Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland V Bulgaria

• 27-03-2009 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭

Any boardsies up for a photo comp for this, Myself and Shep will be there and a few others, submit your best pic to me, I will set up a post with a poll could be a laugh!

Also if any of you will be in Tallaght at Rovers tonight I need a favour, pm me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Any boardsies up for a photo comp for this, Myself and Shep will be there and a few others, submit your best pic to me, I will set up a post with a poll could be a laugh!

Also if any of you will be in Tallaght at Rovers tonight I need a favour, pm me!

Im going - but most definitely as a spectator! It will be my first non music or GAA event in croke park. Im planning on bringing my camera but only if it isn’t raining! Got good seats also :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭OnLooker

Sure why not. See you tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭opti76

why not indeed.. see ye inside lads hopefully it will stay warm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Shep is in too so thats 4, so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Ah go on then, I'll blow ye out of the water :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Count me in too.

I think city-exile will be there too, and probably soccercc too.

This should be very interesting. :D

The Rules:

All Images mailed to me, I will load up to flickr, this way people will vote for the picture and not the person ( otherwise I will get no votes)

I will then set up a Poll and will request that it be stickied for a week!

Best picture wins and will be awarded a prize!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Good idea to hide the exif on the images as some people might look in that

Look forward to voting for this :)

Whats the prize :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭workaccount

Class idea.

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Good idea to hide the exif on the images as some people might look in that

Look forward to voting for this :)

Whats the prize :pac:

How would I hide the exif?

Was thinking about a Little Graphic I could put in my sig, i mean the winner could put in their sig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

I don't know..I can't remember!It's just flickr shows my name for each photo i've taken so it might do the same for yours...Try searching "removing exif data in photoshop"

i have this sewn up lads

dont bother sending anything

whats the email dodgy ???

opti76 wrote: »
    i have this sewn up lads

dont bother sending anything

Interesting. I got a text from someone else who says they've it sewn up too. :D

Ah, I might as well submit an entry anyway, even if it doesn't win. You just never know how people will vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Perfect fit

best picture of kilbanes fantastic finish wins:p

that rules me out so ..

ya paul i got the same txt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

One thing is for sure,,,,the pics have to be better than the game!! Depressing stuff.

Valentia wrote: »
    One thing is for sure,,,,the pics have to be better than the game!! Depressing stuff.

It was twice as depressing being there. Damn cold too.

It should be interesting to see the different views of the game here.

Ok, I've made my choice for the competition. Could be a contender after all.

Just waiting to hear where to send the image now.

Send them to fergusmcnally@gmail.com

Will get the Poll up as soon as I get all the entrants!

Should be fun!

What's the conditions though?

What max size? 1200px largest side?

No using the entry on your flickr, pix, website, etc. One entry per person. Must have been taken last night in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭conkeroo

Im in too. Will be good to see the different shots. And damn it was cold last night!

Was gonna load to my flickr keep on pvt and then post here at medium!

Level playing field, are we gonna let the soccer forum know so they can vote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭steelydan99

Was a cold one alright,and the game had less than exciting action. Im in also but don't know if i have a winer yet?
    Ken will be late I guess as he might be going up to Dublin again today for the Leinster game.

Interesting idea. Mixed feelings about this one. Might be good to have their votes, but at the same time, might be more interesting to just leave it to the photography section.

Up to you really.

Was gonna load to my flickr keep on pvt and then post here at medium!

Might be a good idea there, get some extra feedback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

So when are we getting this going? Probably an idea to set some sort of deadline...

Should be a good bit of fun and interesting to see everyones take on things...

I've already submitted my image.

I guess 10am tomorrow as the deadline??? The Fergus can post them sometime tomorrow, for voting.

Make it 4.00pm and keep it open for a week??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭steelydan99

sent in my entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

Who got unlucky asking the guy in the Town hat was he Ray Egan!?

To be fair, you would have felt the odds were in your favour. :p

That would have been me, there is only about 2 dozen Athlone Fans in total and for two of them to be snappers is amazing;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

That would have been me, there is only about 2 dozen Athlone Fans in total and for two of them to be snappers is amazing;)

I was the offended party :P (only jokin Ray) ... if I'd known that was you I'd have said hello properly ... was just too cold. Could have had a good chat about kits ;)
    Longford have already had problems this season and I was called in as an advisor!

