Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the teachers living in the real world?

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

cobweb wrote: »
    I generally work a 12 hour day

You really expect me to believe that's the norm? I know some teachers and I know they do not work long days.

Of course there are exceptions, no one is trying to claim no teachers work hard. We just have a problem with the "we don't get paid enough" crap so many teachers come out with.

A couple of years ago I worked in tech support. I got 18k per year. Did I ever consider going on strike? My hole I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

stunning but as you point out that was in your day ie the past as most of the teachers I know now have trained in other professions and gone back as mature students so have professional and academic degrees and postgrads of various level. The days of Miss Jean Brodie are gone. If anyone can do it why did so many people drop out when I went back to study for it

That's not true. My ex was training as a teacher. I would classify the majority as her class as Miss Jean Brodie.

I don't see any point in pretending teachers are some kind of super-educated type. They aren't. They are normal people who have degrees.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

AARRRGH wrote: »
    That's not true. My ex was training as a teacher. I would classify the majority as her class as Miss Jean Brodie.

I don't see any point in pretending teachers are some kind of super-educated type. They aren't. They are normal people who have degrees.

Of course there not super-educated