Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kevmy wrote: »
    The auld lad could well be crazy but that doesn't mean the OP was right either.

If you have ever seen the state of a young lamb after they have been attacked by dogs you'd have a bit more sympathy. We had some dogs come onto our land a couple of years back. They killed 4 lambs, left nothing of them but the head and backbone and we had to put down another 2. Not to mention the distress it caused to the remaining sheep and lambs.

To be fair, I had the dog on a leash. He wouldn't have been able to attack any lambs. And I highly doubt it would anyway, it's afraid of it's own shadow. But I can see why a farmer would be weary, especially since the dogs a collie. His reaction is what stood out as unfair, not his concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Dude, the OP wasn't walking the dog through his house.

Maybe not, but walking a dog on somebody's laneway is the same as walking a dog on your driveway....

I wouldn't like someone walking into my garden/on my driveway without permission (unless they had a good and valid reason) so why should I walk into somebody's field/on a laneway without the same permission?
    Oh FFS, I live in Tullow, directly across from a farmer whose own dogs bark incessantly. He doesn't seem too worried about the effect that's having on his own flock.

It's a well known fact that sheep are easily worried by dogs who bark at them. I don't think that you'd have the same attitude if it was your sheep that were being worried. Have you personally seen the consequences of this? Ewes aborting their lambs (some were so premature that they hadn't even formed a coat), sheep that had galloped into wire and had broken their legs/strangled themselves/injured themselves so badly that they had to be put down.

And your own dogs barking is a completely different story to 'strange' dogs barking. Do you react the same way when your dog barks at you as when another dog (i.e. guard dog) barks at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Ann22 wrote: »
    Was there a sign at the entrance to the lane saying it was private property?quote]

Is there a sign at your front door saying it is private property?

Well now, that's hardly likely:rolleyes:. My front door is a tad different from a lane in the middle of the country where likely there are no houses in the close vicinity.

So if my house happens to be out in the middle of the country, with no other houses in close proximity, then it's ok for somebody to come in and walk in my garden/on my driveway....

convert wrote: »
    So if my house happens to be out in the middle of the country, with no other houses in close proximity, then it's ok for somebody to come in and walk in my garden/on my driveway....

No, it clearly isn't. I'm not saying you're entitled to ramble around someone else's property if there isn't a sign saying to keep out. My point is, that if there were no houses or signs about, the op may not have been able to tell it was private property. In saying that, the farmer shouldn't have gotten so mad, if the chap didn't know he was doing any harm.

. My point is, that if there were no houses or signs about, the op may not have been able to tell it was private property.

If in doubt, stay out! Just because there are no signs up doesn't mean you should automatically assume every country laneway is a public laneway.

I'm fed up of people assuming that just because they're out in the countryside they can walk wherever they want. We've had people randomly drive up our avenue, open gates, drive into the field with livestock in it (without closing the gate), pitch their tent and light a fire to cook their dinner. And then look at us strangely because we asked them what they hell they were doing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

The principle is the same. there are public rights of way in the countryside but everything else is regarded as tresspass and rightly so.

a couple of years ago a farmer was successfully sued by walker who went off the right of way and fell in a ditch. if your uncle allows people to walk on his land, he is taking a very foolish risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

The auld lad could well be crazy but that doesn't mean the OP was right either.

If you have ever seen the state of a young lamb after they have been attacked by dogs you'd have a bit more sympathy. We had some dogs come onto our land a couple of years back. They killed 4 lambs, left nothing of them but the head and backbone and we had to put down another 2. Not to mention the distress it caused to the remaining sheep and lambs.

christ this thread got serious,i do have sympathy i just think the farmer completly over reacted in this case! i caertainly wouldnt go near him again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

He said if he ever sees me on the lane again that he'll call the Guards and shoot my dog!Crazy old codger
    Should I walk on the lane again to see if he was bluffing?

