Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour of Ireland Sportive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

smithslist wrote: »
    its quite easy, u just need to install twibble for mobile on your phone, and from this application u can tweet msgs or pictures at the same time

Thanks - typical german application. No images or icons just text... I only wish I could see which picture I am choosing o upload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

I only wish I could see which picture I am choosing o upload.

wit the 6610 nav phone i can easily view them, so i can only presume the n95 would be the same as its the same symbian OS version.

Ill be tweetin as i pedal so I can show u on the roads...or when we stop for some beers,pizza, vodkas & mcdonalds ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Just got this on a another site

Poster said re TOI
    I'll be carying a GPS tracker which will I hope be updating my position every 1-2 minutes and displaying it on a Google map as a red dot. On the assumption that I'll be somewhere in or around the main body of riders this would allow anyone to let friends and family know roughly where they are at any given time.

On a PC use this link: http://tinyurl.com/74hwf5

On a mobile use this link: http://tinyurl.com/c4jvwf

So, if you want friends and family to know with reasonable accuracy where you are send them the links above and they can check your progress on a scaleable and scrollable map. They will need to rafresh the map to update the position but that's just one click of the mouse!

Esroh wrote: »

On a PC use this link: http://tinyurl.com/74hwf5

On a mobile use this link: http://tinyurl.com/c4jvwf

So, if you want friends and family to know with reasonable accuracy where you are send them the links above and they can check your progress on a scaleable and scrollable map. They will need to rafresh the map to update the position but that's just one click of the mouse!

Thanks for your link. ill defo spread it around.

Btw, wat type of gps device system will you use?

Thanks for your link. ill defo spread it around.

Btw, wat type of gps device system will you use?
    Its not me I found this on Cyclosport.org forum.
    here's his links which might give that info

http://www.pedalbiker.blogspot.com My Website at: http://velotraining.terapad.com/

Okay so I have sent more BoardsRider twitter. For the N95 I found a better client called Gravity. Its graphic and does exactly what I want it to do. I have a better understanding of twitter now so I'll take LA off since all his updates are going into our account.

Is there anyone out there that knows the best way for us to Set up a group on twitter.

I think if I create my own account -- ScottsWhiteKnight and let BoardsRider be a follower of that account then BoardsRiders page will have all of mu updates. This way I could add BoardsRider as a follower of all the individual boardies account into one view.....

Does tha make sense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

If one does not have a twitter a/c, can we still follow your TOI updates.
    Srry, but I am a complete luddite.

ROK ON wrote: »
    If one does not have a twitter a/c, can we still follow your TOI updates.
    Srry, but I am a complete luddite.

http://twitter.com/BoardsRider

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is there anyone out there that knows the best way for us to Set up a group on twitter.

I think if I create my own account -- ScottsWhiteKnight and let BoardsRider be a follower of that account then BoardsRiders page will have all of mu updates. This way I could add BoardsRider as a follower of all the individual boardies account into one view.....

Does tha make sense?

Here's how it works. You, as Boardsrider, when you log on to Twitter will see all of your updates as well as those from people you subscribe too. Similarly, if I log on to my account I'll see your updates appearing along with all my other contacts. I won't be able to see what's coming from your contacts. If I click through to Boardsrider I'll only see what you put up there and not what comes from contacts like Lance etc.

If you do it your way, I'll only see your updates if I subscribe to ScottsWhiteKnight as well as BoardsRider.

As a Twitter user, I'd say one account per rider is the way to go. It's easier to differentiate then who is posting what.

Non-twitter users would simply have to visit the www.twitter.com/BoardsRider to see updates

el tonto wrote: »
    Non-twitter users would simply have to visit the www.twitter.com/BoardsRider to see updates

I guess i'll just share the BoardsRider for now.... we can sort it out properly later. I'm all set up ... I can even take a pics a dn upload it... so watch out for the thsupdates.... I can't get the gps bit working otherwise you can track us all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Is it easier to do it with the one account for this event though? E.g. non-Twitter users just have a single URL to look at then.

EDIT: Actually, not sure if it works with multiple mobiles?

blorg wrote: »
    Actually, not sure if it works with multiple mobiles?

Sure it does -- I don't use a mobile SMS client. I use a webservice client that uses the 3.5G network :-).

