Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHV then Skilled Migrant Visa

Options
  • 23-04-2009 12:14am
    Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭

Hi,

I'm a software developer with a PhD, 30, working full-time in the area for over 4 years and currently employed in Ireland, so hopefully I meet the criteria for a skilled migrant visa.

My contract is up here soon and I want to leave for possibly Melbourne or Brisbane, at the end of September.

I'm leaving it until about 2 months before I leave to apply for positions over there. My plan is to go with the WHV and put in an application for the skilled migrant visa also. In case I don't get a job sorted out before I go, or in case when I'm there I can't find an employer who'll sponsor me for longer, I'm planning on applying for both visas.

Does anybody know if there's any complications with applying for both, or any hassles with applying for the skilled migrant visa when over there? Any suggestions about a better way to get over there to work, or is the way I'm going about it the best way?

Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭FreeAnd..

What area have you work experience in? 4 years is the minimum you will need to get decent short term contracts here and make sure you have plenty of cash to tide you over...there are roles but alot require more than a whv as they are rolling contracts going beyond 6 months...