Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I am paying more for somebodys public sector pension than my own Private pension

• Registered Users Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

EF wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity are you referring to gross pay or net pay?
    Gross pay
    Now it is time to discuss why net pay for PS in other EU countries is lower then Ireland

I can play too :D
    Riskymove wrote: »
    Many of the 1,800,000 people in the private sector get bonuses, some a significant % of their base salary

many are IT managers
    How many IT managers in Ireland?
    Riskymove wrote: »
    the vast, vast majority of the 1,800,000 still have a job and many have not taken any pay cut
    How do you know?
    Do you have link?

grahamo wrote: »
    BS :) . A LOT of workers receive bonuses
    You don't have to be an IT worker to get a bonus. I got bonuses working in engineering, I even got a couple of bonuses while I was on the building!
    I seen a speaking crow in Dublin Zoo
    From your logic, I can assume that all crows can speak

I haven't looked into cost of living in these countries but I can see they ARE cheaper if you want to buy a car!:)
    http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10006812.shtml

Petrol in Finland is 30% more expensive
    http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/eupetrolprices/

I knew I would get the standard '1.8 million people answer' :D
    The fact is Jimmmy that most workers do get bonuses, most of that 1.8 million are still working and most of that 1.8 million have not had to take a pay cut.
    10% of private secor workforce now don't have any work now
    How PS workers have been made redundant recently?

HollyB wrote: »
    It's a more generous offer than the previous offer, I'm not denying that, but in the long run, since those who retire under this scheme will not be replaced, it will cost less money to send the 50 year old hypothetical civil servant on his or her way now, with a more generous pension, than it would be to retain them for the next 10 years.

ie. Irish public workers are the most privileged part of society. They can have real socialism with any government. Nice salaries, secure jobs, good pensions, they can even do nothing and taxpayers will have to pay them money anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

I seen a speaking crow in Dublin Zoo
    From your logic, I can assume that all crows can speak?
    The private sector get bonuses! END OF!:rolleyes:

Petrol in Finland is 30% more expensive
    http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/eupetrolprices/[/URL
    I bet the car tax etc is cheaper!

10% of private secor workforce now don't have any work now
    How PS workers have been made redundant recently

90% do have work.

there are a significant number of people in the public sector who are on contracts (More than 10%). Not only will these contract staff lose their jobs (No redundancy either) over the next few months but they are also paying a pension levy even though they will never get a public sector pension.
    Do some research!:D

ie. Irish public workers are the most privileged part of society. They can have real socialism with any government. Nice salaries, secure jobs, good pensions, they can even do nothing and taxpayers will have to pay them money anyway.
    :D:D:D:D are you 12?
    bull****!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

You're forgetting we're all freemasons too who have many secrets to hide and are all in the inner core of mensa

Finland is not cheaper...

Good link
    Median-Salary-by-Job---Employer-Type-Government---State-&-Local-Ireland_EUR_20090511033230-v1.0.jpg

Median-Salary-by-Job---Employer-Type-Company-Ireland_EUR_20090510064341-v1.0.jpg

Why is so big difference between office administrator in public sector and office administrator in private sector?

OOPS! You left the graph out that shows that salary doubles for someone with 20 years experience:D(conveniently)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭kindajaded

Finland is not cheaper...

Industrial & Services* Public Sector Differential % of Ind&Serv

Denmark € 44,403 € 40,952 -€ 3,451 -7.77%
    Germany € 35,421 € 33,905 -€ 1,516 -4.28%
    Ireland € 35,746 € 45,643 € 9,897 27.69%
    Netherlands € 36,195 € 36,038 -€ 157 -0.43%
    Finland € 31,995 € 28,569 -€ 3,426 -10.71%
    Britain € 38,036 € 35,189 -€ 2,847 -7.49%
    BTW, Finland and Denmark are not cheaper then Ireland, therefore argument that Ireland overpriced will not be accepted

Finland is not cheaper but the public sector accounted for 27.5% of their employment in 2004/2005 when it only accounted for 17.9% of the employment in ireland. In the same period the public sector accounted for 20.2% of employment in the uk and 30.4% if employment in denmark.
    It would be useful to see like for like comparisons corrected for cost of living. (from the 'European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions')
    I am all for benchmarking 3 as long as when the economy takes off in a few years the same flexibility and speed of response to change is shown in doing benchmarking 4. Not like last time.

jimmmy wrote: »
    proof please ? I gave you c.s.o. statistics to back up my claims.

