Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Self-Righteous People That Give Blood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Giving blood is easy, don't worry if you think your blood will kill someone, they do tests on the blood before someone else gets it,
    Actually, all those tests have a failure rate, so if you think your blood will kill someone, you shouldn't donate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

What a pussy. Id say the person who could have done with your blood did worse than nearly pass out.

Watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

JCDUB wrote: »
    Then had a dart at my other arm and eventually got a vein, had shoite bloodflow though and they barely got the pint outta me..

Both my arms were left pretty badly bruised, but feck it, hopefully it helped somebody.
    That's what I'd be afraid of, every time I have to give blood to the doctor it's always the same way. As soon as the needle goes near me all my vains just disappear from the skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I was told I can't give blood because I had jaundice as a baby.

If your friend won't take no for an answer maybe you could tell your friend a little while lie and say you had jaundice or a blood infection that prevents you from giving blood. It would get him off your back about it.

Marvellous! no more feeling like I should be donating for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I don't know anybody who actually likes needles, or indeed fainting.... But do you hate it so so much that you couldn't make an attempt to overcome it?

I look away when they're putting the needle in, and end up talking non-stop like a gibbering idiot for however long I'm there, to distract myself really.

Give it a try at least ! It aint that bad in all honesty, it's mainly just nerves/worry that get to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Unfortunately, because of the risk of variant CJD you are unable to give blood.

so could i get my blood tested to see if it is at risk or what? I have never given blood either and i am petrified of needles but i at least want to try...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

so could i get my blood tested to see if it is at risk or what? I have never given blood either and i am petrified of needles but i at least want to try...

You lived in the UK as well? Apparently CJD a disease that can lie dormant for many years, which is why we can't give blood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

eoin wrote: »
    You lived in the UK as well? Apparently CJD a disease that can lie dormant for many years, which is why we can't give blood.

yeah i did between 1986 and 1989. Feck. Just read their FAQs about vcjd. Aso read about donating bone marrow and plateletes *shudder*

says theres currently no way of screening for vcjd... :(

yeah i did between 1986 and 1989. Feck. Just read their FAQs about vcjd. Aso read about donating bone marrow and plateletes *shudder*

I wouldn't worry about it. I certainly don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭n0fX

I've been giving blood since I was 18 and my father has given well over 100 pints. They do give free beer afterwards, and biscuits, and biros, and car stickers.....

Why don't they give cool stuff, like ipods or usb keys, might encourage more ppl to donate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Last time I wanted to donate blood, I was told that I couldn't cause I wasn't Irish...(and am not British, either). No other excuse, and no information as to why being a foreigner would make my blood less useful..

Haven't tried since, and can't find anything about that in the regulations - but it does make you wonder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I wouldn't worry about it. I certainly don't.

Yep. By the time they find out we have 'the mad cow' we'll be so far gone that we just won't care.
    I'm looking forward to stumbling around a field somewhere. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

It's a good thing to do at least once 'cos if there's anything quare in your blood, you find out about it. I've an irregular antibody in mine called anti jka. I got a letter shortly after donating.My gp at the time frightened the sh*te out of me telling me it could be something to do with Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease.(He thought it was spelt 'Jakob Kreutzfeldt'..wot a clown. I rang the blood bank in a panic but they told me that it was absolutely nothing to do with it....though it was important to carry a card.
    It turned out to be of some importance in my last pregancy. I was lucky my wee fella was ok, he was born with severe life threatening jaundice (not the regular neonatal jaundice a lot of babies develop within days of delivery). Thanks to 24hr ultraviolet light and intravenous fluids for a week, he was ok, thank God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

Besides the whole feel good factor of giving your blood and possible saving a life think of the other plus sides.

1.It helps to detoxify your blood. Makes your body replace the blood that is gone with new blood cells.
    2.Donating blood may reduce risk for heart disease, and stimulates the generation of red blood cells. In patients prone to iron overload (e.g. due to hemochromatosis), blood donation prevents the accumulation of iron.
    3.if you are a bit overweight...presto you just lost a pound and If you are not overweight pig out for the rest of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Besides the whole feel good factor of giving your blood and possible saving a life think of the other plus sides.

