Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish DF basic fitness equivalent to BFT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

My broadband is crap at the minute, what di miss!! Comp. Sgt. a troll!!! how did I miss that? (I did actually) those Mods know everything. ;)

Thanks pmg58 and concussion lots of good info in there. Day off today to rest the pins, decided to take the queen shopping......think I shoud have gone for a wee jog instead, less painful...on my Visa card...

Was thinking..yes I know its hard to believe it but it true. How would the Mods feel about a Military health and fitness sticky? Any takers?

Addition: If thats not an option maybe if all this could be moved into the training Stickey for the PDF?RDF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

iceage wrote: »
    My broadband is crap at the minute, what di miss!! Comp. Sgt. a troll!!! how did I miss that? (I did actually) those Mods know everything. ;)

Thanks pmg58 and concussion lots of good info in there. Day off today to rest the pins, decided to take the queen shopping......think I shoud have gone for a wee jog instead, less painful...on my Visa card...

Was thinking..yes I know its hard to believe it but it true. How would the Mods feel about a Military health and fitness sticky? Any takers?

My Broadband is gone to s***e aswell:mad:

There is some good info here,you got the weather for it aswell iceage!I have been doing the odd bit aswell,with the dog in tow though!Little fecker would put us to shame!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

ha you really think id be posting on this if i was a coy sgt its all about bluffing and joking and getting on people nerves

....I hate resorting to a petty base level...but what an absolute Tosser.
    Why bother post if thats all you plan to do:confused:

Kid, your a strange little creation so why don't you man up, shut up and take your nonsense elsewhere. I'd be embarrassed if I was you, after being caught out as a waffling walter mitty (thank god for mr poccington) it will take brass ones to come back and continue posting.

That or you could go to IMO ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Excellent idea, and I'd be for it if we'd someone who's recently done an NCO's course and is a PTL or a PTI otherwise we're just going to have lots of opinions on what works and doesn't work for fitness, and since we've members here from old farts like myself to teens only entering the Defence Forces we'd have all sorts of irrelevant suggestions thrown about.

Any PTI's or PTL's here?.
    BigDuffman wrote: »
    ....I hate resorting to a petty base level...but what an absolute Tosser.

Enough of that, he's been dealt with and I'd rather leave it at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Excellent idea, and I'd be for it if we'd someone who's recently done an NCO's course and is a PTL or a PTI otherwise we're just going to have lots of opinions on what works and doesn't work for fitness, and since we've members here from old farts like myself to teens only entering the Defence Forces we'd have all sorts of irrelevant suggestions thrown about.

Any PTI's or PTL's here?.

Unless I'm very much mistaken, Concussion completed a PTL Course quite recently. Then we've users like Hard Larry and Irish Army_01 that are also qualified PTL's.

Thats all I need.....Concussion, Hard larry AND Irish Army_01 shouting n balling at me!! :rolleyes:

Seriously though. I and others here I'm sure would appreciate it IF the guys were up for it.

Thats all I need.....Concussion, Hard larry AND Irish Army_01 shouting n balling at me!! :rolleyes:

Seriously though. I and others here I'm sure would appreciate it IF the guys were up for it.

I'm sure they'd be willing to share their knowledge. Although I think the thread shouldn't just be limited to PTL's giving advice, as we've quite a few people here with quite a bit of experience in fitness training, including lads that have gone for Selection.

It should basically be a place for everyone to discuss their training and swap opinions and discuss different methods of training. Kudos for a top idea though Iceage!

Well your the Mod poccington....only thing is you get nothin for nothin these days, we'd owe the guys at least a few beers if nothing else for their time taken. Or any other suggestions?.....off for a quick shower cos jogging makes me smelly!!!! ;)

Buy them beers?

**** that, sorry lads the fitness thread idea is axed :p

Yeah....must have been light headed and got carried away with myself...ignore my last.

