Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Vs Everton FA Cup Semi 19/04/09

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Vaughan scores. Just. 3-1

Anderson scores. 3-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

fair play to everton. tough game well fought by both sides.

United were shocking on the penalties. Berba providing yet more ammunition for his haters; can't defend that penalty. Foster got no where near anything.

Legend penalty from Vidic though. :D

Oh well, the less impressive treble is still on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

ando great at the penos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

right in the sauce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

F**k..........

Well done Everton..gutted....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Well done Everton :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Well done everton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Sin É

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

QUADRUPLE ME ARSE!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Ha ha ha ha ha ha.:D Well done Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Deserved for the men in Blue. Hard to support either team :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Berba and Vida stopping on their run ups (was Berbas even a run ?) was a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

Sh!te...

Fair play Everton..

United..some sloppy penalties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

bloody robbed

but best of luck to everton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Lads to both sets of supporters that was a great match and big congrats to the utd young lads they were superb. Best of luck in the final to the Everton lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

ah well that ends the talk of the quintuple-what was up with Berbatovs penalty, the keeper had already dived before he hit it

I'd say theres a lot of United fans crumpling up their betting dockets now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

redout wrote: »
    Berba and Vida stopping on their run ups (was Berbas even a run ?) was a disgrace.

They did not stop they slowed down, you cannot stop after commencing your approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

not nice to go out when robbed of a blatant penalty looks like moyes is the new master in mind games.

fair play in the end they defended very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭allybhoy

Uniteds penalites have verged on madness/arrogance

So did their team\squad selection and they got their just rewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Fair play to Everton. Neither side really deserved it so it going to the penalty lottery was fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Well Fergie eventually managed to throw the game, just took him longer than he would have liked.

thegen wrote: »
    Ladsto both sets of supporters that was a great match and big congrats to the utd young lads they were superd. Best of luck in the final to the Everton lads.

Wouldnt call that a great match by any stretch.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Ha ha ha ha ha ha.:D Well done Everton.

Funny, I was saying the same when they dumped ye out earlier in the competition

allybhoy wrote: »
    So did their team\squad selection and they got their just rewards

huh? they were a shockingly bad ref desicion away from been in the final

the team was more than good enough to win

and if the ref did his job they would have

team selection my bottom

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Disapointing. Thats all I can bring myself to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

good man Berbatov..... someone should really tell him to give a c$%p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

They did not stop they slowed down, you cannot stop after commencing your approach.
    You can. You must not dummy it or move backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I think its a fair result. Everton deserved the victory I think on the balance of play.

While I think penalties are a bit of luck, I think having 2 CB's take penalties was just silly. Gibson takes penos week in week out for the reserves. Tevez always steps up and takes the big penalties.

Nonetheless, out of the FA Cup. Disappointed but not completely downhearted. I was happy with Fergie's team that he put out, and I was happy that the biggest game between this and the Wednesday game, was the Wednesday game. Still though, never nice to go out of the FA Cup.

People will focus on the penalty, I'm sure they will, but the one thing I'd like people to remember is that Riley is not a pro-United ref, he's just a **** ref. Ultimately, things will probably go in favour of us at some point in the rest of the season, you need a lot of luck to win in all comps.

Good luck to Everton and Moyes in the final. I hope they beat Chelsea, although I sadly suspect they will not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Xavi6 wrote: »

Gracious much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Iago wrote: »
    Well Fergie eventually managed to throw the game, just took him longer than he would have liked.

lol so true. I'm pretty sure Vidic and Rio have never taken a peno in there career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

On the balance of play in normal time Utd probably marginally shaded it. No gripes from me, however, congrats to Everton.
    Berbatov's penalty effort was a joke however and didn't set the right tone.

Xavi6 wrote: »

yeah guess we'll just have to make do with the treble :rolleyes: who do you support btw?

Daysha wrote: »
    Gracious much?

Hes a Man City fan, all he has left is Uniteds demise;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Didn't know who to cheer for but

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Berbatov is such a lazy arrogant w@nker.

The fvcker has some talent but he doesnt belong at a club like united. Cant stand the look of his sulky head. His pk summed up the apathy with which he approaches the game.

Liam O wrote: »
    yeah guess we'll just have to make do with the treble :rolleyes: who do you support btw?

the richest club in the world

don't think they're in any of the comps tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Daysha wrote: »
    Gracious much?

Ah cry me a river. All we've been hearing is about this clean sweep, and now it's gone tits up. Excuse me for commenting on it.
    Liam O wrote: »

Maybe you will, maybe not. Tune in to find out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

bloody hell berbatov sums up his season in one peno

Best of luck to everton....well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,725 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Congrats Everton, hope ye go on and win it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Great result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Hes a Man City fan, all he has left is Uniteds demise;)
    Ah well , shocking game, 120 mins of my life wasted!

Fergie had no desire to be in this from the looks of it.

Fair play to Everton, well done and best of luck in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

The team that was selected was not good enough to win the match.
    The performance of the players was not good enough win the match.
    The choice of penalty takers was not good enough to win the match.

Im not suprised we didnt win.

Well done Everton, congratulations and good luck in the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

yeeeeeeeesssssssssssss!!

what a poxy game, that peno was harsh but would have been difficult for riley to have seen that contact

**** me, nerve wrecking. have to say Everton took good penos, I was crapping myself.

ntlbell wrote: »
    the richest club in the world

don't think they're in any of the comps tho :D

oh LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭allybhoy

ntlbell wrote: »
    huh? they were a shockingly bad ref desicion away from been in the final

the team was more than good enough to win

and if the ref did his job they would have

team selection my bottom

Take off them red shades. The analysts on ITV were split 50-50 on it, Sherringham said yes Joe said no. It was in no way a STONE WALL penalty especially watching it in real time. Utd should have put out their best team, destroyed Everton in the first half and then made a few subs. You telling me Rooney\Ronaldo enjoyed being rested for that or would they have preferred to have been out there?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Well done everton.
    Vidic was outstanding again, totally dominant, it has to between himself and Gerrard for player of the year.
    As a pool fan id love if we had him alongside Skyrtel or Agger for the furure.
    Baines ran him close as MOTM as did Lescott and Jagielka.
    I was quite impressed with some of manc young lads, Welbeck looks a lot better prospect than the overhyped Macheda imo.
    Gibson looks decent as do them twins.
    I had to lol at Berbas peno miss, a lazy effort from a lazy player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Fair play Everton.
    The Good game ,bar the peno's ,was quiet happy with Utd's performance Rio and Vidic where back to their best , Vidic had a monster of a game, The "KIDS " all did great .
    But again fair play to Everton .....
    Best of luck in May.