Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Ospreys 12th April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    Any idea when tickets will go on sale for croker?!?! And will they be general release on ticketmaster seeing as its such a big venue?

6.00 tonight on ticketmaster I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

An File wrote: »
    Wait and see how Leinster get on first.

Either way its a trip to croke park to see Munster play.... How often does that happen!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Awesome display from Munster, hats off to them. Am rooting for Leinster in the other game shortly but to be honest there is a serious part of me hoping they lose today as it will spare us the prospect of being completely and utterly humiliated (again) in Croker.

Oh the joys of following Leinster but at the end of the day, you are from where you're from and you've got to get behind your side.

Congratz Munster

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Jaysus lads, I'm stocknolified......... I didn't see this result coming, I thought it would be a lot closer and that we'd have to grind/close out a win in the final 5 minutes. it's like they went in at half time and turned the intensity knob up to 11..... they really played their socks off, the lot of them 43-9 ahead and keeping Ospreys inside their own 22 for that length of time I don't want to get carried away but................................

MUNSTER ! !

Ritz.

Ritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Well done to Munster. Great score and performance.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Dont think the ospreys posed any risk of scoring a try at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

best game i have seen in awhile,looking good:D

Thanks for the commentary guys!

Great game by Munster it seems! Hopefully a Munster-Leinster match on the cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Celebration time, come on!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D

SomeFool wrote: »
    6.00 tonight on ticketmaster I think...

I tried ticketmaster.ie, didn't mention tickets, are u sure that's right????

Thanks for the commentary guys!

Great game by Munster it seems! Hopefully a Munster-Leinster match on the cards.

Highlights on RTE (7:30 I think) if you want to see match, m8.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

be nice to see again

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

It'll be worth watching for the drop-goals alone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Can't say I'm too surprised by the result. I was expecting Munster to give Ospreys a good bashing. What a brilliant, complete performance from them. I honestly can't see Munster not winning the silverware again this year to be honest. We'll see how Quins perform today but I don't think Leicester or Cardiff are going to pose any significant problem to Munster. Obviously I'm egging for a Leinster v Munster semi-final though!

The only negative for Irish fans out of this great Munster victory is:

"FFS why can't Warwick play for Ireland, FFS x 10000000000" :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Have to say on that form can't see anything but a Munster double in the HC and Magners, awesome performance!

Obviously like to see Leinster win it but if they can't then will be delighted to see munster do the double!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

I set my dvd to record the match while I was in work....wouldn't you know it that when I go to play the match the bloody thing hasn't recorded at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Was at the game today....wow what a team. Warwick was outstanding, but then again so was pretty much everyone. That was as close to a perfect performance as i've seen from any side in any sport. So clinical. Atmosphere was great too. Some laugh singing Tommy Bowe's song at the end too. I bet he enjoyed it! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

The only negative for Irish fans out of this great Munster victory is:

"FFS why can't Warwick play for Ireland, FFS x 10000000000" :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Because he's Australian and has played 7s for Australia. Get over it :rolleyes:

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

anyone have a link to the highlights?

Was up all night again and slept in and missed the game as usual.
    Set my alarm but of course I just turned that off as soon as it went off.

Guess there's always European Rugby on Bog 2 at 7.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

enjoy it lads, it was probably the most complete performance of a rugby team we'll see this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

bleg wrote: »
    enjoy it lads, it was probably the most complete performance of a rugby team we'll see this season.

Munster fans, you don't know how lucky you are atm, Munster are on another planet and are the NH side of the decade without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Because he's Australian and has played 7s for Australia. Get over it :rolleyes:

But his granny might have been Irish, is there a granny rule in rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

dh0661 wrote: »

There's the residency rule...But he has already played for Australia - makes everything else null and void.

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

dh0661 wrote: »

His uncle drinks Guinness. He's legit. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

What a wonderful result for Munster. Hope they won't get too confident before their next game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

This was quite simply one of the best performances i have EVER seen from munster. so so so much credit has to go to McGahan for actually IMPROVING the side and taking things forward when i thought Kidney left them in the best possible shape. Best club/provincial side in the world? Without. A. Fúcking. Doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Superb performance form Munster today, varied their game brilliantly and destroyed a decent Ospreys team. On current form they should destroy Leinster. Leinster were hapless today and didn't deserve to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

could earls have played himself on the plane to S.A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

old boy wrote: »
    He was hugely impressive, as he was against Leinster. Gatland was at the game today, he can't but be impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

old boy wrote: »

Unlikely.

He'd be competing with O'Driscoll and Shanklin for the 13 jersey, and he's not as good as either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Aidric wrote: »
    Superb performance form Munster today, varied their game brilliantly and destroyed a decent Ospreys team. On current form they should destroy Leinster. Leinster were hapless today and didn't deserve to win.

