Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ's Storyland ***MEGA MERGE***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

dossier wrote: »
    The Buckeens have really raised their game for this one, it's nearly 15 mins long on youtube and all comic gold. The RTE episode is is only half that and they are censoring swear words now.- it's intended for a mature audience ffs.

Rental Boys has gotten worse, didn't laugh once. There was only about three 'jokes' in it
    Direct link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭dossier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Do yourselves a favour, if you haven't already and view all three parts of the new buck episode starting from here........ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRkzEAEf6Z0
    Uncensored and as funny and insightful as I have ever seen them.
    Come on the boo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

SHREDDER wrote: »
    Quite simple, What is the whole purpose of this competition? And what's t be gained from winning?

defo mate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 frenchtoast

scent of a champion lidl's finesht! tis like a cheaper more economical version of sex panther ya know da wan dat works 60% of the time all the time. plus ya get a free aluminium step ladder if ya buy three bottles on a sunday ...after mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

This is far and away the best Irish comedy I've seen in years. Hope it wins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I was showing this to a friend over the weekend and watched the entire series again, it actually got better. I can usually never watch the same thing twice but I was in stitches all the way through again.

just watched them all there..

psych ward needs a half hour... when they get picked it will look alot better when they get more money... for one stop shooting in a school :<

happy slapper is crap.. wouldn't vote for it if i was paid..

rental boys has gone down hill... not that funny this time.. looks like they have given up...

and then the bucks... i think they have uped the game.. it looked good and the comedy bits in the new one is spot on ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

Hrdy bucks all the way. psyche ward second and the other two are just crap especially happy slapper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

afatbollix wrote: »
    psych ward needs a half hour... when they get picked it will look alot better when they get more money... for one stop shooting in a school :<

Yeah I would sit down and watch psych ward for 30mins. I amn't a fan of their camera work.

I think if the get another episode we will get one for 30min episode well worth a commission by RTÉ.

Happy slapper has some good points to it. I liked some of the ideas.

Hardy bucks wasn't too bad, I think I could change my mind on Hardy Bucks.

Rental Boys ended on one of the worst punchlines and one of the worst cliffhangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Hydrosylator

I think Psych Ward and Hardy Bucks both deserve to win for different reasons.

Psych Ward is good when it come to atmosphere, and I'd say it's the most professional visually, although sometimes camera work can be a bit over-done.
    There's such a thing as devoting too much time to nice shots, and not enough to the script. They do this in the latest episode.
    The biggest problem with the format of the competition is that it's very hard to make drama work in such a short time-scale. It doesn't make me care what's happening in the story, so it doesn't work.

Hardy Bucks is funny. The main actors are very likeable, and the script is very natural.
    Yer man who plays the Viper is abolutely awful, I cringe when he appears.
    Doesn't look great, I know it's mockumentary and all, but it could look better.

Rental Boys isn't funny. And half the actors sound like they're faking their accents, which is a) pointless for something set in Dublin and b) sounds bloody awful. Also, don't do a one-minute intro in a -7 minute short. If you can't fill seven minutes with story, give up.

Happyslapper isn't great. The two-dimensional characters can't actually create drama. And what's the story with the
    voodoo?
    It also runs into the same problem as Psych Ward, not enough time to make me care.

My vote went to Hardy Bucks.
    It's the funniest, and I enjoy it the most.
    Also, I think it's the one that would most benefit from extra funding, which would allow it to be better shot. The others appear to have everything they need.
    I also think more people would watch Hardy Bucks if was on telly than any of the others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Hydrosylator

Elmo wrote: »
    Rental Boys ended on one of the worst punchlines and one of the worst cliffhangers.

Not only that, but it was a blatant rip-off of Arrested Development, except in Arrested Development it was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Not only that, but it was a blatant rip-off of Arrested Development, except in Arrested Development it was funny.

I can't believe that nobody told the script writer that the Star Wars kid had been used as a gag in a similar vein before. Or if she did know - why would she repeat it?

Serious lack of imagination going on there.

Doesn't look great, I know it's mockumentary and all, but it could look better.
    I don't know, the Viper is getting better. I didn't like him at first either but he's growing on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Bushalicious

Hardy bucks is the only one that holds my interest. rental boys is trying way too hard and shoe horn in pop culture references and Psych ward is boring, its only 6 minutes, imagine 30 minutes of it. no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arcee

I reckon Hardy Bucks has it in the bag. They've been consistently good since the beginning and that's stood to them. It's one thing to be able to make one good tv show but to do it repeatedly is what counts. Hopefully they'll get rewarded well for their work anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I think that style is deliberate. I think he's supposed to represent every slippery, slimy creep that every town, village, or classroom in the country seems to have.

