Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sinn fein call to ban all blood sports

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭Sika_Stalker

Following a meeting between Mr. Lyall Plant, Chief Executive, Countryside Alliance Ireland, Mr. D.J. Histon, Chief Executive/ Secretary, ICC, and Mr. Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein at Leinster House on Thursday, May 21, 2009.
    the following statement was released
    http://www.wilddeerireland.com/news.html
    it's the second bite of news on the page.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭José Alaninho

Following a meeting between Mr. Lyall Plant, Chief Executive, Countryside Alliance Ireland, Mr. D.J. Histon, Chief Executive/ Secretary, ICC, and Mr. Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein at Leinster House on Thursday, May 21, 2009.
    the following statement was released
    http://www.wilddeerireland.com/news.html
    it's the second bite of news on the page.

In light of Mr. Ferris' statement, I would like to inform the general boards shooting community that I, as a party member, will personally be putting forward a motion from my cumann at next year's Ard Fheis in support of all forms of rural sport (hunting, target shooting, fishing etc.). A little early I know, but might as well start soon. If anyone has any ideas on wording, please feel free to PM me.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

In light of Mr. Ferris' statement, I would like to inform the general boards shooting community that I, as a party member, will personally be putting forward a motion from my cumann at next year's Ard Fheis in support of all forms of rural sport (hunting, target shooting, fishing etc.). A little early I know, but might as well start soon. If anyone has any ideas on wording, please feel free to PM me.

Good stuff. I was surprised that it was passed at the Ard Fheis in the first place. It was originally proposed by the Ogra Cumann in Drimnagh of all places, and followed by the counter proposal which was defeated - see Martin Ferris's explanation in your link. That was a major slip up which allowed the ban motion to get passed. Hopefully your motion next year will clear things up.
    Have a look at the email from Martin - he has the makings of a motion in it which I think he is bringing forward himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 spanielman

jwshooter wrote: »
    All field sports not just fox hunting and coursing .

time to sit up and pay attention , they will most lightly jump on the pistol band wagon also .
    Just to let you all know the so called "bloodsports" motion was rescinded at yesterdays Ard Fheis! Long live countryside pursuits, and SF!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭dCorbus

Sinn Fein are mostly urban based

Can't say I agree with you on that. And I do believe many of their councillors are widely spread across both urban and predominantly rural counties, and AFAIK their limited representation in the Dail / Seanad is split 3 Rural / 2 Urban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

sinn fein , will run with the hair and hunt with the hound to get into power.

i listened to adams ,he promised every thing bar a good summer.

i do think he is a good politician ,but is encumbered by egits .how sad for him .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 spanielman

sinn fein , will run with the hair and hunt with the hound to get into power

lol ye i think thats what politics is all about? however like any party worth their salt they knew they made a mistake when the backlash of the IRISH PEOPLE TOLD THEM THEY WOULD NOT ACCEPT THIS, a few crying antis cannot dictate policy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 shootingkid

Most people who want to ban "blood sports" are uneducated in the subject and anti-gun. If only half them knew how there meat they eat was treated e.g chickins(the other half do know) they wouldnt be sayin anything. to me there all hipigrits in someway.
    dont think it will pass
    just my thoughts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Most people who want to ban "blood sports" are uneducated in the subject and anti-gun. If only half them knew how there meat they eat was treated e.g chickins(the other half do know) they wouldnt be sayin anything. to me there all hipigrits in someway.
    dont think it will pass
    just my thoughts

its easy turn a blind eye to some thing when it suites you all you have to do it look at the world history .

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭moan 77

When the term bloodsports is used how do we know what they are talking about is shooting a fox at 300 yards or making two dogs fight or is it taking a 12 lbs salmon for a river or knocking a four year old cock at 45 yards out while goind away from ya, or culling bagers. Do these people have a naughty list and is there a good list.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

/deletes posts...
    Okay folks, could we have just a little less frothing at the mouth while waving the pitchforks, just in case someone loses an eye? Thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭ivanthehunter

moan 77 wrote: »
    When the term bloodsports is used how do we know what they are talking about is shooting a fox at 300 yards or making two dogs fight or is it taking a 12 lbs salmon for a river or knocking a four year old cock at 45 yards out while goind away from ya, or culling badgers. Do these people have a naughty list and is there a good list.