We, well my hubby (the real expert of we);), thought that too.

Unlikely.

He'd be competing with O'Driscoll and Shanklin for the 13 jersey, and he's not as good as either of them.

Maybe not so, Kearney has looked worringly average at the moment. He doesn't counterattack anymore and was exposed in defense by Earls at TP.

Earls may travel as he can cover wing, centre and fb.

Maybe not so, Kearney has looked worringly average at the moment. He doesn't counterattack anymore and was exposed in defense by Earls at TP.

There are better players than Earls for all of those positions though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Earls wont travel, the touring team is much smaller than the one that went in 2005 so i dont think there will be room for a "wildcard" selection. And if there will be one, it will probably be a forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,178 ✭✭✭✭phog

84BA3E5E58A5429D96C27A6A4BE4C9BA-800.jpg

More here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Let's just hope Munster won't be raging favourites which would not be such a good thing. They deserve to go all the way again this year. Such a pity they have to meet Leinster in the semis. Just wish we could see all the Irish lads experience victory. Not possible though so let's hope Munster can do it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I only caught the second half, but Munster were very close to perfect. Hard to see anyone beating them if they keep that form up.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I only caught the second half, but Munster were very close to perfect. Hard to see anyone beating them if they keep that form up.

Munster were very very good, but the result is deceiving - the performance merited it, but that performance shouldn't have been possible.

Injuries married to their traditional poor organisation meant the Ospreys were a disgrace. I know that being a Leinster fan's stressful from time to time (last weekend - argh, today - argh) but I do feel sorry for the Ospreys fans. They've an unreal collection of players, and nothing to show for it.

Again, Munster were good, but they had so much space, etc to play with.

Of the teams left, I can see Leinster winning against them, but I'd say a Munster win is more likely, meanwhile Cardiff are nowhere near Leinster or Munster in the Magners, and can't imagine their game improving vastly, though they've a very good side. Leicester meanwhile, are a good side, with a tough pack and a lot of internationals throughout the side, but again, not at the same level as Munster are.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I know that being a Leinster fan's stressful from time to time

From time to time as in from the Big Bang to the end of the universe? They're both times after all....

There was clearly an element of Ospreys allowing Munster to play their game, something I hope Leinster won't do. But Munster were unbelievably ruthless and took every opportunity. Three of the quarters were very very close games, Munster's was a rout because they took every single opportunity afforded to them. Leinster's defence has been the standout this season, but I don't think its flawless and Munster, on that form, will find a way through. On the other hand, I think Leinster is the only team left that could win against Munster merely from the fact we know them so well. We'll see, but if Munster keep up that form they'll deservedly end up champions again methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Munster were very very good, but the result is deceiving - the performance merited it, but that performance shouldn't have been possible.

Injuries married to their traditional poor organisation meant the Ospreys were a disgrace. I know that being a Leinster fan's stressful from time to time (last weekend - argh, today - argh) but I do feel sorry for the Ospreys fans. They've an unreal collection of players, and nothing to show for it.

Again, Munster were good, but they had so much space, etc to play with.

Of the teams left, I can see Leinster winning against them, but I'd say a Munster win is more likely, meanwhile Cardiff are nowhere near Leinster or Munster in the Magners, and can't imagine their game improving vastly, though they've a very good side. Leicester meanwhile, are a good side, with a tough pack and a lot of internationals throughout the side, but again, not at the same level as Munster are.

What fans tbh, they get really poor crowds to their games, yes i do feel sorry for them as i would any other fan but they aren't a special group of fans-Cardiff and the Scarlets are much better in Wales, and they pale in support terms to the great English clubs or Irish provinces.

Henson is injured quite a bit for them so i think they could survive without him, Byrne is class no doubt but his absence didn't cause this dreadful performance, he' the full back! Their pack is weak and is poorly led by Mr R Jones, a Lions captain and no 8 in waiting from you know who:rolleyes: I like Williams, Bowe and a few others but they really do themselves no favours in terms of their opinions of themselves. Like last year versus Sarries when they just expected to turn up! I also remember them last year belittling the Magners League following their EDF win, they'd be off to the Guiness Premiership if they could. Imo the personification of what's wrong with Welsh rugby, on the other hand i was delighted to see Cardiff win yesterday, a great club with a fine tradition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Ever thought that they might be under orders to hoof the ball back into opposition third of the field?

As for being "exposed", he came over from the far wing when Earls' try. About as 'exposed'/'found out'/whatever as Chris Latham in 2001 (Latham shrugged off that Robinson try and carried on being one of the best fullies around).

Earls won't even get a look in for the Lions tour.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    From time to time as in from the Big Bang to the end of the universe? They're both times after all....

