Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

QUB and a few questions...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

milly4ever wrote: »
    All those areas are fine, except if a place is advertised as 'near city hospital' just make sure it's not the Donegal Road area or Sandy Row. Fitzwilliam street would be really handy for everything. do you have a car?

No I don't drive, is that a problem in Belfast? Yeh Sandy Row is one of those places that seems to ring a bell for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Not a problem, just most of the areas round there are street parking (old red bricked houses with no driveways) so it can be a problem finding somewhere to leave the car. QUB is so close to town that you can pretty much get anywhere you need to on foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

El Siglo wrote: »
    No I don't drive, is that a problem in Belfast? Yeh Sandy Row is one of those places that seems to ring a bell for some reason.

no it's not a problem i just meant that parking is a nightmare round there! aren't the postgrad halls near there? they'd be really handy!

Only just saw the thing about making friends there! Easiest way I'd say is either through your course (always lots of talks etc. that the PhD candidates can attend as well as regular postgrads) and socialising, be it through the SU or through any of the clubs/socs that are on campus. There'll be something to fit your interests and folks are very friendly :P

Cheers folks, that's really helpful. Belfast sounds like a great spot alright. Quite sick of Dublin now to be honest, my house here is expensive and living costs are generally high. Going out has been severely curtailed as well because I simply can't afford it.
    It's going to be a bit of a transition to be honest, I'll only be as old as some of the final year undergrads (still 21, not 22 till December). Yeh I might join a few societies and clubs and actually attend events (have been absolutely swamped and still am in my MSc).
    Regards expenses how cheap is Belfast, how much can one expect to get by on per week or per month?

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭madmac187

Finished in Queens today thank God, word to the wise stay away from Elms Village. Its full of creeps, I know, lived with them from people who don't speak and stare at you, to those who sniff seats after you to padlocks on presses. Security are horrible, staff are useless, noise is pretty bad,if you're in postgrad place, no craic when you want to go out because no one living with you will want to go out either, being treated like a child when your friends stay over.

Mates have stayed in other places grand to be honest. Holly lands are alright, but parking cars can be iffy. Not because they are southern but because they don't care at all. Stranmillis or somewhere near Queens boat house would be best, nice knackers, cars parked safely, nice houses and Cutters pub is really nice :). Thats where I would if I were going back for another year to do another masters. Might Yet.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 chipchop

madmac187 wrote: »
    Finished in Queens today thank God, word to the wise stay away from Elms Village. Its full of creeps, I know, lived with them from people who don't speak and stare at you, to those who sniff seats after you to padlocks on presses. Security are horrible, staff are useless, noise is pretty bad,if you're in postgrad place, no craic when you want to go out because no one living with you will want to go out either, being treated like a child when your friends stay over.

Mates have stayed in other places grand to be honest. Holly lands are alright, but parking cars can be iffy. Not because they are southern but because they don't care at all. Stranmillis or somewhere near Queens boat house would be best, nice knackers, cars parked safely, nice houses and Cutters pub is really nice :). Thats where I would if I were going back for another year to do another masters. Might Yet.:D

hey so you finished up wit the masters in construction & Project management??.... ive got a conditional offer to do the same masters in Queens next year, just wanted to kno what you thought of the course? i did construction management in cit... did you find the masters a big step up from BSc (Hons) level? in terms of workload etc? and would you recommend the course? i also have an offer to do business management in ul but i think i want to stick with construction!..... and how did you find living in belfast as a southerner? are there places to be avoided? and is it safe to have a southern reg car parked up for a week? you hear some crap from people who have never really been there or experienced the place hence the questions cause some people have been saying t me t leave the car at home!... any info you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,280 ✭✭✭Glico Man

chipchop wrote: »
    hey so you finished up wit the masters in construction & Project management??.... ive got a conditional offer to do the same masters in Queens next year, just wanted to kno what you thought of the course? i did construction management in cit... did you find the masters a big step up from BSc (Hons) level? in terms of workload etc? and would you recommend the course? i also have an offer to do business management in ul but i think i want to stick with construction!..... and how did you find living in belfast as a southerner? are there places to be avoided? and is it safe to have a southern reg car parked up for a week? you hear some crap from people who have never really been there or experienced the place hence the questions cause some people have been saying t me t leave the car at home!... any info you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

Fran?

I too would like to know some of the answers, mainly about workload and the step up from BSc Hons level as I have just been accepted to the MSc in Construction and Project Management...

I would also like peoples opinions on areas to stay. Currently saved on my daft searches, are places in Fane Street, St. Ives Gardens and Upper Newtownards Road. That last one is a bit of a distance but I wouldn't mind getting the bus, if there is a service from out there :o

Thanks in advance

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Fran?

I too would like to know some of the answers, mainly about workload and the step up from BSc Hons level as I have just been accepted to the MSc in Construction and Project Management...

I would also like peoples opinions on areas to stay. Currently saved on my daft searches, are places in Fane Street, St. Ives Gardens and Upper Newtownards Road. That last one is a bit of a distance but I wouldn't mind getting the bus, if there is a service from out there :o

Thanks in advance

All too far and a bit rough man. Stranmillis around lock view road is where I would go if back. Might be yet have an offer to do a Phd. Masters course is handy about 20 assignments in total for the year but a handful are big but are group projects to pick group members wisely. I will look up daft and see If I can link you to a handful of good areas aswell if you fancy?