I don't imagine they have a list! just a series of images in their heads which are contrived perceptions created via the media
    I'm sure that they have set images of those who partake in Ferreting or running lurchers as apposed to those who conduct the art of falconary..:confused:

Are they out to ban ferreting- are they out to ban Falconry- are they out to ban lurcher's and terriers from their respective rabbit and rat hunting..

I think that they be better off concerning them self with the plight of farmed animals and pets caught up in the Fur trade...

Do they not realize that the excessive blood spots such as dog fighting, bull baiting, bear baiting, cock fighting and badger baiting have all be banned (and rightly so) as they were sports that caused excessive and undue suffering to the animals involved..
    Ireland is now safe and these unreasonable sport are gone!! Can they please concern them selfs with other countries where these animals are still suffering and leave 'well enough' alone.

Regards Ivan..

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

Sparks wrote: »
    /deletes posts...
    Okay folks, could we have just a little less frothing at the mouth while waving the pitchforks, just in case someone loses an eye? Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

I don't imagine they have a list!

They do!!Any long term study of their litature from ICABS,CACS,HSIRL,AFAR etc will see plenty of mentioning of shooting and would disprove their "we aer only concerned with fox hunting,deer carting etc" arguement.
    just a series of images in their heads which are contrived perceptions created via the media

More like propaganda,sold by them to the media,who broadcast it for them under the guise of "it bleeds it leads. I call it propaganda,because it uses the techniques of effective propaganda,a simple message or image hammered out repetitively and emotivily.

I'm sure that they have set images of those who partake in Ferreting or running lurchers as apposed to those who conduct the art of falconary..:confused:
    Are they out to ban ferreting- are they out to ban Falconry- are they out to ban lurcher's and terriers from their respective rabbit and rat hunting

Yup!All you have to do is read their latest propaganda about getting mink hunting banned.The cruel terrier men dig out baby mink etc etc.:rolleyes:.Pleas send another rain forest worth of letters to John Gormley and all TDs asking them to ban this....Blah,blah,blah.:rolleyes:
    I think that they be better off concerning them self with the plight of farmed animals and pets caught up in the Fur trade...
    They do..Free the farm animals and domestic pets,and they must have "rights" to!
    Do they not realize that the excessive blood spots such as dog fighting, bull baiting, bear baiting, cock fighting and badger baiting have all be banned (and rightly so) as they were sports that caused excessive and undue suffering to the animals involved..

AND THATS the exact arguement they want the sheeple out there to belive why a ban on fox hunting,carted stag hunting,shooting,coursing,fishing,etc etc is necessary and good. Blood sports are cruel and barbaric" and we are "not fit to live in human society."[Laura Broxton on shooters on Alliance for Animal Rights]

Ireland is now safe and these unreasonable sport are gone!! Can they please concern them selfs with other countries where these animals are still suffering and leave 'well enough' alone.

No they wont,they will not stop until we are all pacifst vegans with bad breath and nothin more leathl in our possesion than a feather duster[man made fibre of course]

People! STOP DELUDING YOURSELVES!!! These are a fanatical international movement,who have the mindset of Al Quieda about destroying the Western way of life!! DO NOT be fooled that this is just a bunch of harmless crackpots that show up in the papers once in awhile writing letters,or at Clonmel,or on the Telly [They have got more TV time in the last decade than the shooting sports have here.]
    Tey are counting on people in fieldsports just hoping they will go away.Well,they wont! They have a generation long,constant dripping wears away a stone plan,and if we want fieldsports and shooting to be somthing our grandkids enjoy,we must ensure that they are counterd at every turn possible.
    After all, we are in the majority,just disorganised.Why do you think they have been blustering about RISE so much??They are really worried about this,just because of the sheer numbers.Get out there ,get emailing your local papers when you see one of their letters and start taking our vway of life back.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Won't be voting for them regardless of their stand on pretty much anything to be honest. Anything concerned with this forum is pretty insignificant in the light of the rest of the crap in this great little country of ours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

johngalway wrote: »
    Won't be voting for them regardless of their stand on pretty much anything to be honest. Anything concerned with this forum is pretty insignificant in the light of the rest of the crap in this great little country of ours.

