. He seemed really nice and I did actually find him really attractive as well. :(

It's been a year and a half since I broke up with my ex. 18 months since I even really, properly looked at anyone, let alone considered being with someone.

You're right though, I won't waste my tears. :)

Thanks Mozz :) x

I have been in your shoes girl and I know how much it hurts too. I used to do the whole internet dating thing a few years back and I came across guys who would promise the earth, moon and stars and then block you if you didn't succumb to their charms :rolleyes:

If it's not you, then it's not you. No one should judge you. And no one should pressure you into doing anything you don't want either. I am glad to see you don't want to be some quick fling for someone. Having that kind of attitude is so rare these days :o Keep it up girl :)

I have been in your shoes girl and I know how much it hurts too. I used to do the whole internet dating thing a few years back and I came across guys who would promise the earth, moon and stars and then block you if you didn't succumb to their charms :rolleyes:

If it's not you, then it's not you. No one should judge you. And no one should pressure you into doing anything you don't want either. I am glad to see you don't want to be some quick fling for someone. Having that kind of attitude is so rare these days :o Keep it up girl :)

It does hurt, doesn't it? I don't think the whole internet dating thing is for me after this little fiasco. Oh yeah, he said he'd wait to meet me and whatnot and instead of having a set of balls and saying he was looking for a quick shag, he acted like a child and just blocked me. I don't need that.

That's just not me. I'm kind of a relationship person. I don't want a 'wham-bam-thank you ma'am' type thing. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I don't think you should give up on Internet dating because of one bad experience. Not all guys out there are like that plus tinder is a bit of a known hook up app really. Try a dating website and see how you get on

akamossy wrote: »
    I don't think you should give up on Internet dating because of one bad experience. Not all guys out there are like that plus tinder is a bit of a known hook up app really. Try a dating website and see how you get on

True. I probably should have guessed what I was letting myself in for really. :o

I'll have a think about it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭akamossy

I met my boyfriend online and he's pretty amazing so they aren't all bad :P

Has he got a long lost twin living in the Midlands?

• Registered Users Posts: 45 dizzymisslizzy

Sorry. it's 5am and i need a moan. Sat crying into a pack of chocolate buttons, which aren't helping as much as I thought they would.
    The father of my child to be - is that even the right phrase?? I'm pregnant... - is being a knob. Wants me to "explore all other options". I'm pro choice but I'm in love with my bean and hate that he's saying that. We're not together and that's fine but he's being soooo selfish and I hate him right now. I have a scan in the morning with the early pregnancy unit and I'm terrified. Also nobody warned me that being pregnant is yucky. I'm waiting for the "blooming" and the "glowing". I puke and I sleep and I cry. I'm a bloody newborn!! I'm giving up on the chocolate and going back to bed. Sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭EZ24GET

hey miz Lizzy cheer up. you'll eventually get over the pregnacy, and feel your old self again. If the guy's looking for a way out give him one. If he's not going to stand by you now there's nothing can make him be a better person, but don't do something that will haunt you later. His attitude may change - if not you are better off without him. Being a single parent isn't easy but it has rewards that may not seem apparent to you now. It is your decision - don't let someone else make it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,604 ✭✭✭writer_lady170

my cousin is starting her treatment today, have all my fingers and toes crossed that all goes well

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

All the best to her Smiler.;)

my cousin is starting her treatment today, have all my fingers and toes crossed that all goes well
    all best thoughts are coming her way.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

*beaming in good vibes from far far away* :)

we all send good thoughts

( Hi Sol Where have you been lately? )

we all send good thoughts

( Hi Sol Where have you been lately? )

For the past couple of weeks I have been pretty moody and I constantly feel down and out in myself. I was putting it down to all the stuff that has happened in the last six months (the car crash, my moms crash, my father breaking his back) but when I sit down and think about it, it's not what's getting me down at all. I am over all the **** that happened a few months back with the crashes, and well the way I look at it, there isn't any point in pining over my father. He's lucky to be alive let alone walk! And he's managing fine.

So what in the hell is wrong with me? I'd love to know. I sat down with my OH numerous times and talked to him, ranting about work, ranting about people in work, how little things are frying my brain. He reckons this depression/anxiety thing started when they moved me from the kitchen down to the laundry. But it can't be just that? Granted the kitchen is fast paced and I love it, you're never left idle and constantly around people whereas the laundry you're on your own a lot of the time and there's not much to do bar wash clothes, dry them and iron them. I keep telling myself that it can't be it, that can't be the root of the problem. Such a silly thing like that can't be the reason.

