Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Italy v Ireland WCQ RTE 2 7:50pm Wed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

redout wrote: »
    Full-time stats

Italy 1 - 1 Ireland

34.1% Possession 65.9%
    2 Shots 12
    1 Shots on target 3
    1 Saves 0
    1 Corners 10
    21 Fouls 13
    4 Offsides 2
    3 Yellow cards 1
    1 Red Cards 0
    18 Tackles 21
    190 Accurate passes 403
    48 Bad passes 45

Source?
    45 Bad passes seems just a touch low as does the accurate passes of 403

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I take it the goal isn't counted as a shot then. Forgot that.

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

Des wrote: »
    did the trap do the mccarthy face vs germany?

Watched that 239874 times that day! Quality! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Gibson
    Keane goal: http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2306326

Not surprised at those statistics at all, and while they are a reflection on the amount of ball Ireland had, you can have all the possession in the world but it aint worth squat if you don't know how to/can't utilise it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭ZiMZuM

Doyle
    jasus Bolivia 5-1 Argentina!!:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Gibson
    monkey9 wrote: »
    I just can't see Ireland doing anything tomorrow. Hunt and Keogh will offer nothing and the Italians will trapse through our joke of a centre midfield.
    Three nil Italy
    I predict Italy 3-0 Rep. Ireland. But to show some positivity, i'm gonna put money on just the two nil to the Italians

Being so wrong feels so right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

Des wrote: »
    Definite humiliation awaits the Irish team.

heres a dusty, manky hat for you to eat! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gibson
    roryc wrote: »
    night folks, 5am im off to bed

Same as.

Worth stayin up for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Gibson
    Source?
    45 Bad passes seems just a touch low as does the accurate passes of 403

Eurosport:

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/football/world-cup-qual/2008/italy-rep-ireland-249455.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

ZiMZuM wrote: »

Yikes and there is 15mins left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Gibson
    Headshot wrote: »
    wtf

so pirlo is crap too because he's too light:rolleyes:
    (no way am I saying Gibson is anywhere near Pirlo)

edit

of course Gibson brings alot more to the table than 2 holding midfielders

does he?

Remember Cyprus. I think he's as limited as the other two to be honest. Maybe in years to come he'll improve, but atm i think he's much of a muchness. I mean he did nothing when he came on today really, apart from hit the first man several times. Not saying the others did much either, but he shouldn't be on a pedestal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭jacool

for the second game in a row i can't understand why cannavaro remained on the pitch. ignoring his pulling of hunt near the end, counterbalanced by o'shea on chiellini, he deserved at least a yellow for his blatant cynical foul on kilbane, plus the later foul on hunt over by the corner flag.
    despite all that, i'm delighted with the draw and think we should enjoy the result while we can. the future may not be as bright as the glory days of the past, but i'm just going to savour this for a while before thinking about what is coming down the road in the shape of 2 tough away ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Crikey ! I thought that was gonna be live on Sky later on tonite:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭pierrot

Gibson
    I'm still nearly sure Noel Hunt was the one who scored the goal, he kicked the ball while Keane was swinging his leg. Anyone else agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Gibson

I aint surprised. I watched Brazil played off the park against Ecuador on sunday night and scrape a very fortunate 1 - 1 draw. This Brazil was the Ronaldinho, Alves, Maicon, Robinho, Julio Cesar etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

pierrot wrote: »
    I'm still nearly sure Noel Hunt was the one who scored the goal, he kicked the ball while Keane was swinging his leg. Anyone else agree?

looks like it to me actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jesus, they're all a bunch of Geniuses. Dunphy talkign about a draw with Holland in 88 ( I was at the game too Eamo,it finished 1-0) when Quinn scored and resulted in us qualifying for the 2nd round (this actually happened in the WC in 1990) and Giles thinks they are talkign about Keane scoring against Germany in 02.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Heh heh ... next to Shay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

does he?

Remember Cyprus. I think he's as limited as the other two to be honest. Maybe in years to come he'll improve, but atm i think he's much of a muchness. I mean he did nothing when he came on today really, apart from hit the first man several times. Not saying the others did much either, but he shouldn't be on a pedestal

he's corners were bad ill give ya that

but I taught he made a great impact when he came on few nice passes
    He wasnt that special tbf but he was alot better than the DMs

Iv seen him for utd this season and has impressed me in some matches
    just needs more games at utd

Gibson
    why is Dunphy saying Quinn scored against Holland in 88' and we got to the next stage?

Both lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Doyle
    fantastic result, absolutly brilliant.

gave away a very soft goal but that was the best Ireland performance in a long while. granted we were up against 10 but i just thought we were brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Doyle
    Great result lads.. regardless of the performance as a whole...
    its the results that counts at the end of the day

whats the situation with the final few games?

im not to up to date on my knowledge of this, is it the top 2 qualify from the group and the 3rd place team goes into a playoff to reach the finals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Doyle
    The RTE panel are talking some sh*te tonight.

Brilliant result. Really proud of the effort of the lads and I think it's the best performance we've had under Trap, regardless of the fact the Italians were down to 10 men.

