Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The A/R Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

OI wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure sj got the same as the one I got last year which was a giant tcx 2, some nice like

http://www.pedalon.co.uk/acatalog/giant_tcx_2xl.jpg

Mmmm, bike porn....

• Registered Users Posts: 19,525 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

How about a new sub-forum, called 'Running politics'. We could include all posts related to the AAI, URI, Junior athletics, race fee costs, charity percentages, race transfers, medical advice and men versus women.

Then we could focus on the important things in running, like GPS watches, pimping porridge, running shoe collections and kicking dogs.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I have recently inherited the use of one of these:
    http://www.specialized.com/gb/en/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?spid=45853&eid=4951&menuItemId=9336

A foreign based brother has got into doing long bike races and is doing a few in the UK in the next couple of weeks, so just for those couple of races he has bought another bike to be based that part of the world. I've been given the task of getting some miles done on it before he lands and then does something like 100-150mile race the next day on it. I'll then just have to keep it nice and in good working order for when he returns the following year and does some more riding on it for a week or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

@ robinph, im jealous, 105 and all - nice. i ve got crappy Sora

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Wish I knew what you just said there. :D

By 105 you mean the gears yeah? They took a bit of getting used to last week when I was riding round on it for the first time, but starting to get the hang of them now.

I have found myself keeping on looking for wing mirrors to see what is behind me and fiddling for the brake levers and indicators so far. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

How about a new sub-forum, called 'Running politics'. We could include all posts related to the AAI, URI, Junior athletics, race fee costs, charity percentages, race transfers, medical advice and men versus women.

Then we could focus on the important things in running, like GPS watches, pimping porridge, running shoe collections and kicking dogs.

Better still, why not discuss all running topics in this off-topic thread?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

how did yer man and wan do that with the dresses/suits on the late late?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

how did yer man and wan do that with the dresses/suits on the late late?:confused:
    Tut, everyone knows it's magic!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

working sucks :(
    had a fab weekend in Glasgow and now I'm up the walls and wrecked :(:(:(

On the plus side..looks like Aer Arann are going to take over from ryanair on the Birmingham and Glasgow routes :) that makes me very very very happy!

That will probably be one of these Aer Arran planes:

ei-reo-first-aer-arann-atr-72-in-aer-lingus.jpg

robinph wrote: »

if it means not having to go to Dublin airport again then that's ok with me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

I hate those planes. They're so loud that you can't hear yourself think for the whole flight, and they're so unstable that they have to load the front of the plane first before letting anyone else on. And it's always blowing a gale when I'm on one.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

Q-How to make the world a happier place?
    A-flashmob dancing!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsuPqiCjyag

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭JKF

T-5 days til holidays!!! :D

Went shopping for holiday worthy clothes today so I'm sitting here like an excited child.
    Resisting the urge to calculate the exact hours and minutes left...

JKF wrote: »
    Resisting the urge to calculate the exact hours and minutes left...

There are quite a few webpages dedicated just to showing how long it is until my holiday starts:

One
    Two
    Three

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

Ugh a whole 18 days for me before I can get on that plane....it can't come soon enough.

I have no holidays to count down to.............:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭aero2k

I have found myself keeping on looking for wing mirrors to see what is behind me and fiddling for the brake levers and indicators so far. :D
    Hi Robin,

When I lived in the US I got a little mirror that stuck onto the side of my helmet. Looked as stupid as it sounds, but everyone else had them so I decided to give it a try. Once I got the knack I could keep an eye on the road ahead and see what was behind at the same time. I think you can also get ones that clip onto the side of glasses / sunglasses.
    Can't help with brakes or indicators I'm afraid!

I have no hols to look forward to either :(
    But I'm in a job that I really like for once so I'm not looking to take hols any time soon :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

One of the good things that came out of last week is that my Father In Law looked after the kids for a week and everyone had a great time so we are re-thinking our summer holiday plans. I think it would be nice to do a week or so in the sun with the kids and then whisk MrsA away for a 4 or 5 day stress buster.

We've done Oslo, Prague, Paris, London. Any suggestions for somewhere nice but ideally a bit not-obvious?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,525 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Berlin in September? :)

You are an evil, evil man :D

I was asked on the phone by someone if I would be in Cork this weekend. MrsA shot me one of these looks

X-MenCyclopsHeader.jpg

for even suggesting taking her near any runners or running events in anything like the near future... More luxury hotel, less sweaty A in shorts is her style, methinks

(not that she dislikes you all. Or at least that she'd admit in public!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

We've done Oslo, Prague, Paris, London. Any suggestions for somewhere nice but ideally a bit not-obvious?

Lake Bled, nicest place i ve ever been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Baby won't stop rolling on to her tummy, making it very hard to get anything done today.

kennyb3 wrote: »

Slovenia? How hard / easy to get to? If I have the right website it looks stunning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Woddle wrote: »
    Baby won't stop rolling on to her tummy, making it very hard to get anything done today.

Sellotape.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I REALLY need a holiday :(

kennyb3 wrote: »

without doubt the most beautiful place I have been. If ye decide to go there, you have to pay a visit to the Hotel Golf (If you stay in the nearby pension mayer you can use it). There pool facilities are class! You have pools of varying depths and temperatures, a class dive to go down, a pool that splits from one floor, to crash down on to the pool at the level below, so its like being under a waterfall. My favourite pool was the small outdoors one that was heated, and gave you a view straight down onto the lake, and the alps in front of you. Heaven.

Yes, its fair to say that I liked lake bled :rolleyes:

Slovenia? How hard / easy to get to? If I have the right website it looks stunning

get to stansted, then easyjet to ljubljana, the capital (i didnt get in to the capital but cousins said it was beautiful).

pricey country to get to, but soooo worth the effort, and its cheap once you get there!

you could price flying to vienna/budapest, get train then to ljubljana. Proper adventure and may be cheaper! :)

Actually I have vague memories of being on a lads weekend in Bratislava a couple of years ago so we would have flown into the same sort of area...

A cunning plan is beginning to form :)