I too am Aaron :), what part of the world are you from?

All too far and a bit rough man. Stranmillis around lock view road is where I would go if back. Might be yet have an offer to do a Phd. Masters course is handy about 20 assignments in total for the year but a handful are big but are group projects to pick group members wisely. I will look up daft and see If I can link you to a handful of good areas aswell if you fancy?

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=542026

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=589815

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=573630

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=585690

http://www.daft.ie/searchsharing.daft?id=579487

See what you think of these places anywhere BT7 is the postcode is close enough aswell if that helps you

Scary lol....Just finished up in CIT, and a Cork native. How about yourself?

Thats fantastic thanks... going up around mid august to have a look at houses, is this too soon?

Would have to be out of the place I'm in at the moment by the start of September so around then is when I have to move

I'm from Laois man its about a 4 and a half hour drive so for you.
    Mate living with me this year was from Wilton. Yeah so you are going to be up there alot. Alls I'll say is pick a nice house you will be in it long enough. I lived in Elms and all I will say is because it was so dead and ****e and freaky roommates, I came home everyweekend after Xmas.

Yeah I'll be there from start to finish basically bar the Christmas break...I've had my fair share of odd housemates already so one more year can't hurt :o

Can't wait to start now, been waiting all summer for the big move and the change of scenery will be good

Yeah I'll be there from start to finish basically bar the Christmas break...I've had my fair share of odd housemates already so one more year can't hurt :o

Can't wait to start now, been waiting all summer for the big move and the change of scenery will be good

I know the feeling, thinking of doing a Phd because I don't want to stay at home anymore, bad enough for the summer and no jobs anywhere in sight.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 kev1

After just finishing my 4-year degree course in nui galway, but am taking a career change and am venturing up to belfast starting another undergrad course!!

Anyways, i need some advice re accommodation etc.! was thinking shud go for some of the student halls etc. given the fact i know no-one! had been thinking of avoiding Elms, not sure i cud deal with sharing an apt. with 11 other people! lived in Corrib village (place where all 1st years go... i.e. place a kip!) in galway wen i was back in 1st year, had enuf of that after one year.
    so thought mount charles wud b a better alternative, but hearing conflicting views about that, internet supposedly crap?? so not sure of wats the best to look for? any views?

after realising the deadline for queens halls is 1st august. if i pay a deposit for one of these places but decide not to stay there, wud i get my deposit back?

thanks in advance.

Internet in Mount Charles was carp, but they may have improved it (there's always hope!!!). I don't think Elms is necessarily the worst decision you can make, I know a girl who was zoned with the older students and loved it, but then you hear a hundred horror stories for every decent one. Stranmillis is nice, nicer than Holy Lands anyway!!!

Don't know about the deposit, at my old place you wouldn't get it back (unless you got pregnant and couldn't go to college!) - giving it back when people change their mind kinda defeats the purpose of it in the first place but you never know.

@madmac, more folks from Wilton at QUB! I should have deferred for a year and I could have car pooled up and down :P

am how do you go about staying with older students in elms, is it just something u put in the application form or do you have to ring them up?

how wud accommodation in elms compare with mount charles (apart from sharing with 10 in elms, versus 5 in m charles)? are they of similar quality? internet any better in elms? hav become accustomed to 20mb broadband in galway!

coming up from co. galway, 4+ hrs journey, so wud prob b up most weekends, so from reading here, elms would not be good from that view point>?

kev1 wrote: »
    am how do you go about staying with older students in elms, is it just something u put in the application form or do you have to ring them up?

how wud accommodation in elms compare with mount charles (apart from sharing with 10 in elms, versus 5 in m charles)? are they of similar quality? internet any better in elms? hav become accustomed to 20mb broadband in galway!

coming up from co. galway, 4+ hrs journey, so wud prob b up most weekends, so from reading here, elms would not be good from that view point>?

Dont think so man, mate of mine this year moved in with randomers and had savage craic, elms is perhaps hell on earth but its incredible warm which is the only good thing but its too damn hot in Summer or when it gets warm. Dont think because there is security its safe its not. Cars damaged and keyed, wipers pulled off not because they are southern but the place is full of kids (And ELms security and Queens won't care as I found). I don't know about the rest, not sure which one now is but one is full of foreigners and they are dreadful to live with because they dont do a thing and will rob your stuff (Heard from friends). Daft it man I think or go up to the students union has bulletin board (forgive spelling) and shows people looking for places. You would be suprised what you would find. You can rent rooms in elms aswell as far as i know, not like long term rent but rather pay for the days you stay and its the same rate, so could get you out until you find a long term spot

Thats not good to hear, will have a car with me, so was edging towards elms as there is parking there, as opposed to mount charles.... so wud u reckon, private accommodation (in the right area of course!) is better than elms for car security?