Do not forget many people in private sector work in shops, restaurants, hotels, factories, farms, workshops etc......and most do not get the public service average of 966 p.w. plus perks.

I've posted links (More than you have):) much more!

Your replies consist of
    1.8M people...... Blah! Blah! Blah! :D:
    I heard it on the radio.... Blah! Blah! Blah!
    You can go to OZ and have a week in a 5 star hotel....Blah! Blah! Blah!
    Hardly concrete facts Jimmmy!

If you look over the 35 pages ( Dear God, Has it been that long?:p) of this thread there is a definite pattern of firstly, you post one of the above or similar. Its discussed until you lose the argument and then you post another of your ridiculous sweeping generalisations to provoke a reaction:D:D
    Then its repeated ad nauseum :):):)

I'm sorry but the same posts are constantly regurgitated again and again!
    Classic comedy ....:D:D:D Its at the stage now where it isn't ignorant and insulting any more ...Its Very Very funny!:D:D

BTW most of these people working the entry level jobs in shops etc. don't get paid €966 per week. I'm pretty sure of that, but how many of these would be lets say......Over 21?.....or have years and years of experience which someone (Whoever they are:rolleyes: )on €966 per week in the public sector would have?. It takes years to get up the payscales. :rolleyes:
    Have a day off Jimmmy will ye! talk sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Palibito

The only ones whingeing are you and Jimmmy :D:D:D Nobody on here complains or moans about private sector

Why do you think nobody here complains about the private sector?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

No some members of the private sector get bonuses - we've yet to establish how much. As I've said previously I got one based on merit in the last three years and I know plenty who got nothing (and they're in skilled professional jobs) and who are talented.

Again in all of this we need to compare like-with-like. Aggregate statistics tell us nothing - and both sides have been guilty of that.

So, FWIW, I've said it before: My job is equivalent to that of an EO. If I was an EO I'd be on less than I am now, and that's before the pension levy. I get more paid nights out and a few other benefits (VHI, for example) that I wouldn't get in the CS. I'm also more likely to be recognised for the merit of my work than just length of employment.

On the other hand, I've to work longer hours, don't have flexi-time, have less holidays, and less job security and, of course, don't have the infamous diamond-plated pension (upgraded from gold just for jimmy ;)). It's also tougher to get by - the targets are tougher than they would be with PMDS (I've seen PMDS targets to compare them with). I'd have more accountability here - that can be a mixed blessing.

Does it balance out? I dunno - tough call. I never rolled in the cash, never really saw that infamous tiger, but I got by fine. There's many aspects I wouldn't like about having to work in the CS still. Long term - we'll see.

ixoy wrote: »
    No some members of the private sector get bonuses - we've yet to establish how much. As I've said previously I got one based on merit in the last three years and I know plenty who got nothing (and they're in skilled professional jobs) and who are talented.

Again in all of this we need to compare like-with-like. Aggregate statistics tell us nothing - and both sides have been guilty of that.

So, FWIW, I've said it before: My job is equivalent to that of an EO. If I was an EO I'd be on less than I am now, and that's before the pension levy. I get more paid nights out and a few other benefits (VHI, for example) that I wouldn't get in the CS. I'm also more likely to be recognised for the merit of my work than just length of employment.

On the other hand, I've to work longer hours, don't have flexi-time, have less holidays, and less job security and, of course, don't have the infamous diamond-plated pension (upgraded from gold just for jimmy ;)). It's also tougher to get by - the targets are tougher than they would be with PMDS (I've seen PMDS targets to compare them with). I'd have more accountability here - that can be a mixed blessing.

Does it balance out? I dunno - tough call. I never rolled in the cash, never really saw that infamous tiger, but I got by fine. There's many aspects I wouldn't like about having to work in the CS still. Long term - we'll see.

You can't seriously compare a few free nights out with job security for life?.. not to mention the fantastic CS pension which equates to approx 20% of salary in contributions also paid by the the wealth creators..

Of course every job has it's pro's and con's, but here we are not simply talking small differences in employment terms but fundamental human rights issues where there is effectively a "class" differential between both sides.

