Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pearl jam

jenizzle wrote: »
    Saw them there the last time, tis a great venue but the crowd was a little sedate. Usually the European crowds kick the US arses but that might change now that GA is in force there now. I think the South Americans win that battle for entertaining crowds though!

Wuhlheide is the best place I've ever seen them anyway. Whopper venue, great setup and a great atmosphere. MSG had to have been great because of the great company :P You may have even been responsible for this awesome photo of Stone

288_23921986756_825_n.jpg

Woooo. Force of Nature. :rolleyes: :pac:

Ah Jenizzle I completely forgot about that photo, go fúckin me! No seriously, go you, I had an unreal time in the Garden (where we heard Garden!) courtesy of you, and I will never stop cringing when I think of fúckin up and missing night 1, but hey at least you got rid of the ticket! Why aren't we in NY tonight?? Btw, you dissed Force Of Nature and used the rolleyes in the space of a few words, I'm currently trying to fend off a rage seizure here!

Anyway back to Wulheide which has gotten a few mentions. I only got to go there once, it was 2010 and their last gig in the place. All i can say without going TLDR is that it is possibly the best outdoor venue (for a rock gig) I've been to. 02 World Berlin - just not the same at all. On my wishlist for next summer is a two nighter in Wulheide, if they do O2 World instead I will look elsewhere on the tour list...and there will be a tour list, oh yes there will be a tour list :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Wulheide is simply the best place you can ever see pearl jam

FWIW that was my 34th show and its one of the best I've ever seen.
    Ed sounds truly powerful again. His Voice is honestly sounding better than I can remember hearing it live since 96.
    And man try were tight tonight. Ed flubbed up all over the place and was visibly admonishing himself which was nice to see in that he usually laughs these things off.

Release. It sounded exactly like Atlanta 94. Follow that logic about every song you know.
    They're doing this really cool thing of coming out of the feedback/last notes of a song and going straight into the next song. It really works.

And I got Oceans. Finally. Ten is now complete:)

Cannot wait for tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Getaway, love it. Also Yellow Moon, sounds like 1/2 Full in places.

The more I listen the more I love

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Really really excellent footage shot off the screen at last nights show

Wash - Pearl Jam - Wash - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S2kOecJj_Dk>

Sirens - Pearl Jam - Sirens - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WG0alVriilQ>

Rats - Pearl Jam - Rats - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AOKB7ntiFg>

Immortality - Pearl Jam - Immortality - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7xoQ3FerKU>

Footsteps - Pearl Jam - Footsteps - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6FdxKsUAm0>

All Those Yesterdays - Pearl Jam - All Those Yesterdays - Brooklyn
    (October 19, 2013) <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cUEsOYkKjTs>

Go - Pearl Jam - Go - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6Ir4mRKJrM>

Porch - Pearl Jam - Porch - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QldVIFGrl9g>

Whipping + Blood - Pearl Jam - Whipping + Blood - Brooklyn (October 19,
    2013) <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Clogg9sGq7g>

Leaving Here - Pearl Jam - Leaving Here - Brooklyn (October 19, 2013)<http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqYEUB03axw>

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,239 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Just gave Lightning Bolt a first listen, will probably grow on me even more but I really enjoyed it. Could be their best album since Yield.

Sitting comfortably in the number 1 spot on the official Irish album charts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

david75 wrote: »
    Sitting comfortably in the number 1 spot on the official Irish album charts.

Definite grounds for a gig in thomond park. To celebrate the number one spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Gave it a first listen, I see what people mean by it being all over the place. Initial thoughts are "it's alright". Not really blown away by it. Working the next few nights so I'll hopefully get a few more listens in. For the moment though I'm not crazy about it.

Seems to take 7-10 spins for it all to make sense but when it does it really works.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭fluke

A lot of the reviews seem to think the album takes a slump halfway through but the change is indicative of the Side A and Side B formats of vinyl and tapes.

Side A screams we're back while Side B is more experimental.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I thought Avocado was a decent album......?? I went off them after Vitality......

I meant Vitalogy lol

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭spaceboy

Chris Cornell doing a fantastic version of Footsteps with the Avett Brothers. :D

http://www.alternativenation.net/?p=37191

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

spaceboy wrote: »
    Chris Cornell doing a fantastic version of Footsteps with the Avett Brothers. :D

http://www.alternativenation.net/?p=37191

Was just about to post about that.

Super song and super performance, but I still think I prefer Times of Trouble.

n97 mini wrote: »
    Was just about to post about that.

Super song and super performance, but I still think I prefer Times of Trouble.