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    I was the offended party :P (only jokin Ray) ... if I'd known that was you I'd have said hello properly ... was just too cold. Could have had a good chat about kits ;)
    Longford have already had problems this season and I was called in as an advisor!

Have you expeirience of kits! I love kits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Have you expeirience of kits! I love kits!

I cant get enough of them :p (I'm kitman for De Athlone)

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    I cant get enough of them :p (I'm kitman for De Athlone)

Cool, good job I didnt know that last night we would still be there talking about socks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Make it 4.00pm and keep it open for a week??

I thought you lads were supposed to be sports photographers!! get the pictures in :)

Borderfox wrote: »
    I thought you lads were supposed to be sports photographers!! get the pictures in :)

Shep sent his from pitchside a true pro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Well I figured at least Gary would be sorted out, what about the rest of ya :)

Borderfox wrote: »
    Well I figured at least Gary would be sorted out, what about the rest of ya :)

Paulw
    longshanks
    onlooker
    shep
    kensutz
    mysef and Steelydan have submitted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Mine is sent

Paulw
    longshanks
    onlooker
    shep
    kensutz
    mysef and Steelydan have submitted!
    I have too. Did you get the email?

conkeroo wrote: »
    I have too. Did you get the email?

Not Yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Posted my entry there.
    Good to see old and new faces.
    I've been away too long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

are we gonna let the soccer forum know so they can vote?

what about posting the same photos on both forum with a poll on each and then see who the winner is in each as it may be interesting to see what photogs pick versus what a sports fan picks etc ?

RoryW wrote: »
    what about posting the same photos on both forum with a poll on each and then see who the winner is in each as it may be interesting to see what photogs pick versus what a sports fan picks etc ?
    Good idea there. Be nice to see the different views.

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

sent in my entry

Was VERY Cold in Croke PK on Saturday!!

People are complaining about the cold and bad football.
    You lot deserve a good kick up the hole!
    It doesn't get much better for football in Ireland.

Great facilities, fantastic hosts, wonderful light, comfortable viewing positions, perfect weather for football, loads of "stars" on display, well timed tackles, and a couple of goals to boot.

In fairness, you lot are spoiled rotten, if you can complain about last Saturday.
    May all your troubles be so small.

City-Exile wrote: »

It doesn't get much better for football in Ireland.

I think that was the point - there is better football in Ireland. Many LOI games would be of as good, if not better quality than the Rep of Ireland international team. :rolleyes:
    Great facilities, fantastic hosts, wonderful light, comfortable viewing positions, perfect weather for football, loads of "stars" on display, well timed tackles, and a couple of goals to boot.

Ok, totally agree about the facilities, hosts, light, position, etc. Fair play to the FAI (and even GAA) for that.

As for the stars - was that not more to do with Earth Hour, and the lack of general light polution, so we had a clear view of the sky and stars??? :D

You lot deserve a good kick up the hole!......

In fairness, you lot are spoiled rotten, if you can complain about last Saturday.
    May all your troubles be so small.
    So simple obversations of the weather conditions and a poor match warrant this narked response? Clearly your troubles are few and far between if mere football and meteorological posts can upset you this much. :rolleyes:

conkeroo wrote: »
    So simple obversations of the weather conditions and a poor match warrant this narked response?

Ah, that's not a narked response. You need to know city-exile to know how to read his posts. :D It just seems like a narked response, when it's not really.

Paulw wrote: »
    I think that was the point - there is better football in Ireland. Many LOI games would be of as good, if not better quality than the Rep of Ireland international team. :rolleyes:

Paulw, when you're there as a photographer, you just have to hope you get the right action. The challenges and tackles were well timed and often crunching.
    There are very few games in the LoI where you get the same calibre of action. You'd be lucky to get one clean sliding tackle in a game.
    There are also very few players in Ireland who are as strong as Petrov on the ball.
    That's what makes for good pictures.