Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rally of the lakes 2009?

• 21-04-2009 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭

Can anyone tell me if its on this year?

im hearing yes and no and i cant find the official site for it.

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

http://rally.ie/article.php?article_id=091302/200059

Looks like it is on I can't see why not.

I love rallying but I have only been to the Lakes twice. It is one of the worst fupping rallies to get between stages and then you have the total fupping twits racing trough Killarney and the surrounding areas, handbraking and drifting everywhere. The two times I was down there I seen two head on collisions involving these stupid fools and two or three more cars in the ditch. It seems to attract more scum than any other rally.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

thats true, maybe they are trying to keep the rally low key from the scumbags then!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I'm never entirely sure which is worse, the morons in Twin Cams or the fact that the Killarney Chamber of Commerce may as well just shake you upside down as you leave to collect any remaining change from your pocket.

A crying shame that for the best stages known to civilised man since 1544 AD you have to put up with such greed and idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Robbo wrote: »
    or the fact that the Killarney Chamber of Commerce may as well just shake you upside down as you leave to collect any remaining change from your pocket.
    LOL!! :D:D
    A crying shame that for the best stages known to civilised man since 1544 AD you have to put up with such greed and idiocy.

It is a crying shame alright some great stages down there. The Kerry Mini Stages Rally is a great rally also and an awful less twits there.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

rally is on and ready to go,great entry list,kris meeke no1 in a wrc focus,euegene donnelly no2 in skoda fabia wrc,eamon boland no3 in a wrc subaru,molls gap is stage 1 and 2 ,they running it twice in the morning,great rally ahead!!!!!!!!!!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Last year saw a big change though, Police were out in force big time despite there being a big reduction in problems, Security had blocked off carparks around killarney with manned guards on at these positions and a somewhat controlled area for stunts was set up in the lidl car-park.
    As regard getting from stage to stage - simple fact is its one of the best rally events in the country and as such draws a big crowd. You got to get there early,and should ideally leave 2 stages of a gap before your next go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭hi_sir

