Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd v Arsenal Champions League

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

PHB wrote: »

Personally I think Rooney should get booked tonight no matter what. We can beat Arsenal in the Emirates without Rooney, but I really doubt we could beat Barca or Chelsea in the final without him.

I think we need a win tonight as imo it will be hard to beat Arsenal in the emirates (a la earlier this season) that's not to say if we pull a vintage performance out of the bag we could do it, but it would not be easy. i certainly wouldn't recommend Rooney getting booked tonight "No matter what".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,725 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Just want this to start. Three hours of work, trip home, listen to RTE crap for 45 minutes (entertaining crap no doubt) and then finally the game.

Come on!!!

Ronaldo: He is a cancer Bill.

Sometimes the RTE crap is better than the game itself :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

anything will be better than last nights game

just hoping this will be good open game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Headshot wrote: »
    just hoping this will be good open game

With Song Scoring 700 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Frisbee wrote: »
    With Song Scoring 700 goals

And giggs to mark his 800th appearance for United with 800 goals, giving us a defendable 100 goal advantage going into the away leg.

You know I wouldn't even care. I'd be in a happy coma from the spectacle

One goal every 3.6 seconds! :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

A goal every 3.6 seconds. with the way both sides defend lately....

...it could easily be cut to one every 3.1 seconds

Sure Ronaldo could probably score a few straight from the restart from the halfway line :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

bold predication time

If Anderson starts tonight he will score (ye heard it here first)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    bold predication time

Sorry but not going happen. His goal will come in either the second leg to send his through, the final to win it, or a league goal to wrap it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

I can see Arsenal going through over 2 legs. Score draw tonight.
    Fabregas the key man.

Sorry but not going happen. His goal will come in either the second leg to send his through, the final to win it, or a league goal to wrap it up.

A double of Anderson + Song as anytime scorers is 23/1

I'm going for it, I have a feeling it's going to be a weird night

bold predication time

I think he'll defo start (thankfully!) given he was rested at the weekend and I think he'll have a massive game - lots of energy.

I'll go for 2-1 to United (fingers crossed) Fabregas to score in the first half and Ronaldo and Rooney in the second half.

Can't wait for the match.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

I fear the worst for Arsenal tonight to be honest, that back four is way to soft for my liking, between silvestre and toure the pair of them make to many mistakes, Gibbs is ok but not for this kind of game. Sagna has been consistant but if the Sagna who showed up against Liverpool shows up tonight then its all bad news at the back for Arsenal. Hopefully I'm wrong.

3 - 1 United

........ His goal will come in either the second leg to send his through, the final to win it, or a league goal to wrap it up.

Oh these will happen too , but he will get the ball rolling tonight .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Well he's 9/1 with paddypower for anytime scorer. get on it, sounds like tis a cert! :D

I hope, but for some reason I think his first goal will be massive (in terms of importance) but it will be a lucky goal that comes off his arse or something.

deisedevil wrote: »
    Well he's 9/1 with paddypower for anytime scorer. get on it, sounds like tis a cert! :D

22/1 first goal and 9/1 anytime , I already have a little flutter on ;)

Indie18 wrote: »
    I fear the worst for Arsenal tonight to be honest, that back four is way to soft for my liking, between silvestre and toure the pair of them make to many mistakes, Gibbs is ok but not for this kind of game. Sagna has been consistant but if the Sagna who showed up against Liverpool shows up tonight then its all bad news at the back for Arsenal. Hopefully I'm wrong.

3 - 1 United

I thouht the same myself. If we get it right defensively and we play anything like we did in 2nd half Vs Spurs then we could be looking at a few goals.

Betfair have it at 19/1 for United to win 3-0. So in the hope that this happens I have a few yo yo's on that. Not much chance of it happening in all honesty though, even Fergie said he could see there being only a goal.

Oh god. Think I'm gonna have to bet now. If it happens and i hadn't bet I would hate myself.

This site is a bad influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Just watched SSN there and Gibbs and Silvestre are slight doubts according to them.