Nice for you, I am not sure my mobile is so sophisticated :) If it was possible to bunch us all into a group that would make sense I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

If it's not possible to put everyone on the same twitter, might I suggest people use google reader to subscribe to each persons twitter. It collects all updates making it easy to see everyones status.

Thanks I emailed them and asked i we definitely needed a bike bag.

Marc, one of the organisers, just emailed me and said that I don't need a bike box at all so happy days. I was going to have o get Raam to come back from his long weekend to loan me his.

Stage 3 Roads are marked.It hit home today nothing more I can do when I came across them on my spin today.

Please say its 240kms of downhill....

I had a tired week trying to recover but 5 month old Joshua decided I was getting to much sleep. I was worried I wasn't putting training in but like you I figured out there's nothing more I can do fitness wise... ah well, roll on Thursday.

I hope my room mate sleeps :o

Please say its 240kms of downhill....

I had a tired week trying to recover but 5 month old Joshua decided I was getting to much sleep. I was worried I wasn't putting training in but like you I figured out there's nothing more I can do fitness wise... ah well, roll on Thursday.

I hope my room mate sleeps :o
    Was not exactly where I had worked out from the map.They took out 1 little Hill and put in 3:D pimples

Best of luck lads.
    Saw road markers our by Glenmalure Drumgoff today.

Didn't realise that after doing those beasts that ye also have to do Wicklow Gap.
    Fair play to ye. Nothing but admiration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

yes saw them yesteday up glenmallure.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Best of luck lads.
    Saw road markers our by Glenmalure Drumgoff today.

Didn't realise that after doing those beasts that ye also have to do Wicklow Gap.
    Fair play to ye. Nothing but admiration.

Admiration not required (cash however is accepted)..... not sure about the rest of them but I know the only things that will get me through those hills is knowing that we know there's only 20-30 km (can't tell exactly) to the finish from the top of the wicklow gap.

I cycled some of one of the stages down around Lough Derg yesterday. Plenty of road markings. It brought back some painful memories! Same route as last year. It's really nice around there and kinda hilly the other side of the lake. The feed stop is in a hotel at the bottom of the lake just before Killaloe. Beautiful part of the country. Very jealous of you guys now.

That bit of the route from Craughwell/ Ardrahan to Killaloe is beautiful country we were going easy enough to admire it as we were so afraid of what was to come on crossing the bridge.I remember some of the overseas visitors were taken aback when the cloud cleared off and we were looking down on the lakes and river.

I think on that stage, somewhere near Kilkenny, we had just come off Keeper Hill and were about to hit a series of bumps... big bumps. We turned a corner and saw one rise bang smack in front of us. An English chap said to his mate, "oh for f**k sake would you look at that c**t!"

Raam wrote: »
    I think on that stage, somewhere near Kilkenny, we had just come off Keeper Hill and were about to hit a series of bumps... big bumps. We turned a corner and saw one rise bang smack in front of us. An English chap said to his mate, "oh for f**k sake would you look at that c**t!"
    :D:D
    do'nt remind me.I got dropped rom my groupalong that stretch and I met a depraved cyclist who had been with the front bunch.All he could say when asked had the group much of a lead.
    'Can you hear the Cuckoo. Listen can you hear the Cuckoo'
    When I met him later he did not remember being on my wheel for 2 miles in them hills

:D:D
    do'nt remind me.I got dropped rom my groupalong that stretch and I met a depraved cyclist who had been with the front bunch.All he could say when asked had the group much of a lead.
    'Can you hear the Cuckoo. Listen can you hear the Cuckoo'
    When I met him later he did not remember being on my wheel for 2 miles in them hills

Great stories guys. I'm sure they will be more happy memories this year... on day 4 no less.... Should be a small 210 km spin to recover from the monstrosity the day before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

To be honest reading the comments here really make me wish i was doing it again this year it was the most enjoyable time i had in two years cycling.
    Just remember lads to keep a bit in the tank for the sprint into kilkenny cos from memory the hot water in the college ye change in runs out after the first 50 cyclists. Was not fun try to pick the gravel out my a*#e in freezing cold water. I managed to hit the deck on a left hand bend coming off the silvermines, fairly sure i wasnt the only one to fall there judging by some of he lads i met at the finish afterwards.

Best of luck to all doing the TOI and i reckon the smaller crowd will make a more enjoyable event cos you will really get to know the other cyclists in your group.

at the moment i am getting pack and getting everything together.

