Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Tag Rugby Boards.ie team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭chrussell

fifib wrote: »
    Had a bit of a hobble goin on myself today while fragrancing the office with the smell of deep heat!... And the morale of the story is to warm up properly!!

Well I did try and stress that point......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Nathan251

Had a bit of a hobble goin on myself today while fragrancing the office with the smell of deep heat!... And the morale of the story is to warm up properly!!

yup, picked up a strain myself coz of a half-hearted warmup and couldn't play football today

anyway it was fun on Monday and I like the training but I have a few suggestions

-is there any training drill we can do specifically to improve our tagging skills? i know that we already practice passing/catching but i was wondering if we could do the same with tagging, any ideas?

-having talked to some of the players, we are still not 100% clear on rules, if anyone has a whistle then please feel free to bring it to a training game and please also feel free to stop a game dead for a few minutes to explain slowly and clearly the offense, even if we have to pause for 2 minutes a demonstration of what the offense was will help us not to commit it again, sometimes maybe we are in a rush to restart the game too quickly and people aren't 100% clear on why they were penalised so they are likely to commit the same offense again

-as for the training games themselves, in these early days i am wondering what do you think the emphasis/focus of the games should be:

a) your team winning the game

or

b) increasing the development/confidence of all players so they are more comfortable with the basics of the game, i.e. involving everyone as much as possible and getting us all to be comfortable with the basic skills

or

c) a mix of both which is kind of what we are doing at the moment

-i have been reading some stuff on beginner's tips and they say things like

1. when defending we should spread our arms out wide

2. the defense should be aligned i.e., they should move up together at the same pace and each defender should have a role to mark a man/a space...apparently working on the alignment/co-ordination of this defensive line is crucial, it's also recommended to leave one player (called a full back) a few yards behind the line to cover any attackers who have broken the line

3. when attacking for the first few plays don't take any risks, just make a few yards and get good field position, it's best to try the risky passing maneouvres for later tags

4. even if a guy is has run past you and is going to score a try you should still make an effort to run back and mark any girls supporting him, 3 girl tries win against 8 guy tries

5. generally girls should mark girls and guys mark guys but talk talk talk to your team-mates to make sure they are in position and in line

6. work on attacking drills/set-pieces (maybe for more advanced teams), for example sometimes a defending them will just have the person who made the tag up and s/he will be assigned to mark the roller of the ball and the dummy half, if the roller and dummy half work together they can exploit this 2 on 1 overlap, there are lots of other attacking drills but one step at a time....for now i think we should hammer home the rules (pause games for a few minutes if necessary) and try to get everyone involved during games and comfortable with the basics

having typed all that i realise now i am taking this far too seriously and i should remind myself that this was initially an excuse to have a few pints on a thursday night;)

anyway please feel free to offer your own suggestions/feedback for training

oh and a message to casshern, you are welcome to come along, we could do with registering 2 or 3 more players, cost is 40 euros a head, next training is thursday at 6.30 at renmore, forecast says sunshine so hope to see you there

Nathan251 wrote: »
    -as for the training games themselves, in these early days i am wondering what do you think the emphasis/focus of the games should be:

or

b) increasing the development/confidence of all players so they are more comfortable with the basics of the game, i.e. involving everyone as much as possible and getting us all to be comfortable with the basic skills

or

or

d) Chris going on a big run down the wing around a few players and giving malice the old drop of the shoulder before offloading to one of the girls for 3 points

I'm gonna vote for d :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Nathan251 wrote: »

or

or

I don't think there needs to be a "Win at all costs" mentality during training. That's not to say that we shouldn't concentrate on what we're doing and ask questions if we're not sure. That's what I do anyway!
    Nathan251 wrote:
    2. the defense should be aligned i.e., they should move up together at the same pace and each defender should have a role to mark a man/a space...apparently working on the alignment/co-ordination of this defensive line is crucial
    I think that exercise where we pass the ball back and forth between 4/5 people while running helps a lot with that. It definitely helps me to remember my positioning. I'm still stuck with my football reaction of "Pass the ball and run forward" which is of course no help in Tag Rugby :).
    Nathan251 wrote:
    generally girls should mark girls and guys mark guys
    Why?
    chrussell wrote: »
    d) Chris going on a big run down the wing around a few players and giving malice the old drop of the shoulder before offloading to one of the girls for 3 points
    I'm gonna vote for d :D
    Hey, I have to let you get some scores in, otherwise you'll just get sulky and take your ball home ;)

Haha, Malice you know me so well!!

I believe its important in these early stages to get everyone comfortable on the ball. and have the basics down. Theres no point in beginning the season with 4 or 5 strong players and a couple of players not so strong. We need to make sure that at the very least people know what to do and how to do it.