+1.
    They have no voice down here. A 32 county socialist republic run by that lot is even less desirable than what we have and no shooting!
    Dangerously close to politics, I respectfully suggest that this thread should be locked.
    P.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭moan 77

i got this one emailed back to me saying i got it wrong and this is to set it straight.
    Any chance you could forward that to some of the gun club lads there usir. Yes!
    COUNTRYSIDE ALLIANCE IRELAND
    March 2010
    Emerald E-Route Newsletter
    Sinn Fein - Acknowledges the Benefit of Country Sports to our Rural Economies
    dynamic.aspx?param=bbVdFpUnPa0%3dThe Irish Coursing Club and Countryside Alliance Ireland are delighted that Sinn Fein passed a motion at Saturday's Ard Fheis not to ban coursing. This motion was tabled as a direct result of last year's motion which had called on the party to ban coursing and fox hunting. Pictured on the left (L-R) is TRM, Sinn Fein West Kerry and Martin Ferris, Sinn Fein Spokesperson on Agriculture and Fisheries of Sinn Fein North Kerry.
    It is clearly evident that Sinn Fein acknowledges the support in rural Ireland for traditional rural occupations including hunting, fishing and hare coursing. The motion also acknowledges the value that these pursuits bring to the local rural economies and the potential damage posed by an outright ban. Sinn Fein believes that all country sports should continue to be regulated to ensure sustainable wildlife management.
    These beliefs confirm that field sports such as shooting, hunting and hare coursing promote the multifunctional use of farmland in which wildlife provides a resource for non-agricultural activities supporting sustainable development; and that country sports activity has a leading role to play in the management of wildlife and control of problem species. The passing of this motion ensured that an alternative motion placed in opposition fell.
    We have consistently made it clear that being fair and transparent shows in a positive way the benefits of hunting, fishing and hare coursing to our rural economies. We welcome a sensible conclusion to this debate to allow us and others to concentrate on the real crisis in our countryside, which sees farm incomes continue to tumble, rural services eroded and real hardship develop.
    We do not expect everyone to support hunting, fishing and hare coursing but we do expect an open, honest, factual and evidence based debate where genuine concerns can be addressed. Sadly some seem unable to adopt this approach or bring any informed contribution to the proceedings. However, with the passing of this motion we must not be complacent. We need to be even more vigilant and prepared to campaign against any future attacks on our rural way of life.
    IMPORTANT NOTICE
    The urgency of the RISE campaign has just stepped up a gear. We want to get all the petition signatures already collected back into the campaign office by 19/3/10 !!

Every club and supporter please post your petitions to PO Box 11792, Ashbourne, Co Meath or email them to info@risecampaign.ie.
    REMEMBER TO
    Visit your local TDs constituency offices on a regular basis.
    You can find their contact details via this link

VKKVjAs%3d
    SPECIAL MEMBERSHIP OFFER

dynamic.aspx?param=my7Ix0BWwQM%3dMid Shannon Tackle has kindly made available this fantastic Camo Suit to Countryside Alliance Ireland Members for a staggering 100 Euro plus P&P. This suit normally retails at 200 pounds sterling.
    The suit consists of a three quarter length jacket with multiple external pockets, full bib and brace trousers, packaway hood, extra quilted lining and is 100 percent waterproof. The suit is available in sizes from small to XXXL.
    To avail of this fantastic offer contact Geoff Cooper, Mid Shannon Tackle, Ruane, Kilgrass, Co Roscommon. Tel 071 96 34635 or for further queries and other fantastic deals email Geoff at geoff@fishingforall.com
    Countryside Alliance Ireland Download Centre

. RoI Membership Form
    . NI Membership Form
    . RoI Insurance Summary Booklet
    . NI Insurance Summary Booklet
    Countryside Alliance Ireland's vision is of a vital, working and thriving countryside for the benefit of the whole nation.
    LOVE THE COUNTRYSIDE
    Copyright © Countryside Alliance Ireland
    If you wish to cancel your subscription to this newsletter click here
    EmailViewTracker.aspx?param=B0v7eyg7STdsufhMhE8ubg%3d%3d

[/COLOR][/CENTER]