Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*Charcoal* BBQ/Grilling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭terenurebob

Brian? wrote: »
    It's only a problem for poultry, which you don't need to do a minion or fuse method. A whole chicken takes no more than 90 minutes, even the worst briquettes will burn for that amount of time.

Some briquettes have starting fuel soaked into them which is why you have to wait until they are grey. Other briquettes don't have this which is why the minion or snake method can be used. I always use the Weber briquettes which are not pre soaked in fuel.

I also had that problem with old briquettes I bought in ALDI and the food tasted rotten because they smoked, I assume they had soaked up some moisture over winter.

I switched to Webber briquettes about 4 years ago and have found them to be the best.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Some briquettes have starting fuel soaked into them which is why you have to wait until they are grey. Other briquettes don't have this which is why the minion or snake method can be used. I always use the Weber briquettes which are not pre soaked in fuel.

I also had that problem with old briquettes I bought in ALDI and the food tasted rotten because they smoked, I assume they had soaked up some moisture over winter.

I switched to Webber briquettes about 4 years ago and have found them to be the best.

Yep. No one should ever buy instant light charcoal.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,194 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Was in TJ O Mahoney in Prosperous earlier, they have Sahara bbq 's in stock. None to be got this time last year.

It's worth spending a bit extra on charcoal.

The weber charcoal for example burns hotter and longer than bags of stuff from the petrol station. if I'm grilling with the cheaper stuff I find I have to use more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I similarly had a weird sooty flavour from using cheap generic briquettes before.
    Used the Weber Charcoal briquettes last weekend for the first time on my Weber Smokey Mountain. A single load did a 7 hour beef chuck roast with enough left over to reignite it and do a chicken the next day. So definitely worth it in my opinion. No off flavours at all.
    It also burned generally hotter. I had to keep the vents nearly completely closed to keep it at 110c, whereas the other stuff I had them wide open and still had to keep regularly stoking it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭budgemook

Just in case anyone doesn't know, the Lidl bbq lighters are back. Got my usual two boxes for the summer this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭chases0102

For anyone who has the Weber Master-Touch, did people buy a cover? If so, did ye go with the official Weber one or seek an alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ryath

Have an 57cm Original Kettle and this has been very good. Much heavier duty than the Weber own brand one. VAT to come of so about €15 if you have prime.

https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B012VMKHCA/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,924 ✭✭✭squonk

I have a master touch. I went with the official Weber cover at the time. It’s been fine so far but the bbq is in a shed over winter. I’m not sure how confident I’d be if it was wintering outdoors. It’s a fine cover but I’m not sure how long it’d last exposed to the elements.

That Amazon one looks the business alright. It’s also a hell of a lot easier on the pocket than the Weber one.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭conor_ie

Home Store & More do decent bbq covers as well, I had one of theirs on my master touch outside over winter and it did the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭lisij

chases0102 wrote: »
    For anyone who has the Weber Master-Touch, did people buy a cover? If so, did ye go with the official Weber one or seek an alternative?

Got this cover Bosmere Protector 6000 Storm Black Kettle BBQ Cover - Black, D700 https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00GGM41SS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_SQ5JAFV13TAA3S86A191?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1 last year, really happy with it, kettle was outside all year, cover held up really well

conor_ie wrote: »
    Home Store & More do decent bbq covers as well, I had one of theirs on my master touch outside over winter and it did the job

I’ve used B&Q covers in the past for about 10-15 euro depending on size and can’t fault them at all- limited stock in my branch recently though in terms of sizes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭hargo

I picked up a starter chimney in Supervalu today for €8 if anyone interested. They are a great way to light coals red hot in 10 minutes

Spent the day in the kitchen on Sunday making smoked pork belly Gua Bao. I made a rub for the pork belly with chinese 5 spice in it and threw it on the bbq for the day. To go with it a bbq sauce made with hoi sin sauce and gochujang, carrots and cucumber pickled in rice wine vinegar and steamed bao buns which were what took most of the day to make - might go for frozen ones next time!

The pork belly was really excellent - cooked away at 250F(ish) until it got to about 195F in the meaty part - about 6.5 hours for a 1.5lb piece of pork belly, it stalled at 170F for a bit. It was melt in the mouth - definitely one of my favourite cuts to barbecue but only the odd time as it's so rich. Leftovers today went into fried rice, as is often the case.

