Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's Rock.. and a little bit of roll

1121314151618»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Today

Pull downs - wide grip

Kneeling pulldowns

HS row machine

Cable Rows

Rack Pulls
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 1
    180kg x 5
    140kg x 8

All the back stuff today was about volume and getting the sets in, felt good.

The rack pull at 180 is a huge PB. The first 2 were surprisingly fast, then 3 good grinders. Lower back is very fatigued now but it was worth it. I'll probably hit speed pulls again at the weekend just to balance it out.

Hopefully I'll get into the briefs on saturday and see what they are like!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Good job on the rack pulls :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Today

Rack Pulls
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 1
    180kg x 5
    140kg x 8
    fair play, my rack pulls absolutly suck! i can do 180 for 5 off the floor, but would fail miserably trying to rack pull it!

Morning

Speed Box squats
    60kg x 3
    80kg x 2 x 5

Speed Pulls
    100kg x 1 x 5
    120kg x 1
    140kg x 1
    160kg x 1

SLDL
    100kg x 10 x 3

Chuck V pulldowns

Rows
    2x20

Power Shrugs

Abs
    4x15

Bam.

Bench

60kg x 12
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3
    100kg x 3
    90kg x 8

Incline DB
    20kg x 15
    30kg x 15
    40kg x 6
    30kg x 12

HS Bench
    60kg x 15
    80kg x 15
    90kg x 15 x 2

Guns.

Bench was shocking tonight.. I'm putting it down to an off day.

DBs were strong though, felt good to have the 39s back in my hands.

Squats tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

100 x3... again.

Dude, sort your life out!! You missed an amazing time on Saturday btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 GerSmith

Hanley wrote: »
    100 x3... again.

Cut the lad some slack. he's been destroying everything else. PB squats, huge PR deadlifts on all accounts and everything else is shaping up good.

..plus he's sexy and doesn't do GHEY weightlifting and metcons.

GerSmith wrote: »
    Cut the lad some slack. he's been destroying everything else. PB squats, huge PR deadlifts on all accounts and everything else is shaping up good.

Yeah, well he didn't come to my birthday. He deserves everything he gets. So there!! :D:D

Squats

60kg x 5
    100kg x 3

Briefs on
    120kg x 3
    130kg x 3
    140kg x 2
    150kg x 2
    160kg x 2 x 5

Ab pull downs.

It was great craic using the briefs tonight. The 4th and 5th sets of the 160 were getting closer to parallel so it was a good start.

Putting them on for 120 I honestly thought I was going to pass out, very strange feeling.

They cut the fook out of my legs too..

The weight was grand, next week 2x3 at 170 then 1 or maybe 2 doubles at 180.

100 x3... again.

100x3 = bad day at the office.

And yah I'm raging I missed it. We need to sort out a session pronto.

GerSmith wrote: »

Love this post.

Wednesday - Match

Thursday - Back

Friday

Standing SP
    40kg x 10
    50kg x 8
    40kg x 12 x 2

DB Press
    20kg x 15
    15kg x 12
    20kg x 15 x 2

Close Grip Bench
    40kg x 15
    60kg x 8
    70kg x 8 x 2

Lateral Raises

Front Raises

Tri Push downs.

It was good to change to the standing press today, the strength there has gone so I'll build it back up.

Everything else was grand.

Today

Speed Box squats
    60kg x 2
    80kg x 2 x 5
    85kg x 2 x 5

Speed Pulls
    90kg x 1 x 10

Power Cleans

GHR

Today

Bench
    60kg x 10
    80kg x 6
    90kg x 6
    90kg x 8

Boards
    100kg x 5 x 3

Incline
    50kg x 12
    60kg x 10
    70kg x 8, 6

DB press
    20kg x 20,20,15

First set of bench was awful, second set was much better. Board pressing was good and something to work on for the moment. Lockouts are an issue.

Finally starting to get some groove with the incline.. small progress.

Today

Squats
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    100kg x 3

Briefs
    120kg x 2
    140kg x 2
    160kg x 2
    170kg x 2 x 2

Rack Pulls (2nd last pin)
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    180kg x 3
    200kg x 3

Ab Pull downs

Wasted about a half hour tonight waiting on lads to get out of the mono lift so the first few sets before the briefs were shoite.

Briefs went a bit better than last week, my knees werent coming forward as much and its a bit easier to get down. I just have to work on getting depth. Again, great buzz altogether.

Rack pulls were solid enough, the 200kg for 3 wasnt as slow as I thought it was going to be.

Today

Squats
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 3
    100kg x 3

Briefs
    120kg x 2
    140kg x 2
    160kg x 2
    170kg x 2 x 2

Rack Pulls (2nd last pin)
    60kg x 5
    100kg x 5
    140kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    180kg x 3
    200kg x 3

Ab Pull downs

Wasted about a half hour tonight waiting on lads to get out of the mono lift so the first few sets before the briefs were shoite.

Briefs went a bit better than last week, my knees werent coming forward as much and its a bit easier to get down. I just have to work on getting depth. Again, great buzz altogether.

Rack pulls were solid enough, the 200kg for 3 wasnt as slow as I thought it was going to be.

G'wan... tell me the story!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Looking forward to your updates Rob :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Anyone know where brutus is? Still training?

BossArky wrote: »
    Anyone know where brutus is? Still training?

Rob's still training away in Hercs with Ger.

Talk to him most days....Training's going well. Think he's targeting 210-215/140ish/215ish equipped at 90/100kg at the Hercs Club Champs on the 18th!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Rob's still training away in Hercs with Ger.

Talk to him most days....Training's going well. Think he's targeting 210-215/140ish/215ish equipped at 90/100kg at the Hercs Club Champs on the 18th!

Are you sure Hercs Club Champs are on the 18th, I was told it's the 11th with the weightlifting and powerlifting on the same day.

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Are you sure Hercs Club Champs are on the 18th, I was told it's the 11th with the weightlifting and powerlifting on the same day.

Could well be.... I thought I heard the 18th. Totally open to correction. I'll send text the lads now and see what they say.