I don't think he's bluffing,i'd say it was probably a case of coitus interruptus.
    I mean there he was with his wooly girlfriend enjoying himself,probably spent a couple of hours sweet talking nelly the sheep,another 20 mins getting her back legs in his wellies.Then you and your dog come along and ruin his date.
    While in full flow Nelly senses your dog ,panics as she not into threesomes,slips off and runs away leaving him all frustrated.
    I'd say your lucky he did'nt shoot you or shag you.I don't know if you seen the film "deliverence",but if i was you i'd stay out of his lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

Are you John "Frog" Ward Jr by any chance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And I'd report the dog for threatening sheep...

Apparently it didn't so that would be somewhat illegal, but classic bogsavage mentality all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

IOn my way along the lane I met a farmer who'd been out shaving sheep

<snip>

Should I walk on the lane again to see if he was bluffing?

I'd say I walk on the lane again to see to see if you could get some footage of him shaving the sheep. I can just see them in the reclining chair getting foamed up, crazy farmer ready with the cut throat. "What'll it be today sir?"

There's a mutton chop pun in there somewhere waiting to get out ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I don't care how many lambs he's lost, he had no business speaking to the OP in that manner. A polite "this is private property and I'd appreciate it if you didn't walk your dog on it" was all that was required.

... if it was the first hundred or so times it happened. Just because the OP had never met the farmer before doesn't mean the farmer hadn't met plenty of people walking leashed and unleashed dogs on the same lane numerous times.

The damage an innocently (or not so innocently) opened gate can cause can be huge. Injured animals, car accidents, and huge bills. (Not to mention interrupted sleep patterns.)

Ignorance might be bliss for you, but not necessarily for the farmer involved.

Bambi wrote: »
    but classic bogsavage mentality all the same.

Classic clueless townie comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

From a sheep farming myself :pac:
    OP, you shear a sheep, you don't shave it

OP, the key point to your post was your dog was leashed. If something happened and this went to the District Court that might save you.
    And remember if a sheep is killed by your dog the farmer has to pay for a visit from a vet to verify this. So if you reckon farmers launch court cases on zero prooof think again. They are out of pocket long before the case begins.

You own a collie, it's their nature to run and chase. Possibly a harmless dog but chasing ewes in lamb causes abortions and possibly horrific injuries so chasing is just as unacceptable as your collie ripping throats.

You cannot wander around country lanes! This is lambing season so farmers are even more worried then ever. This time every year the local Parish Priest warns everyone about dogs in Mass. It's that much of an issue in a rural area.

If your dog was off a leash and strayed into a field it could have been shot and the local garda would lol in your face if you complained.

So cop yourself on and if you want to walk on somebody's land have the respect to ask permission. And do not be suprised if you get roared at for bringing a dog during lambing season.
    If anything happens you will be paying compensation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Psssh, you can just be friendly with him and ask him if you can walk about on his land. Well it's too late now. But it seems unlikely that "Old Farmers" would have the same worries about "liability" that other people (money grubbing scummy filth business lawyers) would.

Another option is to go there again, but run away if you see him. Quoting laws in such a situation seems a bit silly to me, you're only walking about.

Although, speaking of tricksey country folk, a friend who moved into a countryside area recently, had some neighbours who were up to those sort of sneaky city knacker style legal proceedings, but even worse. They would lure their dogs over to their house, and then kill their own sheep, and then they tried to sue the fellow. Can't remember the other details. But those insurance lawyers are ruining the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

mikemac wrote: »
    This time every year the local Parish Priest warns everyone about dogs in Mass. It's that much of an issue in a rural area.

Pfft, who goes to mass???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP chase after his sheep waving your arms like a mad man for abortion fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

roaming laws

Don't have those here, Thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ayapatrick

I can confirm boondoon is also the nomenclature used in kerry west...

For those interested in the treatment of such (and those with a sick twisted curiousity), the correct product can be found here

http://www.lambertvetsupply.com/Prolapse-Retainer-Ewe--pr--070JRJ26E
    from what i hear from people around, that instrument is kinda hard to use? seen it done stitched with balin twine tho!:P

Apparently it didn't so that would be somewhat illegal, but classic bogsavage mentality all the same.
    but prevention is better than cure? is it not? i take you dont have to high of an opinion on farmers?:p

ayapatrick wrote: »
    but prevention is better than cure? is it not? i take you dont have to high of an opinion on farmers?:p

Not if the prevention entails threatening to shoot every dog you come across.