There was clearly an element of Ospreys allowing Munster to play their game, something I hope Leinster won't do. But Munster were unbelievably ruthless and took every opportunity. Three of the quarters were very very close games, Munster's was a rout because they took every single opportunity afforded to them. Leinster's defence has been the standout this season, but I don't think its flawless and Munster, on that form, will find a way through. On the other hand, I think Leinster is the only team left that could win against Munster merely from the fact we know them so well. We'll see, but if Munster keep up that form they'll deservedly end up champions again methinks.
    Ah yeah, if we keep playing as we've done all season, we'll dominate the breakdown, get lots of ball, kick it away badly, and lose again.

Story of our fúcking season.
    themont85 wrote: »
    What fans tbh, they get really poor crowds to their games, yes i do feel sorry for them as i would any other fan but they aren't a special group of fans-Cardiff and the Scarlets are much better in Wales, and they pale in support terms to the great English clubs or Irish provinces.

Henson is injured quite a bit for them so i think they could survive without him, Byrne is class no doubt but his absence didn't cause this dreadful performance, he' the full back! Their pack is weak and is poorly led by Mr R Jones, a Lions captain and no 8 in waiting from you know who:rolleyes: I like Williams, Bowe and a few others but they really do themselves no favours in terms of their opinions of themselves. Like last year versus Sarries when they just expected to turn up! I also remember them last year belittling the Magners League following their EDF win, they'd be off to the Guiness Premiership if they could. Imo the personification of what's wrong with Welsh rugby, on the other hand i was delighted to see Cardiff win yesterday, a great club with a fine tradition.

Aye, the Ospreys were never really expected to end up as the strongest Welsh side I'd reckon.

I disagree about saying their pack is weak, their front row is unreal, they've a pair of locks the equal of many an international pair (I think it's a real tragedy that Alun Wyn Jones and O'Connell, the showier second-rows will get Lions places ahead of O'Callaghan whose work rate was absolutely crucial to Ireland's success) and they've a decent back row.

Man for man, they really are as good as most teams - but they're not a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Ah yeah, if we keep playing as we've done all season, we'll dominate the breakdown, get lots of ball, kick it away badly, and lose again.

Story of our fúcking season.

Aye, the Ospreys were never really expected to end up as the strongest Welsh side I'd reckon.

I disagree about saying their pack is weak, their front row is unreal, they've a pair of locks the equal of many an international pair (I think it's a real tragedy that Alun Wyn Jones and O'Connell, the showier second-rows will get Lions places ahead of O'Callaghan whose work rate was absolutely crucial to Ireland's success) and they've a decent back row.

Man for man, they really are as good as most teams - but they're not a team.

:confused: munster out perform them in every position.. Hook likes tom compare himself to the likes of o gara and carter and wilko but as seen yestersday he is way out of his dept as were the ospreys.. they were frankly given a lesson in how to play rugby .....

ps god damit why couldnt warrick have been irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Just back from a crackin night in Limerick, Meet a lot of Ospreys fans and had some good craic.
    A great team preformance yesterday and Leinster have it all to do to turn this Munster outfit over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

razorblunt wrote: »
    I thought in situations like that the penalty comes where the ball ends, when kicked unless they changed the rule.
    They didn't change it. Tiatia was penalised for the shoulder charge, it wasn't considered late.
    An File wrote: »
    Amazing stuff.
    Did anybody predict a score-line like this?
    Ospreys haven't fielded a full team since the 6N. I think a meltdown is very possible.
    :cool:
    castie wrote: »
    Dont think the ospreys posed any risk of scoring a try at all.
    Yep, they got 1 metre into our 22, twice. Never threatened. :D
    karmabass wrote: »
    O'Leary for Lions 9 after today? Comprehensively outplayed the no.1 choice (Phillips)
    It's not difficult to impress when your team is on top all over the pitch. Phillips (and to a lesser extent Bowe) played well despite a shocking team performance. He'll be upset with his tackle on earls. He did so well to get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I thought Bowe had a good game, He took it in good spirit when all the crowd sang "black velvet band"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I thought Bowe had a good game, He took it in good spirit when all the crowd sang "black velvet band"
    This was quite funny. Hard to hear on tv though, what other songs were sung? Good to hear thomond park in good voice, some of the earlier matches this season the crowd werent as up for it as they could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 runny babbit

While watching the munster game i was almost dumbfounded as to how well they played and how dominant they were, but i awoke today with the though that they might have peeked already..any one else think that?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

once it went 9-6 or was it 9-3 i was thinking thats it munster have just won, the ospreys have got nothing in response. the only thing that disapointed me from then on was that munster didnt get 50 points!! haha.
    i see you posted the same comment on the leinster quins thread runny babbit haha. I dont think they've peaked too early, i wish they have though, c'mon leinster haha, but i dont think so.