Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ's Storyland ***MEGA MERGE***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

mknotaro wrote: »
    Rental Boys
    I kinda want to like Rental Boys, but I still can't get over the feeling of unoriginality. It starts with the Monty Python style opening credits

I stopped watching after this. Don't copy python. Don't even think about it. If you thought about it stop thinking about it. You are setting yourself up for a fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 room18

Hardy Bucks is brilliant. Even up here in Dublin I've heard lads drunk roaring out quotes in Temple Bar at like 3am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mknotaro wrote: »
    Hardy Bucks
    I've also spoken about how I don't follow the policy of "on YouTube its better". This episode was really unfocused. What is this series about? These guys wanting to get out of the town but failing?
    Yep, that's your typical west of Ireland buck. Always complaining about the town your in and never actually getting around to moving out of the place because your a lazy, drunk good for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 mknotaro

Elmo wrote: »
    Even I think you might be looking for to much from this!

You're probably right.

But inside me I still think "it's the drama department, not the entertainment department". Perhaps it's an indication of why drama is so crap in this country.

Another recent thread popped up about Summer Heights High - which is mockumentary, comedy, and three dimensional characters, with phrases that I hear people using.

I shall turn off my brain to watch Hardy Bucks or go drinking in Temple Bar and then watch it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I think the Bucks could become a truly great comedy series if they got a really good producer who knows their stuff on board.

Hopefully they will get to make a proper series and will live up to people's expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

SHREDDER wrote: »

I don't even think there is a prize at the end of this competition, So what's the point. Is there a prize. If so can someone tell us.

The main prize is that RTE are no longer involved with the short cuts/signatures scheme with the film board. Every film maker in the country should be thanking storyland for at least that. The RTE exec, who shall remain nameless, who sat on the judging panel for short cuts for years was/still is a joke.

ianrush wrote: »
    The main prize is that RTE are no longer involved with the short cuts/signatures scheme with the film board. Every film maker in the country should be thanking storyland for at least that. The RTE exec, who shall remain nameless, who sat on the judging panel for short cuts for years was/still is a joke.

No way they aren't supporting short film now, and the IFB is going. that should suit Mrs. Dunphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Wyndman

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I think the Bucks could become a truly great comedy series if they got a really good producer who knows their stuff on board.

An experienced comedy producer would tell them to come back in few years after they’ve learned about plot and character and actual jokes. Impressions and catchphrases (“shtyle”) will only get you as far as the Katherine Lynch leagues. (They made me laugh before but now they've ran out of steam I've realised it was only because I was in on the whole backslapping culchie in-joke.)

Of course since there are no experienced comedy producers in Ireland, this is probably being eyed up as the spiritual/timeslot successor to Killnascully, except, you know, with that cutting edge mockumentry approach for the nineties.

(The Thick of It is probably the only mockumentry of the last few years that doesn’t feel lazy, probably because the improv is lightly sprinkled over sharp plots, lovely acting and downright blinding jokes. It also knows exactly how make gratuitous strong language sing.)

Wyndman wrote: »
    Of course since there are no experienced comedy producers in Ireland, this is probably being eyed up as the spiritual/timeslot successor to Killnascully, except, you know, with that cutting edge mockumentry approach for the nineties.

(The Thick of It is probably the only mockumentry of the last few years that doesn’t feel lazy, probably because the improv is lightly sprinkled over sharp plots, lovely acting and downright blinding jokes. It also knows exactly how make gratuitous strong language sing.)

Mockumentry of the 1990s surely that is today. The Office etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

Stumbled upon Hardy Bucks yesterday. Its unreal. Funniest thing I've seen in years. Really hope they get commishioned for a full-series with a decent producer.

