Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Developer to counter Bad Bank?

Options
  • 09-04-2009 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭

A question, perhaps I am totally wrong but I’d like to put this out there. I’m an architect by profession and thankfully still employed.
    Over the last few years I have worked for developers etc. A lot of these guys would use one company name to buy land, and then it would be another one of their companies to go for planning on an entire site. Finally the permissions would be further amended in small plots to save further on “expensive “ architectural treatments. i.e. an overall planning was given on large architectural 3 bed houses say, then each street in the development was divided up, and sold to other development companies, usually headed by sons and daughters of the original developer. Permission was then sought for basic rubbish 3 bedroom houses, as now having a planning precedent, the architectural design element could be dropped, i.e. it was no longer a “green” site.
    Now my question is: the loans from the banks to a development company are guaranteed usually by one unlimited shareholder / partner as a gesture of surety. This was fine in the boom.
    Today we take on €90B of overvalued land perhaps worth a third of this figure?