Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd v Arsenal Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Headshot wrote: »
    tbf to my judgement

this game is made for Ronaldo

could be up against an inexperience LB in Gibbs (who btw looks a brilliant talent) or out of form sagna

unless they double team him Ronaldo should have alot of freedom

Don't think arsenal will play the people required to double up on him - would need to be sagna and eboue on the right (if Ronaldo is on the left) and that means Walcott doesn't start (and I reckon he will). Don't know who they could put defensively on the left of midfield to cover with Gibbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Dave! wrote: »
    Right I've decided.

Vidic is scoring first @ 20/1.

That suits me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,043 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

If you say so...I layed him at 15/8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

deisedevil wrote: »
    Same here, been jittery all day.

What odds was the 0-0 last night?

8-1. Figured it was great odds when 1 team in the game are capable of playing and are looking for a 0-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Right I've decided.

Vidic is scoring first @ 20/1.

was thinking doing vidic anytime scorer but iv enough bets on tonight
    jasonorr wrote: »
    If you say so...I layed him at 15/8!

I hope you didnt put your life savings on it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I think this thread is at risk of being moved to the gambling forum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Think I'll lay Ronaldo to score myself!

Every bit of that statement is filthy.....

yeah but he doesn't seem to like hatricks.

we'll see alan

you've ando and iv Ronaldo

lets see who'll be gloating ;)

Every bit of that statement is filthy.....

Sounds filthy, but only if you're not a gambler!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

we'll see alan

you've ando and iv Ronaldo

lets see who'll be gloating ;)

you can only gloat if Ronaldo gets a hatrick. If that happens I won't give a flying f*ck. (as long United still win)

more of a chance of Ronaldo scoring id say :D

but i do really hope ando scores before the seasons out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I think this thread is at risk of being moved to the gambling forum :D

If it was they'd be disgusted with us. Backing hat tricks, 3-0, 3-1 lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Don't think arsenal will play the people required to double up on him - would need to be sagna and eboue on the right (if Ronaldo is on the left) and that means Walcott doesn't start (and I reckon he will). Don't know who they could put defensively on the left of midfield to cover with Gibbs.

Nasri's defensive play has come on hugely. I expect him to play LM and help Gibbs out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

tbf to my judgement

could be up against an inexperience LB in Gibbs (who btw looks a brilliant talent) or out of form sagna

unless they double team him Ronaldo should have alot of freedom
    I was more so talking about the amount of bets you put on ha.

Anyways, Ronnie hasn't scored a hat-trick has he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

A7X wrote: »
    I was more so talking about the amount of bets you put on ha.

Anyways, Ronnie hasn't scored a hat-trick has he?
    He has

Think it was Newcastle last season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,457 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

He has

thats the one, no others, though not for lack of trying!

He has

ah alri. Just on saturday I thought the commentator said somethin about it.

Anyways, any news on the team?

Yeah, United are excellent, and Arsenal are merely "okay"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I could really do with €300, but can't spend more than €5. Some one find me a sure bet @ 60-1.

I'm beginning to get nervy. It isn't helping that I've an exam at 9am tomorrow and am supposed to be studying. I have a glimmer of confidence about tonight (more than I've ever had for a CL semi-final - I don't do confidence), largely because Arsenal have a depleted team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

thats the one, no others, though not for lack of trying!

I think I heard commentators say at the weekend that it was the 28th time he had scored twice for United?

Celtic bookmakers have a special, if your back a first goal scorer and he scores first and scores again later in the game they double the odds. I'll be backing Ronaldo with them!

Tom65 wrote: »
    I could really do with €300, but can't spend more than €5. Some one find me a sure bet @ 60-1.

Get some overconfident Gooner to lay United at 60/1 and you're laughing!

In fact, is Frisbee around...? :pac: Maybe not overconfident, but oversilly! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

In fact, is Frisbee around...? :pac: Maybe not overconfident, but oversilly! :D

Get the boat Dave, even I'm not that stupid :pac:

Get some overconfident Gooner to lay United at 60/1 and you're laughing!

When the price is actually 6/4???

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Anyone think Walcott vs Evra could be a key battle tonight?

The former looks on good form even scoring a couple of goals as of late. The latter was done a couple of times by Aaron Lennon and Walcott might be even pacier than the Sprurs winger.