If this is true then Arsenal's defence is going to be severely depleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Are you factoring in the 8 minutes of "fergie-time" at the end to the equation?

That_Guy wrote: »
    Just watched SSN there and Gibbs and Silvestre are slight doubts according to them.

:eek: Get onto betafair quick and back 3 - 0 if that's the case. LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

Cant wait for kick-off and getting fairly nervous!!

Prediction: 2-2 rooney,ronaldo & nasri,adebayor

Enjoy the game lads i for one wont be anywhere near boards for this one!!

Come on you Arsenal!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I hope Silvestre doesn't play to be honest, or at the very least plays at LB instead of CB!

3 nil ?? Come on.....I'm sure United will get at least one.....

Odds are 13/1 for United to win 3-0

Don't seem like great odds.

It's 19/1 on betfair.

Also, read my other posts, I'm not all that confident of 3-0, very very slight chance, i thought 19/1 was good so had an ould flutter.

If Gibbs and Silvestre are out then Arsenal are in serious bother.

18/1 on Betfair, with Arsenal at 129/1.

jasonorr wrote: »

I'd have a look at Arsenal. Very enticing. They got three against Liverpool last week so who knows.

I got 45/1 for Arsenal to win 3-1...I put a few quid on it because that's what the result will be.

69/1 on betfair, 45/1 on powers. I don't even want to bet on this...if we won 3-1, that would be enough for me!

I'd have a look at Arsenal. Very enticing. They got three against Liverpool last week so who knows.

They got 4 and they had I think it was 5 shots, 4 of those shots were Arshavins and he scored them all and he isn't playing tonight. Can't really judge Arsenal on that tbh.

69/1 on betfair, 45/1 on powers. I don't even want to bet on this...if we won 3-1, that would be enough for me!

*giggles* 69.... :)

mad people to bet on ando

my money has gone on Ronaldo tonight and a score of 3-1 to utd @ 14-1

got the 3-1 bet myself.

Had to go for ando after the talk on here. You know its set up for some good gloating later.

Ronaldo is always the "safest" bet for a United scorer.

I like to bet for a bit of craic and fun, if I win then all the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

I can't wait now! bring it on and if I don't get a good result, it doesn't bear thinking about :eek:

Think I'll lay Ronaldo to score myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

€3 on 3-0 €3 on 3-1. Bit of mug punting :)

ShooterSF wrote: »
    €3 on 3-0 €3 on 3-1. Bit of mug punting :)

Lol, I like it. :D

I hope at that price it's not an accumulator ;)

got the 3-1 bet myself.

Had to go for ando after the talk on here. You know its set up for some good gloating later.

I like to bet for a bit of craic and fun, if I win then all the better.

that be the day ;)

iv also went for Ronaldo To Score a Hat-Trick @ 40/1

im mad :pac:

Lol, I like it. :D

:) I don't usually place bets (other than matched betting) but I got an inkling last night on the 0-0 and am up a few quid.

Really starting to look forward to this game I have that nervous excitement instead of the usual nervous nervousness.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    :) I don't usually place bets (other than matched betting) but I got an inkling last night on the 0-0 and am up a few quid.

Really starting to look forward to this game I have that nervous excitement instead of the usual nervous nervousness.

Same here, been jittery all day.

What odds was the 0-0 last night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

that be the day ;)

iv also when for Ronaldo To Score a Hat-Trick @ 40/1

im mad :pac:

Seek help sir.

A7X wrote: »
    Seek help sir.

tbf to my judgement

this game is made for Ronaldo

could be up against an inexperience LB in Gibbs (who btw looks a brilliant talent) or out of form sagna

unless they double team him Ronaldo should have alot of freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Right I've decided.

Vidic is scoring first @ 20/1.

tbf to my judgement

this game is made for Ronaldo

could be up against an inexperience LB in Gibbs (who btw looks a brilliant talent) or out of form sagna

unless they double team him Ronaldo should have alot of freedom

yeah but he doesn't seem to like hatricks.