WTF were you thinking of?? Beer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Sure I'll give it a bash...pretty basic stuff but as always there's the right way, the wrong way and the army way :D

Running - most important if you have a very low fitness level is the warm up. Before you start training consider going to your GP for a check up. In fact, I would advise anyone considering any sort of training to consult a fitness specialist and not rely on information gained from the interent. I accept no responsibility for injuries sustained as a result of the information I post here.

Spend at least 15 minutes warming up and stretching. The aim of the warm up is to prepare your body for exercise and should never be overlooked.

First check your pulse, it should be under 100 unless you've just run up and down the stairs to grab your trainers or something. If your heartrate is over 100 without exertion you should get it checked out, same thing if you have asthma, diabetes or are pregnant or have had a baby recently.

Break the warm up into 4 stages
    1 - Initial pulse raiser - light run, skips, knee raises, touching your feet to your hands behind your back, arms out to the front and sides
    2 - mobility - carefully mobilise your neck (up, forward, down, repeat. Left, forward, right, repeat), rotate the arms, rotate the hips, rotate the ankles, raise your foot and tip it up and down
    3 - stretches - info can be found on a lot of websites, I can detail them if anyone wants them. Make sure to hold each one for at least 15 seconds and always hold to the point of tension, not the point of pain. Ease into them and come out slowly, don't jerk them. Stretch your neck, shoulders, upper arms, chest, groin, quads, hamstrings and calves.
    4 - final pulse raiser - high skips, sprints, touch the ground with your hands, jump up, down and roll, press ups, knees high with arms pumping

You should have a good sweat by this stage, check your heart rate again - if not over 100 you're not putting enough effort in :D Up around 140 is good and means your body has now been gradually and safely prepared for exercise.

The run - start off with a ten minute run and bring it up to twenty. Don't worry about times and distances the first few times and concentrate on jogging continuously for the duration. When you can comfortably jog 20 minutes you can start to focus on 1 1/2 or 2 mile runs extending these up to 3 when you get fitter. A good target is to complete the army entry run - 1 1/2 miles in under 11 1/2 mins - and move on to the annual fitness test distance of 2 miles (3.2 km or 8 laps of a track) when you're happy with your performance.

After the run, slow to a jog and then down to a walk. Spend about 5 mins walking after the run and then lie down and relax. Allow your heart rate to come down slowly and when your breathing has settled you can do your post-exercise stretches. These are pretty much the same as you did before the run but are done from a lying position and are held for longer.

After cooling down make sure to drink water and have some carbohydrates to replenish energy stores and protein to help repair muscle damage.

Some good information can be found on this link. It contains the 'Fit to fight' publication from An Cosantoir which details the annual fitness tests, nutrition and stretching and also the DF 4 week training plan for passing the entry fitness test.

http://www.1bderdf.com/fitnesstests.htm

Lots of info on that link Concussion thanks. Still working myself up as they say, did another bit tonight but changing tact a bit, work/getting home and out for a blast can be a bit of a rush but going well all the same.

Now I don't won't this to turn into a complete techno thing, the fitness forums would do, but HR monitors and the use of....I use one and have done since I began training again, I find it handy to pace myself as I had a tendancy to race off and be fcuked too soon! another mate hated the idea of one, said it distracted him... Any thoughts?

They can take a lot of the uncertainty out of training as you can stick to your % MHR. I think it's up to the individual really, if it helps you pace yourself that's not a bad thing at all. Was toying with the idea myself but at the moment I'm sticking to "keep the breathing regular for most of it and go flat out for the last 500..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

concussion wrote: »
    They can take a lot of the uncertainty out of training as you can stick to your % MHR. I think it's up to the individual really, if it helps you pace yourself that's not a bad thing at all. Was toying with the idea myself but at the moment I'm sticking to "keep the breathing regular for most of it and go flat out for the last 500..."

I love that last 500m of any run, when you go mental. It doesn't seem like the best way to make progress, though.