As one commenter on youtube said "How in gods name did this beat the Hardy Bucks?", when they were speaking about rental boys over the bucks.

I don't know who is voting for the rental boys, but by god they are not viewing them on youtube.

The two screen caps below highlight the vast gap in viewing figures.

82175.gif

that is one of the funnest pictures ive ever seen... :pac:

Even the deleted hardy bucks scenes have more views than that.

Just after seeing the original demos there on youtube, didn't know about them and the out takes, all class, the demos give a good back story into the bucks.

I hadn't bothered watching rental boys and the rest but I did just there. Awful muck altogether. The only reason for continuing storyland at this stage is to see more hardy bucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I happened to meet two of the actors from Hardy Bucks (Owen Colgin (Buzz) and Tom Kilgallon(The Boo)) there in the Roisin Dubh about a month ago. Very nice, humble lads. Excellent programme as well, best thing RTE has done in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

RTE has done in years.

i doubt rte has anything to do with it other than the website, the money and maybe a bit if "ah ye cant get away with that lads" here and there.

the guys are writing, producing, directing and filming it themselves. i know the soundguy.

i love the bucks, but i actually dont want them to win as i fear RTE would be the touch of death for it.

still voted for em though!

I happened to meet two of the actors from Hardy Bucks (Owen Colgin (Buzz) and Tom Kilgallon(The Boo)) there in the Roisin Dubh about a month ago. Very nice, humble lads. Excellent programme as well, best thing RTE has done in years.

Owen's a good lad alright. Ah jaysus the stories I could tell you about him from Galway a few years back!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Owen's a good lad alright. Ah jaysus the stories I could tell you about him from Galway a few years back!
    That lad looks awful familar to me, I'd almost swear I've met him before. It bugs me every time I watch Hardy Bucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ScumLord wrote: »
    That lad looks awful familar to me, I'd almost swear I've met him before. It bugs me every time I watch Hardy Bucks.
    He's just got one of those faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Raymiiii

Its quite brilliant by RTÈ. I have searched through their website everyday for past week (since voting began) to see would they happen to link the storyland page.. but no nutin! Instead their main highlight on the website tonight is "Incase you missed DES BISHOPS in the name of the fada repeat!" They are really getting behind the new talents of hardy bucks and the rest!
    It's like I don't know what it's for... whats the point unless to advertise it if not on tv at least on the ****ing website. All the effort from four finalists left (i say effort have u seen happyslapper!) and nobody really knows the comp is on if only by word of mouth. It's left to local radio stations like i102-104 ..in Hardy Bucks case to bring it to peoples attention!

but uh apart from that fair city was class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 elgrinch_o

hardy bucks is d only show worth a **** in storyland, they know the shtuff.....big shtyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

I hope to God the Bucks win. Most entertaining show I've seen in a long time. Being from Mayo, I find the jokes and sayings funny as they are used constantly and I know many people like the bucks.

I was wondering what the city folk thought though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

I'm not up to date with this, is it some sort of competition to get on RTE?

Is it over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lukem

Hey,
    It's very interesting to read all the views on the various projects - I'm one of the people behind Psych Ward and we really appreciate the feedback positive and and negative. Overall people have been very kind about it so thanks for that.

I also think Hardy Bucks is very funny, fair play to the lads.

Voting closes today Monday at 5pm - vote for Psych Ward!

Luke

Luke McManus
    Director/Co-Writer

I noticed that one of the freebie papers (Herald or Metro, can't remember which) ran a short article about Psych Ward and the Storyland project in general today.

First I've seen about Storyland outside of the web. Did you guys get that in there as a press release Luke or were they working off their own initiative?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

Follow up to my previous post on Storyland.

First off - there are only four entries left at episode 3, with three knocked out the last time. Wasn't it supposed to be two go each time?

Those Knocked Out:
    Running Low - seems like they really gave up with their second episode, and deserved to go. The shop location disappeared and morphed into a garage, while Simon Delaney morphed into Karl Spain.

Jenny Was A Friend of Mine - had a better second episode, but still without a good tease to get anyone hooked.

Pubworld - didn't seem to know where it was going (although they may very well have). But this (and The Roaring Twenties) sufferes from over-acting. If these guys get another commission, they really need to get a good solid director on board who'll calm the performances down.

