Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Chance to meet some Living History in June

• 28-04-2009 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭

This is my first time posting in the WWII forum. I usually just cause havoc in the US Politics forum. My father served in the US Navy in WWII, and I always was fascinated by his war stories. Since he passed away over a decade ago, I have become somewhat of a WWII buff.

An old USAF fighter pilot friend of the family, who came over to the house for Easter dinner, told me about an event that happens ever year in a town less than 1 hour away from where I live. I must admit I was embarrassed not to have know about the event. He will be part of the B17 Flying Fortress crew that will be at Mid-Atlantic Air Museum’s WORLD WAR II WEEKEND on June 5-6-7, 2009 in Reading, PA (USA). He said it has become the nations largest WWII Air event. He invited me as a guest to the event.

I was amazed at the list of guests that are scheduled to attend, meet and talk with the public, and sign autographs. Some of the historical notables scheduled to be there are:

John Alison - General, USAAF, fighter ace, CBI
    Clarence E. "Bud" Anderson - Colonel, USAAF, triple ace, test pilot
    Richard Cole - Lt Col, USAAF, Doolittle Raider, Plane #1 Co-Pilot
    Thomas Griffin - - Major, USAAF, Doolittle Raider