Rental Boys is ok. I work in an XV shop so its funny enough from that perspective, but on the whole its only alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭SHREDDER

An experienced comedy producer would tell them to come back in few years after they’ve learned about plot and character and actual jokes. Impressions and catchphrases (“shtyle”) will only get you as far as the Katherine Lynch leagues. (They made me laugh before but now they've ran out of steam I've realised it was only because I was in on the whole backslapping culchie in-joke.)

I think people tend to overlook The Hardy Bucks as seasoned film makers, As research would have it, this was their first project. I think they were the only production in Storyland that had no prior involvement with any form of media.

As I understand it there all amature actors and crew. To go as far as they have, at this level is quite an achievement. At the end of the day I don't think they're too concerned with the technical quality of the show. I think they're more concerned with providing an undernourished comedy slot something that is merely a bit of craic. Taken with a pinch of salt it makes for great entertainment. Not RTE Drama. I'm glad somebody's having a go.

I don't think that hardy bucks storyline concerns itself with an exodus from Castletown. I find the notion hard to accept considering one of them owns a car.

Rental boys - they're not rte drama either but they seem to have done very well in the competition.

What's the story with the broken rule of that is taken up so heinously? "crossing the line"? I'm not a film maker so therefore haven't noticed, can somebody enlighten me please.

The guy playing the scranner was a nice touch in rental boys. One thing that annoys me in TV shows is when a character is playing a game on a modern console but it sounds like the audio on a NES. Wasn't it supposed to be a ps3 with GTA?

I think RTE should just sack this concept of storyland and just give the final three a show. It'll be better than watching ****e like dragons den, which is a room full of souless bald headed begrudging yuppies
    (wanting to surpass there twatty english counter-parts) No doubt who can be found in the fiana fail tent in Galway on race week; handing out brown envelopes to greedy shopkeepers and crooked Politicians fumbling in a greasy till.

Also not forgetting Guff like The Tubridy show, Miriam and Project ha ha Which I though was project boohoo; Dan and Becs, the panel, scrubs and ugly Betty. I watched an Episde of Pure Mule there last night, and I found it to be very entertaining, so I'm not a comlplete bastard.

Just give them all a few quid and have it over with. It would be interesting to see how it would work out with seasoned film makers. I seriously think RTE should try more productions with BBC. Like the drama they did on the General. I also Recommend you watch this for fine RTE produced comedy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkktGXEFkfE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Hollyg'lightly

I saw the Hardy Bucks live and was not impressed. People in the pub ranted and raved about their greatness yet i could not understand this. I could not hear them properly and the bits i could hear invloved much swearing.

However.....being the procrastinator that i am i typed em into youtube one day(when i should have been doing an essay) to see what all the fuss was about and quite frankly i can say, whatever about the live show, all is forgiven Hardy Bucks. I was laughing out loud and was totally sucked into the shennanigans of Castletown. I realised that no tv comedy of late has made me laugh that much. I can't watch Killinaskully, its just not very good. Soon i was watching them over and over, telling people to go watch this.

I know there are the influences of Trailer Park Boys and Father Ted(the Mitzi Turbo Cup reminds me of the carnival at the end of episode one of Father Ted, particulary the '10 euro to fight two men in a trailer' bit). But shur isn't art often a form of imitation. Hardy Bucks captures West of Ireland life perfectly, of course its highly dramatised and blown a little out of proportion but it might not make us laugh if it this was not the case.
    Some people from the city don't really get it, but if you've got a rural bone in your body, your gonna get it, as funnily enough we are laughing at ourselves.

One of my favourite episodes is on the buidling site. The foreman on site is excellant and the whole scenario is hilarious, 'ara movn shtuff', 'this man is wearing slip on shoes'.

While at the Volvo Ocean race i saw a large sheet hanging from an apartment on the waterfront displaying the words, 'smokin, drinkn, slapn, fightn'. This show surely has gripped the West of Ireland in its droves. I've had many the conversation with friends and randomers alike on nights out swapping the hilarities of the Hardy Bucks and falling into convulsions of laughter.

