Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RFRF this weekend: 17/18 April

• 16-04-2009 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭

Bill O'Herlihy won't be there...

17 Apr 2009 Bray Wanderers 7:45 Derry City Carlisle Grounds
    17 Apr 2009 Dundalk 7:45 Cork City Oriel Park
    17 Apr 2009 Galway United 7:45 Shamrock Rovers Terryland Park
    17 Apr 2009 St Patrick's Athletic 7:45 Drogheda United Richmond Park
    18 Apr 2009 Sligo Rovers 8:00 Bohemians :cool: The Showgrounds

Sligo away will be interesting...
    And g'wan Bray!

head_logo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Which game is on TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

None this week afaik. Setanta have signed up the LOI so I'd imagine they are stopping RTE from showing it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Be fairly glad with a point in Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

iregk wrote: »
    None this week afaik. Setanta have signed up the LOI so I'd imagine they are stopping RTE from showing it.

When did this happen?

First Div

UCD v Wexford
    Fingal v Shels
    Limerick v Kildare
    Mervue v Longford
    Waterford v Mons
    Athlone v Harps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Des wrote: »
    When did this happen?

First Div

UCD v Wexford
    Fingal v Shels
    Limerick v Kildare
    Mervue v Longford
    Waterford v Mons
    Athlone v Harps

I hope Shels beat Fingal. There. I said it. And Wexford beat UCD.

SectionF wrote: »
    I hope Shels beat Fingal. There. I said it. And Wexford beat UCD.

Neither will happen.

Shels are down to bare bones squad-wise, and UCD are unbeatable it seems.

Doesn't matter though, I have a feeling next seasons division status won't be decided on the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Anounced two weeks back Des.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

RTE, Setanta and TG4 all have rights to a certain amount of games every season, RTE tend to get theirs in at the start and end of the season so they dont have to show any during gah season. Setanta announced their upcoming games in the last couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

UCD are unbeatable it seems.

UCD looked very beatable against Shels last week. Had Shels managed to keep 11 men on the pitch for the rest of the game I reckon they would've got at least a draw out of it.

Though I think they will beat Wexford comfortably

Setanta previews here

Deegan is back for us, which is good news. I thought he had another week suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,960 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Deegan is back for us, which is good news. I thought he had another week suspended.

Well even if he is, it never stopped you playing suspended players in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Clicked in the thread to see what RFRF was,

Rejected From Real Football,

am off now :P

Cheerio. Say hi to Bill for us!

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Well even if he is, it never stopped you playing suspended players in the past.

Cherishing your memories of the top flight. That's good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Setanta "stopping RTE from showing it"? Don't be daft. RTE have the pick of whatever games they want, i.e. the bare minimum they have to under their contract with the FAI. Setanta show a certain amount of games, but there has never been any wrangling between RTE and Setanta over the right to show a LOI game. Simply put, nobody wanted to show a game this week.

There's a lot of debate among Galway United fans concerning the 4-5-1 formation they employ in every game. The close-season signing, Declan Edwards seems to be staking a claim for a start ahead of Vinny Faherty as a lone striker, even though with the effort Faherty has put in during each game, it would be harsh to drop him.

Now that United have 2 strikers that seem to be of the required standard, it may be time for them to revert back to a conventional 4-4-2 against Shamrock Rovers. The back four have generally been solid so far, excepting one or two blips, so the original reason for having Sean Kelly sit in front of the defense doesn't really exist any longer. With Seamus Conneely a doubt, Foster may well be forced to move Sean Kelly into his right back position, but from what I have seen of Kelly and Conneely so far, this doesn't necessarily weaken the defense at all.

Jay O'Shea has looked disinterested at best during the last few games and really needs to get into gear. When Shane Fitzgerald is fit again, I'd fancy him to push O'Shea for his spot if he doesn't buck up.
    Derek O'Brien is a doubt also, as per http://galwayunitedfc.net/, due to an ankle injury. Iarfhlaith Davoren should be more than capable of filling the void there, but it would create a problem at left back. Another new signing Mark O'Toole could slot in, but doesn't yet seem to have the fitness required to last the distance and he hasn't figured in a league game yet thus far.

One might argue that in a 10 team league, there are few games you could ease someone into action with, but Rovers would hardly be one of them, if such a game existed. Paul Sinnott is another who could slot in at left back, but he has only made a quartet of senior appearances as a sub in the league since joining the United's u21's in 2007.

I think a switch back to 4-4-2 would be the best option for Friday, as with Jay not performing and Derek O'Brien a doubt, United seriously need some teeth to their attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Rovers to beat Galway tonight.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Drogheda to beat Pats.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Not confident about tonights match against Cork in Oriel. Lots of injuries and a couple of suspensions plus an almost full strength team lost 3-0 to Shels in the League Cup last Monday. Shocking. Cork are in decent form and should take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Shels to beat Fingal 2-1, Hynes and Madden.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Elonex

Shel's won't win tonight.

3nil Fingal or 4-3 Fingal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Would be nice to get some sort of a result against Mervue tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Drogheda to beat Pats.

Agreed.

No!!!! 1-0 to the Saints. Quigley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

We're 1-0 down to the Hoops after 4 mins.:(
    feck make that 2 down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

galwayrush wrote: »
    We're 1-0 down to the Hoops after 4 mins.:(
    feck make that 2 down

1-2 now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

1-3, hattrick for Gary Twigg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

CiaranC wrote: »

:cool:

Fungal beat Shels, thanks in no small part to the poxy ref.

Disallowed a goal for Shels to go one up for some inexplicable reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,960 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Cherishing your memories of the top flight. That's good.

Keep backing the Two Gerries and we might see you in a league match soon enough. :)
    Fungal beat Shels, thanks in no small part to the poxy ref.

Disallowed a goal for Shels to go one up for some inexplicable reason.

Apparently he apologised to Bisto about it later.

Nothing like free tickets to boost your support. Well done Franchise. Afraid of your "support" being shown up today? :rolleyes:

Galway United v Shamrock Rovers Highlights

High definition - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEpBKXDfujM&fmt=22

Normal quality - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CEpBKXDfujM

Nice one Bray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Happy about the results in Division 1 tonight.

Dont want Shels or UCD to be running away with it at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Not worried about Fingal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Nice one Bray!
    Derry hammered us in the first half and then we got back into it in the second half.

That dodgy keeper Jennings has to be at fault for our goal. McCabe shot from the edge of the box and it landed the middle of the goal. Jennings stood still looking like he didn't know which way to dive. That said, I don't think it took a deflection. He just looked clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Keep backing the Two Gerries and we might see you in a league match soon enough. :)

One Gerry gone, one to go.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Pretty convincing win for Rovers. Never really looked troubled:cool:

Sligo were well worth the draw -- and surely will climb the table. Good atmosphere too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Would be nice to get some sort of a result against Mervue tonight :(

Ugh :( Going to be a looong season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Sligo were well worth the draw -- and surely will climb the table. Good atmosphere too!

As in we should have murdered ye in the first half!:D & :(

We missed O'Grady's *physicality in the second half
    Young Torpey has the makings of a footballer but is a bit small yet

*I believe thats what they call it in the quality papers:rolleyes:

Good game, good craic, fair result overall!