ZqJvoOBl.jpg

l168XQ4l.jpg

83ZrVnSl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭laros

So ... for anyone who is interested..... Binchotan charcoal is now available in Ireland .. But Yikes.... the price.... :eek::eek::eek:
    https://greatnorthernlarder.com/collections/charcoal/products/kishu-white-hanmaru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

laros wrote: »
    So ... for anyone who is interested..... Binchotan charcoal is now available in Ireland .. But Yikes.... the price.... :eek::eek::eek:
    https://greatnorthernlarder.com/collections/charcoal/products/kishu-white-hanmaru

Is that a joke?! Where are they going!!?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Is that a joke?! Where are they going!!?

That has to be a typo surely???

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭bamayang

Looks good, doesn’t work

Be hard find a more conclusive 4 word review!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Looks good, doesn’t work

Cheers. Was tempted to purchase. Have you tried or is it just reviews?

ArielAtom wrote: »

Hi, I have a kettle bbq and I have a pizza oven. A friend of mind had one of these things and its poor.

The biggest difference between a pizza oven and a kettle (assuming you even could get a kettle bbq to pizza cooking temps with this gaping hole in it) is the fact that regardless of how many pizza gadgets you buy for it, a kettle bbq can’t provide the top flame which creates the beautiful leopard spotted neapolitan pizza crusts.

Will it cook pizza? Sure. Will it cook it well? Not at all. In fact I’d say you’d probably hold a better temperature by simply putting the lid on rather than using this yoke. Save the money and put it towards an Ooni or something.

Edit - I should say, if you’re after perfect pizza then don’t bother with this. If however you want the kids to have a bit of craic, then maybe its fun - and as you know, there’s no such thing as bad pizza!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭laros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Iv seen this creeping in a lot. €400 for a bag of charcoal, €4,500 for an outdoor 6 seater ,€150 for an 18inch high acer tree in my local super valu(which I can get for €20 online). It seems that a business will chance their arm to get the highest possible, if somebody is willing to pay it, then there’s a market. Will this charcoal make your meat taste better or cook better? So is there value for money, or is it a case of somebody thinking it must be better if it’s 20 times the price of the other satisfactory brand.

That would be used for yakitori grilling I think

I say this with no experience with the stuff, but with absolute certainty, there’s absolutely no way you would even tell the difference between meat cooked on €400 charcoal vs that from the blue bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Anyone pick up any wood chunks recently either online or around South Dublin? Seem to be sold out most places. Looking for hickory and apple

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭FCB1899

griffdaddy wrote: »
    Anyone pick up any wood chunks recently either online or around South Dublin? Seem to be sold out most places. Looking for hickory and apple

I got some fairly recently from Great Northern Larder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

griffdaddy wrote:

Got some last week in goodwood fuels in Drogheda he had a great selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Thanks guys, I'll take a look

• Registered Users Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Cork Boy

ArielAtom wrote: »

I know it's not grilling but I get fantastic results using a non stick pan. Get it screaming hot and add your base. Sauce and dress the pizza. The underside of the base should have brown spots on it by now (check with a spoon).

Finish the pizza in the pan under a screaming hot grill.

This is a fantastic base recipe: https://www.ilovecooking.ie/food-tv/patrick-ryans-no-fuss-sourdough-pizza/

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

Hi guys...

I've a 26 inch mastertouch with the hinged lid...
    Does anyone else have one and use the rotisserie or the pizza converter? How do you find taking the hinge out to use it?

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Shakey_jake

Chinese Lamb Kebabs (Yang Rou Chuan)

OwcI01F.jpg

eilI3rO.jpg

XQdu6jO.jpg

NdW9dsH.jpg

4Tye66v.jpg

soen081.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,384 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Cork Boy wrote: »
    I know it's not grilling but I get fantastic results using a non stick pan. Get it screaming hot and add your base.
    I use a uncoated cast iron pan/skillet.

Most non stick pans will be ruined if you get them "screaming hot" esp. if there is no oil on them.

rubadub wrote: »

Most non stick pans will be ruined if you get them "screaming hot" esp. if there is no oil on them.

Mine looks destroyed but still doesn't stick. Nearly 10 years old now. Maybe it's been seasoned through use *shrugs shoulders*

rubadub wrote: »

They won't be destroyed. They can be re seasoned

they/them/theirs

They won't be destroyed. They can be re seasoned

Non stick pans can be re-seasoned? I don't think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,744 ✭✭✭con747

budgemook wrote: »
    Non stick pans can be re-seasoned? I don't think so

Have a google on that. https://www.wikihow.com/Re‐Season-a-Nonstick-Pan
    Just one of many ways.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,924 ✭✭✭squonk

picachu wrote: »
    Hi guys...

