Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Rebuilding Afghanistan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Flew back again. Delta, this time. No class upgrade, but did get a round of applause on the first flight, and moved to an exit row on the second (Plus a free $2 headset...)

Someone seems to have low expectations. From the local Fox news affiliate...

NTM
    Hell, some guy building a casino went bust for the sake of eight hundred dollars. :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

The thread title buggs the poo outta me.

It should be renamed, "Americanising Afghanistan.

Japen
    Iraq
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Mexico
    Vietnam
    Israel.

Have I missed anymore countries that they rebuilt, I mean Americanised.

lmao at this thread.:rolleyes::D Delusional society at its best.

The other one is we are making peace they by invading it. ROFL... Why do people A watch T.v, B listen to bull**** and C follow the bull****.I really think the thread title is inappropriate and insulting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

mysterious wrote: »

There's a fair few here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Japen
    Iraq
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Mexico
    Vietnam
    Israel.

The other one is we are making peace they by invading it. ROFL... Why do people A watch T.v, B listen to bull**** and C follow the bull****.I really think the thread title is inappropriate and insulting.

Everyone brings joy to this forum. some when they enter, others when they leave.

Feel free to decide which category you fall into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

Japen
    Iraq
    Iran
    Saudi Arabia
    Mexico
    Vietnam
    Israel.

How many Afghan people have you spoken too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

Suggestion: Don't respond to Mysterious on this thread. If you just ignore him, he will eventually go away.

Manic, are your unit mainly working alongside Americans, or are there other ISAF bods about?

EvilMonkey wrote: »
    How many Afghan people have you spoken too?
    I've talked a few in person.
    Friends with two pakistanis that I work with. They live near the border of Afghanistan. They tell me what goes on in these countries. This mean's it's not biased. It's my job as human being. I question reality. I talk to people from every culture. I don't talk about ronaldo and britney spears to strangers. I talk about realism. I ask people the conflict in their regions. Another thing I do, everyime I talk to someone foreign I ask about their country in their opeion. I talk to many Eastern taxi drivers about these topics. So am I to believe in realism, or the bull**** on this thread? "rebuilding" Afghanistan, when thousands are going to die, for greed. What does rebuilding mean in this context. I find it insulting and derogetory.

I talk to many people online from their. I do my research:) I make sure I look at the overall situation of any particular situation.I I study this in the best of my own abilities. Thus meaning not relying on the media. I'm going to Dubai this year too. I think it's very dangerous to read titles on such threads as this and follow the mainstream media interpretation of what goes on in other countries.

It's like the American who ask's us down south about how we put up with the war here. You mean the bombs in Belfast. They don't get it. They watch T.V and believe it as real. This is thread is a classic example. Guess people haven't learned even still in 2009

Duffers wrote: »
    Suggestion: Don't respond to Mysterious on this thread. If you just ignore him, he will eventually go away.

Manic, are your unit mainly working alongside Americans, or are there other ISAF bods about?

So we just blindly accept the delusion.

And ignorantly believe that we are in Afghanistan to liberate it.
    Seriously I would like to know.

I see you ignore reality already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

I'm very quickly running out of patience with the constant ramblings from certain people in this forum.

It stops now or people are going on holiday.

I don't know, they're kindof amusing.

It's primarily an American sector I'm going to, but there should be some Romanians and Jordanians running about.. And, of course, the Afghans. Some of my lads, scattered around the country, are liable to interact with French, Canadian and Hungarian troops.

NTM

Currently travelling. Made it as far as Norfolk, Virginia, picking up a bunch of Air Force types from Hawaii. Bless the Navy, the Squids are good for something: Their terminal has a power socket and free wi-fi.

Rank hath its priviliges, at least when the chartered jet has a first class cabin. This should be the most enjoyable trans-atlantic hop I've ever done. Sadly, not swinging through Shannon, the money's going to Leipzig instead.

NTM

Made it to Manas. Never heard of the place before a week or two ago, that I can recall.

Have seen some Romanians and two French pilots. The weather here is so much better than in Indiana. Beautiful. And the mountains off in the distance are absolutely majestic.

NTM

Made it to the right country, at least. Bagram.

Ran into three Irish people selling cars. One from Limerick, one from Kildare, and a lass from Galway.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Yes, for some reason a lot of Irish have been recruited over the years to sell cars to US troops in bases in Iraq and Afghanistan. Not sure why. Is it the so called 'blarney' effect. I once considered applying myself. Makes you realise how big those US bases are when they have a military car sales section manned by civvies, not to mention all those fast food joints. War what war?

Near as I can tell, somewhere between 1/3 and half the population at the largest US bases are civilian. There are some 6,000 Afghans alone employed in Bagram, pop about 30,000. My little base here in Methar-Lam (I have arrived, BTW) is 95% military.