Me too, time of trouble feels like a more complete song, footsteps always felt like a work in progress demo to me :shrug:

In better news, Lightning Bolt is growing on me. Gave it a run through again today through nice headphones and I'm really digging it. Let the record play is pretty shocking, but apart from that, no black marks, jaysus I even found myself liking mind your manners, it works in the context of the album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

jaysus I even found myself liking mind your manners, it works in the context of the album.

Am I the only one who thought Mind Your Manners was a great track from the first listen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭6am7f9zxrsjvnb

Am I the only one who thought Mind Your Manners was a great track from the first listen?
    No,i loved it after the first spin.Then again,i`ve loved all their pre album release singles,bar the mess that was `world wide suicide'

• Registered Users Posts: 21,340 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

People looking at the tour stats on setlist.fm, it appears they have played 113 different songs in 13 gigs.

http://www.setlist.fm/stats/pearl-jam-23d6b80b.html?year=2013

Am I reading that right? Cos that is bloody bonkers!

They've only played ten shows so far this year including Wrigley and Ontario.

Ok dunno why it shows 13 then.

This. The same man that used to risk life and limb with cat like agility on scaffolding and girders. Oh noes
    http://24.media.tumblr.com/25e58e9769b948af0cebf0e55b74b5b0/tumblr_mv5f799fpl1r3v3loo1_250.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭fluke

This. The same man that used to risk life and limb with cat like agility on scaffolding and girders. Oh noes
    http://24.media.tumblr.com/25e58e9769b948af0cebf0e55b74b5b0/tumblr_mv5f799fpl1r3v3loo1_250.gif

hear the sirens...

Ouch! It feels very wrong but I burst my bollix laughing, had to look away as the gif kept repeating :D

Wasn't the first time it happened to him, won't be the last, the man is a warrior!

Edit: There's a part from Imagine in Cornice during Alive, Mike is belting out the solo and Ed attempts to jump over the big speakers in the wings of the stage, he absolutely upends himself right in front of Stone. A gif of that would be almost too much!

I think I know the one. Let me find it.

stankratz wrote: »
    Ouch! It feels very wrong but I burst my bollix laughing, had to look away as the gif kept repeating :D

Wasn't the first time it happened to him, won't be the last, the man is a warrior!

Edit: There's a part from Imagine in Cornice during Alive, Mike is belting out the solo and Ed attempts to jump over the big speakers in the wings of the stage, he absolutely upends himself right in front of Stone. A gif of that would be almost too much!

My mate showed me that one very recently. I was in bits watchin that gif, as graceful as a sack of spuds he was.

I saw that after reading this. Hilarious! Spent ages trying to make a gif of it but alas, I'm not as tech savy as I though.

Last night's set from Charlottesville, VA makes me temporarily hate my life for not being there...

01. Pendulum
    02. Release
    03. In My Tree
    04. Corduroy
    05. Go
    06. Why Go
    07. Lightning Bolt
    08. Mind Your Manners
    09. I Am Mine
    10. Swallowed Whole
    11. Faithfull
    12. Wishlist
    13. Sirens
    14. Jeremy
    15. Grievance
    16. Glorified G
    17. The Fixer
    18. Down
    19. Rearviewmirror

Encore Break 1

20. The End
    21. Thumbing My Way
    22. Sleight Of Hand
    23. Footsteps
    24. Future Days
    25. Mother
    26. Given To Fly
    27. Whipping
    28. Big Wave
    29. Sad
    30. Porch

Encore Break 2

31. Breath
    32. State Of Love And Trust
    33. Alive
    34. Baba O’Riley-(Townshend)
    35. Little Wing-(Hendrix)

If they tour on this side of the Atlantic next summer they better keep this shít up! Still lacking Getaway though.

Wishlist...into Sirens....into Jeremy. The End and Future Days. Please allow me to join you in hating my life for not being there.

If they tour on this side of the Atlantic next summer they better keep this shít up! Still lacking Getaway though.

And finally tonight they played it! Is Ed on Boards??:D
    Mushy wrote: »
    Wishlist...into Sirens....into Jeremy. The End and Future Days. Please allow me to join you in hating my life for not being there.

That's a great run of songs there. An even stronger one for me is The End>Thumbing My Way>Sleight Of Hand>Footsteps

This show will definitely be acquired when the bootleg comes out.

These sets have been getting better and better.

This Phantom PJ competition is today. Best of luck to any and all that are finalists. I have no idea what I'm supposed to be doing for it but ill be there anyways. Bricking it