Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster v Leinster - pre/during/post thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

i dont understand this though. he was an excellent fullback for auckland in the super 12

Well Leinster already had and abundance of good fullbacks but no (in Cheika's view) good back up ten.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Stev_o wrote: »
    I want to know how i quoted you there before you even posted..........weird.
    A glitch in the matrix.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Leinster (I'm a Munster supporter)
    Will reserve judgement until I watch the game again on because it took me till 20 mins before the end to find a decent stream to watch it, so was getting it in bits and filling in the balnks from the radio. RTE need to give there commentators valium before big games as it was impossible to really figure out what was going on as he was getting so carried away with himself he was mixing up all the names. I reckon it was more that Munster weren't allowed to play than Munster just didn't turn up. Leinsters defence especially around the edges of rucks and on the ground was amazing and McQuilken really should take a bow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Munster (I'm a Leinster supporter)
    I <3 Leinster.

As an aside I also love Guinness.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Leinster (I'm a Leinster supporter)
    It was hard to watch Munster implode like that. Leinster deserved the win at the end of the day and I wish them the best for the final.
    The overwhelming favourites tag just doesn't suit Munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Chefdf

Chefdf wrote: »
    Realistically the only way leinster can win is if munster dont turn up. Sexton wont make a difference. If munster play to their potential, like against ospreys, they will win. No question. However with 8 of the team on the lions panel and added to that o learys injury im very worried that they will have one eye on the tour and might keep back a little in the game. There is no doubt the lions tour will be the focal point of their year. After seeing what happened to tomas they'll surely be thinking i dont want that to happen to me. I Just hope im worng.

Well looks like i was right. Clearly had one eye on the lions. O connell and o gara and co were just not performing. Not going into the tackles hard enough.....I wonder why (lions cough cough). Would love to have seen the outcome had the lions not been picked.
    And from a munster fan, quinlan is a disgrace. Just played himself off the lions because of a ridiculous eye gouge. Deservedly so in my books.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

Munster have had some brilliant days in this past year but today was definitely not one of them. The favourites tag doesn't sit well with them and there really was too much hype/pressure on them. Tomas O'Leary was a huge loss and their other big players didn't/weren't allowed to perform.
    Now that Leinster are in the Final, I hope they win it. Being a Munster man, it would be terrible to be beaten by Leinster, only for them to lose the Final.

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

Couldn't help wondering at the start of today's match if Munster were foolish not to have the game played at Thomond Park. I know there would have been many people left without tickets but Thomond would have suited them better for a home match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Same As

Well looks like i was right. Clearly had one eye on the lions. O connell and o gara and co were just not performing. Not going into the tackles hard enough.....I wonder why (lions cough cough). Would love to have seen the outcome had the lions not been picked.
    And from a munster fan, quinlan is a disgrace. Just played himself off the lions because of a ridiculous eye gouge. Deservedly so in my books.

As a Staunch fan of Munster, I would whole heartedly agree with the above observation. I felt that the Munster players were not at all themselves today, at sixes and sevens some might say. They eluded to cowardly tactics, shying away from tackles and the pride that is to wear the munster jersey was not as profound today as on other Heineken cup match days. I'm not only disappointed, but I am also deeply saddened by the sheer lack of interest shown by a number of the Munster contingent today, however I am not one to name names as Rugby is a team sport and undoubtedly the team with the greater heart, drive and will to succeed showed the penache & tenacity to succeed as the underdogs today. A good day for Irish rugby I think we can all agree. (aside from the quinlan incident - disgraceful.)

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Johnnyjump wrote: »
    Couldn't help wondering at the start of today's match if Munster were foolish not to have the game played at Thomond Park. I know there would have been many people left without tickets but Thomond would have suited them better for a home match.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:, read the rules m8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

A disappointing end to Munster's Heineken Cup campaign but I have to say that I had a bad feeling about the outcome for some days - despite my bravado on these boards - and I lost most of my bets. Despite my feelings I resisted the urge to place a bet on Leinster to win in order to minimise my exposure as I felt it would be more than a bit hypocritcal to bet against ones own team. I don't know what went wrong - being such massive favourites to win did not suit Munster - but to suggest that players held back because of the impending Lions tour is outrageous. We (Munster fans) could all do well to spare a thought for our players and management team who have entertained us so well in the HC and ML campaigns and who must be feeling really gutted.

Well done Leinster and good luck in the Final!

We'll be back!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Shivverz wrote: »
    Agh just bite your tongue will ya? ! ? ! ? The sooner Munster drop this "untouchable" attitude the better for everyone.

untouchable?

I said the better team won.
    And I honestly do hope they win and will be cheering them on but I dont think they will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 brillianthenry

Congatulations to leinster, well deserved win. Munster however, didn't turn up to the gam. not taking away from the amazing defensive and attacking game leinster played, i'm gutted as a munster fan that they didn't play today, it had to happen at some stage, good form doesn't last forever.

hope leinster win the final, that being said I don't want to see a leinster fan for a while, those wounds won't heal soon....

You were in your hole right. Why is it Leinster's lions were among their best performers? What about the 8 players not in the lions for Munster? And Munster played well in the first half and dominated territory in the second. They just couldn't break down Leinster's defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

You were in your hole right. Why is it Leinster's lions were among their best performers? What about the 8 players not in the lions for Munster? And Munster played well in the first half and dominated territory in the second. They just couldn't break down Leinster's defence.