I've a 26 inch mastertouch with the hinged lid...
    Does anyone else have one and use the rotisserie or the pizza converter? How do you find taking the hinge out to use it?

Where did you get the 26”? I’ve seen YouTube stuff with guys using them in the states but I didn’t see them on the Weber site here.

con747 wrote: »
    Have a google on that. https://www.wikihow.com/Re‐Season-a-Nonstick-Pan
    Just one of many ways.

Ok. Seasoning and non stick coating are not the same thing. When the non stick coating is done, the pan is done. Seasoning one seems a bit redundant to me.

But anyway, not a topic for a bbq forum I suppose.

I use mini frying pans on my bbq for eggs amongst other things so I don't see why it's not a valid topic. If you don't agree that non stick pans with scratches or other flaws can be re-seasoned that's your opinion, there are plenty of ways to do it effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ryath

I guess it's just down to how you feel about eating bits of Teflon whether to stay using an old scratched pan. It's probably safe enough it inert but not very appetizing. I'm very careful with my non stick pans I don't use full heat on them when empty and absolutely no metal utensils. Hand wash to dishwasher is hard on them in the long term. If I want searing heat or to put in on the bbq I use my cast iron pan.

I'm not for or against re-seasoning a pan, just stating it can be done. As far as eating Teflon goes I have yet to see anything that states much more than "can" "could" in regards to that. I stand to be corrected though.

Ryath wrote: »
    I guess it's just down to how you feel about eating bits of Teflon whether to stay using an old scratched pan. It's probably safe enough it inert but not very appetizing. I'm very careful with my non stick pans I don't use full heat on them when empty and absolutely no metal utensils. Hand wash to dishwasher is hard on them in the long term. If I want searing heat or to put in on the bbq I use my cast iron pan.

Teflon is fine, it won't stick to your insides......

they/them/theirs

Might even aid digestion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

“Teflon Guts” what a great name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Having great success with various pork bits on medium long cooks on the Weber.

Had some pork neck from my butcher the other day, cut a kilo into 200g pieces, bit of random rub, cooked for 2/2.5 hours at like 350f (seared first). Then sliced up, doused in BBQ sauce, RIDICULOUS. Have done the same for pork belly too.

No crazy setups, just dump some hot coals into some unlit coals in the basket, set the vents at maybe 1/4 each, temp stablises (using blue bag ) usually around the 300/350 mark.

Charred, blackened, moist delicious bbq.

Of course we ate them way too quickly to take a photo. :D:D

Second time trying ribs. Used memphis dust instead of magic dust this time. They were a much bigger hit as the magic dust was too overpowering. I think next time I'd do half with one and half with the other.

The smaller ribs should have been taken off the grill much sooner. Ah well, live and learn. They were the ones that got sauced so that added back some moisture.

Smoked/Cooked at 110C for about 4 hours. Spritzed intermittently with 50/50 water/apple cider vinegar.

The ring method works so so well.

xROOoqFl.jpg

jR8VYzTl.jpg

K6T5YMBl.jpg

Cork Boy wrote: »
    Second time trying ribs. Used memphis dust instead of magic dust this time. They were a much bigger hit as the magic dust was too overpowering. I think next time I'd do half with one and half with the other.

The smaller ribs should have been taken off the grill much sooner. Ah well, live and learn. They were the ones that got sauced so that added back some moisture.

Smoked/Cooked at 110C for about 4 hours. Spritzed intermittently with 50/50 water/apple cider vinegar.

The ring method works so so well.

xROOoqF.jpg

jR8VYzT.jpg

K6T5YMB.jpg

I would suggest you're overloading that grill, get yourself a rib rack. The left most ribs are being direct grilled.

I'd also switch from chips to wood chunks.

Good work

they/them/theirs

I would suggest you're overloading that grill, get yourself a rib rack. The left most ribs are being direct grilled.

I'd also switch from chips to wood chunks.

Good work

Thanks for the tips! I'm getting those ikea pot lid holders, they seem to be highly recommended.

What's the benefit of chunks over chips? I soaked a handful of chips the night before and they gave off a lovely taste. I don't like too much smoke either...

Edit: lol, just bought the ikea lid holder on amazon.de and the reviews are all pictures of people using it as a ribs holder with comments like "lid holder must be swedish for ribs holder"