People often give the Whest and Mayo a hard time for its backwardnessetc, but its madness and eccentricity(LOVE It) is making so many people have a laugh and in this current climate we flipn need a laugh.

The Wests awake, vive la Hardy Bucks:-)

SHREDDER wrote: »
    I don't think that hardy bucks storyline concerns itself with an exodus from Castletown. I find the notion hard to accept considering one of them owns a car.
    It's completely believable. I have a car and so do many in my town we're always saying to ourselfs we have to get out of this ****hole this weekend go up to Galway, but once you go out for that first pint on Friday evening that's the weekend more or less gone.
    While at the Volvo Ocean race i saw a large sheet hanging from an apartment on the waterfront displaying the words, 'smokin, drinkn, slapn, fightn'. This show surely has gripped the West of Ireland in its droves. I've had many the conversation with friends and randomers alike on nights out swapping the hilarities of the Hardy Bucks and falling into convulsions of laughter.
    I'm pretty sure the lads themselves live in Galway, it could have been them. My 18 year old sister says their having a great time living on their fame accosting young women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Psych Ward is gone. :(

Hardy Bucks V Rental Boys

Psych Ward wasn't really my cup of tea but it was miles better than rental boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭cartom

Promo's for episode 5 of Rental boys and Hardy bucks are now online

http://www.rte.ie/storyland/finalists/rentalboys.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The bucks promo looks good...... but the boo is lookin' fierce hungover in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

The Boo gettin' a job.....some c*nt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Once again the lads from Swinford played a stormer!:D

Channel 4 here they come:pac:

The unedited three-parter is up on youtube now as well.
    Yeow.

Scien wrote: »
    8th & Final Episodes are up.

Its Episode 5 of Storyland not 8.

Its not the Final Episodes, the winner gets to make Episode 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭the flananator

Episide 8 is the best episode yet. Have you all seen the "King of the Town" extra on youtube? UNREAL

I have to say I enjoyed it, voted for Hardy Bucks. Rental Boys has too many film studies references even for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In its current state - Episode 8 - Hardy Bucks could be on television and be a big hit there.

I'd go as far as to say it's the best comedy this country has produced since Father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I have to say I enjoyed it, voted for Hardy Bucks. Rental Boys has too many film studies references even for me.

is that really you elmo :pac: :D some one hack your account :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

It will be a travesty if The Hardy Bucks dont win!

Pure class.

Well howya Elmo.
    God I hardly knew ya.

It just gets better and better, good episode for the viper.

I think it's worse it's getting. I used to think they had something (I found them pre-storyland) but I'm well tired of their stick now.

Take out the funny accents and the variants on "ah surs" and the comedy "male crying" and it's just a parish panto.

Even when it hits on a decent comedy set piece it takes the lazy way out through blithering improv and stock gombeenness.

(Again I'm from the country, I get the small town male. That's just not enough. It's no different from D4 heads thinking Dan and Becs is funny because they recognise the voices.)

I wouldn't be so harsh on it if it wasn't for all the glowing comments like "better than Father Ted". It's Killnascully with fart jokes.

Does Killnascully not have enough fart jokes of their own? I would agree with you "better than Fr. Ted" is a bit much, but their are very very few comedies that match Fr. Ted. I don't think it is the new Ted or anything but I do think that it could be turn into a good six parter (22min long) Mockumentry with the right encouragement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

I think it's worse it's getting. I used to think they had something (I found them pre-storyland) but I'm well tired of their stick now.

Take out the funny accents and the variants on "ah surs" and the comedy "male crying" and it's just a parish panto.

Even when it hits on a decent comedy set piece it takes the lazy way out through blithering improv and stock gombeenness.

(Again I'm from the country, I get the small town male. That's just not enough. It's no different from D4 heads thinking Dan and Becs is funny because they recognise the voices.)

Are you one of the rentalboys ?

No, I just think Hardy Bucks are overrated and the gushing praise is setting them up for a fall. (They're doing stand-up in the Bulmers festival. I can't see that going well.)