Still In The Running:
    Happy Slapper - The tone of this project keeps changing from episode to episode, and it's confusing for the viewer (me). Girls Torturing Other Girls - Guy Dropping Around To A Gay Couple (it seemed to me) - Girl Talking to No-One. What is this series about? I don't know, and it's failed to grab me.

Psych Ward - This is still probably the best produced Storyland project. Although the third episode suffered from Running Low's second ep syndrome. Very little is happening in it to warrant the six minutes, and half way through supposed six episodes it has little drive to it, plus it hasn't lived up to its trailer (the naked guy wandering the streets).

Hardy Bucks - people here are going to hate me for this, but I'm not one of the 'this is the best thing ever' camp. Now, in saying that, it's good and there's some great potential. But I'm also not interest in going to YouTube to watch the "longer funnier" version. They got commissioned to compete in Storyland, so follow the same rules.

As for the third episode, what was the story with the amount of cursing? Were they going for the Colm and Jim-Jim school of funny - cursing is funny, especially when you beep it out? I'm no prude, but cursing isn't comedy. There is exceptions to all that, like maybe they were going for something like Arrested Development, which (a) had great gags without curses (b) a reason to hide the mouths of the curses - being on USA network TV, and (c) the funniest cursing beeping gags ever (near the end of the first series when Buster goes on a tirade - but at its heart was a curse gag based on character).

Rental Boys - I just mentioned Arrested Development. They seemed to pull all the stops out for episode three. But to build to a gag stolen from Arrested Development? And logically no explanation for why the rivals would have such footage if you begin to think about it, but then thinking might not be the thing to do with Rental Boys. Borrow/steal gags but change them, at very least. Is Rental Boys made by someone with connections in RTE, it was a thought that popped into my mind when watching this episode. And is that why they got the commission???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Raymiiii

im pretty sure hardy bucks intended the over bleeping in that episode as irony.

and cursing isnt bad in comedy. it helps but people curse in real life the hole ****ing time man!! why not on tv?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

The Buckeens just announced on their Facebook page that they won this round.

Nice one, ye gang of cu*ts!

Congrats to the Hardy Bucks. Ye deserved to win the round lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 lukem

Hey, thanks to everyone who voted for us!

RE: our plot, MKNotaro, I actually kind of agree with you as there were some forced cuts made to our episode 3 due to circumstances beyond our control that affected the narrative thrust quite a bit, which is unfortunate.

L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

Fair play to the bucks if they've won, i cant get enough of them on you tube.

mknotaro wrote: »

As for the third episode, what was the story with the amount of cursing? Were they going for the Colm and Jim-Jim school of funny - cursing is funny, especially when you beep it out? I'm no prude, but cursing isn't comedy.
    Yes it is, out here in the west it's an art form. A whole town can be in stitches over one perfect insult.

Fair play to the bucks.
    Youtube viewer figures finally beginning to reflect storyland votes........ who would have thunk it. :D

Yes it is, out here in the west it's an art form. A whole town can be in stitches over one perfect insult.

You don't need to curse to prefect an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

lukem wrote: »
    RE: our plot, MKNotaro, I actually kind of agree with you as there were some forced cuts made to our episode 3 due to circumstances beyond our control that affected the narrative thrust quite a bit, which is unfortunate.

That's a pity.

Hope you get through this round.

If every project had the same production values of yours - this would have been a much different, and dare I say, better competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 FestivalFox

People who give out about cursing in comedy drive me crazy, Hardy bucks makes fun out of the thick young irish male form the country. Find me one of these sterotypical irish males that do not curse twice as much as the Hardy Bucks.

I'm from the country and here a well timed and delivered curse can have people in stiches for god knows how long. Do some people on hear that do not like cursing expect the creaters of Hardy Bucks to leave out this piece of Irish culture for what ever reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

I'm from the country and here a well timed and delivered curse can have people in stiches for god knows how long.

ya like in our metalwork exam yesterday, all the papers are given out, supernintendo says we can begin, one lad opens the paper.........."AH ****"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Arcee

Well done to Hardy bucks. It's plain sailing to the winners enclosure from here I'd say :D:D

Arcee wrote: »
    Well done to Hardy bucks. It's plain sailing to the winners enclosure from here I'd say :D:D

Don't Jinx it, you don't know what the last episodes will be like.

Hopefully the Bucks will up their game even more, I'd cut down on the swearing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

So they'll be aired on RTE? Probably a late night slot on a Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

If RTE don't jump all over the Hardy Bucks and get behind it, they would really be morons. I honestly haven't met a person who didn't love the show. If the quality is consistent as it has been, and the word is spread, this show will be an absolute guaranteed winner.