1.It helps to detoxify your blood. Makes your body replace the blood that is gone with new blood cells.
    2.Donating blood may reduce risk for heart disease, and stimulates the generation of red blood cells. In patients prone to iron overload (e.g. due to hemochromatosis), blood donation prevents the accumulation of iron.
    3.if you are a bit overweight...presto you just lost a pound and If you are not overweight pig out for the rest of the day.

Thats utter nonsense. Particularly point three.

I would have gone with point two, as patients with that condition are forbidden from donating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

WTF? Fat people lose weight by giving blood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Being hassled by a mate about giving blood today, usually I get hassled every few months about this. I simply don’t like needles and don’t want to feel light-headed and faint from such an experience, is that such a problem? Some people get on such a huge self-righteous buzz about this, like they’re saving the world and you’re an inhuman monster. I was even subjected to the hypothetical “kid dying in hospital story”.

I JUST DON’T WANNA GIVE BLOOD – why do people act this way? I understand the percentage of people that do is disproportional to the need etc but I just don’t want to and that’s that – anyone feel the same or feel the same hassle?

so if something was to happen to u and you needed a blood transfusion,,, im sure u would like to think that someone came over their fear of needles or being light-headed:rolleyes:.... so you might actually LIVE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Id have to laugh at the irony to be honest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

ntlbell wrote: »
    ye get a free pint of Guinness?

Its what I went for anyway.
    Liars.

They didnt want my blood anyway. I ticked too many yes boxes, apparently. Ungrateful bästards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Ah I remember the first time I gave blood!!

Went to the cinema after to see the film Hannibal... When it got to the part where lector was frying the brain I passed out.. My other half thought I had fallen asleep!!

Anyhow, I was out cold for about 5-10 minutes.. Missed the end of the film. When I did wake up I had wet myself:eek::o.

Did It deter me from giving blood again..

NO.

Its a good cause. I have had a few friends who have needed blood transfusions after labour. You can seriously save lives... make a difference¬!¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Dya all know that gay people aren't allowed to give blood? I think that's a ****ing disgrace! HIV in Ireland is tiny (though going up recently) and its a myth that only gay people spread HIV. Also, they screen the blood before it is given to a patient so I don't see any argument against gays giving blood. They're crying out for donors, the gay population of Ireland would surely help loads :confused:

* Am not gay btw! :p

Thats utter nonsense. Particularly point three.

Its after hours FFS....

I should have thrown in how easy it is to get pissed after you donate as well...I got hammered on about 4 pints.

Link to article on other health benefits
    http://edition.cnn.com/2000/HEALTH/04/26/give.blood.wmd/

Dya all know that gay people aren't allowed to give blood? I think that's a ****ing disgrace! HIV in Ireland is tiny (though going up recently) and its a myth that only gay people spread HIV. Also, they screen the blood before it is given to a patient so I don't see any argument against gays giving blood. They're crying out for donors, the gay population of Ireland would surely help loads :confused:

I'm sure someone Christians might think you could catch gay off it or something :rolleyes:

They didn't ask that in the questionnaire they have on the site. Maybe they have dropped that rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    I'm 0 - ,which I thought could be given to people with different blood types.
    Which is handy in emergencies.

I could be wrong though.

Yeah i'm O- too. It's quite an important type in the donation system as we can donate to all -.

As regards to giving blood, i think everyone should try their best to donate. It's only 4 times a year you are asked to do it. Worried about needles? That will be the least of your worries should you have an accident one day and there isn't blood in stock to save your life.
    They didn't ask that in the questionnaire they have on the site. Maybe they have dropped that rule.

No that condition of donating remains firmly intact.

The rule isn't there because "only gay people spread HIV". The rule was instituted back when AIDs was more of an unknown factor, and was adopted by countries worldwide. At the time, it was rife throughout the gay community, and was hard to test for.

The reason its kept today is that screening tests can often fail, so the risk is reduced as much as possible, by blocking out high-risk groups such as drug users and sexually active gay men. Even though gay men only account for about 3-4% of the population, they harbor about 30% of AIDs cases (AFAIR). By excluding them, the risk of accidentally infecting someone is greatly reduced.

It's far from a disgrace. It's called being responsible with the lives of patients.

As correctly mentioned above by The Minister, gay and bi-sexual men are a risk group and as such are not allowed donate. The blood bank is a delicate system and thus there is numerous precautions taken place to protect the safety of patients.