**** man thats Spookey! I've been using a bypass near me lately for that exact reason, relatively level but climbing for about 1.5 miles in one direction to the next roundabout, and falling obviously on the return.

What i've been doing is getting my breathing pattern, almost a rhythm, regulated LOL its all coming back. And on the climbing leg to the first roundabout at the 500 mtr. marker giving it wellie all the way up! Cheers bud :)

Speed mate, its all about speed.

**** man thats Spookey! I've been using a bypass near me lately for that exact reason, relatively level but climbing for about 1.5 miles in one direction to the next roundabout, and falling obviously on the return.

What i've been doing is getting my breathing pattern, almost a rhythm, regulated LOL its all coming back. And on the climbing leg to the first roundabout at the 500 mtr. marker giving it wellie all the way up! Cheers bud :)

Iceage,how much time would you put aside each day for exercise?Are you doing weights or any other cardio,ie.boxing bag?

I have a 40k march to do in June,has anybody any tips for helping getting through that alive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 471 ✭✭pmg58

40km???? I hope thats nothing to do with our unit!

Need more details, i.e. terrain, equipment to be carried, time etc.

pmg58 wrote: »
    40km???? I hope thats nothing to do with our unit!

Need more details, i.e. terrain, equipment to be carried, time etc.

It is!Blue stack challenge!Its for charity,over the mountains!Thats all I know and I need €50 for next week aswell!:eek:

Carrying water and sandwiches.Time?Well as fast as possible I suppose!

I've heard it's good craic alright!

OK, first of all, foot care. I don't know if you're prone to blisters, I am and I would definitely be wearing blister plasters for 40k. Also, good hiking socks (can be expensive but worth it), foot powder and most importantly, a good pair of boots, well broken in and tied properly.

Plenty of water: I don't know whether or not there will be resupplies, but I'd be carrying a fair bit. I don't know how much you'd need for 40k off the top of my head, but I'm sure other people here would.

Food: Energy bars, maybe glucose sweets, stuff like that to help you keep going. Maybe more since it will take most of the day to do.

Clothes: Dri flo t-shirt and boxers or similar, they make a huge difference.

I'd imagine they will provide you with information anyway, but if I can think of any more tips I'll post them.

One last thing: I hope you're stubborn, you may find its as much of a factor in carrying on as fitness is.

It is!Blue stack challenge!Its for charity,over the mountains!Thats all I know and I need €50 for next week aswell!:eek:

Carrying water and sandwiches.Time?Well as fast as possible I suppose!

Not to be pissing in your cornflakes. But from the sounds of things doesn't sound like your too well prepared? Unless you were jesting in this post.

A 40k Trot should be taken seriously considering its over the mountains. I've seen people drop after a 10k in the hills, due to bad prep.

Gearwise, sock's and a wicking layer are the most important things. A few pairs of those gucci "1000 Mile Socks" should do the trick. Their basically a sock with an inner liner (I think its some form of silk/fine wool mix).
    A wicking layer, Like a Dri-Flo is also advisable. Something that draws sweat away from the skin and dries quickly.

Carry a a few light layers. Micro-fleeces etc. Also bearing in mind that once you start moving you'll heat up so dont bulk out in a lagging jacket! Or you'll just have to slow down to stop and take it off.

Also never do the event in brand new unbroken gear, particularly boots.

Unless your a bog trotting uber culchie. A supply of "a haep of Hang sammiches and flask of tae" wont sustain you for a 40k.

Have a look into some energy bars/gels, and electrolyte drinks(yes I know everyone is thinking of the simpsons power sauce here).