I have pretty much lost all interest in going out and socializing. I had to force myself to go to the Biker Festival on Sunday afternoon. Brother in laws birthday was last Friday and he wanted us all to go out but I made up some excuse about feeling sick and didn't bother my head. Next morning I woke up and I felt like I had missed out on the most important event of the year. I can't stand this stupid thing! Feeling sad because you don't want to go out but feeling miserable because you didn't go out.

I am constantly narky, I feel like whatever I say is taken up the wrong way and I always feel like I am on the brink of crying. This isn't right. Lately my thoughts have been dark and lonely. Sometimes I feel numb towards things. Example being my friend had a kid recently enough. I didn't care. I of course congratulated because I knew it was the thing to say to her but I didn't care. I know that sounds horrible and selfish and really mean. But what got me more was, I tried to care. I tried to feel happy for her but I could not get myself to cop on.

This emptiness just hit me out of the blue one day. I know I should probably go talk to someone professional but I can't see the point. I have been to counselling before because I do suffer anxiety. I have tried clearing my head and work on the calming techniques they taught me but to no real avail. I have done the whole medication route and to be honest the withdrawals from the medication was nearly worse then the actual anxiety itself. Plus my friends and family tell me I was like a zombie on them. I can't remember if I was or I wasn't.

To be honest I don't actually know why I am writing this. Maybe I am hoping that if I write it, post it and read back over it, it could help in snapping me out of it. I sincerely doubt it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

All of that happening in such a short space of time is bound to have an impact Mozzie.

Maybe a holiday or a few days away to break the mould of daily humdrum.

A lot of that rings through with me. Lost interest in socialising, only going to events as I felt I "had to be there".

All I feel like I am doing to work-home-work, ad-infinitum.

Need to break the routine, but have no motivation to do something about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

After reading that Mozzy and a little bit of research, i think and this is just my opinion, it's not professional so more likely i could be miles wide of what's actually got ya in a slump..... But I THINK you've been struck with a bout of depression.

Maybe check this to see if ya have any of the following
    http://spunout.ie/health/article/dealing-with-depression?gclid=CP7Ppf7E3r4CFeFZ2wodwgsA7g

But whatever has ya in a slump, i'm sure you'll kick it's ass and come out the other side smiling.

Depression is something you have to fight against. Try forcing yourself to do things. It may help you get back in the swing of things. Sometimes we need to shake ourselves up a little - prove that it's okay to go out and have fun. Nothing bad is going to happen and even if it did we can cope with it. Take charge of your life again

I sat down with himself again and had a long talk about what was going on. He's by far the most patient, loving and understanding person to have graced this earth and how he puts up with my **** is beyond me. Anyway I told him pretty much everything that I have said here and well he believes 99% of what's wrong has to do with work. (It's predominantly all female staff and there is a lot of bitching and side taking in the place and I don't trust a lot of them as far as I would throw them. I am pretty quiet in there and just keep my head down and I ignore it and just get on with the work but it's irritating as hell.)

Sure enough those things I mentioned like the crashes and my dads injury have had an effect but as himself says I am standing to close to the picture and I need to take a step back and see what it's all about. I am letting stupid little things get under my skin and I am getting myself down over nothing. Bigger and bad things have happened me and I am still fighting on. I think it's more a break I need than anything else.

I appreciate you guys taking the time to reply back. You've being all more than awesome to me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

That's what we're here for :)

Yes a break will break the spell. Sometimes that's all that's needed :p

• Registered Users Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

*BIG LOVING HUGS FOR MOZZIE*

Mind yourself, sweetie!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,820 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

This might be of use to some folk here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

This might be of use to some folk here

Cheers Wolfman! Need stuff like this.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 47,820 Mod ✭✭✭✭cyberwolf77

Just remember folks, there no shame in seeking professional assistance

no everyone needs a little help sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Dunno what its like for you lads in US, but there is still a stigma & taboo attached to any kind of mental illness. This needs to be broken. Back in the 50/60's , the "mad uncle" was sent away & never saw the light of day again.

Its getting there slowly, but will take at least one more generation.