Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai technical staff

• 10-04-2009 8:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭

During a contract I had with the Department of Justice I was working alongside some of the guards up in IT Division, Phoenix Park HQ. Obviously it wasn't an investigative work as I am not a member of the force, but I did chat with many of the guys (there isn't too many women in that division!) up there.

I was thinking a change of career from pure IT to law enforcement IT investigation would be extremely interesting as they are top bunch of lads and have some serious talent. I would like to be able to use my skills to help the public rather than some multinationals bottom line.

Does the force do something similar to the armed forces where if you join as a cadet with a strong technical degree (electronic and computer engineering in this case among st a raft of IT industry qualifications) then you are fastracked to a unit that would make use of your specialist knowledge? Or would you have to put in the same amount of time as every other new member of the force and receive on the job training in the specialist branches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I have no idea of the IT section but would presume they are civilians??? Did they wear the uniform or civie clothes?

If they are Gardai then you would of course start at the bottom like everyone else and work your way up to where you want to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭charlie_says

They were mostly wearing normal clothes, they were the ones I was dealing with looking after the servers and garda networks etc. There was a high ranking (I have no idea what rank and I never met him) AGS guy who seemed to be in charge. There was two guys I talked to were definetly cops, not in uniform and seemed to be in and out of the place but had access to some swipe card only access computer labs. Maybe they weren't part of the IT division, one of them told me that part of his work was to mine emails from seized systems. Perhaps they were from the techincal branch?

I was only up there a handful of times and was escorted to meetings so I didn't get to see that much. Most of the work I did was remote stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

They were mostly wearing normal clothes, they were the ones I was dealing with looking after the servers and garda networks etc. There was a high ranking (I have no idea what rank and I never met him) AGS guy who seemed to be in charge. There was two guys I talked to were definetly cops, not in uniform and seemed to be in and out of the place but had access to some swipe card only access computer labs. Maybe they weren't part of the IT division, one of them told me that part of his work was to mine emails from seized systems. Perhaps they were from the techincal branch?

I was only up there a handful of times and was escorted to meetings so I didn't get to see that much. Most of the work I did was remote stuff.
    yeh its hard to know..normally the lads/lassies in the technical bureau wear a fleece or jacket with "technical bureau-Crime scene Investigation" on the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

CSI:

do these CSI gurus have docorate degrees or what or is it more mundane tasks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

CSI:

do these CSI gurus have docorate degrees or what or is it more mundane tasks

I honestly don't know an answer to that....I don't think that their degree's would be doctorates because I know Sligo IT does a level 8 degree in Forensic Investigation and analysis .....so I don't knoww

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Are there many opportunities for civilians with IT knowledge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Are there many opportunities for civilians with IT knowledge?

Im only guessing here with some memory of a IT fella I used to work with who joined the AGS some years ago

There is an IT PULSE helpdesk manned 24/7 and if I remember correctly there was a recruitment drive maybe a year or two ago (but probably last year) for about 20-30 IT people to help in the roll-out of Tetra throughout the country.

I am guessing here but I believe that computers seized on the suspicion of containing child pornography are also sent to the Depot as well as computers seized on suspicion of having been involved in theft, fraud etc etc