the lakes entry

No Driver/Co-Driver (Car) [Class]
    1 Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (Ford Focus WRC) [A8]
    2 Eamon Boland/Mick Morrissey (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    3 Eugene Donnelly/Paddy Toner (Skoda Fabia WRC) [A8]
    4 Gareth McHale/Brian Murphy (Ford Focus WRC) [A8]
    5 Derek McGarrity/James McKee (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    6 Tim McNulty/David Moynihan (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    7 Peadar Hurson/Damian Connolly (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    8 Patrick Elliott/Paul Goodman (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    9 Denis Cronin/Helen O'Sullivan (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    10 Aaron McHale/Killian Duffy (Ford Focus WRC) [A8]
    11 Shaun Gallagher/Paul Kiely (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [N4]
    12 Colm Murphy/Martin Flannery (Subaru Impreza N12) [N4]
    14 Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [N4]
    15 Sean Flanagan/Brian Duggan (Subaru Impreza N12) [N4]
    16 Ger O'Donovan/Sean Hayde (Subaru Impreza N12B) [N4]
    17 Alastair Fisher/Barry McNulty (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [N4]
    18 Mark Nangle/Michael Clyne (Subaru Impreza N12) [N4]
    19 John Joe Fleming/Robbie Ward (Ford Focus WRC) [A8]
    20 Wesley Patterson /Martin McGarrity (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    21 Martin Magee/Arthur Kierans (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    22 Adrian Hetherington/Gary Nolan (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    23 Kevin O'Donoghue/Joe O'Leary (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    24 Fergus O'Meara/Liam Brennan (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    25 Jon Stangle/Frank Sweeney (Darrian T 90) [M13]
    26 Willie Power /Frank Curtin (Darrian T 90) [M13]
    27 Manus Kelly/Donal Barrett (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    28 Tommy Doyle/Tony McDaid (Renault Clio) [A7]
    29 John Hickey/TBA (Subaru Impreza 555) [M15]
    30 Eoin Doyle/Peter Brennan (Subaru Impreza WRC) [A8]
    31 Dave Randles/John Young (Nissan Almera) [A7]
    32 Eugene Meegan/TBA (Honda Civic Type R) [A7]
    33 Thomas Randles/Sean Duggan (Toyota Celica ) [M15]
    34 Peter Kelly/Peggy Kelly (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    35 Charlie Hickey/Johnny Hickey (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    36 Vincent O'Shea/Brian Hickey (Escort Cosworth) [M15]
    37 Brendan Brosnan/Gerard Conway (Peugeot 205 RWD) [M14]
    38 Brendan Dennehy/Willie Buchanan (BMW M3 Compact) [M13]
    39 Eddie Power/Jonathan McGrath (Toyota Corolla) [M15]
    40 Thomas White/TBA (Mitsubishi Evo 9) [M16]
    41 Mick Cummins/Don Montgomery (Mitsubishi Evo 8) [N4]
    42 Rory Byrne/Jeremy Patterson (Mitsubishi Evo 9) [N4]
    43 Martin McCormack/Liam Moynihan (Citroen C2 Max) [A6]
    44 Craig Breen/Gregory Roberts (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    45 Kyle Orr/TBA (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    46 Mark Donnelly/Paddy Robinson (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    47 Shane Buckley/Thomas McGuire (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    48 Paul Quinn/Sorcha Kelly (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    49 Leonard Downey/Mark Murphy (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    50 Adrian Randles/TBA (Ford Escort MK 2) [M13]
    51 Gary Reidy/Stephen Reidy (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M14]
    52 Darragh O'Riordan/Sean McCarthy (Renault Clio S1600) [A6a]
    53 Keith Power/TBA (Peugeot 106 ) [A6]
    54 Ken O'Neill/Ronald Riordan (Ford Puma S1600) [A6a]
    56 Jason McSweeney/Denis O'Mahony (Honda Civic) [M11]
    57 David Fleming/Kieran Doherty (Honda Civic ) [A6]
    58 Paul Ahern/Kieran Murphy (Subaru Impreza ) [M16]
    59 Kevin O'Sullivan/Martin Riordan (Honda Civic Type R) [M16]
    60 Lloyd Hutchinson/Kevin Flanagan (Austin Cooper S) [M9]
    61 Raymond Conlon/James O'Reilly (Toyota Corolla TC) [M13]
    62 John Riordan/Shane Buckley (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    63 Dermot Hannifin/Claire Mole (Subaru Impreza N12) [N4]
    64 Barry Ryan/Donal Falvey (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    65 Andrew Fanning/Paddy King (Ford Puma S1600) [A6a]
    66 John Buttimer/Declan Buttimer (Subaru Impreza) [A8]
    67 Joe McGonigle/Alan Whyte (Honda Civic) [N2]
    68 Kieran Marshall/Mark Horgan (Honda Civic Type R) [N3]
    69 Stephen Wright/Paul McGee (Ford Fiesta ST) [N3]