I think it's safe to say that a lot of people involved in animal protection in this country would have a problem with the attitude of some farmers to any animal that doesn't belong to them. It also doesn't help that our pathetically lax animal cruelty legislation was all written from an agrarian standpoint and could do with a radical overhaul.

Our neighbours have a perfectly lovely Staffordshire Bull terrier who has NEVER been out of the house on her own. The lady of the house had her out for a walk one day and was followed home by the farmer I've already mentioned on this thread, who knocked on her door and warned her that if he ever saw the dog on his land, he'd shoot it.

If that's not excessive, threatening and bullying behaviour, I don't know what is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If that's not excessive, threatening and bullying behaviour, I don't know what is.

Number of times that farmer has lost animals because of people who let their dog roam? Dog owners in this country are notoriously poor at handling their pets around other animals and even around people (see I can make generalisations too)

So you think it's perfectly acceptable to follow every dog you see being walked, regardless of whether you've even noticed them before, disturb their owner in the privacy of their own home and threaten to kill them? Sorry, but he'd have gotten some choice words from me about getting off my private property quick smart.

And where did I generalise? I stressed SOME farmers.

Not if the prevention entails threatening to shoot every dog you come across.
    quote]
    The prevention i would be thinking of would be for any person not to bring a dog near land with sheep at this time of year - its only common sense.

Referring to a previous post here about the farmers dogs barking and they dont scare the sheep. ive spent all my life on a farm and i can tell you that sheep get used to things. i can walk with my dogs past our sheep and they will not scare, if the sheep runs the dog will not chase because he is under my/the farmers control (with no leash).
    but if a sheep sees something strange it will spook and run. also many pet dogs have been encouraged to chase balls etc and this i think encourages them even more to chase. (albeit just playing) but the fact of the matter, it all lies with the dog owners!

ayapatrick wrote: »
    but the fact of the matter, it all lies with the dog owners!

I'm totally in agreement with you there - all dog owners should have their dogs under control and exercise common sense, particularly in rural areas at this time of the year.

However, the farmer in question has land that backs onto the only road (public) that leads to our estate. When I'm walking my dogs down the hill, we pass his fields with sheep in them, who are often right up at the fence. They often run off when they see me walking down with the dogs - if one of them runs herself into an abortion, can the blame really be placed at the feet of me or my dogs, who were being walked - on-lead - on a public footpath and didn't even bark?

Now, that might be an extreme example, but even our vet and the local butcher (who this farmer supplies) accept that this guy is a curmudgeonly old fcuker.

by what you say, this guy is an extreme case, but my pov on this is that everyone has to be reasonable - both sides. but i suppose we wont get away from the fact that there are careless(for want of a better word) people who couldnt give a toss!
    gud nite and gud luck - bed time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

The reason Farmers go mental at people like you is because people like you sue farmers if they injure themselves on their land!

So when do I point out that I don't actually live in a bog, but in a concrete jungle?! :P
    It also doesn't help that our pathetically lax animal cruelty legislation was all written from an agrarian standpoint and could do with a radical overhaul.

Que fluffy bunny do-gooders brigade who want everything overhauled so that the cutsie wootsie animals are protected forever but don't understand the first thing about (animals') nature....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Clare Bear wrote: »
    The reason Farmers go mental at people like you is because people like you sue farmers if they injure themselves on their land!

Very true,

Op dogs a sheep are not a good mix, I know of 2 dogs that butured 20 sheep. :eek:..

ClioV6 wrote: »
    He'll call the gardas and then shoot....

Quoted and highlighted for sh1ts and giggles. Quality.
    We've had people randomly drive up our avenue, open gates, drive into the field with livestock in it (without closing the gate), pitch their tent and light a fire to cook their dinner. And then look at us strangely because we asked them what they hell they were doing....

