Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal (1) vs. (1) Villareal, CL QF 2nd. Leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,169 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Ugh that's a woeful defence. Gonna be a very nervy night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Frisbee wrote: »
    Source?

BBC Live Feed

1908: TEAM NEWS Arsenal v Villarreal
    Arsenal's defence is decimated. Bacary Sagna has a virus and joins William Gallas, Gael Clichy and Johan Djourou on the sidelines as well as keeper Manuel Almunia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Bacary Sagna has a virus

BBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Good bright start from the boys, Eboue and Walcott linking up well so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Yessssss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Lovely finish from Theo

Sweet finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

What a finish! Get in! Had just been going mad at Adebayor for not scoring. :P

Come on Arsenal, keep playing like this!

Nice finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

3.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Wreck wrote: »
    Eboue and Walcott linking up well so far.
    Looks like there could be some (more) joy for us there tonight alright...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

How dare any of you doubt Eboue - he's a handfull for anyone because no one knows what he's going to do next - including himself.

Not sure why but he's really worked his way back into my good books over the last few months.

If I've said it once I've said it a thousand times. Eboue is a very good right back.
    But he hasn't go the brain to be a midfielder.

gosplan wrote: »
    How dare any of you doubt Eboue - he's a handfull for anyone because no one knows what he's going to do next - including himself.

Not sure why but he's really worked his way back into my good books over the last few months.

I despair everytime I see his name on a team sheet.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,419 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

stream anyone? in the states cant see game :(

nevermind,got one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Walcott is having a cracker so far. Villareal don't look very good at all.

How did that stay out....

Silvestre booked. The chap for all his years experience is like a basket case. I was at the match on Saturday, and he's no better in the flesh. He's a massive weak link in the centre, I just hope Toure has a cracker tonight.

If I've said it once I've said it a thousand times. Eboue is a very good right back.
    But he hasn't go the brain to be a midfielder.

Yeah but he's great to give a bit of solidity in midfield although you've got to be sure where the goals are coming from before you include him.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,419 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Gonzalo doesn't look too strong......

Eboue's not without his merits,hes got heaps of pace, would score more if he worked on his finishing. Definitleyrather see him at right back than midfield

Great cross there from Eboue.:rolleyes:

Some of the referee's decisions for both teams have been baffling so far.

We've done well but 1-0 is a disappointing HT scoreline.
    We need to get another goal early in the second half or Villareal will get back into this game

We've done well but 1-0 is a disappointing HT scoreline.
    We need to get another goal early in the second half or Villareal will get back into this game

True that. If Villareal score it'll be panic stations. Putting games to bed hasnt been one of our strong points this season :(

Need the 2nd. Their centers are poor, I would like to see Eduardo in there against them.

Typical Arsenal. In control for long times but can't get a killer goal.

Just threw a fiver on Villareal to qualify at 7/1

yes!!!!!

*waits to see was he offside*

*celebrates*

Typical Arsenal. In control for long times but can't get a killer goal.

You'd get a better price now :D

Hopefully that's the last you'll see of that fiver.

I certainly hope so.

Man with the defence we have out there and the fact that Villareal have to really go all out now I'd love a third in the next couple of minutes just to really kill it off.

peno

and a red

Red card - Villareal imploding.

3-0 YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Very soft penalty
    Villareal are right to be outraged.

And now Villareal down to ten, completely unnecessary

Harsh peno!!

3-0, surely that's it

Can't believe I'm going to agree with Lou Macari here, but it was never a penalty. That will put paid to what was a good game. We're through, so happy days.:pac:

van Persie ye boyah

Looks like Denman's score prediction could be right. Although there is 20 mins to go:eek:

Fabianski has been out quick to everything tonight.

Fabregas -> Diaby
    Walcott -> Vela
    Adebayor -> Bendtner

,please Arsene

Wreck wrote: »
    Man with the defence we have out there and the fact that Villareal have to really go all out now I'd love a third in the next couple of minutes just to really kill it off.

Dear Match Thread, I would love a million euro and a super-hot girlfriend and a new PC in the next couple of minutes. Thanks in advance.

looks like Denilson is coming on

Why in the name of God are we risking Fabregas for the entire game?
    Completely unnecessary

Great performance from Song - his best yet IMO. Even during his poor games, I thought he showed good promise.

A massive player for our future - he's only 21!!!!!!!

Song has been absolutely fantastic in the middle for us tonight.
    Broke so much down and his passing is greatly improved

Looking forward to the Semi's now. Going to be some test, but if we have a full strength squad to choose from, will fancy our chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

That's it...So we are going to win the European Cup and the FA cup....that's alright for a bad season eh lads?

Arse would have been better off playing United in the quarter finals, when United's defense were all injured and Arsenal's weren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Arse would have been better off playing United in the quarter finals, when United's defense were all injured and Arsenal's weren't.

Quarter final of what? We just played the quarter final with 1 of our regular back 5....United had their full strength defence out tonight...what did I miss there?

Hmmm yes, I'm just thinking Arsenal's defense will probably still be missing come the next round. And playing United during one of their worst runs in years would definitely have been advantageous. I fully except them to get their shít together by the time the semis come around.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Special mention to Gibbs, he will be a top player for us.

Also great to see Tony Adams on sky sports coverage :)