Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinker/ Non-drinker

• 20-04-2009 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭

Ah right ladies! Was wondering what the general consensus is among the women in this forum with regard to men's drinking habits.

Do you prefer men who drink or dont drink? I ask because for the last while any time I go out drinking I always end up drinking far too much, the last time more than the other times! :( So I'm wondering what would be the average woman's perception of me if I was too knock the booze on the head, at least for the medium term!:D

Male drinking habits..do you prefer men who...? 56 votes

Drink a fair bit; they're the best craic!
    3% 2 votes
    Drink a few drinks but dont get drunk
    14% 8 votes
    Dont drink at all
    82% 46 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Arcee

Ah right ladies! Was wondering what the general consensus is among the women in this forum with regard to men's drinking habits.

Do you prefer men who drink or dont drink? I ask because for the last while any time I go out drinking I always end up drinking far too much, the last time more than the other times! :( So I'm wondering what would be the average woman's perception of me if I was too knock the booze on the head, at least for the medium term!:D

I don't really have a preference for drinkers or non-drinkers. There's only really a few things things that worry me.

Is he drinking so much that his health is obviously suffering?
    Is he violent/obnoxious/embarrassing when he's drunk and likely to ruin my night as well as the night for everyone around him and/or end up in jail for his actions?

If the answer to either of those questions is yes then he would have to give up or seriously modify his habits for me to be interested in him.

It sounds like you're not happy with your drinking patterns and the fact that you're willing to do something about it is admirable. However, if you think you should be a heavy drinker or stay stone cold sober depending on a woman's perception of you then you might need to re-evaluate your motives. Worry about what's best for you, not what other people will think of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Must admit that I prefer either a light drinker or a non-drinker, though anyone who is drinking to the detriment of their health/personality would obviously be a turn off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

It depends on what kind of person you are when drunk.
    Sulky/ moody/ aggressive or argumentative then take it easy or give it up.
    Hilarious/ funny/ witty or general good craic then I'll be getting the next round in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

easyeason3 wrote: »
    It depends on what kind of person you are when drunk.
    Sulky/ moody/ aggressive or argumentative then take it easy or give it up.
    Hilarious/ funny/ witty or general good craic then I'll be getting the next round in :D

What if they're hilariously arguementitive? :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Never argued with a drunk when sober then ?:D

I'd not be bothered if someone didn't drink for whatever reason, I'd be far more likely to be bothered by someone who considered drinking and going on mad sessions a fundamental part of their social life.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Prefer light to non drinker

Someone who thinks they have to go out and get drunk to have fun and yap about drink all the time - definitely not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

A swift kick in the goolies usually makes their mind up. After that they are either hilarious (due to fear & pain) or argumentative :D

Haha, goolies! :D

Aw yeah, could a mod make the poll public by any chance? I think I accidently put it on hidden?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

My preference would be for a moderate drinker to be honest.

I've only ever dated one non-drinker, and he was a right pain in the hole........though I suspect he's have been a pain in the hole regardless of whether he drank or not:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭Lobelia Overhill

Personally I prefer non drinker. I've several relations who were involved with men who drank and have seen the mess it made of their lives ...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm a non drinker so obviously I prefer a light to non drinker.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I dont mind him having a few drinks...

But I dont like him drunk.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Hmm it depends, like if it were a guy I didn't know who I was just chatting to on a night out I'd prefer if they weren't drinking too much, because men who are hammered tend to be very sleazy and not very interesting to talk to. If I were just chatting to someone on a night out I'd prefer if they were interesting and fun to chat with.

For a boyfriend though I don't care how much he drinks as long as he doesn't become an alcoholic or it doesn't impact mojorly on his health.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I have no objection to a drunk man as long as he doesn't turn into a screaming arsehole when he has alcohol on him. Funny drunks and happy drunks are all good. Arseholes are not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

It's a tricky question, actually. I don't really mind whether a guy drinks or not. But say I had to choose between two guys who were identical in all respects except one guy was in the habit of going out and getting messy drunk; and the other didn't drink... I would choose the non-drinker every time.
    I've only ever dated one non-drinker, and he was a right pain in the hole........though I suspect he's have been a pain in the hole regardless of whether he drank or not:rolleyes:

I think it depends on the person, too. I dated a non-drinker who was actually a Pioneer for five years, and he was pain in the hole too. Was very self-righteous about not drinking, used to rip the piss out of me if I was hungover or if I'd done/said anything remotely silly the previous night - whereas if I were to tease him over his choice not to drink, that would have been 'prejudiced' and 'narrow-minded'.

Not only that, but when he did come out with me he watched me like a hawk the whole evening, hovering over me and holding onto me as if I was so unbelievably hammered that I couldn't stand, at all times. He was like a personal bodyguard, and never let himself enjoy nights out. It drove me up the wall - to the extent that I basically gave up going out since I never enjoyed it with him there.

That said, my current bf doesn't drink either and I don't have any of those issues. He's perfectly capable of going out to a pub and enjoying himself without drink, and it's actually something that I really like about him.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

As a child of an alcoholic I could never be with a heavy drinker, someone who drinks a lot is a huge turn off for me (thankfully I got ingrained that way rather than the other). Even my good friends who are heavy drinkers, I get a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach when they are very drunk or cracking open a beer at 11am on a Sunday morning. I drink myself and get drunk from time to time (even though I hate being past tipsy) so I'm not anti drink in the slightest, but when I see the things I associate with childhood in friends it just stirs up the old feelings.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Someone who drinks a huge amount is as much a turn-off for me as someone who never drinks.

