Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meteor SMS problem

• 23-04-2009 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭

I got an N95 8gb yesterday and everything works grand on it except it won't send SMS messages.

I've downloaded the MMS settings etc and i can send/recieve MMS.
    I'm got the Message Centre Number set to Meteor +353857000000.
    It can recieve SMS.
    When i got the phone, it had Vodafone Message Centre Number Settings but i deleted them off the phone.
    I rang Meteor and they weren't able to sort it out over the phone, they said to bring it to one of their shops and they'll see if they can sort it.

I'm asking here first because the Meteor guy said they might need to send the phone off to get it sorted and i'm not really interested in letting them send it off :o

Anyway, any help would be appreciated ;)
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Try a replacement sim. Can the phone send sms with other sims?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

The error message i get is "Unable to send message:085******"

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Try a replacement sim. Can the phone send sms with other sims?

Yes. SE k800i

V 30.0.018
    23-07-08
    RM-320
    Nokia N95 (01.01)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Yes. SE k800i

You misunderstood me there. I wasn't asking the the sim can send messages in other phones, I was wondering if the N95 can send messages if you put another sim in it

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    You misunderstood me there. I wasn't asking the the sim can send messages in other phones, I was wondering if the N95 can send messages if you put another sim in it

I need to start reading properly :o gimme a sec and i'll try

Ye i just tried sending one with an o2 sim card and it worked grand. hhmmmmm interesting :pac:

I was gonna update/reupdate the firmware but seeing as the o2 sim worked theres no point in doing that. Maybe my Meteor sim is some weird old one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Maybe my Meteor sim is some weird old one?

Old sims are known to give problems, and more so with texting. Go and ask for a Free replacement one in any store.

Ye just got a new sim and it works grand, cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Ye just got a new sim and it works grand, cheers lads

Very quick result :)