    70 Robert Barrable/Seamus O'Grady (Ford Fiesta ST) [M16]
    71 Desmond Henry/John Rowan (Ford Fiesta ST) [M16]
    72 William Walsh/Ed O'Neill (Toyota Corolla TC) [M11]
    73 Noel O'Sullivan/Nicky Burke (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M9]
    74 Alan Bardon/Edwin Dunne (Honda Civic) [M11]
    75 Sean Hartnett/Finbarr O'Mahony (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    76 Anthony Neville/Brian Synott (Subaru Impreza N 12) [N4]
    77 Pat Neville /TBA (Subaru Impreza N 12) [N4]
    78 Pat Price/Stephen Price (Subaru Impreza N 12) [N4]
    79 Duncan Cameron/Ian Frazer (Subaru Impreza 555) [M15]
    80 Billy O'Keeffe/Scott Wheeler (Mitsubishi Evo 6) [M16]
    81 Peter Gallagher/Keith Murray (Peugeot 206 Xsi) [A6]
    82 William Buttimer/Alan Whyte (Escort Cosworth) [M15]
    84 Tony Murphy/Brid Murphy (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    85 Bob Moran/TBA (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    86 Colm Flynn/Raymond Finnegan (Toyota Corolla TC) [M11]
    87 Fergal Allen/Carl Atksion (BMW M3) [M14]
    88 Rob Alderman/Paula Alderman (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    89 Kevin Rumens/Kay Taylor (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    90 Martin Kelly/Grainne McEnery (Subaru Impreza) [M15]
    91 Keith Naughton/Jane Cogan (Subaru Impreza) [M16]
    92 Keith Tierney/Aoife Keogh (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    94 Steve Roberts/Jonathan Jennings (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M12]
    95 Jason Clifford/TBA (Vauxhall Astra) [M16]
    96 Andrew Stewart/Tony Gallagher (MG S1600) [A6a]
    97 Brian O'Keeffe/Carol O'Keeffe (Subaru N 10) [N4]
    98 Roland Doherty/P.J.O'Dowd (Opel Corsa) [M9]
    99 Brian Davies/Alwyn Jones (Honda Civic ) [A6]
    100 Billy McCarthy/John Falvey (Nissan Micra) [M9]
    101 Colm Forde/Jonathan Trill (Peugeot 206 Xsi) [A6]
    102 Jason Costelloe/Thomas Costelloe (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    104 Stephen Murphy/Pat Duggan (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M11]
    105 Ian Hynes/TBA (Honda Civic Type R) [N3]
    106 Graeme Colfer/TBA (Nissan Sunny) [M13]
    107 Niall Donoghue/Shane Green (Honda Civic) [N2]
    108 Adrian Cannon/Jonathan Shovlin (Honda Civic) [N2]
    109 Cristopher King/TBA (Honda Civic) [N2]
    110 Colum Browne/Laurence McGrath (Honda Civic) [N2]
    111 Michael Shaughnessy/Craig McSweeney (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M10]
    112 John Fitzgerald/Niall Lynch (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M10]
    114 Con Mulcahy/Jonathan Keane (Vauxhall Nova) [M10]
    115 Martin Quirke/John Hurley (Talbot Sunbeam) [M11]
    116 Sean Hickey/Noel Fleming (Ford Fiesta RWD) [M11]
    117 Liam Dennehy/Tom Murphy (Honda Civic) [M11]
    118 Ger Buckley/Ger Myers (Peugeot 106 ) [M16]
    119 Kevin Donnelly/Andrew Lehane (Toyota Starlet) [M9]
    120 Brian Dennis/Gerard Geraty (Skoda Fabia Tdi) [A8]
    121 Steve Graham/Tony Graham (Vauxhall Astra D) [N4]
    122 Donal McCarthy/Henry Reidy (Opel Manta) [M12]
    124 John Curran/John Finnegan (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M13]
    125 Colin Kingston/Nollie Crowley (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M9]
    126 Brian Doherty/Colin Fitzgearld (Honda Civic) [M11]
    127 Tom O'Sullivan/TBA (Peugeot 205) [M10]
    128 Padraig Dinneen/Stephen Ferriter (Vauxhall Nova) [M9]
    129 Brian McNamara/John McMahon (Peugeot 205) [M10]
    130 Brendan O'Mahony/Marcus Treacy (Peugeot 205) [M10]
    131 Alan Dineen/Tony Dineen (Vauxhall Nova) [M11]
    132 Daniel O'Leary/TBA (Honda Civic) [M11]
    134 Patrick Horan/Pa Baker (Vauxhall Nova) [M11]
    135 Liam Graham/TBA (Honda Civic) [M11]
    136 John Moran/Dave Cummins (Honda Civic) [M11]
    137 Liam Howlett/Leo Tector (Talbot Sunbeam) [M13]
    138 Patrick Sheehan/TBA (Honda Civic) [M9]
    139 Sam Leech/Shane Griffin (Ford Fiesta XR2) [M10]
    140 Sean Fleming/Colm Dromey (Ford Fiesta RWD) [M11]
    141 Colin Fisher/TBA (MG ZR) [M9]
    142 Michael Stack/TBA (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M10]
    144 Thomas O'Keeffe/Donal Keane (Ford Escort Mk 2) [M12]
    145 Seamus Flynn/Ian Munnelly (Ford Focus ) [M11]
    146 Anthony Kiely/TBA (Opel Corsa) [M9]
    147 Batty O'Donoghue/John Riordan (Vauxhall Nova) [M9]
    148 Adrian Tobin/David Dunne (Toyota Corolla ) [M9]
    149 Colin O'Keeffe/Cian Corbett (Vauxhall Nova) [M9]
    150 JJ Wall/Patrick Wall (TBA) [M9]
    151 Shane Keary/Brendan Madden (Honda Civic) [M11]
    152 Christopher Dineen/Gavin Sheehan (Honda Civic) [M11]
    153 Barry Murphy/TBA (Vauxhall Nova) [M9]