CH-47 from Bagram to M-L. Ride wasn't as bad as I had expected, though I'm no fan of riding helos in combat zones: If anything happens, there's not a thing I can do to affect the outcome.

Bagram actually is a pretty lousy base. Very disappointed.

NTM

Fridays is apparently Surf and Turf day. Crab legs today, it alternates with lobster tail. Not being a seafood fan, I ate the surprisingly palatable steak.

It would appear also that I have lucked into becoming the liason with the neighbouring French unit. Mainly because of my job in the Plans cell, partially because I speak some French. This is apparently a plum assignment, because French military showers are co-ed, and the local unit is far enough away that overnights are not unheard of. I wonder what their chow hall is like?

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

delighted to hear you have arrived Nick. Hope you are enjoying it! Remember my rule, Never trust the Dubs or the French!:D

Just looked at Mehtar-Lam on Google maps, right between mountains, looks like a nice area!

Have a good and safe tour for you and your men, I look forward to reading any updates.

Gavin.

PS; What's the internet speed like in the back arse middle of Afghan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Dont think war has ever sounded so fun. Wish i had signed up many moons ago.

4th of July. Fireworks day.

Of course, we have no official fireworks, but plenty of things that go 'bang.' So the EOD guys blew up a 500lb bomb and a couple of Hellfire missiles they had laying around. This evening's entertainment shall be provided by illum, HE and WP rounds from the base's 155mm guns. There's a block party going on just on the other side of the wall, BBQ, music....

You can find some weird stuff here. Took me a while to ID the SPG-82 and DP-28 they've got lying around.

NTM

24-hour clocks take some getting used to. If you're in a room with no windows, and you see the hour hand way up at the top left corner, you're there thinkng it's almost bedtime when in fact it's only just gone half-past seven...

NTM

Just to prove I really am out here...

Or maybe they've just played a horrible trick on us, and we're actually somewhere in Northern Nevada.

The RG-31 is far and away the least comfortable military vehicle I've ever travelled in.

NTM

You know the locals trust you when the local village elder comes up to you with his son and says "My son is fat, dumb and lazy. What can you do to fix this?"

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

when i first started reading this page (5) i thought you'd be in the british army until you said flying over virgina.....

you from ireland originally? or are yoU a full blooded yank? :p
    just wondering because most irish join the british army.

ohh and do you have any involvement in operation panthers claw?
    beside airstrikes that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Nice pic MM. I hope you politely told said father you were good, but miracles!.....come on.

Nice gucci M4 mag.

you from ireland originally? or are yoU a full blooded yank?
    just wondering because most irish join the british army.

Dad's Irish. Worked for the Dept of Foreign Affairs, was posted to California when I popped out. Got US citizenship as a result through a loophole which has since been closed. (Either that, or nobody bothered to check the details). Greek mother, raised primarily in Dublin. Moved to the US for civilian reasons some time ago, then joined up.
    ohh and do you have any involvement in operation panthers claw?
    beside airstrikes that is

No. I'm a tanker/cav scout, so I have little to do with airstrikes.

NTM

Nice gucci M4 mag.

It works :)

Dear God, I just had a traumatic experience. I've not had to use that much French in over a decade at least. I just wanted to ask the neighbouring base "Hi! We're new here. Mind if we drop by for a few hours and pay a visit?"

Difficult, over mobile 'phone when we're both in busy operations centres. Took about 20 minutes.

NTM

Hopefully you got the invite. Was just thinking, how was his English?(your French opposite) Mate of mine who had worked with the French overseas before found it really frustrating when he found out after a fortnight or so of trying to communicate with his opposite in pigeon French....that the guy had impecable English! But refused to use it. :P

When I said Gucci mag, I meant it. Haven't seen a clear STANAG on an M4. Easy confirmation of rounds.

Poor. He managed to get a 'you're welcome' out after a bit of thought when I said 'thanks' in English.

I think if he spoke English he'd have used it just to end the frustration and to get back to doing something productive.

As referenced in another thread, we lost an MRAP off the side of a cliff when the road collapsed. We have now removed the thing, but how do you get a 20-ton truck up a 40 foot drop when the road is too narrow for a proper crane? (At least one which doesn't fall into the cliff after the truck...which happened)

My favourite proposal, which they did bring the equipment out for, was to put 20x155mm rounds in the back, and set them off. The remaining pieces should be of such a size that we can pick them up with a winch. As this was being briefed, we asked the EOD guys whether or not they were using too much. The famous last words answer came back: "As far as we know, nobody's ever tried to blow up an MRAP like this, so we have no idea how much it's going to take"

However, we decided that since we were only 50 yards from buildings that this might be overly destructive. The next thought was to use torches to simply cut it apart, but that had its own problems, namely time, and the fact that the operation would light up the entire valley. Finally they settled on linear shaped charges, had them flown in, and just blew it apart scientifically.