While i agree that Leinsters defense was world class today. I feel the injury to Tomás must have hit the munster squad really hard, they might have had one eye on the lions alright and might not have been going at it at full tilt. It just seemed Leinster wanted it more today.

chupacabra wrote: »
    While i agree that Leinsters defense was world class today. I feel the injury to Tomás must have hit the munster squad really hard, they might have had one eye on the lions alright and might not have been going at it at full tilt. It just seemed Leinster wanted it more today.

Maybe. Munster didn't play as well I expected but I'd put it down more to complacency than holding back for the Lions. Not sure if complacency is the right word but you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Awesome display from Leinster today. I wished the Leinster lad beside me well in the final without hesitation because I had a real sense of being beaten by a superior team. They didnt give us an inch. Fair play, it'll be good for Irish rugby if Leinster can take the cup. At one stage it was 39/9 on the tackle count. I can't argue with that.

Best of luck Leinster.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

has to be the worst game i seen munster play in hc,lenister where more hungry,
    munster played with so many mistakes,
    the spark in there game wasnt there,they seem to let the game get away from them,didnt get out of second gear throught the whole game,i think there b team would have played better,some of mistakes they made where hard to beleive,till next year,maybe they will learn from this in 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

must say I'm delighted. All the Munster/Lunster fans were so sure they were going to win. Laid Munster at very short odds too.

Hope we can go on and win the final now. Leinster and Leicester I reckon.:)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

After the humiliation and clinical assault of Black Sunday three years ago lads, I'm glad to say I witnessed

BLUE SATURDAY!

I believe in you BOD and co, so bring on Edinburgh! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

The crowd were magnificent. I'd even be tempted to forgive the late-arrivals/early leavers after today.

Still not a patch on an international game (and yes, I've been to both 2006 and 2008 finals).

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

had no idea who was going to win! fair play leinster!!! they played munster off the park! they seemed to want it more than munster! maybe coz they were never in the final until now must have made them more dertermed!
    good luck on the 23rd ye deserved it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

IMMENSE!!!

LEINSTER TURNED UP AND TURNED OVER MUNSTER!!

Knew it... Just felt it in my bones today!!!

HEC Come on LEINSTER!!!!

AH Sh1te feck CUntbag! I have an exam that goes on till 17.30 on the 23rd. Knew I had it, but didnt think it went on that long.

BOLLOX!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Leinster played out of their socks today, their committment at the breakdown, getting turnover ball at critical moments, and their ability to use the ball when they had posession made a real difference along with a defence that was unassailable.

As a Munster supporter I'm disappointed to lose, not necessarily because of any shortcomings in our own team, those are inevitable in a game of such intensity. I don't agree that there was any lack of committment from the players, they came up against a Leinster side which over-ran them with intensity and gave them few opportunities.

I wait with some trepidation to see if there is any fallout from the incident between Quinlan and Cullen, I know that Quinny specialises in being an annoyance but I didn't think that gouging would be his approach.

Leinster put on a performance out of the top drawer, a real passion play, they say that every dog has his day and today was definitely Leinster's. I wish good luck to them in the HC Final.

Ritz.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭ixus

I don't think Munster were that bad today, had one or two things come off for them, the result could have been different. Earls break, had he side stepped Fitzgerald or looked for a pass to Howlett, it would have been Munster in the ascendency. Nothing Munster tried today came off.

I expect O'Driscolls intercept wasn't a fluke either. I'm sure if someone studied videos of O'Gara passing the ball to O'Callaghan/O'Connell, you would find he picks O'Connell out more often. Think about it, you see O'Connell taking the ball into contact way more often than O'Callaghan.

For the first try, Ealrs rushed up in defence and got caught out. Isn't this what the Munster backline have been doing all year, the 2nd centre rushing up. I'm sure this was targeted.

munsters ball handleing was poor,couple of video shots show 2 munster players going for ball at same time ,both missing it and bouncing in to hands of leinster player,passing ball was poor at times,after 10 mins ,you could see munster where not in park,second half was worse,its a lesson they learnt the hard way and they will remember for next season

ixus wrote: »
    I don't think Munster were that bad today, had one or two things come off for them, the result could have been different. Earls break, had he side stepped Fitzgerald or looked for a pass to Howlett, it would have been Munster in the ascendency. Nothing Munster tried today came off.

I expect O'Driscolls intercept wasn't a fluke either. I'm sure if someone studied videos of O'Gara passing the ball to O'Callaghan/O'Connell, you would find he picks O'Connell out more often. Think about it, you see O'Connell taking the ball into contact way more often than O'Callaghan.

For the first try, Ealrs rushed up in defence and got caught out. Isn't this what the Munster backline have been doing all year, the 2nd centre rushing up. I'm sure this was targeted.

they where crap,simple as that,they did every thing bad

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

they where crap,simple as that,they did every thing bad
    They were beaten by the better team on the day, simple as.;)

Wonder will the Munster fan shout for us in the final? :) I'm thinking probably not. :o

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Nice to see Buckley getting on the score card.

http://www.irishrugby.ie/22_17079.php

Should make a fine 10 some day.