Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, I have cancer - what to tell work...

Options
  • 23-04-2009 9:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Very quickly, I'm hoping you can help (if not mods please move to personal issues)...

I was diagnosed with testicle cancer last year and had a testicle removed. I've been in remittion (sp?) for the year, but my latest scans have confirmed that the cancer is now back, and has spread to the lymph nodes.
    This can successfully be treated with a very strong dose of chemo lasting 12 weeks, which I'm due to start soon. However...

I work as a contractor, and my contract is up for renewal in June. I've kept this secret so far, but it's clear I won't be able to keep it from my employers any longer. How do I tell them?

I need the contract - I've an overpriced mortgage like everyone else, and if I loose this contract there's little hope of finding another.

I'm worried telling them is like playing a sympathy card to get me contract renewed, however, I'm also aware that it'll mean I'm a risk for 3 months of a 6 month contract, so why would they renew?

I don't know what to do.

Please help.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Hi OP - firstly I'd like to say I'm sorry that it's come back.

As regards working, saying nothing and then them finding out after they renew the contract, they may not be happy as this isn't overnight information you've learned. Is it possible to terminate your contract when they find that out? (I don't know much about contracts)