Rental Boys is simply unwatchable. The jarring colours, the voices, the stolen jokes from the shows they're falling over themselves to reference. The jedi moves videotape gag from Arrested Development was the last straw for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭TheBlock

As Storylands was essentially a comedy writer talent search it would be a travesty if RTE didn't at least give both of the finalists a half hour TV Pilot. It would be a shame not to try and nuture their undoubted talent and judging by the number of fans both already have should provide the ratings that RTE seek (even if only initially).

Otherwise they could be missing out on Father Ted....Again!!! ;)

^^ I know it was a joke.

TheBlock wrote: »
    As Storylands was essentially a comedy writer talent search

It was meant to be a drama talent search, so it's been a botch-job for RTE from the start.

If RTE Entertainment give them a pilot than fair enough (they are funnier than anything RTE have ever done) but unless time and merciless (BBC-style) development is put into the scripts, it'll just be another disposable rush-job.

Three grown men hugging and Crying in a shed not funny? In the context of a family member gone a stray. In an Irish family intervention.

What planet are you on? Wyndam you'd have to be some dry bastard not to find it funny. That was the clinher in my opinion. "Shnaggin." I think there´s a big difference between Hardy Bucks and killinaskully. its like chalk and soft ****e.

Whats going on with Hardy Bucks doing a live show with Arthur Matthews? Has anybody else heard that? I heard Andrew Maxwell is reading passages from a protetsant gospel live in the academy, on the same night.

Fair play to the hardy bucks, episode 8 was the best one yet.
    As was Rental Boys last episode.

RTE promoting storeyland project on the rte webplayer mainpage but their promoting rentalboys for some reason? There's some huge favouritism being shown for rental boys. :confused:

ScumLord wrote: »
    RTE promoting storeyland project on the rte webplayer mainpage but their promoting rentalboys for some reason? There's some huge favouritism being shown for rental boys. :confused:

I think its safe to say the project will be a fix. I can bet rental boys will win the competition if thats the case. RTE always going with the safe bet.

It'll more than likely go on to get a series on RTE 2 with Neil Delamere and Colin Murphy replacing the main actors. Ryan Tubridy is going to Cruise out of the wood work with a juicey golden hand shake. While Jerry Ryan beefs under a vail of tears, and thinks back to those glory days of Omero and Samantha Mumba, Buffalo G, Bewitched, Ryan confidential, Louis walsh, Keith Duffy and the Motion picture spin the bottle. Amanda Brunker will go along for the spin then write about the event in the sunday world.

It's a shame to see RTE haven't played fair and just publicised the competition. Thank god for youtube because TV has left the building.

"I was a lonley teenager from Ballinasloe, with a pink carnation and a pick up truck, but I knew that I was out of luck, the day..... Tele'vision Died."

ScumLord wrote: »

The Hardy Bucks are being promoted today.

cartom wrote: »
    The Hardy Bucks are being promoted today.

I stand Corrrected. On the Storyland Issue. I Just wanted to take a pop at the institution of the Irish entertainment clique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

Whens the winner for this announced!??

Up the Hardy Bucks!!

Voting finishes at 5pm tomorrow.

Up the Rental Boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

That rental boys is pretty crap. The writing is terrible and the whole thing is executed poorly. Don't find it funny at all. Just watched one of the hardy bucks there for the first time. The mushroom one. That's fairly decent and with a bit more cash behind it could do well enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 hellenbach

haha saw yerman who plays eddie durkan not so long ago wearing skinny jeans and tight jacket NME schtyle :o

Hardy Bucks are the winners of 2009 Storyland.
    Last episode up on 29th September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Volvagia

Great to hear!

Can't wait to see if lexus teaches the viper a lesson, or will the viper realise that its time to grow up.

Well done Bucks!

There's going to be another episode! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Nice one. Great result for the lads.