Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random/General Chat Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Wow!
    That is news to me.
    As a youngster I occasionally swam off Forenaught Beach ...... the beach in the background of one of the pics in the link.
    It is between Knockaveelish Head and Creaden Head.

Direct road access to it from Woodstown was closed off many years ago.

Main person responsible for this is just a local retiree, who has been collecting and documenting samples for years since he retired.he and the site has been covered a bit in local papers for months now. Fair play to him to see his work coming to fruition.I say work, no money being paid to him, good to see it success anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Does anyone else think no one really knows how to use that flashing amber on the quay?

Bloody foreigners!

http://www.waterford-today.ie/waterford-today-news/12857-there-12857.html
    There’s 3387 people from the UK living in County Waterford, according to new Census figures released this week. And according to the report, the other nationalities that make up the top ten in the county are: Polish (2330), Lithuanian (498), Slovak (364), Romanian (256), Pakistani (251), Hungarian (248), Latvian (244), Czech (222) followed by American (205).

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

One hundred thousand welcomes to them all. Apart from the Brits obviously.

has anyone noticed this thread is misspelt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

I thought there would be more Polish here and less Yanks

If we assume nearly all Polish live in the city then it's quite a lot - 5% of the population.

Why would you assume that?

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭curmudgeonly

41942305_10156148633049735_4314722728222392320_n.jpg
    has anyone noticed this thread is misspelt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

Wow!
    That is news to me.
    As a youngster I occasionally swam off Forenaught Beach ...... the beach in the background of one of the pics in the link.
    It is between Knockaveelish Head and Creaden Head.

Direct road access to it from Woodstown was closed off many years ago.

This is not the Woodstown that you are thinking about here!
    This Woodstown is further up river from the city!

http://www.waterfordtreasures.com/news/the-woodstown-viking-sword

• Registered Users Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

This is not the Woodstown that you are thinking about here!
    This Woodstown is further up river from the city!

http://www.waterfordtreasures.com/news/the-woodstown-viking-sword

From the article linked
    Surveys were carried out on items found at Creadan Head, near Dunmore East, Co Waterford, earlier this summer.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/artefacts-found-in-waterford-could-reveal-10-000-year-old-settlement-1.3603628

So I suggest either that article is incorrect or you are. ;)

From the article linked

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/artefacts-found-in-waterford-could-reveal-10-000-year-old-settlement-1.3603628

So I suggest either that article is incorrect or you are. ;)

Neither the article nor I am incorrect! It is the common name between the
    two areas that is causing the confusion!

They were other items (stone age) that were found in the area apparently from
    an early group of settlers who lived in the area. It brought scientists
    perceived theory of Ireland being settled in back over 10,000 years!

Woodstown of the Vikings is up by Carriganore. Woodstown of the dog walkers is by Dunmore :)

That the official paper of record made such an error tells you all you need to know about the state of it

Neither the article nor I am incorrect! It is the common name between the
    two areas that is causing the confusion!

They were other items (stone age) that were found in the area apparently from
    an early group of settlers who lived in the area. It brought scientists
    perceived theory of Ireland being settled in back over 10,000 years!

You are incorrect,the article doesn't even mention any of the two woodstowns so you are the one who is confusing them.

The 10,000 year old items were found in Creadan head which is next to Woodstown Beach that Johnyboy was talking about,the viking settlement is Woodstown Carriganore that Harry just mentioned.

You are incorrect,the article doesn't even mention any of the two woodstowns so you are the one who is confusing them.

The 10,000 year old items were found in Creadan head which is next to Woodstown Beach that Johnyboy was talking about,the viking settlement is Woodstown Carriganore that Harry just mentioned.

I didn't write the article MK but if you had enough interest in your own local
    history then you wouldn't need to have it pointed out to you!

I didn't write the article MK but if you had enough interest in your own local
    history then you wouldn't need to have it pointed out to you!

Im not the one who is confused with Woodstown beach and Woodstown Carriganore.

So we're all wrong to a degree. Fine that's about the state of us. :)

By the way this is what happens with speed reading.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,011 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

I was and am in no doubt where the article stated the finds were.
    There was no mention of the previously excaveted site up-river in the 'other' Woodstown, until TheQuietFella got them mixed up, apparently not having read the article.

So, no, we are all not wrong to any degree.

As I previously stated the Creaden Head finds were news to me.
    I was well aware of the 'other' Woodstown finds and excavation of the site, as most were, no doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,384 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What's the highest building in the City ???

My guess would be the tax office in the Glen but have heard the views are amazing from the station on the mount sion centre pitch

PTH2009 wrote: »

Chizler Lanigans flat off O Connell street, smoking bales of grass down there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭BBM77

My guess would be the tax office in the Glen but have heard the views are amazing from the station on the mount sion centre pitch

The spire of Christ Church cathedral I would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

Iv been at the top of the tax building, some lovely views of the aldi car park and the eye sore which is the ard ri :D

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭curmudgeonly

The Tallest or highest, Highest is the Adrí

Houses in Dominic's Place would have a higher elevation than the Ard Ri?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,739 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Fair play to him but I cant help wonder how a 28 year old can be a festival director (Harvest Festival) and now Tommie Ryan is the Winterval Director. I definitely would have thought such a position would only go to a senior person with years of experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Have a weekend in Waterford planned for myself and herself.

Any suggestions on the key must not miss things to do ?

Neither of us been before.

Staying near kilmacow. About 15 mins from the city. And have a car .

Interested in experiences and walks and good food

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Medieval museum good.
    King of the Vikings is brilliant..not sure it's open though off season, check.
    Waterford crystal tour,
    General stroll around Viking triangle.
    Eat blaas, drink metalman...
    Plenty of bars, restaurants.

Greenway or tramore for nice walk. Why not rent bike...weather not great maybe.if doing greenway, I'd recommend starting walk out towards kilmacthomas, best of scenery.

I'm sure there are other threads on same / similar subject.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭dzilla

Dunmore east cliff walk. http://www.walkingroutes.ie/989-Dunmore-East-Coastal-Walk.html

If its this weekend id be staying well away from any cliffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Sorry not til November so cliffs will be grand!

Where's the nicest spot for a date night dinner do ye reckon ?