Big test for Evra and it will be interesting to see how he reponds. If I remember correctly this time last year he did a pretty good job of keeping the best player in the world fairly quiet. But he looked sluggish on Sunday and his form as of late could be called into question. I've put a few quid on Evra first booking at 12/1, think its a pretty nice price as Walcott could get away from him with his acceleration.

What do the respective fans think?

When the price is actually 6/4???
    eh....yeah.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Morzadec wrote: »
    Anyone think Walcott vs Evra could be a key battle tonight?

The former looks on good form even scoring a couple of goals as of late. The latter was done a couple of times by Aaron Lennon and Walcott might be even pacier than the Sprurs winger.

Big test for Evra and it will be interesting to see how he reponds. If I remember correctly this time last year he did a pretty good job of keeping the best player in the world fairly quiet. But he looked sluggish on Sunday and his form as of late could be called into question. I've put a few quid on Evra first booking at 12/1, think its a pretty nice price as Walcott could get away from him with his acceleration.

What do the respective fans think?

Yeah, this is one I'm worried about. I think, between them, our midfield can handle Fabregas, Vidic and Ferdinand should be okay with Adebayor and Bendtner, but Evra hasn't been himself lately and Walcott's had some good form.

Evra at 12/1 seems a good bet, though it depends on whether Scholes is playing :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Tom65 wrote: »
    Yeah, this is one I'm worried about. I think, between them, our midfield can handle Fabregas, Vidic and Ferdinand should be okay with Adebayor and Bendtner, but Evra hasn't been himself lately and Walcott's had some good form.

Evra at 12/1 seems a good bet, though it depends on whether Scholes is playing :p

Lol, I think you can get Scholes at 10/1 if you're interested!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

Evra is one of the players on 1 yellow from suspension so I'm guessing thats why the price is decent.

I've done Man Utd 2-0 with Vidic to score at anytime, 30/1 special in local bookies. Is it any wonder you don't see bookies drivin a Lada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I would put money on a score-draw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

Jaysus lads will ye talk about football!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Fenix wrote: »
    Is it any wonder you don't see bookies drivin a Lada.

Haven't seen anyone driving a Lada since my father traded his in last summer.

He got a nice Unicycle for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

ccosgrave wrote: »
    Jaysus lads will ye talk about football!

Kerry or Tyrone for the All Ireland...

Fenix wrote: »
    Evra is one of the players on 1 yellow from suspension so I'm guessing thats why the price is decent.

I've done Man Utd 2-0 with Vidic to score at anytime, 30/1 special in local bookies. Is it any wonder you don't see bookies drivin a Lada.

Tis 80-1 in paddy power for him to score first that is.

Yeah, United are excellent, and Arsenal are merely "okay"

Ha ha nice. Team up yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

3-0 utd me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

United 2-0 @ 8.6
    United 3-1 @ 19
    Rooney 1st scorer @ 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

if Wenger plays 4-4-2 it will be tight.

If Wenger plays 4-5-1, I think the contest will be over before the second leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

United to win 2 or 3-1 and Rooney to get booked and miss the 2nd leg :eek:

What time is team announcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

This could be a classic tie...

Ha ha nice. Team up yet?
    Nah, keep an eye here though
    http://www.redcafe.net/f11/manchester-united-vs-arsenal-245610/index6.html

They'll have it up bout 7-7.15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Man I've been thinking about this game for much of the last few days, so excited, but also extremely nervous. Arsenal's defence is a big worry for me, and if Fergie starts with the right players (i.e. no Berbatov) we could be in for a rough night. But with players like Nasri, Walcott, Adebayor and Fabregas in good form I think we'll be dangerous in attack. Can't freaking wait for kick off now.

COME ON ARSENAL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

ah hopefully it will be a better game then the barca and chelsea match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,430 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Rooney and Tevez and Ronaldo start up front

Carrick Ando and Fletch in CM

O'Shea Rio Vidic Evra

rte are saying

Carrick,Fletch and ando in midfield

bera and giggs on the bench

so Rooney and tevez starting :eek:

im gob smacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Fletcher
    Carrick
    Anderson

Rooney
    Tevez
    Ronaldo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Fletcher
    Carrick
    Anderson

Rooney
    Tevez
    Ronaldo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

very suprised about Giggs. Delighted to see Ando & Fletch though - we should be strong in midfield and have plenty of fight.

Very surprised to see Tevez start (though it means we've no impact supersub!)

Delighted with that team

im confident now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Almunia,Sagna,Toure,Silvestre,Gibbs,Walcott,Diaby,Song,Nasri,Fabregas,Adebayor.