I won't bull**** you. Elms is alright but in 5 cars parked together 3 had something done to them, from wipers pulled off to keying it. (This was along the apartments infront of a 1st year building where everybody walks by coming home, there are other places to park like the main parking where cars never move so be safe there I'd say). It depends on this for staying in a place. No one can come in unless they live in elms after 11. There will be hassle before that aswell, starting at 9.30. Noise can be bad when you have work too. But its warm. Don't want to insult when I say it but, if you are the type that wont talk to anyone and live in your room but don't download its perfect. BUt if your socialable but do work when have to you wont like it.

Mate lived in lockview road in stranmillis its down by the boat house never a problem. If your going to look at places, I know experience and mates where they lived along lisburn until the hospital is grand most of stranmillis is too. What I would do is go up as soon as and have a few places in line to look at and see from there. Essentially anywhere along malone is grand, most of the holylands are alright and most of lisburn is grand too. Im sorry I probable havent helped have I???

Boards is acting a **** on me. It depends man I was parked outside across from a 1st year building so bad for that crap but there are other places to park it like long term parking spot. Yeah I would man private it if I could because you wont be happy in elms after a few days, I wasn't now and tried to get out but couldnt unfortunately. Besides its bloody expensive for ****e broadband too, but the ensuite is nice to have.

heading more towards private accommodation now! - reason i wasnt opting for it before, was i reckoned the halls wud have been better from a social aspect.

as someone who stayed in elms,, wud u not say it was a good spot to meet, get to know people - i.e. be sociable!? guessing, its pot luck on who get stuck with - (kind of answering my own question).

on the side of private accommodation (renting a room in house),, at least i'd have influence on who i'd be moving in with - a plus point.

from your friends who went the private accomm route,, had they hassle with cars - parking availability/security?

must take a gawk at daft so... re daft, is it still the best place to look even for belfast?

boards acting up here too btw..

Na not really I lived in the building with mature students. They either wouldn't talk or would live in their room. One guy was seen twice in the year first day and last day. Or some people that would start cooking at 4 in the morning. Another individual living with us, when I had my girlfriend over, starred at us till we left, when we were watching tv so let you make your own mind up. Only thing saving me, was that a mate came up with me and met a girl living with us as well from Clonmel. One other guy was sound as well, but he was 45 but alright. My friends hated coming over to be honest aswell, during the day because of it.

No one I know of actually had car trouble but elms people. Even mate in Holylands driving a Toyota celica, I soooo thought it was going to be robbed but never was.

Na not really I lived in the building with mature students. They either wouldn't talk or would live in their room. One guy was seen twice in the year first day and last day. Or some people that would start cooking at 4 in the morning. Another individual living with us, when I had my girlfriend over, starred at us till we left, when we were watching tv so let you make your own mind up. Only thing saving me, was that a mate came up with me and met a girl living with us as well from Clonmel. One other guy was sound as well, but he was 45 but alright. My friends hated coming over to be honest aswell, during the day because of it.
    Doesnt sound too appealing, i must admit! One thing, why did you choose elms over private accom in the first place, given u had mates living in private accomm??
    No one I know of actually had car trouble but elms people. Even mate in Holylands driving a Toyota celica, I soooo thought it was going to be robbed but never was.
    Have heard Holylands is quite the wild spot alrite,, seems ur mate got v.lucky! ... was it southern reg. out of interest?

Daft, Gumtree, Propertynews.com

Doesnt sound too appealing, i must admit! One thing, why did you choose elms over private accom in the first place, given u had mates living in private accomm??

Have heard Holylands is quite the wild spot alrite,, seems ur mate got v.lucky! ... was it southern reg. out of interest?

Yeah the car was southern reg alright. Couldn't understand it. At the time I only knew one person going up there and met loads of people I knew after didn't know they were there. At the time me and another guy moved up I wanted to live in a house he didnt and said I might aswell. Thought it would have been handy but turns out not. Look up holylands paddys day on youtube 2009 its funny please look it up.

Interesting video, very jovial atmosphere. I liked how they started cooking pizza on the fire in the middle of the road.

Hi again folks, I've come to annoy you once again :p and partake of your great knowledge of the City of Belfast

I'm currently looking for accommodation for the year and am going up to Belfast next monday to have a look at one or two that I've found so far.

One of them is located on Dunluce Avenue and the other on Fane Street and I'm just wondering what you think of these locales... I must admit to liking how close they are to QUB, about a 5/10 minute walk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

Hi again folks, I've come to annoy you once again :p and partake of your great knowledge of the City of Belfast

I'm currently looking for accommodation for the year and am going up to Belfast next monday to have a look at one or two that I've found so far.

One of them is located on Dunluce Avenue and the other on Fane Street and I'm just wondering what you think of these locales... I must admit to liking how close they are to QUB, about a 5/10 minute walk

the lisburn road is a good area- really handy, lots of shops and eating places and lots of students around too.

milly4ever wrote: »
    the lisburn road is a good area- really handy, lots of shops and eating places and lots of students around too.

Thanks for the quick reply. I know a few people are always weary of the Lisburn Road area but know myself if you look for trouble then you'll find it and it's not the entire area that's troublesome.

Looking forward to the move, if I find a nice place that is and can't wait to start in QUB