I'm not talking about running the field but I mean everyone knowing when to pass and who to pass to. Positioning when your team has the ball and when your team is defending also needs to be addressed.

When a team has the ball, the player in possession is looking for a pass, all his/her team mates should be behind the ball, and two should be close to him looking for the lay-off. You have to remember the ball can only travel backwards with a pass, so there is no point standing in-front of them or right beside them, guaranteed a forward ball will be called.

At the minute I'm pretty poor at tagging and also my positioning during the oppositions roll-backs is great. Everyone should know themselves what they're not strong at, and I think it may be an idea for people to express these on thursday.

We can easily split up into two groups and work on different areas to improve different players weaknesses

chrussell wrote:
    I believe its important in these early stages to get everyone comfortable on the ball. and have the basics down. Theres no point in beginning the season with 4 or 5 strong players and a couple of players not so strong. We need to make sure that at the very least people know what to do and how to do it.

I'm not talking about running the field but I mean everyone knowing when to pass and who to pass to. Positioning when your team has the ball and when your team is defending also needs to be addressed.
    I agree. It's also probably stating the obvious but it's also important to know what not to do e.g. don't attempt an overly-risky pass which could be turned over if your team is only on their first or second tag.
    chrussell wrote:
    When a team has the ball, the player in possession is looking for a pass, all his/her team mates should be behind the ball, and two should be close to him looking for the lay-off. You have to remember the ball can only travel backwards with a pass, so there is no point standing in-front of them or right beside them, guaranteed a forward ball will be called.
    That's definitely something I have to work on :o.
    chrussell wrote:
    At the minute I'm pretty poor at tagging and also my positioning during the oppositions roll-backs is great. Everyone should know themselves what they're not strong at, and I think it may be an idea for people to express these on thursday.
    That sounds like a very good idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭Ms. Ka

Can I suggest tomorrow that we have a ref as I was getting confused over why somethings happen e.g. roll back Vs kicking (not after we scored a try but the little kick thingy)?::o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Ms. Ka wrote: »
    Can I suggest tomorrow that we have a ref as I was getting confused over why somethings happen e.g. roll back Vs kicking (not after we scored a try but the little kick thingy)?::o

Accidental knock forward = turnover & rollback
    Deliberate forward pass = turnover & penalty

Haha, Malice you know me so well!!

We can easily split up into two groups and work on different areas to improve different players weaknesses

I agree with this message 100% Chris.....I am still like malice said having problems with a "go forward mentality" in my brain when we have the ball (like i'm playing football), my first instinct is to run forward and support the ball carrier, but doing this you can often "overrun" the pass as they say, so feel free to hang back and time your running onto the ball so that if possible you are receiving it at speed, but the most important thing is to be in a position to receive/support the ball carrier, i.e. be behind them

about the girls marking girls, guys marking guys thing, that was just a suggestion from some tag rugby coaches on another thread, i don't necessarily think we need it at our level of the game as the girls are as good as the guys on our team

as for tagging, i need practice at that, tagging close in is not a problem but when a person is running at you from a distance my brain still isn't tuned in to going for their waist area etc., not sure if there are drills for tagging

we also need to settle on a formation to play games so everybody knows where to stand and generally we know how to align a defense

If there are any people reading this who are specialist tag rugby referees and who would like to help out some beginners then please let us know, we have a couple of guys in Hugh and Rob who have played the game before but it's unfair to ask them to sacrifice training and to concentrate solely on being referees so I think we'd like

a) a volunteer tag referee, if not we'll just have to cope (maybe asking for a ref is worthy of its own thread???)

b) organise some kind of formation/positioning/alignment

c) tagging drills

.....but i guess we should always remember that the main priority of this is to have a laugh and a couple of pints and we don't want to scare anyone off by taking it too seriously

we are still open to 2-3 more people joining us, season won't start officially for another 3 weeks so plenty of time to get involved

So, when are we going for pints? If we get as many coming out on the tear as we do for training we'd have a good laugh :).

Guys & Gals,

I think what we have been doing is pretty much getting people used to the idea of the game. I think we can continue in the same vein tomorrow night. Then maybe from Monday we will do some drills to work on the basic skills like passing, etc.

Ideally we'll get to 40min skills, followed by a 40min game.

I can remember some of the stuff we did last year, and I'm sure Robbo, fifib and amz can help out too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

malice_ wrote: »
    So, when are we going for pints? If we get as many coming out on the tear as we do for training we'd have a good laugh :).

good idea! hows about next thursday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭axiom32

just been following yere progress on the thread and fair play to ye all getting it going and best of luck with it ....but from what i have read some people arent getting the rules and positioning so maybe a trip out to where the spring league games are played to watch a couple of games may help ...o and followed by discussion over beers

good idea! hows about next thursday?
    That would be fine with me. Sure we can discuss it tonight at training :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mrmreilly

Sup guys!