meeke is in Stephen Moore's focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Its an ex Stephen Moore Focus:D

MEEKE IS NOT DRIVING THE FOCUS NOW,CORKS KEITH CRONIN IS DRIVING INSTEAD,UNDER MEEKES CONTRACT WITH PEUGEOT HE CANT DIVE A RIGHT HAND DRIVE NON PEUGEOT CAR,SOMETHING LIKE THAT ANYWAY

No i think that the lakes is just too close to the next round of the IRC and it will affect his testing for Peugeot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭afatbollix

thats what they will tell ya... but we all know the truth..

Well im glad someone has a direct contact in Peugeot :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I'm never entirely sure which is worse, the morons in Twin Cams or the fact that the Killarney Chamber of Commerce may as well just shake you upside down as you leave to collect any remaining change from your pocket.

As someone from Killarney, was just wondering what level of involvment the Killarney Chamber of Commerce have in this?

Not doubting what you say of their attitude - just wondering what is done badly/what could be improved?

Anyone heading down??
    Should be good craic.:D

ya heading down to stage 3 and try get another,and head home to c the munster match

should be a good rally:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Anyone have a shortlist of the Programme? I just want to know when the Caragh Lake stage is on!

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭AmberAmber

Anyone have a shortlist of the Programme? I just want to know when the Caragh Lake stage is on!

Thanks!

Hi there caragh lake stare is not being run this year.the rally is not going to that side of killarney.
    saturday stages are ...
    molls Gap
    molls Gap
    Gortnagne
    Banard
    Knockacuillig
    gortnagne
    banard
    knockacuillig,
    and yes the molls gap stage is being run twice on sat' morning as the first 2 stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Cool, thanks Amber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 BeeSee

is there any map of the locations of the stages anywhere available by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I can hear all the cars from my bedroom.

Shush!

BeeSee wrote: »
    is there any map of the locations of the stages anywhere available by any chance?

Sorry for not seeing this earlyer to help out but
    you should buy a pograme that has all the best inof for the event in total.
    the event map and times are all included for just €10
    from all local petrol shops.
    its an osi (ordance ireland map) so very good detail.

rally.ie is great to get information, but not for stage access.

just so for next year you should order your pograme from the rallyofthelakes.com the gleneagle hotel sort all the event and pograme sales as far as i know.

great to see tim mcnulty back at the top,the title race has became very intresting after the weekend any of four in the running,in a way it was better to see the geine not win as he could do a leob on the championship,also great to see young ali fisher having a great run and keeping the great fisher name up there.
    on a bitter note isnt it a pity that the boyracer scum ruined the event for many again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Wonder will any of the top 4 bother going to the Jim Clark?

G Mac might miss Donegal as he's thinking of doing the IRC in Ypres the same weekend.

its all or nothing now id say they will go and mchale ill pull the plug on ypers because he is in with a shout of the tarmac he has the pace just get it together,dmg has got the sulk and through in kpl to shake things in donegal and then you have a intresting itc campagin for the rest of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

hi_sir wrote: »
    on a bitter note isnt it a pity that the boyracer scum ruined the event for many again

What happened with the boy racers at the rally?

i belive its the usual carry on of disturbing local residents and tourist.
    I was out on the road to millstreet on sat morning at 7am and it was blackened with tyre marks,
    i was shocked by the amount of wheele spins that were so evident.
    silly twats that these thugs are wasting their tyres on stunts ,
    these guys have nothing to do with the rally in reality .
    they dont help with time keeping or marsheling they are "hair nits" .

I was working yesterday so never heard ith my self .....but friends text me that a cork radio station had people on giving out about it also.

its the same roads and wide secton of road that they do dangerous stunts the cops should send 2 cop cars per 10 mile strech of road out of the 4 main roads out of killarney overnight and let them patrol them end to end . thats my suggestion .

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

A friend of mine who has a house in Killarney had the outside lights broken off, also damage done to cars, ariels and mirrors broken mostly. The road between Farranfore and Tralee is black with tyre marks. I remember the rally in the eighty's and to the best of my memory, there was never this amount of trouble. The roads are dangerous for anyone in the Killarney or surrounding areas to travel during the weekend. Should be banned IMO as residents in Killarney are getting so p*ssed off with it. It would be a shame but its not worth the trouble anymore.

Kfk that might be the wrong attitude to take we all need to work at this proble i myself compete in rallying and in the past have competed in the lakes and its a brillant event only bettered by the donegal international but these trouble makers have little or nothing to do with the event as for there intrest in rallying it borders with nill,now this problem mainly seems to be with killarney in dongal wich is as big of event you never get this trouble,its a sad time when clowns do damage to a mans property and myself i do not go to the event anymore because of these clowns and i used to love going to spectate or to compete on the event.
    but in a way KfK i cant blame the people of kilarney for this attitude but we the rallying community you the towns folk and the gardai need to work together and stamp this out and get this great event back to what it was in the eightys trouble free.