Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Fence Problems

• 07-04-2009 12:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20

Hello, I'm new to fencing, and am only getting a reading of 1000V on my voltmeter. I want to get it up to at least 4000 as it's for sucklers.

Have mains powered fence - approx 3 km long (3 fields).

I have been reading this - http://www.afence.com/Electric_Fence/how_to_elecfence/elecinstall.htm

On that page in fig 1.2 it says never to bend the wires around each other as this will result in reduced voltage, but many of my connections are like this.

Also I have noticed that some of my fencing posts are hardwood and have no insulator. I am sceptical about this method, and am going to replace them, to see if that works. They are not real fencing posts, but pieces of scrap timber. I have read online that its possible to get non conductive hardwood posts, but does any hardwood work the same way?

Other than that I plan to disconnect 2 of the fields and this will tell me if the problem is in the main field, and then reconnect the others one by one.

Also the fence is touching mature whitethorns in several areas, which I plan to rectify. A neigbouring farmer told me that briars and whitethorns don't effect electiric wiring that much. Is this true?

Is there anything else I should be thinking about? Or any other advice?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76