Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGDE in UCD!!

Options
  • 03-04-2009 1:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

I heard that I got into the PGDE in UCD starting in Sept. Anyone else going there? My teaching subject will be geography.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭pathway33

your teaching subjects will be geography and .....?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Joe1919

In similar position. My degree is History and Philosophy, so I'm not sure what my second subject will be.

Joe1919 wrote: »
    In similar position. My degree is History and Philosophy, so I'm not sure what my second subject will be.

you could teach religion for up to 15 hours a week if you do the part-time evening 1 year h.dip in theology in NUI Maynooth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Joe1919

Thanks for the tip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭scut

cspe is another common one people take up.

• Advertisement
  • Closed Accounts Posts: 37 lena-bell

Just to figure this out. Trying to read the handbook and I have been in contact with the teaching council but got more confused.

According to the book students must select two courses in subject teaching to 12-18 year old.

so if my primary degree was in Archaeology and Geography. One of my subjects will be geography and I have to find another subject?? Aka, TEFL, CSPE?? or can I take a suject as my second subject even though i didn't take it in my primary degree? aka History?

I probably just need to sit down with the PGDE book and study it more or just call the Dept of Education or the teaching council again.

How is everyone getting on with getting a TP school?