Everything in moderation! I enjoy a drink or two and feel a little odd when I can't share a glass of wine or go to the pub for a drink with my boyfriend.

I haven't been drunk in a couple of years but it's nice to get that buzzy, chatty feeling after one or two drinks and have someone experience the same happy feeling with you.

I've known non-drinking guys (not boyfriends admittedly) who have a terribly condascending attitude towards people who enjoy themselves and relax with a drink. I hate it. I detest the 9 or 10 pints-a-night, eating-is-cheating brigade too though. :eek:

Thanks for the replies so far!

Em, I think I can understand those of you who get annoyed by men who dont drink; most lads I know who dont drink (and there arn't too many of them to be honest!) are awful dryshítes and are often up on a high horse about the subject.

Normally before I head out on a night out I intend not to drink too much, maybe 4 or 5 bottles if there is a drinks promotion on in the nightclub or, if I just go to the pub, about 3 pints. But I can never stop at that, especially if I go to my mates beforehand, and then head to the pub and/or nightclub! I really have to make a big mental effort to not drink way too much when I get out to be honest. I only head out about once, maybe twice, a month I'd say but I'm never in a state to talk to women without sounding like a drunk fool!! :o
    Don't think quitting drink is feasible for me; going out would really just not be fun at all! But I'm going to try heading out and making a conscious effort not to drink much; maybe if I like it it'l be easier the next time :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

I drink....I get drunk but if I was to go without drink for a few months it wouldnt bother me. Im okay to go out & will still get up & boogie without drink taken.

Also I dont mind a bloke that enjoys a beer but If hes a messy drunk....ew!And by messy I mean makes a show of himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

My OH and I don't drink much, and it suits us to be honest. We enjoy alcohol - nothing better than sitting out in the sunshine looking over the water drinking a bottle of ice cold buckfast, or having a lovely wine with dinner, or going out for a few (not a dozen) pints.

I would never have ended up with someone who was a heavy drinker. It just wouldn't have worked out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I would not have time for a guy/girl who got stroppy with me about me drinking or not drinking.
    I do like a drink on ocassion and there are times I just don't and thats my business.
    I have gone out with someone who was a heavy drinker once they had a drink they had to get drunk and by the time they had learned to value being sober it was too late for to try again at a relationship as when they were drunk thier under lying issues would crop up.

I would not be interested in someone who is habitually stoned or drunk which is frankly substance abuse as away of not coping with life or dealing with their issues. Learned that one the hard way.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I think people who are zealous about anything are irritating.

I have a lot of friends who don't drink alcohol at all but you'd never know as they don't make an issue of it unless someone is hassling them to drink (also irritating). In fact the non drinkers are usually better craic at our parties as they're fun when sober and don't burn out too early and end up passed out somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Suppose it depends on the person. Most guys I've dated have enjoyed their drink. One guy would always get semi drunk, bugged me sometimes but *shrug*.
    I've had others who can get very drunk, but sometimes it's a bit cute. I don't drink (the past year) so I would obviously be uber sober dealing with a drunken bf, but when I care about them, I didn't mind too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

As a dude I don't drink all that much

i had 3 botels on Saturday night because it was a nice day i rarely get drunk tho If I'm out with my mates who are all over in oz at the moment its not uncommon for me to get stupid every once in a while.

I would'nt go to the offy and six cans go home sit in front of the tv, on a friday night to me drinking's about being social... not sitting with 6 tins on your couch watching mindless crap... wheres the fun in that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Everything in moderation - including moderation.

Sometimes I go out and get wasted, sometimes I have a few and sometimes I'll only have one or two (would rarely have none, since I like the taste and such a small amount isn't going to have any negative reprecussions, I don't see the point in stopping myself from having any alcohol).

If I gave up drinking, I wouldn't like to be with someone who thought I was a "better" person for not drinking.

I agree with Das Kitty. People who are zealous about anything are incredibly irritating.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Had a boyfriend who was a borderline alcoholic (going to AA meetings kind). That put me off heavy drinkers. I don't drink much myself as I can't really take it, small amounts make me sick, so it's easiest to be with someone who doesn't drink much either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

I'm not exactly a drinker myself and I have to say that habitual or heavy drinking is a complete deal breaker with a man.

I'd go for a non-drinker, or a very light drinker, every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭nesbitt

Don't drink now at all, been about 3 years. I did not drink much anyway so not a problem. I can socialise so easily and take my car etc. Much better if you have family commitments, that you don't have the hangover, it's not fair to kids....

Anyway, there are so many different types of 'drunks' some are cute, funny, annoying, nasty the whole range really!

My ex husband used to go through stages, stage 1 chatty and funny, Mr. Congeniality..., stage 2 very chatty, than disagreeable, stage 3 arguementative and annoying, stage 4 demonic posession. I'm not kidding and he would just shrug it off the next day and carry on as normal.

As I said depends on the type of drunk you are really, some people just should not drink!:(