Eh, they were camping, LDO. The tent and campfire should've been a dead giveaway. :P
    Op dogs a sheep are not a good mix, I know of 2 dogs that butured 20 sheep. :eek:..

And I know of one snowmonkey who butchered a very sensible post. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I live on a lane with 3 houses (incl mine) and neighbours go for walks along it and wheel their buggies as it's much safer than the main road where the road is straight and the drivers are like lunatics. We've never objected to this, and would rather see them safe on this lane.
    What is the problem with the man mentioned in the OP - FGS it was only somebody walking their dog on the lane, not a gang of Hell's Angels or rowdy partygoers.

The dogs that worry sheep are unlikely to be the pets that are walked on leads by their owners. I understand the farmer being annoyed but he was wrong to presume or to judge the chap. Right the op was trespassing accidentally, it doesn't mean he should he held responsible for any sheep worrying etc that had occurred beforehand. He should've had a word with the chap, not go mental and threaten violence.

I call BS on that. Any animal that isn't adequately monitored can wander. Your fluffy little pet can turn into a liability with very little effort. All it takes is for your dog to wander one night (after his evening stroll on a leash) and the bloodspill can be horrific.

Just because a number of houses are built off a private laneway or road does not make that road public, it just means that there is a private road which the people who live in those houses use to get to their property. Kelle, I don't think you're comparing like with like.

OP, from your investigations have you found out whether the farmer lives alone or not? That could be another reason for his concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The real questions here are why do the dogs attack sheep for no reason and why do we tolerate it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I know a farmer who had over 20 sheep killed by dogs from a rather dopey dog owner who was pretty frivolous with the care of their dogs. Anyway the farmer landed down to your man with a pump action shotgun and proceeded to shoot the dogs in front of him despite his protest and fired a shot over the house as a warning for him to stay inside as he proceeded to butcher this idiots 6 dogs and a cat that strayed into his path and he then left the yard with his son and their two guns. The dog owner went totally crazy phoned the gardai and was told pretty much "good enough for you" by Gardai who called out to the farmer and asked him and he told them straight out what happened and said he had to do it as this had wiped out his profit for the year. This farmer was not old and was in his thirties.

Nothing happened about it and the farmer was very right to do what he did as I speak from experience. I shot dogs myself once after almost getting killed by two of the most vicious dogs I had ever encountered, When I was in my early twenties I was out walking in the country side up a public country road only to have a pitbull and a real vicious Labrador/German shepherd cross mongrel dog attack me and my then girlfriend and her young sister and mother as we had gone out for a stroll to pass away part of a lovely Sunday.

The panic I will never forget and even though it was a sort of adrenaline fuelled fight or flight I remember getting the young sister up onto a branch of a tree before luring them away from the GF and mother who ran in the opposite direction, I ran from the dogs and luckily found a loose fencing stake to fight them off after they had bitten my leg twice. I went home and bandaged up before me and the GF's brother got a loan of a neighbours Shotgun and drove up to where the dogs were and I shot them dead in clinical fashion without asking questions, I had to do this to protect other walkers, if the little girl I put on the tree had been on her own she would have been killed. The owner an English hippy stoner went mad and I told him the next dogs I see by him would get the same again he got such a fright he moved on within a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Nothing happened about it and the farmer was very right to do what he did as I speak from experience.

he probably should have gone to prison with his moron offspring, another bog savage who thinks he's judge dredd cos he was a given a gun licence be de local super :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

mumhaabu wrote: »
    I shot dogs myself once after almost getting killed by two of the most vicious dogs I had ever encountered
    You seem pretty alive to me :rolleyes:

I knew this thread was gonna degenerate into this.Country folk with past experiences vs People without
    "I know dogs who did this.You never lived near a farm"
    "The dog was on a lead"
    "I know dogs who did this"
    "Dog on lead"
    On and on and on and on.
    Bottom line. Should the farmer have been more polite about it? Yes. Past experiences dont mean he shouldnt have common courtesy now.If someone threatened to shoot my dog that bluntly he'd be unconscious in seconds. He might have had past problems but that doesnt mean he should be a cnut. And since the walk appears to be a public lane (if I read a link right earlier), he has no right to warn people off it and threaten them. In my judgement, farmer = scared but absolutely ignorant gobshite

Ignorance comes in more than one form. Never heard of "once bitten, twice shy"? Or "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me."?

