Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of moving to Carnew!

• 27-04-2009 7:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Hello :)

We are considering moving to Carnew, thinking of buying a house in a fairly new development.

Is there anyone out there from Carnew or living in Carnew? And if so, do ye commute to Dublin for work? One of us will be making the daily trip to North Dublin for work.

We are a young couple, will be starting a family soon enough. Any good / bad points about the village you could share?

What is the public transport like, if any?

Thanks,

Fionna

• Registered Users Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

You're thinking of commuting from Wexford/Wicklow border to Dublin everyday? Are you mad?

Don't live in Carnew but I have been out that way the odd time. Usually go through Rathnew - Rathdrum - Aughrim to get there and it is not a nice road. You might be able to get there going through Carlow but I do not know what that would be like.

Public transport - Best to drive into Gorey and get the train/bus from there. Easier road/route to take.

IMO it would have a big impact on your Work/Life balance as you would be spending too much time commuting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

RosieJoe wrote: »
    You're thinking of commuting from Wexford/Wicklow border to Dublin everyday? Are you mad?

Don't live in Carnew but I have been out that way the odd time. Usually go through Rathnew - Rathdrum - Aughrim to get there and it is not a nice road. You might be able to get there going through Carlow but I do not know what that would be like.

Public transport - Best to drive into Gorey and get the train/bus from there. Easier road/route to take.

IMO it would have a big impact on your Work/Life balance as you would be spending too much time commuting.

I agree its half and hour to Gorey by Car for Trainn Then 2hrs on the the Train to town!(5hr Commute!), Theres not Much in Carnew Few pubs & a Cattle Mart! Gorey would be a better bet but then again i know people who come from Mullingar & Kilkenny to the City Centre to work!

Good Luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Cath09

It's very far for a commute like you are suggesting plus there is really nothing in the place!.
    Would you not consider somewhere like Rathdrum/Rathnew/Wicklow. The house prices are coming down and a good few new developments have a few houses left at reduced prices. Perhaps check that out before making any descisions?.
    A mate of my husbands lives in Rathdrum for the past year now, house lovely, village fine, good schools, nice pubs actually and good selection of nice places to eat out. They have 3 kids under 8 and it's going really well for them so far. The only drawback is the accent so his wife says, she gets a good laugh out of translating it!!:D I've been down a few times and very impressed actually!. It's 15 mins from the M11 aswell, so it's grand for commuting.
    Rathnew- very handy for commute aswell, so is Wicklow and they are both okay aswell as far as I know. Rathnew has a name of being a bit rough but it's really small passing thru so cannot imagine it being that mad!. Everywhere in Ireland has it's rough parts!

Good luck, but seriously do consider how far away Carnew is!!.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭glenjamin

I think I speak for everybody when I say 'why would ya bother?'

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Well I just think because of the distance if you want to live in Carnew you'll need a New Car regularly!

Sorry couldn't resist that!
    Seriously, I would forget about it......quality of life is more important than a lower mortgage.

Weigh up all your travel time and expenses as against the cost of living somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Tippex

We had looked at a couple of houses in tinahely a couple of years ago.

Took a drive down on a sunday and thought it was a great area.

By the time we had got back home (Bray) we had decided that there was no way we could move.
    The commute would get tiresome very quickly.

If you are used to socialising after work that is gone out the window because of the times of the trains etc.

You really do need to way everything up especially if you are planning a family as the one thing that screamed for my wife was if there was a need for an ambulance etc you are quite a distance away from the nearest hospital etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 parris08

Thanks for your replies, I appreciate it!

We have found a house at a very good price, so we are still considering it. As Tippex posted, the thought that we could possibly do with an ambulance someday and the distance to a hospital are minuses.

There are pros and cons...still not 100%

Just a quick question for anyone familiar with the area..Does anyone know anything about the council houses off coollattin road?

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭miss.lost

parris08 wrote: »

Just a quick question for anyone familiar with the area..Does anyone know anything about the council houses off coollattin road?

Yes, what do you want to know?? :D Dont live in the town but near enough to it!

I agree with above posters in that theres not much in the town.. And the town itself is by no means attractive or picturesque but its a typical functional small town.... Few pubs, takeaways, sports facilities, super(ish) market, some good schools inc a large secondary school, two churches, petrol station, doctors surgery,hairdressers, beauticians florist and few clothes shops! Everything you would need on a daily basis..! They also have a great musical society which stages shows in th local community centre. Not far from carnew you have lots of nice places to visit, coolattin golf club, bunclody, aughrim and the wicklow mountains etc

As for the commute, i was in college in dublin city centre for two years, drove up every day.. oh and its 45 mins to bray dart station from gorey (gorey b the way is 15 mins tops from carnew, what are ye all driving lads,tractors??!:rolleyes:). Used to get to dundrum in just over an hour early in the morning too.. I know loads of people who commute from the area and even further south... Its tough at first but you do get used to it...! do u work a 9-5 ie would traffic be an issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 parris08

Thanks for all your replies and thanks Miss.Lost..appreciate the response :)

Sorry it took so long to reply..just a quick update, we didn't go for the house in Carnew after all. We have just bought a lovely house near Tinahely and couldn't be happier!

Thanks again :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1 timmy 321

Hi, I am looking to move to tinahely and commute to south dublin Stillorgan area. Do you still commute to Dublin ? How long is the commute ? Also can you give me any good /bad insights into tinahely ?

• Registered Users Posts: 42 CelticCub

That will be a tough commute especially in the winter. I go from Aughrim to Junction 15 of the M50 and it is a hour in the winter provided there are no incidents. Going home if you aren't on the road by 1600 you will be looking at an extra 20 mins to clear N11/M50 merge most days.