Look for Hi-Carb levels. But be wary of "stimulant or buzz formulas" like red bull, as these will end up in your blood levels crashing. A slow but steady release is important.
    The likes of glucose sweets / mint cake have been popular for decades due to their quick release qualities providing an instant perk up.
    And a protein bar nibbled at along the way will aid in recovery and prevent breakdown etc. Also theres a lot of eating in protein bars, as it takes longer to break down it promotes a feeling of fullness.
    Maximuscle products are popular with endurance athletes and military personnel on endurance activities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Plenty of water: I don't know whether or not there will be resupplies, but I'd be carrying a fair bit. I don't know how much you'd need for 40k off the top of my head, but I'm sure other people here would.

I've managed a 40 one or twice. I'd carry no less than 5 litres, and I'd mix some lucozade powder into a couple of canteens.

Iceage,how much time would you put aside each day for exercise?Are you doing weights or any other cardio,ie.boxing bag?

I have a 40k march to do in June,has anybody any tips for helping getting through that alive?
    Alternating dailly at the minute, day on day off type of thing to give me a chance to recover but keeping it simple, run one day, my own circuit the next day of push ups, sit ups, dips and some light hand weights etc. But funnily enough ran the last two days in a row cos I felt up for it, great run last night.

40k! Now things are getting serious, best of luck with it mate, could only dream of doing that over the hills :) good broken in boots, and a bulldog determination to finish.

Unless your a bog trotting uber culchie. A supple of "a haep of Hang sammiches and flask of tae" wont sustain you for a 40k.
    HAHAHAHA! yeah a pile of soggies and 2 pints of coffee the colour of mahogany with a bag of sugar stirred in. :D

Not to be pissing in your cornflakes. But from the sounds of things doesn't sound like your too well prepared? Unless you were jesting in this post.

A 40k Trot should be taken seriously considering its over the mountains. I've seen people drop after a 10k in the hills, due to bad prep.

Gearwise, sock's and a wicking layer are the most important things. A few pairs of those gucci "1000 Mile Socks" should do the trick. Their basically a sock with an inner liner (I think its some form of silk/fine wool mix).
    A wicking layer, Like a Dri-Flo is also advisable. Something that draws sweat away from the skin and dries quickly.

Carry a a few light layers. Micro-fleeces etc. Also bearing in mind that once you start moving you'll heat up so dont bulk out in a lagging jacket! Or you'll just have to slow down to stop and take it off.

Also never do the event in brand new unbroken gear, particularly boots.

Unless your a bog trotting uber culchie. A supply of "a haep of Hang sammiches and flask of tae" wont sustain you for a 40k.

Have a look into some energy bars/gels, and electrolyte drinks(yes I know everyone is thinking of the simpsons power sauce here).

Look for Hi-Carb levels. But be wary of "stimulant or buzz formulas" like red bull, as these will end up in your blood levels crashing. A slow but steady release is important.
    The likes of glucose sweets / mint cake have been popular for decades due to their quick release qualities providing an instant perk up.
    And a protein bar nibbled at along the way will aid in recovery and prevent breakdown etc. Also theres a lot of eating in protein bars, as it takes longer to break down it promotes a feeling of fullness.
    Maximuscle products are popular with endurance athletes and military personnel on endurance activities.

Iam not to well prepared at the mo,but I have time on my side thankfully.

Thankfully my feet stay in good nick,very rarely get blisters.Thanks for the advice aswell everyone.I have a a month and a half to prepare,was out this morning for a run,will keep it up now.

You would be surprised how far a haep of sandwiches and a good cuppa tae will get you up these parts!

Iam not to well prepared at the mo,but I have time on my side thankfully.

Thankfully my feet stay in good nick,very rarely get blisters.Thanks for the advice aswell everyone.I have a a month and a half to prepare,was out this morning for a run,will keep it up now.

You would be surprised how far a haep of sandwiches and a good cuppa tae will get you up these parts!

What kinda distance can you manage at the moment?

Considering you're not carrying a backpack full of kit, it shouldn't be too bad. Get out with some weight on your back at least twice a week and pay some serious attention to your legs in the gym as well.

