Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea v Liverpool X - Match Thread 14/4/09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

After the pen, the ref seemed to be trying to balance things up with every50:50 challenge ending up as frees to Chelsea.

Torres waiting for injury time - got two in injury time at Stamford Bridge the last time.

While Chelsea have gotten the ball into the box they havent really created a decent chance

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

lol, this is ****ing brilliant to watch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I wonder who all the UTD fans (except Boogles and maybe Redout) are going for?!!:p

Does not matter only one team gettin to the final from that side - Barca :) actually don't know why Liverpool are trying so hard to win this, Chelsea know what I'm talking about that's what they are letting it go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Agger to come on for Lucas and score in the 93rd minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

theres never a dull day with liverpool in europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Need two more I'd say, Chelesa will deffo nick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Wait for it, it's all down to Chelsea.
    Nothing to do with Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Missed the second goal. Fair play to Liverpool they are making a real go of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Just a thought - Would Aurelio have been taking the free kick if Stevie had been on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Houghton stating the obvious. He was too far to the right.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Come on Liverpool Torres Winner now in the 90th minute

Just a thought - Would Aurelio have been taking the free kick if Stevie had been on?

From the right, yes.
    (UTD game.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

ohhhh rte have a new toy

Dunphy has called Torres Alonso 4 times!!!!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hah Dunphy called Kuyt "Dick Out" :D

ohhhh rte have a new toy

Zoom zoom zoom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I wonder if Torres will rue not scoring that goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i dont support either team but never a dull moment when they meet in europe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

LoL at Skrtel......

The look on his face when he missed the open goal then 2 secs later when penalty awarded he thinks he is the King of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Alonso has been outstanding eh Boggles ? Its a pity he only has 20-25 decent games every 3 years isnt it ? :rolleyes:

From BBC Sport
    BBC Sport's David Garrido at Stamford Bridge: "Referee Luis Medina Cantalejo morphed into Demon Headmaster briefly there, giving Rafa and Sammy Lee a right telling off for coming out of their technical area… and then Hiddink comes along to tell the fourth official to lay off Rafa as well."

I really like Hiddink, the man has class.

mike65 wrote: »
    Agger to come on for Lucas and score in the 93rd minute.

odds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Dunphy has called Torres Alonso 4 times!!!!:confused:

ah he's the spanish football expert of the panel, he knows stuff we lesser men don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

This match so far proves that it's not delusional to support your club!! I'm so chuffed with the players. No matter what happens, we're making a fight of it and i'm loving it!!!

Houghton making a good point about the Arsenal match in 89. It's all very well giving stats about why Liverpool can't do it, but this is a different mindset at the beginning of the match. Chelsea have something to defend, Liverpool have nothing to lose.

A third goal for us would be massive because, obviously we need it, simple as that. But also the pressure on Chelsea would be enormous as any further Liverpool goals would require Chelsea getting two for Liverpool's one. Even if Chelsea score now, it means nothing except a possibly longer match. We need the third and if we get it...........well it's all gonna kick off!!

RTE panel fairly spot on for a change.

Dave! wrote: »
    Hah Dunphy called Kuyt "Dick Out" :D

I caught that.

That_Guy wrote: »

Not according to Dunphy, cause it was Alonso!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Chelsea are 18/1 get on!

Fernando wonders...

Not according to Dunphy, cause it was Alonso!:p

lol.

Chelsea are 18/1 get on!

To win rather than qualify I'm guessing.

Chelsea are 18/1 get on!

I'll have a piece of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Chelsea are 18/1 get on!

not too bad at all

I expect chelsea to play alot better thats for sure

Tusky wrote: »
    Alonso has been outstanding eh Boggles ? Its a pity he only has 20-25 decent games every 3 years isnt it ? :rolleyes:

I've never been more wrong about a player, and I've never been happier to be wrong.

Xabi.

smiley_applause.gif?t=1239738213

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Chelsea are 18/1 get on!

For a moment, I thought that was to qualify! Had me racing for the credit card... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Thank god we got that penalty because skrtels attept of a shot would have went down as one of the worst misses in the history of sport!

Giles reckons Chelsea players are frozen. Did they not warm up? :confused:

Looked like Hiddink was checking out the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

tok9 wrote: »
    Thank god we got that penalty because skrtels attept of a shot would have went down as one of the worst misses in the history of sport!

zaki already has that trophy

Tom65 wrote: »
    For a moment, I thought that was to qualify! Had me racing for the credit card... :o

PP aint SVDP

Some great touches by Lucas today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Cech is finished at the top.

Lucky escape for Chelsea there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Cech all over the place again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Now that the break has arrived, my big fear is that Chelsea come out angry and rip us apart like last week. But the tension of it all can lead to mistake!!

Lads, i'm fecking loving this.

As I was saying.

Lucas playing really well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Some great touches by Lucas today.

it's Lucash actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

I'm sure he already does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I wish Lucas would be taken off so that I don't have to hear the commentators call him LEW-CASH... Very annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Thought Lucas should have had a go at clipping that in with his left when he got ahead of czech. seemed to be a gap there.

Goal.