As well as carrying a greater HIV infection rate, the male gay/bi-sexual community also statistically carries a higher rate of hepatitis B and syphilis infection. The tests performed are not 100% and false negatives are known to occur so all risk groups must be excluded from donation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Aso read about donating bone marrow and plateletes *shudder*

I am on the register to donate marrow, and I donate platelets every 28 days on the button. Donating marrow is supposed to be horrendous (a syringe inserted into your pelvis!), but guess what is way worse? Leukemia. If I can help sufferers in any way that doesn't cost me money (because I don't have much to spare), I will. My dad was on the register for ten years and was never called up. I've been on the books for about two years.

Platelet donations are no joy either. The reason I do it is because you can donate every 4 weeks rather than every 3 months, which is the limit for blood donations. They take your blood out for about five minutes, mess around with it in a machine to remove the platelets, and then put it back in for about thirty seconds (this feels weird), and they repeat this process for about one hour.

I actually always specifically tell the staff not to say "you'll feel a slight pinch" before inserting the needle. Everyone reading this, pinch your arm in a 'slight' manner. Believe me, this is nothing like the stabbing agony of a needle going into your vein! But whatever; you guys know what pain does? It goes away. Man up; people need this stuff to live.

The staff in James's are super-nice too, giving me unlimited tea and mini-rolls and blueberry muffins. They also send a taxi to pick me up from work, and then another one to take me to the DART station afterwards (I consider it immoral to take it all the way home when I'm not paying for it). Also, there are some nice rewards for regular donation. I have been given both a silver and a gold tie-pin thus far.

Folks, you should try it at least once. You may feel amazing afterwards; I know a lot of people do. I personally don't; the reason I do it is that I now never feel any guilt about giving no money to charity.

To the OP, I have never once tried to get anyone else to go with me, just in case I sound preachy.

You're not gay... ...well done? Are you a regular donor though? If not, then you have absolutely no business complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭carrieb

I was just reading about the platelet and bone marrow stuff. Will look into it further Wacker.
    I also heard that the BM donating was agony but if you're asleep it mightn't be as bad as I imagined. Do you know anyone who has been called up?
    I am too light for the platelts but am def going to go and give blood next week. Well, Ill try, the last time my iron levels were too low..

Wacker wrote: »
    I am on the register to donate marrow, and I donate platelets every 28 days on the button.

Fair play to you Wacker, to be on the marrow register and donate platelets monthly is really thoughtful. Nothing to be sniffed at. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I dunno, i am scared of needles i wouldn't be able to donate blood-i'ld pass out :(

That said when i die, i want every organ of mine to be reused!!! And then cremated, i beleive burial is a waste of space!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

What are the needles like, fairly sharp? (the sharper the better, you don't feel much going in..) What about the diameter, I'm not bothered about it, to be honest. Relative to IV needles, bigger or smaller?

I've had my fair share of needles lately, big horse syringes pressed in, didn't feel a jot, strangely, it has put me in the mood to donate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I was told I can't give blood because I had jaundice as a baby.

If your friend won't take no for an answer maybe you could tell your friend a little while lie and say you had jaundice or a blood infection that prevents you from giving blood. It would get him off your back about it.

In some cases that has changed and you may be allowed to donate. My father had jaundice and was able to begin donating about 2 years ago

Amalgam wrote: »
    What are the needles like, fairly sharp? (the sharper the better, you don't feel much going in..) What about the diameter, I'm not bothered about it, to be honest. Relative to IV needles, bigger or smaller?

I've had my fair share of needles lately, big horse syringes pressed in, didn't feel a jot, strangely, it has put me in the mood to donate.

Typically wider than standard IV's to protect the red blood cells. This ensures the cells aren't destoyed by being forced at pressure through a narrow IV needle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Amalgam wrote: »

They're tiny needles, if you've gotten big needles before then donating would be a walk in the park

Actually I had to get regular blood tests a few years ago when I was on medication, and that's what prompted me to start donating :) I figured I had to overcome the whole fear of needles thing in order to get a blood test, and since I had I may as well make use of that fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭reggiethefirst

ntlbell wrote: »
    they still take it if ye smoke mar eee ja wanna no ?