Am wondering what\if any cycling food\powder etc should i bring, i know there is this stuff supplied but did people bring there own small amount, or what will people recommend to bring, if any that is?

btw good luck to everyone doing it, and see you all at the event.

at the moment i am getting pack and getting everything together.

Am wondering what\if any cycling food\powder etc should i bring, i know there is this stuff supplied but did people bring there own small amount, or what will people recommend to bring, if any that is?

btw good luck to everyone doing it, and see you all at the event.

I brought some stuff, but gave it to the folks on the first day to take home after I saw that everything is supplied.

What's the story with mechanicals. E.g. tubes, tyres etc. I'll have my normal tube or two but if I use this up is there provision for replacements? Obviously don't mind paying for such! Wasn't planning on bringing a spare tyre but I guess I could do.

They have mechanics. You'll have to pay for any parts, but not for service AFAIR. I brought a few tubes, 3 I think. Didn't bring any spare tyres. If you do bring a spare tyre, you wont have access to it during the day unless you stick it in your pocket or if it's already around your waist.

Re tyres I think you pay the back up guys if you need anything. I just carried the usual on each day and had a few spare tubes in the bag

Id say take some spares wit you, cause if u do need them at least you wont hav to pay for them, that is what i am doing.

I was wondering as you cycle shuld u hav a spare tube etc (or saddle bag) to change it urself or is there service behind each group?

Id say take some spares wit you, cause if u do need them at least you wont hav to pay for them, that is what i am doing.

I was wondering as you cycle shuld u hav a spare tube etc (or saddle bag) to change it urself or is there service behind each group?

Change it yourself! You could be waiting a long time for someone to come along and if they did, they'd probably tell you to do it yourself anyway.

Raam wrote: »
    Change it yourself! You could be waiting a long time for someone to come along and if they did, they'd probably tell you to do it yourself anyway.

ok thanks for the advice Raam, good to know what is what from someone who has done it before, cheers.

Best of luck guys. I hope yis enjoy the event. Looking forward to all the reports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭tsamba

what's the story with bike lock ups at the end of each day will our prid n joys be safe??:)

tsamba wrote: »
    what's the story with bike lock ups at the end of each day will our prid n joys be safe??:)

No you need to carry an array of locks around each stage. Everytime you stop you should lock your bike.... Don't you know this is Ireland. There's a team of dubs who go around stealing bikes while people are eating soup...

Ha Ha .. with hours to go I'm attempting to slow people down one by one on my quest to finish in the top 100. I think there's around 110 people and hangers-on.

Your bike will be safe, unless its got Di2 or something prototype like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

good luck guys! ;)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The Twitter updates have started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

GOOD LUCK FOLKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tour of Ireland all finished. A big congrats to all organisers, riders and support.

A good set of riders of all levels created a good fun enjoyable sportive.

Holy Christ, that was the hardest thing I have ever done on a bike. Great five days.

How was the very long day? Third or fourth one was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Holy Christ, that was the hardest thing I have ever done on a bike. Great five days.

Well done to you and Scott, and everyone who finished -can only imagine how tough it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Great work guys, some feat. I went for a cycle today and encountered some TOI stragglers slowly crawling up Slieve Maan and Shay Elliot.

Was a bit confused when I saw some guy getting medical assistance from some sort of motorbike ambulance. I was very curious then where I could sign up for such service, but then saw the TOI signs. I was also asked by the support car if I needed help, but I politely declined.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Well done Blorg.
    I don't suppose you were talking with two lads from Wales. I picked them up from the ferry last week and I'm just curious to know how they got on.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Well done to all the boardsies. Fair play to ye folks.
    I'd say it was some experience. (Maybe next year and 2 stone lighter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

Well done lads! Glad you enjoyed it.

Hermy wrote: »
    Well done Blorg.
    I don't suppose you were talking with two lads from Wales. I picked them up from the ferry last week and I'm just curious to know how they got on.

If they were from Northern Wales, one with curly black hair, I think I rode with them all week. I'll try and put together a proper report later. Its was a long week for all.

One thing that did suprise me though is that it wasn't that hard at all. I mean sure I trained alot but the body seemed to adapt well. I'm looking forward to getting on my bike tomorrow now :)