Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Italy v Ireland WCQ RTE 2 7:50pm Wed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Fair play Robbie. Good goal. On the balance of play they just about deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

for me its time for the positive thinking..... 1-1

The power of positive thinking :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Gibson
    backed a draw at half time. 20 quid at 11/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

N. Hunt
    God damn it!

Pity we didn't beat Bulgaria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Gibson
    How are Ireland not in front now! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Gibson
    dsmythy wrote: »
    We know the answer to this in advance.

Attack it is then, I assume that is what you meant....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gibson
    Bah, shoulda been 2-1 there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Doyle
    Attacking... good job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

N. Hunt
    Attack it is then, I assume that is what you meant....

er, yeah.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Gibson
    Maybe we should start every match by conceeding an early goal??
    First georgia, now Italy. Our two best performances of late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Doyle
    What delicious irony it is, with the comments in this thread, that keane pops up with the goal.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Whelan
    FT 1-1

We're still in this. :D

Gibson
    Full time:

Italy 1 Ireland 1

Ireland had at least 2 chances after equalising to snatch the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gibson
    Folan = MOM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Gibson
    Bloody hell. Keano has woken up now, almost won it for us there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Gibson
    Well done lads.

We deserved the draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Gibson
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Folan = MOM

Really got stuck in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Some will choose to see this as 3 points stopped, but personally I see it as one point gained, and I think it'll be a huge point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Gibson
    I'm disappointed with the point to be honest. That'll piss Bulgaria off though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

end 1-1 at least Trap will now believe more in his team and we can push on from here with a better attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Folan
    Folan = MOM

Was great tonight, i wonder will he ask a question for the next match?

One thing is for sure, Keogh has ruled himself out for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

Doyle
    Well done Ireland....thats the sort of positive attitude we need from now on!

They saw that they could win it and kept going. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

if keane had of scored that last chance

feck sake

carlsberg add orgasmic man face time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Well done lads, fully deserved. Could have won it with the amount of chances we had. Very good performance

Gibson
    Did Keogh give Trap guff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Gibson
    All these years later and the long ball still does the job:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

daithijjj wrote: »
    What delicious irony it is, with the comments in this thread, that keane pops up with the goal.......

Is it somehow worng for people to expect him to put in a full shift?

Soby wrote: »
    All these years later and the long ball still does the job:D:D

Shades of Packie in there all right.:)

Gibson
    Folan = MOM

Missed the first 10/15 but I'd agree with this 100%

As Keane scored I was writing this;

Shocking game, with the Italians reluctant to play, and Ireland unable to. It's watching games like this that make me feel that the sport needs a radical overhaul to prevent it from turning any more into a parody of itself.

Cynical fouling, cynical gamesmanship, poor technical ability, poor officiating, and . . . [Keane scores]

Despite the result, it was a game that neither team deserved to win, rather than deserved to lose. Great result for Ireland, but Italy will rue the tactics in the second half, and could easily have lost 2-1 at the end. Ireland's technical limitations were on display in all their glory tonight, and but for the determination of a few players, they'd be leaving empty handed.

Italy's approach in the second half was appalling, and despite Ireland being inferior for much of the first half, I felt it would've been an injustice if Italy had claimed the victory with that sort of display.

Great result on the road, and what a week it could've been if Saturday's early goal had been capitalised on. Substitutions earned their worth today, and I was highly impressed by Folan's workrate, commitment and desire to take the game to the Italians. Great work to get his head to the ball for the goal, and he was probably the one player who deserved to be the hero.

Keane was very poor, despite finishing very well. He plays the wavy-arm b/s too much, instead of getting on with the game and getting stuck in. No-one is question his desire, I just feel he could go about his day's work a lot more efficiently that appealing every f*cking decision to the officials.

Well done to the lads, they kept plugging away and deserved a point.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Haha.

Nice little quip from Ronnie there.

"It's not easy to score shinners"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Elonex

N. Hunt
    Can see us attacking now against Bulgaria.

No more 2 holding midfielders and Gibson must start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

did the trap do the mccarthy face vs germany?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Elonex wrote: »

And Folan.

Gibson
    laugh out loud at Eamo mocking Folan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

laugh out loud at Eamo mocking Folan

srs?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I think the result may end up papering over the cracks.

Was a very poor performance against ten men for pretty much ninety minutes.

The complete and utter absence of any creativity whatsoever in terms of creating any decent chances show there are serious problems with this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Whelan
    Im happy with the point but we could of easily won.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Doyle
    Hahaha Dunphy is such an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Dunphy has gone mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Should have been all three points Italy were poor gave us to much time on the ball and lost possesion to easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

O'Shea
    stfu Dunphy, bloody joker

Gibson

Gibson is too lightweight. He doesn't offer any more than those two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Lol no chance. It took us going one down to a team with ten men to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Gibson
    If that game had gone on 10 minutes more we woulda won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Doyle
    Finally Ireland are getting the luck when we need it... if thats all Trap brings ill be happy

Also.... GET THE FOOK IN KEANE YOU F***KING LEDGE :D

night folks, 5am im off to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Gibson is too lightweight. He doesn't offer any more than those two.

wtf

so pirlo is crap too because he's too light:rolleyes:
    (no way am I saying Gibson is anywhere near Pirlo)

edit

of course Gibson brings alot more to the table than 2 holding midfielders

Soby wrote: »
    If that game had gone on 10 minutes more we woulda won

May be 5 would have been enough Italy were losing it towards the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Gibson
    Full-time stats

Italy 1 - 1 Ireland

34.1% Possession 65.9%
    2 Shots 12
    1 Shots on target 3
    1 Saves 0
    1 Corners 10
    21 Fouls 13
    4 Offsides 2
    3 Yellow cards 1
    1 Red Cards 0
    18 Tackles 21
    190 Accurate passes 403
    48 Bad passes 45

Keane "we" worked hard.

redout wrote: »
    Full-time stats

Italy 1 - 1 Ireland

34.1% Possession 65.9%
    2 Shots 12
    1 Shots on target 3
    1 Saves 0
    1 Corners 10
    21 Fouls 13
    4 Offsides 2
    3 Yellow cards 1
    1 Red Cards 0
    18 Tackles 21
    190 Accurate passes 403
    48 Bad passes 45

:eek: Yipes they had one shot on target and scored it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

Kilbane
    Lord knows what would have happened with a Carsley - Reid/Fahey midfield.

I'm happy enough with that result though, could well have won.