As for the water, I was carrying over 6 litres as were most of the lads and we still had one lad collapse from dehydration. Look into energy gels and electrolyte tablets to keep you going.

Most importantly though, just smash into it.

Ha Ha, a pot of shpuds and you'll be flying!

Best of luck with the training mate, be sure let us no how you get on!

Poccington wrote: »
    What kinda distance can you manage at the moment?

Considering you're not carrying a backpack full of kit, it shouldn't be too bad. Get out with some weight on your back at least twice a week and pay some serious attention to your legs in the gym as well.

As for the water, I was carrying over 6 litres as were most of the lads and we still had one lad collapse from dehydration. Look into energy gels and electrolyte tablets to keep you going.

Most importantly though, just smash into it.

Distances,I have a grand level of fitness at the moment,can manage walks no problem(its the running that does me)I have a 10k this Sunday to do aswell.

I have been runnin, starting out about 2 miles non stop,unloaded.I am doing upper body weights,nothing hetic.My plan,as I am off for the summer now is to run every second day with the gym in between that.I'll up the distance running to about 3 miles by next week with a light load.(Very hilly route!)

As the 40k is in mountains I am blessed as I have a mountain in front of my house with tracks up it already,I'll be going for that aswell loaded.

Never took notice of distances walking before,but I would walk a good few miles home regulary,3-4 miles all uphill(anybody who knows Letterkenny will know about the hills!)

I'll get my stock of energy foods sorted,do a run through at the 10k,so to work out what works best for me.

Thanks Poc and Duffman,I'll let yous know how I get on.And as Poc says,I'll just batter on!Being stubborn gets you a long way!

Nice wee jog today not quick by any means but 4.5 miles with 9.5 kilos in the pack in 59mins with a serious hill to finish with.

Also if some of you are upto speed with the current BA requirements I'd appreciate the details. Thanks in advance.

Hi Iceage, just spotted this part of your post. The Guardian Newspaper had one of their reporters follow the BA training plan and attempt the fitness test, starting from a very basic fitness level. They also released a very good series of booklets.
    The links are
    http://lifeandhealth.guardian.co.uk/armyfitness

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2008/jan/07/healthandwellbeing.fitness

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2008/jan/07/healthandwellbeing.fitness1

It's a little more advanced than the DF one, but the essentials are still there, especially the run. One of the best pieces of info I took from it was in relation to injuries sustained in military training - the run is closely correlated with VO2 max which is a very reliable indicator of fitness. Those who can't finish the run in a satisfactory time are way more (don't ask me for the percentage :D) likely to sustain a soft tissue injury or stress fracture during training. So not only will you suffer during PT, you're also much more likely to do yourself some real injury as your body isn't conditioned to take the (ab)use.

I can't see the .pdf series of files, they can be bought online but they had them available for download aswell (that's how I got them). If it's ok with the mod's I can upload them from my own computer.

Thanks for that concussion, that lot pretty much sums it all up doesn't it. As to this VO2 max test thats defo hi tech and I can't see myself booking in for one of those somehow! Maybe someday but not just right now.

Found a link to a roughly estimated version which is done with a mate timing and measuring your distances while you peg it full on. http://www.brianmac.co.uk/gentest.htm

This might be a bit more up my street when the time comes, still alternating daily but I'm gonna stick at the weight I'm carrying for the next couple of weeks, no sense in an injury and having to start all over a gain. The trick for me is to keep it constant if I can. Cheers mate.

As to this VO2 max test thats defo hi tech and I can't see myself booking in for one of those somehow! Maybe someday but not just right now.

Actually the run itself is the VO2 MAX test, I think!

:o Duhh! I actually read it this time, twat I is....thanks for that Pmg58. Hmmm iceage goes to do his math.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

You can download an MP3 of the bleep test here 'duh duh dee, level 13'

If you practise the test your score will get better. Obviously.:p

PB's on this anyone?