If I saw someone walking a dog on one of our private roads or laneways, especially a dog who's a bit mental (to paraphrase the OP) I'd give them a bollocking too. Gates and fences are there to protect both the animal AND THE PUBLIC. There's a reason why farmers pay public liability insurance, and it's not for the fun of throwing scarce cash away. A seemingly empty field can have very dangerous animals in it - don't be gobsh!te enough to think that you can see everything. Likewise, if you open a gate, you close it behind you - it's basic common sense.

Regardless of how placid an animal seems, they're still an animal with animal instincts. Farm animals may have had plenty of human contact - or they may not. For example, just because my dad can walk through our beef herd and come out unscathed doesn't mean someone those animals don't see and hear daily could do the same.

Anyone who refers to shearing sheep as
    shaving sheep or whatever it is they do
    has no business wandering around private property, never mind being near working animals.

Bambi, it would be foolish to write someone off as a moron based on a comment they make, the industry they work on, or their urban/rural setting. A profound lack of basic understanding of the practicalities of the situation doesn't make you a moron, does it? Your frivolous use of the term "bog savage" does little to recommend you as an intelligent person, but that would be taking your comments in isolation without looking at the bigger picture. Couldn't be doing that now, could we.

.... and fired a shot over the house as a warning for him to stay inside...

Why?.............Would he have shot your man as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Quoted and highlighted for sh1ts and giggles. Quality.

Gardaí.

sorry :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    The real questions here are why do the dogs attack sheep for no reason and why do we tolerate it?
    It's simple, anything that turns and runs from a predatory animal will trigger their instinct to chase you down. If you run from a dog or even a lion they will chase you down. Dogs and even big cats will often leave it at that. Never, ever run from them, your a bigger animal and they know it.
    I know a farmer who had over 20 sheep killed by dogs from a rather dopey dog owner who was pretty frivolous with the care of their dogs. Anyway the farmer landed down to your man with a pump action shotgun and proceeded to shoot the dogs in front of him despite his protest and fired a shot over the house as a warning for him to stay inside
    This can't possibly be true. The farmer went to the other guys house and started shooting his pets on his own land? He treated the family with a gun by shooting over their house and telling them to stay inside (or else?!) and the guards had nothing to say about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

ScumLord wrote: »
    This can't possibly be true. The farmer went to the other guys house and started shooting his pets on his own land? He treated the family with a gun by shooting over their house and telling them to stay inside (or else?!) and the guards had nothing to say about it?
    I dont believe it either.

He also says he was killed by 2 dogs and saved a few peoples lives gettin them into a tree. Some typing by a dead man. Feckin zombies

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I'm probably the only one to post here yet who has been on both sides of the equation- we had a dog shot, and we also had lambs (and one goat) killed by roaming dogs.

We had a flock of about 140 sheep, along with ~10-12 goats (lovely creatures). We have had numerous problems- incl.

1. Unknown dogs (plr) chasing sheep causing multiple abortions and even death to one ewe who they never even caught. Most farmers keep syringes of calcium serum handy just for these eventualities- it can save a ewe who has been chased- if you get to the ewe fast enough.

2. Unknown dogs (plr) chasing sheep and savagely attacking several- not eating them or anything- just leaving them badly injured- to the extent that several had to be put down by the vet.

3. Known dog chasing sheep and killing several. The neighbour who owned the dog (also a farmer) shot the dog himself when he found out.

4. Unknown urbanites leaving gates open late at night allowing sheep to wander to a village over 2 miles away (I remain to be convinced that they wandered- its far more likely that they were assisted in reaching the village). We spent several weeks replanting gardens for people.