We worked really hard and at the end I thought we might even nick it. This should give us confidence for the game against Bulgaria in June where hopefully we can end their qualification hopes.

Onwards and upwards. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

Whelan
    BArra wrote: »

im not to up to date on my knowledge of this, is it the top 2 qualify from the group and the 3rd place team goes into a playoff to reach the finals?
    1st place gets automatic qualification. 2nd place goes into a play offs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

S. Hunt
    Dunphy talking out his..... Trapps got it spot on tonight. Voted Keogh as MOTM seeing as someone voted for that donkey McShane :rolleyes:

Gibson
    BArra wrote: »

no, of the 9 groups, the 8 best second place teams go to playoffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Whelan
    slightly O/T but a huge win for the North - in with a real shout of gettting at least a playoff now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭mad m

Dunphy is off is trolly, but so funny at the things he comes out with. When they replayed the goal I thought also that it looked like Hunt who scored..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Gibson
    2nd place go to the play off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Antrim_Man wrote: »
    Dunphy talking out his..... Trapps got it spot on tonight. Voted Keogh as MOTM seeing as someone voted for that donkey McShane :rolleyes:

Its as valid as voting for Keogh, if stayed with his man Italy wouldnt have scored. Thats about all he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Doyle
    Jaysus were a miserable shower of bastards starting with Giles and Dunphy a country with a population of 4 million draws away to the world champions (population 60 million) and people are saying we didn't play well, It's not even officially our national sport ffs! Great result well done to Trapp and the boys. People in this country need to fcuking lighten up along with the rugby, Bernard Dunne it's been one of the greatest 10 days in ever for this country.
    COME ON IRELAND

Gibson
    Keane "we" worked hard.

Keane DID work hard

aah crap

S. Hunt

Paulo McShaneo had a mare for the Argies apparently ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Doyle
    Lads did anyone see Noel Hunt practically rugby tackling robbie keane as robbie wheeled away in celebration after nicking the goal.
    Priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Gibson
    For play off's we are looking at
    Hungary/Denmark
    Greece / Switzerland
    Slovkia
    Russia
    Bosnia-Herz....
    Croatia
    France
    Scotland

Lot of tricky teams in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

patmac wrote: »
    Jaysus were a miserable shower of bastards starting with Giles and Dunphy a country with a population of 4 million draws away to the world champions (population 60 million) and people are saying we didn't play well, It's not even officially our national sport ffs! Great result well done to Trapp and the boys. People in this country need to fcuking lighten up along with the rugby, Bernard Dunne it's been one of the greatest 10 days in ever for this country.

The football team drew against ten men, Bernard Dunne is 8th in the world in his weight class and the rugby team won something they should have taken home years ago.

Also, lack of Chiellini in MoM options

thanks a ****ing lot

i was hoping to watch this on sky sports

this is Italy v Ireland thread btw :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Doyle
    Bubs101 wrote: »
    The football team drew against ten men, Bernard Dunne is 8th in the world in his weight class and the rugby team won something they should have taken home years ago.

My point exactly. I bet you harp on everyday about the recession, bankers etc. What exactly do you expect from such a small nation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Gibson
    Great result in the end, Robbie to the rescue.....sighs of relief all round. Fully deserved, but Italy just fell asleep after they took the lead.

LOL at Dunphy saying Traps decisions were lunatic asylum material

And LOL at Wayne Rooney and John Terrys bizarre haircut goal celebration routine!:eek:

Gibson

FFS, never hear of spoilers, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Soby wrote: »
    For play off's we are looking at
    Hungary/Denmark
    Greece / Switzerland
    Slovkia
    Russia
    Bosnia-Herz....
    Croatia
    France
    Scotland

Lot of tricky teams in there

Ireland would definitely beat Scotland from that list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

Whelan
    Im guessing a late april fools. :p

FFS, never hear of spoilers, no?

thank you monkey9

S. Hunt
    Bubs101 wrote: »

Also, lack of Chiellini in MoM options

Well I heard he won Mask of the Match tonight :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

O'Shea
    I think Dunphy is jarred

• Registered Users Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

CyberWaste wrote: »
    Im guessing a late april fools. :p

It's 6-1 now. you can check scores on livescore.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Elonex

N. Hunt
    Can't watch the Argentina game later now. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,106 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Keane DID work hard

i thought he was really poor tbh. Kept moving out of position and not keeping up with attacks.

Agree actually that it did look like Hunts goal, think it was robbie's celebration that got him the credit for it! Just paused it on the second hunt makes contact, and after i roll it on and keane swings his leg, the ball doesn't change direction at all.

Massive Kudos to Folan, came in and won everything in the air, with better finishing he could have had a few more assists. very solid on the ball, and for me as definately at least earned himself the place of first sub, and very close to starter

For the performance in general, we did a lot better in posession, but at the same time, it looked to me like the italians with their 1 goal lead and 1 man deficit were quite happy to let us have it in midfield, confident that they could stop us creating anything meaningful on the attack. And they were very nearly right. including the goal i think we finished with 2 shots on target.