Cheers Duffers. I hope I'm not the only one taken notice of all this advice? This lot could be a definate benifit to not just ole bastids like me.

Do you think that was a gentle enough hint to some of the nippers here, RDF types, I have no problem being called an ole bastid. :D

Hint taken, I plan on doing some serious work on my fitness as soon as I get my exams out of the way.

Hmm, iceage, you may be able to help by "gently encouraging" me!!! pacman.gif

Cheers Duffers. I hope I'm not the only one taken notice of all this advice? This lot could be a definate benifit to not just ole bastids like me.

Do you think that was a gentle enough hint to some of the nippers here, RDF types, I have no problem being called an ole bastid. :D

Nippers and bastids!

Once I get me exams out of the way,ill be going for it properly.Unless any one wants to do my exams for me?

Hint taken, I plan on doing some serious work on my fitness as soon as I get my exams out of the way.

Hmm, iceage, you may be able to help by "gently encouraging" me!!! pacman.gif

And your the one with all the info! :) I think you've got all the encouragement you need mate, keep up the good work and get your exams sorted, see, gently encouraged.;)
    Nippers and bastids!

Once I get me exams out of the way,ill be going for it properly.Unless any one wants to do my exams for me?

Ahhh nope, sorry buddy your on your own there. Keep going though, worth it in the end and knowledge weighs nothing, all the easier for you to bear it.:) Fcukin 'ell now I'm waxing lyrical!

Iceage goes to lay down, just back from a gentle stroll, all that fresh air has gone to my head.

Ahhh nope, sorry buddy your on your own there. Keep going though, worth it in the end and knowledge weighs nothing, all the easier for you to bear it.:) Fcukin 'ell now I'm waxing lyrical!

Iceage goes to lay down, just back from a gentle stroll, all that fresh air has gone to my head.

Showing your age thare,all that wisdom;):pac:

I have nothing else to do so college will have to do for now,ie.once I graduate the Df will be recruiting again(hopefully)Thats enough drive for me,go in head and shoulders above the rest.

Here's one for you iceage, it's the recommended circuit for PRMC candidates.

20 Press ups
    25 Sit ups
    20 Squats

5 Pull ups
    20 Half sits
    20 Lunges

20 Dips
    20 Leg raises
    20 Star jumps

2ND SET

Increase the repetitions so that you are doing each exercise to failure

3RD SET

Same number of reps as 1st set.

Give yourself a 30 sec. breather to have some water in between each set, other than that no breaks or stopping
    You can change exercises, like replace star jumps with bastards, replace sit ups with any other ab exercise, etc

Another good one is the beast..
    The Beast
    What you need is two sheets of paper (sheet A and sheet B) with exercises written on them (these are listed below). Find an open area and place sheet A on a bench if you can find one. Jog for 10 seconds in a straight line and place sheet B here.
    The reps per exercise are as follows: 12, 10, 12.
    Start at sheet A and do 12 of the first exercise (listed below) then jog to sheet B and do 12 of the second exercise. Keep doing this until you have done all the exercises at 12 reps. Now do it all again but doing 10 reps. Then do it again doing 12 reps again.

The exercises:
    Sheet A:
    Pressups, Tuck Jumps, Situps with Twist, Dips, Burpees, Dorsal Raises.

Sheet B:
    Half Sits, Clap Pressups, Squat Thrusts, Crunchies, close arm pressups, star jumps.

You do the circuit 3 time through doing 12, 10 and finally 12 reps per exercise. There are NO REST periods at all.

The target time for all 3 circuits is 12mins 30secs.
    Another one of my favourites is Tom's Two Minutes, which I'm sure you and many others will have encountered...:(

Jeez Duffers LOL into most of those already, some of them are defo not my favorites but am adapting them as I go and slowly working up on the reps. Sorting out a chin bar is becoming a bit of a problem.