5. Known urbanite suing us after getting stuck on a farm gate for several hours because it was too high to jump from. Stupid insurance company paid up, rather than fighting the case.

6. Our own dog wandered off our property and was shot by a neighbour (our own fault for allowing it to wander).

7. Unknown campers who were tresspassing set fire to forestry and bog- killing over 40 sheep and starting a bog fire that took almost 9 weeks to fully extinguish (the fire was only extinguished after severe weather caused flooding in the area).

I could go on and on. Even in parishes on the outskirts of Dublin- the local PP will warn people about dogs at this time of the year.

With respect of the OP and the link to a grant for doing up Anne's Lane- remember the scandal when South Dublin County Council spent over EUR120k in Lucan village doing up the village green and carrying out remedial work on the Dodder- only to discover that the village green and that stretch of the Dodder aren't public property at all...... A notation from the Tidy Towns committee- doesn't mean anything at all......

I do think the farmer was a little OTT and too hasty- but I can see where he was coming from. If I saw a walker with a dog anywhere near sheep farming- I'd either try to get rid of them, or if I had time- would follow them, to ensure the dog kept well away from the sheep- irrespective of whether it was on a leash or not.

If the dog had escaped (and it is their natural instinct to do so around animals)- the farmer would have been within his rights to shoot (the dog- not the OP).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

good post smccarrick. I think its far better to be hasty and a bit of an ass than allow your flock to be in jeapordy, I think the farmer mentioned in the OP did exactly as was necessary and now obviously the op will remember it!

smccarrick wrote: »
    1. Unknown dogs (plr) chasing sheep causing multiple abortions and even death to one ewe who they never even caught. Most farmers keep syringes of calcium serum handy just for these eventualities- it can save a ewe who has been chased- if you get to the ewe fast enough.
    What have farmers been doing with the sheep breed that their so soft? I can't imagine dyeing of fear every time your chased being a very good evolutionary tactic.

My dog died last year at 15, we rarely walked her, just opened the door and let her off. She used to wander around town getting feed and never had any problems with farmers even though there was one across the road (a farm that is). She did befriend the farmers dog so maybe he had some influence on her I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Sheep are peculiar animals, they take everything in a very personal way, their biggest fear is fear itself.

Farmers do not just go out and shoot dogs for fun. Almost all farmers have a dog and are dog lovers. But if a dog kills animals belonging to a farmer what choice does he have. He cannot risk that the dog might come back again and kill more stock. I like dogs they are great pets and very helpful on a farm but as much as I wouldnt like to hear of dogs being shot it just has to be done.

I would say that most dogs that are shot are farmers own dogs if they start to get vicious towards sheep. We had to do this at home with a fantastic dog who was better to have around than 5 people when working with animals but he started to bite sheep and killed a lamb so he had to be shot.

Basically if a dog kills lambs he can never be trusted again and a farmer cannot rely on the dog owner to get rid of the dog as they may not understand how serious it is for a farmer to be losing money

or they may not care and have no brain like the clown who's post I have quoted below.

he probably should have gone to prison with his moron offspring, another bog savage who thinks he's judge dredd cos he was a given a gun licence be de local super :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

ScumLord wrote: »
    What have farmers been doing with the sheep breed that their so soft? I can't imagine dyeing of fear every time your chased being a very good evolutionary tactic.

We have been breeding sheep for thousands of years and as such have bred different traits in and out of them. In the wild sheep would roam in massive groups like say wildebeest and when attacked by dogs they would all run away until one or two get caught and eaten.

However on farms they are in smaller groups and are kept in a single field theis means they can be continually chased and chased by dogs until the drop of exhaustion or fright.

You could also turn around your argument and say what are dog owners doing to dogs to make them chase sheep for ages killing loads of them and eating none, that doesn't seem like a very good evolutionary tactic either

It's play fighting like all animals do, they don't need the food but have a compulsion to hone their predatory skills. Domestic cats do it all the time they just kill smaller animals.