The lingo of the CS with their "Privilaged Days" holidays demonstrates this notion of them as a privilaged class granted immunity from the harsh realities of redundancy, dole, exposure to poverty etc by politicians who the CS "look after".. sound familiar? WE LOOK AFTER YOU AND YOU LOOK AFTER US... Well now it's over!!

Ireland is in a crisis and it's ALL hands on deck.. If your'e not up to that call then you can jump over board now, get a grip man.

Palibito wrote: »
    You can't seriously compare a few free nights out with job security for life?.. not to mention the fantastic CS pension which equates to approx 20% of salary in contributions also paid by the the wealth creators..

Of course every job has it's pro's and con's, but here we are not simply talking small differences in employment terms but fundamental human rights issues where there is effectively a "class" differential between both sides.

The lingo of the CS with their "Privilaged Days" holidays demonstrates this notion of them as a privilaged class granted immunity from the harsh realities of redundancy, dole, exposure to poverty etc by politicians who the CS "look after".. sound familiar? WE LOOK AFTER YOU AND YOU LOOK AFTER US... Well now it's over!!

Ireland is in a crisis and it's ALL hands on deck.. If your'e not up to that call then you can jump over board now, get a grip man.

Privilaged Days (sic) have been discussed earlier in the thread. Just a posh word for annual leave! Boring!:rolleyes:

"not to mention the fantastic CS pension which equates to approx 20% of salary in contributions also paid by the the wealth creators.."
    Groan! :confused:This has been discussed over and over in the thread. I think its been determined that PRSI (6.5%), plus pension contribution (6.5%), plus pension levy(3%-10%) covers the pension these days.
    Got anything new to contribute?:)

Privilaged Days (sic) have been discussed earlier in the thread. Just a posh word for annual leave! Boring!:rolleyes:

"not to mention the fantastic CS pension which equates to approx 20% of salary in contributions also paid by the the wealth creators.."
    Groan! :confused:This has been discussed over and over in the thread. I think its been determined that PRSI (6.5%), plus pension contribution (6.5%), plus pension levy(3%-10%) covers the pension these days.
    Got anything new to contribute?:)

Yes, am still awaiting your response to:

Originally Posted by grahamo viewpost.gif
    The only ones whingeing are you and Jimmmy biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif Nobody on here complains or moans about private sector

In the absence of an answer from grahamo, who obviously has great difficulty with my questions,.. I also see that grahamo uses language to write off the scandalous "privilige days" costing millions as simply "a posh name for annual leave"!!.. So why call those day's "Priviiged Days"??? in future we wil refer to them as "Posh'ly Named Annual Leave"....PNAL.

So he invents the name of PNAL for scamming so now scamming is OK!!!.. Jesus lads.. tomorrow Im on a PNAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Rob67

The only ones whingeing are you and Jimmmy biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif Nobody on here complains or moans about private sector

Let me guess... you are either related to Jimmmy or his clone?

OR... you work for Jimmmy and continue the public sector bashing by taking the night shift for him?

Not trying to be insulting or anything, big apology if I have, but it just seems so....coincidental, y'know? You and Jimmmy sound so alike, it is kind of strange to find two people who are so harmonious in thought and approach to the subject. I suppose it will make the 'debate' become double the fun now. Please don't fall into the same pattern as Jimmmy though (repeat, rehash, repeat, rehash, etc, etc). Have fun!:)

Before I forget:

One of the main reasons that no-one complains about the private sector is because everyone got tired of it during the 'Rip-off Ireland' era... After all everyone (public and private sectors) got shafted in some fashion during the alleged good years probably and continue to do so to a certain extent i.e. Private Sector banking. But, hey, I'm just generalising here!:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

That's ixoy's call. What qualifies you to decide for others?

Jaysus! A civil rights action over pension schemes. Talk about escalating a disagreement.
    ... Ireland is in a crisis and it's ALL hands on deck.. If your'e not up to that call then you can jump over board now, get a grip man.

It doesn't seem like a question of people choosing overboard; it looks more like wanting to choose who to throw overboard.

no2.gif

I bet the car tax etc is cheaper!
    Only for small cars with big engines, because they pay for weight of car + fixed sum
    http://www.environment.fi/download.asp?contentid=85625&lan=en
    But Irish public servants, working for green goverment, must be proud to drive cars wih small engines beee.gif

90% do have work.

there are a significant number of people in the public sector who are on contracts (More than 10%). Not only will these contract staff lose their jobs (No redundancy either) over the next few months but they are also paying a pension levy even though they will never get a public sector pension.
    Do some research!:D
    Do you think that unemployment will freeze on 10%? Redundancies only started.
    Second, do you think that it is fair to fire young people on contracts and leave fat clerks from CPSU employed forever?