I reckon every lad should at some time or other give milling a lash, under supervision and these days head gear is advisable. Para's are the only Regiment where its a requirement, but thats not to say that it doesn't take place elsewhere cos it does, ;) I take it you were referring to milling?

Might give the beast a miss for a bit.....t'would be a shame to upset my local Council when they find my dead corpse stretched out beside one of they're benches in the squat thrust position.

Milling? Looks like I dont have all the info after all! biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 16 mercucio

Trolls get on my nerves, banned for a week.

ha ha, i love that!fair play to you for spothing that,i nearly beleaved the swine!!:D:D:D better say something about fittness here... ehh it good!!!!!

Might give the beast a miss for a bit.....t'would be a shame to upset my local Council when they find my dead corpse stretched out beside one of they're benches in the squat thrust position.

THAT would be a good effort!

Tom's Two Minutes is a wicked beasting and a good way of warming up, it's definitely not milling!

Speaking of which, there is a 'prize' given to the most camp effort in milling, apparently. The 'winner' is titled 'Miss Milling' and issued with a handbag which they then have to march around camp with.

Sorry Duffers, when you said two minutes, I though we were talking Milling, its actually 3 mins of whats loosely called boxing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpAHByFgBG4&feature=related

I prefer this type of windmills.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8626897278554546767

Got me on the Toms two minutes though?

Little update.

Run log.JPG

Did this a bit arse about face, did the run first, and the same in return to my start point, took a break then knocked out 49 push ups (not girly ones :P)
    and 31 sit ups.

Quite pleased with myself. :)

Little update.

Run log.JPG

Did this a bit arse about face, did the run first, and the same in return to my start point, took a break then knocked out 49 push ups (not girly ones :P)
    and 31 sit ups.

Quite pleased with myself. :)

Good stuff....that's a grade 3 for under 29's but from your posts I'm guessing you're out of that bracket and therefore looking at a grade 2...hope I can do that bastard of a run in that time when I'm in my thirties :D:D

Cheers mate, but stick ten years on that and your on the nail. I'm 40 grade 1 thank you very much!(fcuk I hope I have that right)

My son timed me on the stats, bloody taskmaster. My apologies to anyone who saw a blur burning up the bypass in Clonmel, yes it was me,was in a terrrible state on the way back but hey it was a scream. trying to figure a 10k tomorrow, in civvies? No pressure Concussion, how do I pull that off with out doing it in boots and 58!!!

Great site for you all if your using roadrunning to train or cycling for that fact www.runningmap.com

10k done under 1:51.

Stumbled across this channel on youtube.Pretty handy for getting technique right for Sit-ups,push-ups and the like.

http://www.youtube.com/user/OperationFitToFight

Cheers mate, but stick ten years on that and your on the nail. I'm 40 grade 1 thank you very much!(fcuk I hope I have that right)

My son timed me on the stats, bloody taskmaster. My apologies to anyone who saw a blur burning up the bypass in Clonmel, yes it was me,was in a terrrible state on the way back but hey it was a scream. trying to figure a 10k tomorrow, in civvies? No pressure Concussion, how do I pull that off with out doing it in boots and 58!!!

Great site for you all if your using roadrunning to train or cycling for that fact www.runningmap.com

Bloody hell, that's a grade 1 all right with a total of three, grade one for each test...you cant get better than that!!! Don't quite know what you mean by pulling off a 10 k without boots and 58, do you mean you want to do it with a similar load?? If so, try a weight of about 12 kg, open to correction on the load though. It should be a rucksack filled with smock, helmet, spare boots and raingear c/w webbing plus filled canteen.

Stumbled across this channel on youtube.Pretty handy for getting technique right for Sit-ups,push-ups and the like.

http://www.youtube.com/user/OperationFitToFight

Looks like a good channel, must have a closer look tomorrow - just wanted to note that the DF's press-ups and sit-ups have to be performed in a certain way, examples of these can be seen here http://www.military.ie/careers/fitness.htm