NTM

I take it by the way you're describing this, that no one was injured when this vehicle decided to take the scenic route?

One purple heart from being shot at. Sitting in one place for five days tends to draw attention.

Not serious, bullet fragments to the shoulder. His first time out the wire.

NTM

One purple heart from being shot at. Sitting in one place for five days tends to draw attention.

Not serious, bullet fragments to the shoulder. His first time out the wire.

NTM

Ah, poor fella, Hope he gets well soon.

What in God's name was AFN thinking? (Armed Forces Network, the military TV/Propoganda station). I'm eating lunch in the chow hall, and they're showing the Hooters Pageant. Including the swimsuit competition. Don't they know what that'll do to people who are away from anything but military females for most of a year?!

That said, I got an email from the squadron XO the other day, saying he just discovered he had an urgent staff meeting to attend next week. Looking up the date, it seems that the New England Patriots Cheerleaders are at the base our Brigade headquartered in on that date... Hmmm..

Rolled another MRAP. Broken nose, a few bruises. At least it didn't go over a cliff, we hauled it the right way up.

NTM

Another MRAP, did ye ever do that to a tank when you were in Iraq? Admit it MM, you just prefer Tanks, so you are hoping to get a few back!:D

Also, regarding the NE Patriot Girls, sounds like a fairly urgent meeting to me, ensure you attend.:D

Another MRAP, did ye ever do that to a tank when you were in Iraq?

We may have had the odd incident with road edges...
    sunk.JPG

COD1.jpg

But at least when they worked, they had a proper gun and real armour!

Anyone know when the next Ireland-France match is? I have to make sure my schedule has me at their base for it, I just know it's not going to be shown on the American TV.

NTM

They need to get some Paddys over there to sort out the bloody tarmac in that country.

No one even knows why they are fighting over there rofl.........

Yup, noone knows about the Taliban or their horrid regime of torture and death of anyone who didn't agree with them. Their Suppresion of the freedom of the Afghani people and the Funding and Support of global terrorism.

Noone knows about that at all.

Keep up the Good work MM, and please, stop fecking about with $750,000 vehicles!!!! Your making me depressed I don't even have a push-bike.:p

Well, I tell you, if they ever get this country sorted out, it's going to have a hell of a tourist industry. Drove up a wonderful canyon for white-water rafting.

Found the local French base, usual kit, VBL, VABs. Turns out they're Foreign Legion. Ran into a couple of brits (Including the Sergeant-Major) but though I'd heard there were Irish people there, I didn't encounter any.

Anyone got a buddy in the Legion at "Tora", near Surobi?

NTM

Few piccies.

NTM

Few more piccies.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Looks like a beautiful country,a pity about it being filled with relgious fanatics!

Stay safe,and keep the pics coming!

try to take as many pics as you can......youll be able too look back on them when you holdaying there in your 70s :)

and i want to see them.
    Looks like a beautiful country,a pity about it being filled with relgious fanatics!

id be more worried about IEDs. and the suicide bombers :(....
    at least (some) terrorists in the 70s had a bit of class and rang an hour before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Those are excellent pics - thanks for posting them. You should put them in the military photos thread too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Mousey- wrote: »
    at least (some) terrorists in the 70s had a bit of class

They also had nice hair and moustaches unlike nowadays with their silly beards!

Forgot this one. We have quite a busy little LZ here, much cargo and almost all troop movement is done by air. Also functions as a FARP.

This is definitely a different sort of war for me. Last time out, I sent home an email saying "Send me a rifle sight." This time, I sent one home saying "send me a USB keyboard."

NTM

lol..loved the "bayonet chapel"

Probably shortly to be renamed Wildhorse Chapel. The unit we replaced was an infantry unit out of Illinois, radio callsign "Bayonet"

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Manic, are you able to comment on the captured American soldier? Is he just trying to stay alive? His responses appear very scripted.

Actually, we're not really tracking it, beyond "Stupid idiot, what was he thinking?"

A chap at this base tried the same thing a while ago, put on civvies, snuck off the base, and went downtown. He survived the experience. At least, so goes the story.

Today was our official 'Transfer of Authority' ceremony, although in practise we took over last week: The only people left from Bayonet were the Chaplain, the Command Sergeant Major, and the Battalion Commander. Governors of Illinois (Outgoing unit), Nevada (Incoming unit) and Laghman (Afghan province) were in attendance.

Almost immediately afterwards there was a KIA. HMMWV took a corner too fast and rolled over. Not from our unit, or even our AO, they were just passing through. Most everyone on the base lined up to see the remains put on the helicopter.

One of the squadron's platoons in another province got into quite a scrap, five confirmed enemy killed. Best we've done in our province so far is two enemy wounded and a PKM captured. (Same incident that our gunner got grazed)

Interesting day.

NTM