OOPS! You left the graph out that shows that salary doubles for someone with 20 years experience:D(conveniently)
    and Irish public services are paying huge money for job, which any girl from street can do for half of price…
    I don’t see any difference between office administrator with 3 years experience and 20 years experience and I don’t think that loyalty for state as employer must be rewarded

EF wrote: »
    You're forgetting we're all freemasons too who have many secrets to hide and are all in the inner core of mensa

unionized freemasons scare.gif

we are all doomed swoon2.gif

kindajaded wrote: »
    I am all for benchmarking 3 as long as when the economy takes off in a few years the same flexibility and speed of response to change is shown in doing benchmarking 4. Not like last time.
    Do you believe that PS unions will allow it?

Rob67 wrote: »
    Let me guess... you are either related to Jimmmy or his clone?

OR... you work for Jimmmy and continue the public sector bashing by taking the night shift for him?

Not trying to be insulting or anything, big apology if I have, but it just seems so....coincidental, y'know? You and Jimmmy sound so alike, it is kind of strange to find two people who are so harmonious in thought and approach to the subject. I suppose it will make the 'debate' become double the fun now. Please don't fall into the same pattern as Jimmmy though (repeat, rehash, repeat, rehash, etc, etc). Have fun!:)
    Dou you think that PAYE workers are slaves of PS unions and cannot say anything about high taxes to keep number permanent members of PS unions the same?
    If PS workers can unite against ordinary people, why private sector workers cannot unite against high taxes for public services?

Rob67 wrote: »
    Before I forget:

One of the main reasons that no-one complains about the private sector is because everyone got tired of it during the 'Rip-off Ireland' era... After all everyone (public and private sectors) got shafted in some fashion during the alleged good years probably and continue to do so to a certain extent i.e. Private Sector banking. But, hey, I'm just generalising here!:D:D:D
    Please remind me, why do we have Financial Regulator and Central Bank?
    Are the private companies?
    Why they didn’t do anything to prevent property bubble?
    Public services more responsible for this mess, then bankers, because PS had enough power to stop them in 2007, but they didn’t do it in order to save benchmarking

... But Irish public servants, working for green goverment, must be proud to drive cars wih small engines ...

It irks me that public servants who use their cars on official business are incentivised to use larger cars by the payment of higher mileage allowances for bigger engine sizes.

If a single rate were applied, some public servants might opt for more modest vehicles. A relatively small amount of money might be saved, and a very small contribution made to bettering our environment. More important, in my mind, is that a tone would be set.

[End of mini-rant.]

Do you believe that PS unions will allow it? [More benchmarking]

I think they would, although I cannot claim any special insight.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,888 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I can play too :D

How many IT managers in Ireland?

How do you know?
    Do you have link?

I think you you missed my point or forgot you are on the jimmy thread....no need for stats or proof...

I don't such much evidence over the 36 pages of this, now fairly pointless jimmy logic thread

jimmmy wrote: »
    Noby has yet explained why in most developed EU countries is the average salary of PS workers less then the average salary of private workers and they have working public services ?

Jimmy, you still refuse to answer my post looking for your view on this question?

For my part the answer is simple..our politicians

Please remind me, why do we have Financial Regulator and Central Bank?
    Are the private companies?
    Why they didn’t do anything to prevent property bubble?
    Public services more responsible for this mess, then bankers, because PS had enough power to stop them in 2007, but they didn’t do it in order to save benchmarking

That is a preposterous suggestion. While some public servants are influential in the determination of public policy, it is the politicians who set the tone and make the big decisions. The property bubble was enabled (in some measure created) by political decisions, not by administrative ones.

The thread about privelege days is here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055537042&highlight=privelege+day
    Civil service (Not all public sector get 2 privelege days a year. In the private sector they are known as floating days or company days. Its been done to death. Move on!
    I can only speak for me when I say I don't moan and complain about the private sector because I don't begrudge them anything! Simple as!
    Jimmmy and his minions go beyond criticism and at this stage it is just a witch hunt against anything public sector.