Yes, yes they do. Cheer up the poor bastards that need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭ShaunC

I used to donate blood (about 27 pints) but had to stop because I lived in UK in the late 80s. I may have the mad cow syndrome so I should not even be typing this, hopefully I dont go totally mad until im 55 or so :D
    I have the worse blood group, O- which means I can donate to any one but can only recieve O- bummer.
    I cant give platelets because of CJD and I am very nervous about joining the stem cell register:(
    Hopefully I will soon
    By the way OP its about helping the man on the street you know, the people you call friends and family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Degsy wrote: »
    Did you know that the Blood transfusion service is not a charity?
    Did you know that they sell your blood to the hospitals at up to 200 quid a pint?
    Pure profit making organisation.

I believe that a person who donates and later requires blood receives it for free.
    Ann22 wrote: »
    It's a good thing to do at least once 'cos if there's anything quare in your blood, you find out about it.

Dont do this, i know you were unaware of your condition but if someone thinks they may have some sort of condition and knowingly gives blood just to get it tested they are putting another persons life at risk.
    Dya all know that gay people aren't allowed to give blood? I think that's a ****ing disgrace! HIV in Ireland is tiny (though going up recently) and its a myth that only gay people spread HIV. Also, they screen the blood before it is given to a patient so I don't see any argument against gays giving blood. They're crying out for donors, the gay population of Ireland would surely help loads

Gay people are allowed give blood if they are celibate. The IBTS form does not ask if you are a homosexual, they ask if you have had anal sex with a man or a woman (protected or not). If you have, you are not allowed give blood. Its really just a case of a precaution as the risk of HIV is higher amongst those who have had anal sex. Your sexuality is irrelevant.

You can also never give blood if you have been to prison, slept with a prostitute, injected drugs or snorted them. It is a case of risk. Perhaps theres some ex-con, drug addicts that have slept with hookers that want to give blood but as a group they are a far higher risk of having HIV or another blood disease

The IBTS form does not ask if you are a homosexual, they ask if you have had anal sex with a man or a woman (protected or not). If you have, you are not allowed give blood.

Oral too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Wacker wrote: »
    Oral too.
    Really? What has oral got to do with things :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

There's a also a rule about not being allowed to have come in contact with monkey fluids...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭ShaunC

There's a also a rule about not being allowed to have come in contact with monkey fluids...

Your fecked so:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In some cases that has changed and you may be allowed to donate. My father had jaundice and was able to begin donating about 2 years ago
    +1 on that.

The rules do change from time to time.
    Maybe they will relax the UK one later
    can you donate in NI http://www.nibts.org ?

BTW you get two hours free parking in town when you donate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Being hassled by a mate about giving blood today, usually I get hassled every few months about this. I simply don’t like needles and don’t want to feel light-headed and faint from such an experience, is that such a problem? Some people get on such a huge self-righteous buzz about this, like they’re saving the world and you’re an inhuman monster. I was even subjected to the hypothetical “kid dying in hospital story”.

I JUST DON’T WANNA GIVE BLOOD – why do people act this way? I understand the percentage of people that do is disproportional to the need etc but I just don’t want to and that’s that – anyone feel the same or feel the same hassle?

Tell them you tried to donate but they wouldn't take any because of your homosexual past.

Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

ShaunC wrote: »
    Your fecked so:D

Play around with monkey fluids as much as I want or have my blood slosh about in some sick guys body... I know which I'd pick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I really want to donate blood or platelets but I'm wondering what the recovery time is like? I'm in 6th year at the moment so need a lot of time to study, if I donated blood over Easter how long would I be out of action for? Would a good night's sleep have me fully recovered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

Gazza22 wrote: »
    Typically wider than standard IV's to protect the red blood cells. This ensures the cells aren't destoyed by being forced at pressure through a narrow IV needle.

Oh thanks!
    I can't believe i've learned something from AH

I've given blood loads of times but stopped because I need special tiny needles because otherwise i end up in agony and not able to use my arm for a day or so. (not being a coward it's a serious problem)

I asked for them in the d'olier street place and they said it wouldn't be a problem and when i showed up they didn't have them and didn't give me a reason!

But I would if I could! Everyone should if they don't have a real reason because you get to say your in the most exclusive club in Ireland :p

seriously tho, karma people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭reggiethefirst

Piste wrote: »
    I really want to donate blood or platelets but I'm wondering what the recovery time is like? I'm in 6th year at the moment so need a lot of time to study, if I donated blood over Easter how long would I be out of action for? Would a good night's sleep have me fully recovered?

Recovery time is about 8 seconds.