Any you guys wanna play the big games, a level mixed?

Regards,
    Marko

mrmreilly wrote: »
    Sup guys!

Any you guys wanna play the big games, a level mixed?

Regards,
    Marko

Sorry Im lost, what are you talkking about?

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Rosym

Hi everyone!

Hope everyone is feeling ok today!
    Well i got a mail today from my friend Kerry ann, and it looks like our first official challenge!
    " Mail exerpt: We have a tag rugby team here this year. We're going to be playing in the Corinthians league but we REALLY need some practice before then! I was just wondering if you know if there's a team in Nortel and, if so, if they'd be interested in a challenge match next Thursday evening? Or some other evening next week? "

maybe this might be fun, go for a few pints with the losing opposition afterwards! :D
    Lemme know what you think and i will get back to her.
    Rosy

Sorry Im lost, what are you talkking about?
    I think he's looking for players to join a team. Maybe he'll come back and clarify?
    Rosym wrote: »
    Hi everyone!

Hope everyone is feeling ok today!
    Well i got a mail today from my friend Kerry ann, and it looks like our first official challenge!
    " Mail exerpt: We have a tag rugby team here this year. We're going to be playing in the Corinthians league but we REALLY need some practice before then! I was just wondering if you know if there's a team in Nortel and, if so, if they'd be interested in a challenge match next Thursday evening? Or some other evening next week? "

maybe this might be fun, go for a few pints with the losing opposition afterwards! :D
    Lemme know what you think and i will get back to her.
    Rosy
    Are they any good? If they're not at the same level as us it might be a bit of a challenge. I'd still be up for playing them regardless. Playing games is probably the best way to learn. If we start to lose then we can just get Nathan to practice his hand-offs and stepping on toes tactics on them ;).

Im not sure if they are any good- agree tho- playing games is the best way to learn- you never know- we might even beat them! :P

Rosym wrote: »
    Im not sure if they are any good- agree tho- playing games is the best way to learn- you never know- we might even beat them! :P
    That's grand so, as long they're not the All Blacks in disguise :).

Hey Rosym,

Can you put them off till the week after? We have no training between now and then, and I'd like to do some skills training and stuff.

Don't forget that we'll only have 7 on the field during a game so there'll be a bit of sitting around if we get 14/15 showing up for training.

Rosy-maybe you can find out what level they are at, if they are beginners or if they have played before???if they are roughly the same level as us then i think we should play them...ideally we could do with a referee though.....also as pope buckfast says it might be worth getting some more training in before we play them....if you can reschedule for a later date then it's probably better, although definitely it would be good to get a practice game in before the league starts because as malice says i need to practice my hand-offs and toe-standing on fresh blood;)

Hey guys,
    Response as follows:
    "The problem is that we asked HP for a challenge for next Thursday and they already have a match so they asked us to play on the 14th instead and I already told them we would!

As far as I know, some of them have played before and some are pure beginners so our team is not at a high level at all. We've only had a couple of training sessions and less than half of them show up so we're trying to use the games as training now to try to get them out. It doesn't matter if you can't do next week, it was just an idea. "

So it sounds to me like they are on the same level as us,
    So they are not available the week after next, how bout May 21st?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

May 21st is when the league starts.

rats- forgot about that- maybe monday 18th of may- just before we start

Might be worthwhile on that monday, so it's not a total baptism of fire for the first match

ok, great, I have suggested to them monday the 18th, but most have gone home for the evening, so it will prob be tuesday before i hear back.
    Have a great wkend everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭Ms. Ka

Don't forget that we'll only have 7 on the field during a game so there'll be a bit of sitting around if we get 14/15 showing up for training.

If they have a team of 15 too we could have 2 matches going on at the same time.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Is there anything to be said for training this week? Thursday?

Another thing to bear in mind with Renmore at the moment is the roundabout at Moneenageisha being closed to traffic this week at certain times.

Robbo wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for training this week? Thursday?
    My toe is still bruised from last week but assuming I get through 5 a side soccer in one piece tomorrow night I'll be there. If I can't play I'll still manage to drop off the tags after work.
    Robbo wrote:
    Another thing to bear in mind with Renmore at the moment is the roundabout at Moneenageisha being closed to traffic this week at certain times.
    Yeah, 7pm - 7am I think, isn't it? With the traffic the way it's been for the last few weeks it's almost quicker to pop around to the Tuam road via Mervue or the RTC and hit town or the bridge from the roundabout at Cemetery Cross.